Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Hotel Principe 4 stars

Via Montalbano 19, 6900 Lugano, Switzerland

#14 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 917 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A totally disappointing stay in a hotel that does not deserve to be 4 stars in Switzerland. A high school graduation took place the very same weekend of our stay. We were placed among very disrespectful (18 year old) guests - something that the hotel knew, as we were told they are usual customers provoking complaints. The first night we had to ask twice from help at the reception, since e.g. at 4a.m. there was loud partying going on. The second night we had to ask for the police to come. Our 3 year old child that was with us just suffered the unspeakable noise. A hotel that disrespects its clients in a land were respect is the first thing to remember, should just not be rated 4 star with respectful prices. They had the guts to pay us back 70 francs...as a sign of goodwill for ruining our weekend. If you consider you need to be respected simply do not go there. It is really a shame, cause otherwise it could have been nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette did not contain any cutlery or bowls or mugs. Just wine glasses. Also there is advertising on your personal bathroom mirror.

    The room is very spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for 3 adults. We got one double bed and one small foldig bed (rather size of a child). The whole room was made for two people (only two glasses, two cups, two bathrobes ect..)

    Very nice location: quiet, green, only 10min drive from the centre Nice pool environment Breakfast at the backyard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was great, very spacious, very comfortable bed good view from the room excellent very peaceful location. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very responsive and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not worth the money. I. Desperate need of repairs and updates. Problems with ants and mini bar didn’t work, no air con but given a desk fan. Door leading to outside veranda broken.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately pre booked this hotel for 2 different nights on a return trip from Germany. The first night we had no air con and the room was unbelievably hot and stuffy and also smelt. When we asked for the air con to be turned on they said “sleep with the door open “ .... REALLY!?!?! We had room service for dinner and it was the most over priced over cooked oily pasta we’ve ever eaten to the point my husband was ill through the night. On our return trip we were put into 2 different rooms as we couldn’t even open the sliding door to our balcony to let some air in, still no air con but lucky us got a little desk fan...... better than nothing I guess. The railing on the veranda is dangerously loose which I found out when I leaned on it to see the view. Overall reception couldn’t care less and made no effort to try and make our stay a little better. All we asked for was air con which they advertised that they have but don’t use unless it’s summer. You also need to walk across the road to another hotel to have breakfast and they advertise 24 hour reception which is closed from 11.00pm

    The views from some parts of the hotel are amazing but you need to be lucky enough to be able to get a room with that aspect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms on the ground floor have ants but the service is very good and helped us change to upstairs. The shuttle bus is too small. There is no minimarket close by and by foot you can not reach the center.

    The staffs are very kind and helpful. The rooms are very spacious. The hotel is surrounded by nice garden and the other side Villa principe has fantastic view. And it is friendly to child.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starts showing its age.

    A car is needed to reach this hotel. The rooms are really really big . The decoration is a little outdated but tge grounds are beautiful and well kept.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at the reception should be more active in a way of explaining our benefits and expectations. We had to ask for the water ourselves when we were leaving the hotel (we had always different experience in other hotels). There was no any drinking water in the rooms. Room for 3 persons did not have enough shower accessories and laundry for all of us.

    Green surrounding, spacious rooms, beautiful view from the balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the Villa, but at least there was a shuttle

    Been already the second time and liked it again. It has its own special flaire and is very spacious and elegant. Staff as always very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra bed was quite low quality and crooked in the middle. Extra blankets were not provided automatically but needed to requested at the reception. The corridor outside the room upstairs was not heated which is quite weird given that room itself was fairly well heated.

    When parking space outside was full we were offered to park in the garage, which is underneath the Hotel and very convenient. Very large rooms which are quite cozy and spacious. Separate bedroom from the main room is very useful if you have children that may sleep in the lounge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were the furthest from the reception which did not make much sense for a 1 night stay with lots of luggage. When we booked there was no mention that none of the F&B outlets in the hotel was open and that even for breakfast we had to cross to the Principe Leopoldo (where we had a good breakfast!)

    the proximity to the Principe Leopoldo is an advantage. The rooms were comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The modern room is not modern at all - the bed was old and not very comfortable. The spa is private, and with no staff there, we spent the first 30 min of our 1 free hour figuring out how the facilities work. The shower was upgraded to a rain shower but the rest of the bathroom was old so you could not even stand under the rain shower properly. There are no extras, so you pay a high price for a big room.

    The room was very spacious and there was one large bed instead of split into two.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the facilities are dated and run down. To go to the room you have to walk partially outside (beginning Dec with 0 to 4 degree Celsius), breakfast was served at the Villa Principe Leopoldo, meaning a 100m walk outside. The heating didn't work in the sleeping room - we got an electric heater to compensate but it wasn't truly the same. One of the lights in the living room didn't work and it got repaired while we wen't out for dinner. A bottle of water that I took from the minibar was already open and almost empty (I mentioned this at the reception and didn't get charged though). Breakfast quality and variety was disappointing for a 4 (to 5) star hotel. I consider the overall experience to be overpriced for Swiss standards

    Everyone in the staff was particularly welcoming, kind and helpful; we got some really good hints for things to do & see. The room is actually like a small apartment with a nice view and is also good to spend time on cold winter days. The location is really good with a large park and a small playground, situated in a very quiet neighborhood with very attractive walks nearby. The view from the terrace at the Villa Principe Leopoldo (where breafast was served) is just amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was way too hot on the sunny days (mid November) and I found no way to turn down the heat.

    Really nice room and extremely friendly staff. When I manage to get back to Lugano this hotel will definitely be my first choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See the above The Front Desk staff was courteous and nice.

    The eggs were like imitation eggs....not good. The complimentary breakfast would have been more satisfactory if the eggs were real eggs. We lilke to eat protein food....not a LOT of carbohydrate foods. The air conditioning could not be turned on by us in our room. Upon telling the Front Desk staff that we did not have air conditioning, we were told that the air conditioning had to be turned on from the Front Desk. Terrible system....especially since no one told us in advance of this. After the air conditioning was turned on by the Front Desk staff, the air conditioning was very pooor....not sufficient to reach the temperature in the room that we desired. Your shuttle transportation from the Milan airport to your hotel is VERY poor. You should add a shuttle stop at Terminal 1 as well as Terminal 2....not just one terminal. We landed in the Terminal (I forget which number terminal) and had to walk a very very long distance with all our luggage to the Terminal where the shuttle picks up passengers to take them to your hotel. This is TERRIBLE, especially for older travelers....it created a LOT of emotional and physical stress for myself and my 3 travel companions. None of us will ever stay at your hotel any longer. We will stay at a hotel that has better services.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old with visible wear and tear. The pool is not really heated.

    The service was great and friendly. Make sure you visit a nearby Villa hotel restaurant for its view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We spent our first two nights in room 110, which happens to share a wall with the elevator. The problem is that the building is dated so each time someone called the elevator, we could hear it vibrating in our room. My husband could not sleep well the first or second night. We would have asked to change rooms but we got back to the hotel too late the second night. We were kindly given a different and better room for the third night.

    I really liked the gym. There were a number of machines that I had never used before so it was nice learning something new during my stay. I also loved the pilates room. We also really enjoyed the breakfast. There was a nice selection of breads and other buffet foods to choose from, good for meat eaters and vegetarians. The coffee was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they charge extra for fried eggs in four stars hotel? strangely!, there is no real heating, it`s cold, especially the passage through which you go to the restaurant AND I DON` UNDERSTAND WHY NOBODY HAS ON THE BED QUILT WITH COVER , INSTEAD OF BLANKET THAT NOBODY WASH AFTER EACH GUESTS.??? somebody should do something about this, that should be in all accommodation, not to say in 4 star......

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets need to be changed.

    We liked the room so much, we felt that it is an apartment but without kitchen. Mr. Ronny and the other receptionists did a great job explaining everything for us about the hotel and where to go in Logano. We really appreciate all the efforts of Mr. Roony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shuttle bus only does 4 runs per day (3 on a Sunday) and the last one home is at 6.15pm Air conditioning was via a freestanding noisy monstrosity of a machine in the room Extra charge of 12 CH if you wanted 2 fried, poached or boiled eggs with your breakfast You need to factor in the cost of a taxi home in the evening or else walk 20-25 minutes uphill Restaurant was not open for dinner on either Sunday and Monday evenings

    Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the young man who looked after Reception in the evenings we were there. I think his name was Ronin? Breakfast was very good. Lovely fresh fruit salad. Cold meats and cheese were constantly replenished, and they were all very tasty. Huge guest rooms! Excellent gym facilities. Free parking. Free use of e-bikes

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no complaints.

    The bed was firm and comfortable. The room was spacious and the garden view was pleasant. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and the restaurant staff were very attentive. The buffet breakfast was excellent with great variety.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were charged twice for the nuts , they weren't in the minibar and no price was written on the box. it was misleading!

    breakfast is perfect and the room is very large and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold corridors, maintenance needed on the kids park

    Friendly employees, very calm environment, very very big room, an excellent breakfast and an extra bed for a toddler for free.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking at the hotel online, it looked like the distance to the town was ok to walk but unfortunately the hotel was on a hill and not an easy walk down winding roads with a push chair so we had to drive into town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giovanni on reception. Arrived at 2.15pm and the room was not available until 3pm check in. Fine, as a point of principle, rules are rules. But when I went back at 3.05pm to get my key after daylight robbery involving a cheese and ham toastie in the hotel restaurant, and having seen other guests arriving and checking in, Giovanni had the cheek to look at his watch to make sure we didn't get a second longer in the room it seemed!! Unfriendly reception staff and downright surly staff in the restaurant was just boring and unnecessary. Shame when the room is lovely and spacious. Maybe our unkempt appearance didn't fit their aspirational demographic. If you want a holiday by an Alpine lake, go to Austria. You might gey change from a tenner for a bottle of water.

    The big rooms and the pool was nice but a bit sinister when so quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu was very limited with no eggs, toasts or so much variaty. Some plates and glasses smelled like eggs. They had few ironers and it kept moving between rooms upon request.

    The staff are friendly. The hotel is good and the decoration is nice. Rooms are huge and spacious and the bed is very comfy. Wi Fi speed was great and the surrounding of the hotel is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price they charge, the hotel is a bit outdated. It is time that they invest in a makeover, especially the lobby. Also, the playground looks great on the pictures, but some parts really need to be replaced.

    The hotel is very nice and quiet. The rooms are very spacious. Especially the garden and the pool area are super nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    dinner very expensive! they charged 8 CHF for a small bottle of water!!! Location is a bit off the center, if you have a car there is no problem at all.

    Very large and comfortable room, nice pool, good food at the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a different between "I don't think your room is ready yet" and "check in is 3 PM!". If felt a bit posh and the waiter gave my shoes a glanced which showed he didn't like what he saw (strange in Switzerland where people are very down dressed outside work). The reception should look about the possibilities to find a new room when it smelled to much tobacco, but forgot (or didn't care) to come back to us. The view from the room is 180 degrees opposite to how its presented on the web site. So avoid this hotel

    Nice pool. Free parking outside the hotell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    The hotel was amazing cozy country style with big nice clean room with AC also it has nice breakfast with view to garden the location from Lugano center 10 minutes by car. Easy to find in google map

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Meager breakfasts with a small selection of hot dishes and an abundance of dishes from concentrates and unnatural ingrediens.

    Large and comfortable two-level rooms with separate zones. The unique design of the hotel and a quiet and peaceful place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very old. The bathroom is the worst and 2 stars max. No idea how this is possible in such a hotel for 300 CHF for 1 room. Breakfast very low level, too. Reception when checking out on a Sunday was totally understaffed. We had to wait for 40 minutes. Can not recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom shower didn't work and there were actually ants around the sink! The carpet was not as clean as it could have been.

    The Classic Room was very large and comfortable. The garage parking was very well located and free. The view over the pool was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But I have one major complaint about the restaurant staff particularly an elderly blonde lady who was rude beyond words. She would not greet us in the morning in fact she never even made eye contact with any of us. We found that very offensive as every time white guests entered she would greet them with a big smile and a greeting. I personally felt that she is a big racist and does not belong in the hospitality industry. This kind of behavior is not at all acceptable from a hotel of this standard. We travel extensively and have never faced anything like this anywhere in the world ever before. My advice to the hotel is please keep this kind of staff in the back to do the dishes or wash toilets instead of keeping them in a restaurant where they need to interact with hotel guests on a daily basis. I hope the management reads my review and takes action against the old hag. Her behavior left us with a bitter experience at your lovely property.

    Beautiful hotel though a bit old but we loved the rooms. Huge rooms and perfect for our family. The front desk staff were exceptional. They were very helpful and went out of the way to help us and give us all the information we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The downside to being in an attractive area, away from the shops and main part of town, is the difficulty of getting to the lake etc by foot or public transport. We walked to the lake once, but it took about an hour on busy roads. The hotel has a reliable bus service to the lake and town centre, but the last bus back to the hotel leaves at 6:15 pm. This is very restricting, though taxis are available for 16-21 euros, depending on the driver. Private car might be a solution, but I don't know what the parking is like in the town.

    A beautiful hotel, surrounded by exceptionally lovely gardens and agricultural land Away from the traffic and built-up areas of Lugano Staff very friendly and helpful Rooms large and comfortable, with wonderful views of gardens and mountains Breakfast good, indoors, or outside overlooking the garden and swimming pool Suppers of various sorts available in the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very beautiful environment, calm, spacious rooms, nice people and waiters, delicious and fresh food, not too far from the city, wonderful pool at the backyard, compeletely recommended :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    beautifull and luxuous hotel !! special decoration and very special hotel restaurant and a complete and marvellous bar ,with piano and singer in the nights !!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit dated overall, quite old bathroom, cleaning could be done more carefully. Breakfast pretty good, but variety could be improved. Offer for 4 hours of later checkout for half the room price not very good.

    Spacious room with nice views, very nice pool-area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have deducted 13CE from my account without me knowing. They have claimed that I took something from the minibar but the fact was that I didn't and the have charged for something I didn't consume! It made me forget the good experience I have had in the city despite the amount of money but it was a matter of principle.

    The property and the restaurant in villa principe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust in the room and the hallways. Smell in the room, something like toilette cleaning agent. Carpet in the room was clean but old and the room would appear much fresher without it. This was probably a very nice hotel 10 years ago but today desperately needs a renovation.

    Staff is excellent, location, nice garden, very quiet, view from Villa Príncipe Café, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't have a car then you are dependent on the hotel shuttle or taxi services.

    Nice open spaces for family with kids. Spacious rooms and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room is small and very noisy when families with children stay there. The Hotel shuttle to town works only three times a day. 6.00 pm the last one.

    The Parkhotel Principe is a quiet place with a lot of green around, vineyards and a small forest. Very friendly the staff. The room is excellent furnished and the breakfast very rich.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. everything was good

    Very beautiful property with access to Villa Leopold for the restaurant Very quiet location and just about 10 mins drive to the city centre. The hotel have their own shuttle service to Lugano centre and back at the displayed times

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pet fee is 30CHF per night - a bit high. Restaurant was closed, but the sister relais and chateaux property across the street welcomed us.

    The room is quite large. It is in a quiet area away from the city center, which is good if you have a car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little choice in the breakfast for vegetarians. The restaurant is in the other building.

    The room was big and spacious. Staff was very helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Room service and food we ordered was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people st the Reception are kind and friendly. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The location, as it is set in an area with trees and nature around. The parking on site.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything (I really did)

    +staff + location (not city center - exactly what I wanted, it was fun reaching the main piazza using google maps:)) + great view + the bust statues on the hallway are funny, take care not to get scared when passing by :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is too old. The breakfast buffet does not worth 30 CHF and so on...

    The shuttle service and the driver was great. Too far from city center, no easy way to walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that I had to leave...

    Everything is positive, the facility, the position, the gardens, the personnel, the glorious rooms, the piano bar, breakfast, he covered parking lot.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little bit uphill making it slightly difficult to go down to the city. In addition, wished they had mushroom and more options with the cereals on the breakfast.

    Excellent spacious room, large screen inside the room, location of the hotel is great, the staff were super friendly and very informative.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant not open for fall/winter beginning in October. That's fine, but it means that room-service is brought over from the Leopoldo Hotel across the street, which is also fine. What isn't cool is that some staff members at the reception pretend that it's not possible (or an extreme inconvenience), even after you just ordered room-service the day before. If it's a problem, don't offer the service! Also, they have recently tried to surreptitiously add charges, e.g. 20CHF to bring ice! You would think that after staying at the hotel eight times this year and never being charged previously, they would know better than try something so brazen... disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reasturant is bad except the breakfast was acceptable.

    The stuff and reception and cleaners were all good and friendly and the place is so enjoyable specially the yard and swimming pool and private sona.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is up a hill and not walking distance to town. We had a car so this was not an issue for us at all.

    Rooms very spacious and fit for a prince. Free extra beds and baby cot. In room dining and amazing chef (steaks are better than most restaurants). Porter service available and very friendly staff. Air conditioning in the room (great for summer)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are nice and spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff is very helpful, especially the general Manager, she takes keen interest in guest requests and is very approchable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smart TV should be connected to internet.

    This was maybe my fifth time staying here in the last year, and there's a reason for that. Great staff. Large rooms. It's a aging hotel that's kitschy, but well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room main door/window blown and no sun blind. Shower head would not stay up. Some stains on carpet near bed. Room could do with a makeover.

    Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shutter in the bedroom did not close properly. Part of one of the bedroom curtains was not attached to the rail. I had to close them with a safety pin to avoid having too much light in the morning.

    The friendly staff and the peaceful location. The nice, comfortable suite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn't great but if you have a car then everything is okay.

    The rooms are so big and spacious! The room has a nice view over the pool. The beds are comfortable and the AC is good. The bathroom is spacious and comfortable. The staff are some of the kindest staff we ever saw in Switzerland! Made us feel very, very welcome. Every hotel staff should be like them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant receptionist

    Warm swimming pool Nice location, not too far away from the centre Excellent restaurant in the hotel nearby with magnificent view over Lugano and live music Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been a good stay, but. The air condition did not work, it was a portable with the compressor outside the window. We had 31C inside in the afternoon and very hot during the night, totally underpowered. We slept badly.The shower rediculess had to fight the taps for room and the spray cover on the bath too small, water all over the place. Breakfast was a fight unless you submit to the very expensive bufet (just ordinary) for EU 35 a person. We wanted ala card and just a few things, a bit unpleasant from the management to get it and they rate them self 4 star on this score I would downgrade to 2 star. We than desided to have room service, again a fight to have a simple breakfast, they again tried to force us to the eu35 price. We finally succeeded to have a eu27 breakfast one tea and one coffee one yougourt one fried egg(2) with bacon and bread, o I forgot milk for the coffe. First they presented us with a eu47 for this ,I refused to sign, than they accepted the eu27. All this left a very bad impression with all the hassle, it should have been 3 good days. I would not recommend this hotel it is too expensive for what you get.

    big room nice mordern decoration,a good bed and TV. We had friends from USA in the Leopole 2 min walk, the reason for our stay. The general staff except the restaurant management were excellent. I would also praise the waiter we finally delt with in the restaurant and room service who had a hard time with his management, but still managed to be very pleasant and apologetic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a huge selection of food in the breakfast buffet. The eggs offered were only some scrambled eggs and boiled eggs, you should pay for a different type.

    The staff were really friendly. The waiters gave us a clear description of the food on the menu and offered other dishes (not included in the menu).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity and access to the Villa is what makes this place. Dining at the Villa was amazing. Park facilities and rooms could use an upgrade. Breakfast was very nice. Shuttle into Lugano convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -the bathroom in the "modern room " is probably 30 year old, for a 279 chf room this is not acceptable. -there are two hotels one is a 5 star one the other in a 4 star, the 5 star client are allowed to park their bentley in front of the hotel and you are kindly ask to park your car downstairs with the other cheap clients...

    -the restaurant staff was really good -breakfast is good too

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff sounded unprofessional at all! specially those who were responsible about the room service.The thing is that we used to drink coffee every morning in the room using the glasses which were offered, but unbelievably the room service have kept dirty glasses which one of them was broken too and didn't change it daily though we have asked to many times! Annoyingly, they did this all our stay, and the other bad thing in this hotel was that no body tries to help you for real or offer real benefit like other hotels. In brief, this hotel is expensive and for the amount of money we have paid we have absolutely expected to be more welcomed and pleasant not disappointed!

    Nice pool, big room, good WiFi.. The hotel was beautiful in general!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy. Swiss prices but still. You can usually get a better deal on your money for a 4 star hotel. The room rate is basic and includes nothing. Breakfast is way over priced. Be advised a room with balcony can also be on the ground floor where there is NO view.

    Good service and a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite big and confortable. Nothing to complain

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ants in the rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken bed, dirty carpets, leaking shower, aweful smell in room

    Good breakfast at partner hotel across the road

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location

    every thing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small redecorating will be nice

    Excellent for 4 stars hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room view was not what I expected

    Loved the location and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was a but dated and worn.

    It was more like a suite with a separate living room and bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to take a shower unless you are a contortionist. It costs 25-30 francs to get to town and the same back.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Park Hotel Principe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: