Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Chartreuse 3 stars

Staatsstrasse 142, 3626 Hünibach bei Thun, Hilterfingen, 3626 Thun, Switzerland

#13 of 25 hotels in Thun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of elevator can be a challenge if you have a lot of luggage, but we were offered help as we were leaving. Since there is no AC the room we had was a bit noisy with windows open as we were above the terrace restaurant and it was a weekend, but all was quiet by 10:30 or 11:00 pm.

    We had a large room with extra seating and several windows for a cross breeze. This was important as we experienced some of the hottest weather ever in Switzerland in our experience and there is no AC. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We liked being out of town but with easy access to the north shore of the lake (beautiful) and town (lots of parking in town or bus service). also grocery and bakery across the street. Only 2 blocks to the lake with ferry access and a walkway that goes all the way to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was the fourth time we stayed since six years ago when we had our first baby. Now that we at a family of four with small children, we love this place even more. Very kind and helpful staff, excellent location. Will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - late check in- our rooms were not clean on time - we checked in 30 mins late in one of the rooms- - it says standard double room for everything- but they are not all the same. We booked two rooms. One was much smaller compared to other. Be careful about that. - service - One staff who served us breakfast the first day was nice, otherwise not exactly a very friendly staff- very uncourteous staff when we had breakfast second day just because we delayed closing the breakfast table by some 15-20 mins. Its ok if we check in late because you dont keep the rooms ready but not ok when we are delayed for breakfast for some reason! - bathroom facilities are poor- very small bathroom, low flow of water, shower enclosure hardly fits an adult - just one plug in the room that I could find - twin beds connected together with a two inch gap- why bother- just have the two separate twin beds if you want to keep it like that. - breakfast menu wasn’t good- none of the breads were hot, no eggs unless you asked, no omelettes, overall variety not great. - first time I see a hotel charging without checking us out. We were charged the night before checkout on the basis of pre-auth with no intimation. I haven’t seen this before with a booking.com reservation. Overall not a great experience you expect from a Swiss hotel.

    Location next to Lake Thun- on the way to interlaken. Parking facilities were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, good location (short walk to the lake) and friendly staff. We did not have the chance to eat at the hotel but most probably their restaurant is a good one, it was fully booked for the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no elevator, which in fact was not a problem. But for older people with difficulties to walk, a handbar on the wall along the stairs to the second floor would be helpful

    Very good hotel with very friendly and supportive Staff. Very good Italian restaurant. Every day a new menu. Close to Lake Thun with beautiful view on the mountains. The pedestrian path to Thun along the lake starts near the hotel. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the water with amazing views after you reach the shore. They have their own restaurant (we didn't have dinner there, but breakfast was incredible). Our room had a view of the hills with a local garden and green houses, which were cute. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t great.

    Location is great, very easy walk or bus ride into Thun city, plus also great spot on the lake. Staff were very friendly, ensured we had a spacious room as we were with our baby. Very accommodating, setting up the baby bed and ensuring we were comfortable. Room was clean, new bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the decorations of the room wasnt the better , and stead of two single bed i would have loved a double bed but the experience have been amazing

    The restaurante area and the hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a small room with a view of the neighbouring vegetable house but the forest view almost made up for it. The bathroom was very small and the shower with a curtain was tiny. The shelf in the shower collected water so it was not usable for leaving personal toiletries on.

    Great staff and good facilities. Breakfast was always a pleasure with fresh fruits, breads and super coffee. Comfortable bed with a lovely duvet. The welcome card was a nice touch. Pascal was very charming and went out of his way to assist members of the party. He is a fabulous host.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no English tv

    The staff was very helpful, generous breakfast, good coffee, ease of safe parking, restaurant food was great, a pleasant 20 min walk along lake to downtown Thun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived before check-in time the first day. The hotel was locked up and there was no way for a new arrival to know where the entrance was or why everything was closed. We waited fifteen minutes and then everything was fine. But a "Main Entrance" "Opens at 2PM" sign would be helpful.

    The staff were very friendly and the location near Thun and along a bus route is excellent. The entry and key system is unusual, but very good and there's a safe in each room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is located in a beautiful region, with convenient transportation by train and bus. The owners are nice and friendly. Its breakfast and dinner are good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was different and appealing. Milanese italian in the middle of Switzerland. A set menu of 4 courses. each priced so you could have 2, 3 or 4 courses and all appealing. The restaurant was full, mostly filled by locals. The evening was managed personally by the young couple managing the hotel, communication in a mix of english, french and italian solved all problems and was pure fun. My wife is gluten free and was served appropriately with a personalized dinner. The restaurant was full, mostly filled by locals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff welcomed us with glass of wine! Location was great..to Thun and back! Accommodations were cozy, clean and comfortable! Very quaint with lovely terrace!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, we don't have a bad word to say about the place. Loved every minute.

    The staff were lovely and the service was incredible. We loved it so much we convinced our friends to cancel their booking at another local hotel and come join us at Chartreuse! The location is beautiful, and very convenient with the shops right nearby. The breakfasts were great, and the dinners were lovely. We had such a relaxing time in Thun, loved every minute.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing find! Beatiful accommodation, fabulous staff and delicious Italian dinners al fresco. The hotel is located close to a bus stop with free local transport and 3 mins walk to the lake and a ferry stop. There are grocery shops and a swimming beach and a short stroll to town skirting the shore of the lake - we highly recommend this hotel to all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have maybe had a slightly better breakfast selection, but still not bad.

    Close to the lake side so very easy to wander down for a swim. Nice walking distance from the centre of the Thun village. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room although spotless are a little dated.

    Hotel was great. Staff brilliant and friendly. Service great and place was spotless. Great location food fantastic. Would and likely be back for longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't an elevator in the hotel Very simple breakfast

    Very nice room and staff. A little room but comfortable Near to the center (20 minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Closed on arrival! A 'back soon' notice would have helped. drinks machine in breakfast area would be nice.

    Close proximity to lake and bus stop nearby. Room & bathroom both good size and well fitted out and very clean. Outside terrace was lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no lift, so if you are bringing a lot of luggage be ready for a small work out. Aside from that no complaints.

    Seems like family owned and they are doing a very good job. Great chef, the place has it's own restaurant. Breakfast is fresh, good products. Pascal (the boss) has been very accommodating to our family. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities, staff, breakfast were all excellent. The hotel restaurant has a very limited menu, but every dish we tried was very good. If you are there the night they have saltimboco alla Romano, its highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant had a very limited menu - basically one option per day.

    Easy parking, good breakfast. Room was big but quite hot at the time and couldn't keep windows open due to traffic noise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    excellent location and breakfast, superb staff. guest card is very useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath so small

    Breakfast Staff help view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses could have been a bit firmer

    Patrick (Pasquale) and Rachel were so welcoming and accommodating, the food was so fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that needed changing

    Breakfast was good. The waitress that served was very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The manager was very nice and help me with a lot of information

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No conplaints!

    Friendly staff, good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from kitchen and other rooms walls like paper

    Clean comfortable free bus to centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from the street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dint have air con

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price was way over the top,also the breakfast was meagre

    Th mountain in Thun

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good staff. The restaurant spectacular and the enviroment is incredible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a night. Good staff and in generally good Hotel but 60 euro for two pasta two beers and two coffee is too much expensive !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed should be connected because constantly was being divided during sleeping.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much!

    Great breakfast, efficient owner. Great value for the price. Don't forget this is Swizerland an this was a good deal..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could of had more selection on Breakfast menu including Museli and scrambled eggs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not especially close to Thun - about 20 minutes' walk.

    Lovely restaurant area & excellent staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevators and no one will help for luggage.

    Great Location near to the lake and to the city of Thun. Staff are very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    close to the lake, good food (breakfast and dinner in restaurant), friendly service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No telephone in the rooms. Dinner in the restaurant was impossibly slow. Not suitable for young children because of this. Food was good though : )

    Excellent location - 2 blocks from ferry boats. Playground near waterfront promenade. Thun area hotel card gives you free rides on the public transport, deals on the boats and also a number of tourist attractions. Great deal!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They didn't have refrigerators in the rooms, because it's very old fashioned. But you can keep your food in their kitchen fridge or get a bucket of ice for keeping snacks cool in your room.

    Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast buffet and coffee in morning was delicious and the dining area is very rustic with lots of wooden beams and antique appearance. Nice quiet stay. The hotel is in walking distance from downtown. Just walk across the street to the bike path that follows the river, and walk along this path to downtown Thon for shopping and restaurants. Very beautiful walk, great for picture taking. Children's park/playground nearby as well. The hotel itself is also across the street from a cafe/bakery, and also two small grocery stores, and the bus stop is right there. So it's perfect location for if you need anything. There is a great view of the Alps from the hotel and the mountains are breathtaking. They gave me a small jar of Swiss mustard upon checkout and they were very kind to me.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    After a day of work I usually like to eat a simple meal before going to sleep. No chance, their food concept doesn't even offer a menu card. For me, a reason not to go there anymore.

    breakfast, friendly staff and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of noise from the road, and any noise from the hotel seemed to travel right through it, especially the cleaner vacuuming at 6:30 am. There was no proper lighting in our room just 2 lamps. Very basic furniture in the room. Not good value for the facilities.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice view of the mountains from the window. Nice shower room.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Down town Thun within walking distance. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Very kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator. No air conditioning so street was loud with windows open.

    Helpful staff got us an early breakfast as we had a train to catch.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not too comfortable.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff are impolite and rude . I call the old laddy but she didnot speak to me well which i hate much and will never book again .

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: