Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Derby 3 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 22, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#160 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady at the breakfast counter was very rude. Avoid her. Others like Sabrina were warm and sweet. She is at the reception.

    Nice location and very comfortable. Staff are friendly. Nice comfy rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    central heating turned off even though temperatures were as low as 2 degrees at night (unusually cold days for May but were told that it isn't winter hence its off) Staff provided portable heater as alternative which was ok. Very tiny lift, can probably fit 3 people in without much luggage, had to make 5 trips to get all 5 pieces of luggage and 5 people up!

    Location, helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was extra cold when we were there (-17 celcius) and the room was almost overheated. Because of that we had to open the window and one night, drunk guys were so loud on the street. Heard everything.

    LOCATION. excellent location steps away from the train station and right in town. helpful hints to where to rent skis etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No real lounge or bar area to relax in - only relaxing space felt like a reception area

    The room was a good size. The bathroom was huge and the beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the quality of the coffee was awful and we had to put up with the cooking smell of eggs and bacon, cooked right in front of us. There was no liquid soap above the bath and the handles above the bath were missing - only the fittings remained in the wall.

    The buffet had everything one could reasonably expect. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not comfortable and pillows were extremely soft. Staff could have been more sensitive to requirements of customer through listening and responding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am sure they have balcony rooms with mountain views, but our view was of other buildings. It really did not take away from our experience because we had wine, sunshine and the buildings were cute. If we had a view of the mountains...mamma mia. It would have been icing on the cake.

    The Hotel Derby was perfect for our family. We have 3 boys- ages 10, 9 and 3. The hotel was right down the street from the train station, we just walked right to our hotel, did not need to wait for a hotel shuttle. Perfect spot right in town, so close to park, skating rink, grocery store and easy walk to catch train or lifts. Beds were comfortable, towels & shower great. Plenty of space for all snow gear.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our first visit to Zermatt with kids (5&3yr old) guess this is one of the best location in Zermatt with the reasonable price considering Dec is the peak season. Literally few steps (2min) away from the Zermatt main station and the Coops (local groceries store) also around the corner. (3min away) The breakfast buffet was also good and generous. We checked in the suites - fridge and stove was also available and the balcony was also a bonus to us. The hotel is facing the Main Street of Zermatt. you can also enjoy watching the busy scene during day time when you sitting outside of the Derby restaurant . Most of retail shops closed by 7pm so at night is quite eventho is located on Main Street. It was so convenient for us to move around with the kids. Highly recommended Hotel Derby!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room was very spacious and comfortable. Easy walk from train station and gonergrat. Near Coop supermarket for groceries shopping. Heater worked well for winter in Zermatt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Given the price we paid (around 330 CHF the room) we were expecting quite more from the room which was very simple, quite small and not super clean.

    We liked the personnel that was really welcoming and kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic toilets, simple breakfast spread.

    Rooms & beds comfy, very nice of hotel staff to upgrade one of my double room to an apartment, with an extra bed for my daughter, 8 yrs. Rooms good size & spacious. Good location next to Zermatt Train Station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is superb . Breakfast is good. Room is clean and big enough to stay 3 persons. Our room faced the street but no noice disturbed by night time. Requests for some adjustment such as door, or heater were responsed and completely finished by the time we returned in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lift is super small, can only accommodate 2 luggage at a time. no exhaust fan in the bathroom so u need to open the windows. i think the staff locked the lift in the morning during room service and we had to walk all the way up after waiting for ages

    very close to the train station. good location. convenient for food and everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately all accommodation in Switzerland is expensive, no bargains to be had! The cost of dining out is also ridiculous but Zermatt is worth it ;)

    We liked everything about this hotel. It has character and friendliness that you won't find in a five star city hotel. Great location close to station, shops, mountain transport. Reception and service staff wonderful, couldn't be any better. Our room was pleasant and comfortable with a lovely balcony. Breakfast was delicious. There is a MacDonalds nearby for coffee and a Migros supermarket and liquor store very near. We found the cost of eating out prohibitive and instead enjoyed delicious evening meals of smoked salmon, cheese, salami, olives, tomatoes etc etc from here. We stayed four nights and were sorry to leave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was mediocre, but I was thankful they offered it.

    The staff here was phenomenal. They knew everything about the area and informed us of all closures at check in, and then gave us recommendations. The room was fantastic. We booked a triple and it was so spacious, with a small balcony overlooking the Bahnhofstrasse. The bathroom was HUGE! Very un-European and a dream! The location was the best. Only steps from the train, so we didn't have to worry about getting a hotel shuttle or dragging our luggage around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a weekend getaway. The hotel is in a great location in the center of Zermatt. It is very near to the main train station, Gornergrat train station and several food joints. After a long day on the slopes, we were so happy to get back to the hotel and relax. The staff at the reception and in the restaurant were very pleasant. We will definitely come back the next time we are in Zermatt.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not that great. The coffee was not tasting but for that the cappuccino was excellent

    Very good location. Not far from the station and very close to the music festival. Everyone is very friendly. Clean room. Restaurant also serves very good Food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was beyond AWESOME. Love the cleanliness of the room and it comes with a sneak preview of the peak of Matterhorn. Location was close to the train station and everything else.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed/mattress very basic, room itself also basic, boot room not big enough, we were in a 3 person room, nothing wrong but felt more like a youth hostel than a luxury hotel - it is not a luxury hotel but as a basic hotel it is absolutely fine

    Near perfect location, 2 minute walk from station and main bus stop for ski lifts and town centre for bars/restaurants; great breakfast, bathroom OK but small, everything clean and staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel could do with a renovation, its like going back to the 80's. The beds need to be updated as they were old and uncomfortable.

    The hotel was very clean and the service was friendly. The location was fantastic right in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is superb. Its only 10 minutes walking distance from the train station to the hotel and it is very easy to find as it is located in the main road.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must say I have no complaint whatsoever.

    Welcoming staff, excellent location, pleasant European breakfast, very comfortable room. Perhaps my favorite accommodation on this trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cheese fondue & raclette served in restaurant. Italian, american food served even fondue chinoise!!! But no swiss traditional food =(

    Receptionist was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Nice modern and spacious room. Our room is actually not in the hotel main building, but in an apartment behind it. Delicious breakfast and good wi-fi network. Located close to Zermatt's main street and the train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is rather a hostel, a kind of tourist station or B&B. Three stars rating is a misunderstanding. You can only sleep here and have a poor choice breakfast.

    Good location at the main street, close to all points of interest, access to the external terrace

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor quality and service

    central location if you need to spend a night or two in the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old accommodation, old bathroom

    Great location, nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good and very near to the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from restaurant

    Nice Place. Nice View Near Train Station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are too small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good and the room is quite big for my family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had one meal and this was not impressive.

    Big room and located quietly though right in the center. Adequate breskfast and very efficient reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room

    The food is awesome . Service staff is friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite old, very standard room

    Very close to train station, helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good and the Staff was very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly. The location was fabulous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too flat

    Extra handy to train station and centre of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great 5 minutes away from train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in the flat only.

    The flat location near the train station. I felt secured and in safe place. The flat was occupaid with everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Location was perfect - right in the heart of Zermatt

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility for making tea or coffee in the room. Very few English movie channels on the TV.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is spacious and well equipped. Recommend to family and those who like to do cooking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great especially when having big luggages...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good staff, clean room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location in the centre of the village. Large room with comfortable bed. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to station. Staff were very nice and helpful. Room was cozy. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Property was only about 2 minutes away from Zermatt Main station and very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV remote did not work; breakfast was basic; value/money, but this is switzerland

    clean hotel; located centrally and close to station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater works well

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front door doesn't close in its own. Need a key to lock it.

    Comfy beds. Homely feel. Gd variety of channels for kids entertainment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position not far from train station and in the Main Street of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No good choice of pork cured meat for breakfast

    The view on the Matterhorn from the balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hot water for shower is not very stable

    Nice staff and great location, the room is cozy with nice street view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Residence Bellevue
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roomy apartment for all 6 of us. We had more than enough room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is too small. Rooms have no kettle for making hot water.

    Very good location. Just 5 min walk from the station

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Returning guest, very satisfied as always

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lift is very small and I just squeezed in myself and the pram.

    We travelled with a newborn and young child. The hotel were really helpful to ensure the room was convienent to the lift, had a cot bed even though we said we may not need one and always helpful when we needed to sterilise our bottles. The location is great, very central and a great job for all little excursions within zermat.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the room location was behind the actual hotel. called belleview. which was confusing while booking. there was no kettle or coffee machine in the room

    The receptionist was very kind and helpful. Location of the hotel is good right next to the street of shopping

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    satisfied breakfast but there is no hot food.(just boiled eggs and hot drinks) however i love there all kinds of bread.

    just near to station 2 minutes on foot can see the mattehorn in the balcony nice service clean room

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was typical, but nothing too exciting. The room we were in was a little small, but that was fine as we didn't spend a lot of time there.

    Great location, friendly staff and clean accommodations, couldn't really ask for much more.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little hot overnight - made sleep difficult at times

    Perfect location - so close to everything Great room - spacious, loved the balcony Friendly staff Quiet

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When booking his hotel make sure you specify you want to be in the hotel in the picture on the street and not an apartment behind the hotel with no view. Facilities were nothing like the pictures and bed was extremely hard. Did not sleep.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location was great. It s really near of the train station. We stayed at Bellevue which is very close to the hotel. We are with a baby so to have the breakfast we need to put the winter closes in our baby that can bother a little.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location in the main street just 5 mins walk from the station. Lots of food choices nearby including excellent Chinese restaurant immediately behind the hotel. Room OK but rather on the small side but it did have a large balcony.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast staff very unfriendly,

    Great receptionist. Handy to train station.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the location is very good, close to the station.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was petite to say the least!

    The location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -

    Location, kitchen, bed, clean, good staffs

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location, good for families with the kids since everything is on cca 5min around hotel.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: