Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant le Mazot

Hofmattstrasse 23, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    The location is good - just steps away from the trains going...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is possibly too tiny if one has lots of equipment, but for a hiking WE its just perfect.

    The location is good - just steps away from the trains going up the mountains. The single room with a shared bathroom is small, basic, yet sufficient. Comfortable bed, sink in the room. everything is spotless clean. The check in is simple, you can basically come in and check in yourself. I've seen the host only upon the check out, she was friendly and spoke very good English. The shared bathroom is spacious and clean. The breakfast is 15 SFr per person, which sounds like a lot. But comparing the the prices in the caffees around - fare deal :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Very nice view from the room, can see a spectacular view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice view from the room, can see a spectacular view of Matterhorn from the room. And Breakfast was superb. It had a big collection and suitable for kids as well. Hotel is clean and tidy. Located in the middle of the city so we could walk around the Zermatt city easily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, staff, bed and sparkling clean!! I'd definitely come back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. Sparkling clean!! Very nice staff. The size of the room was small but the confort of the beds is great!!. I would just change the toilet seat for another more solid, but that is all!!!

    Best breakfast ever!!!! Everything made with love, fresh and delicious!! Variety of cakes, yogurt, fruits, flan, pastries, breads, eggs.... I always think a great breakfast really makes a difference. Thanks a lot! You made me happy :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Incredible Matterhorn views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few finishing touches in our room could've been better such as the shower curtain partially hanging off and a reading light taped together but overall a lovely comfortable stay.

    Very friendly welcome. The owner gave us the option of waiting til the following morning to decide if we wanted to include breakfast. Incredible view of the Matterhorn from the terrace of room 4!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Weekend in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all fine

    Location was perfect. Not far from train station. Room was exactly as described on web page. Restaurant downstairs was very nice and with great service. When you stay in the hotel you get 10% discount for restaurant bill. My 4yo daughter liked all the decorations there :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect place to stay for exploring zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a little bit confused that its a shared bathroom on the floor, but it was very clean and was good.

    Breakfast was really good, that exceeded my expectations. i loved the balcony to chill. great place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely original building in the heart of Venice overlooking the canal. Perfect. The staff were lovely. Breakfast is also included but as we were leaving early they served us breakfast in our room. The rooms were spacious with a four poster bed. Fabulous location next to the Grimaldi museum. All the main locations St Marks square.. Bridge of signs nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Just walk-able from Train station as Zermatt is car free its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are not comfortable for 2 adults +1 Kid

    Just walk-able from Train station as Zermatt is car free its more convenient to find out the hotel by walk.Main shopping street is just near to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Great place to relax and enjoy your stay in Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful practical hotel in great central Zermatt with magnificent views of the Matterhorn. Copious breakfast, lovely coffee and very kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Small inn, quiet and clean, great location walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small inn, quiet and clean, great location walking distance from train station and to gondolas. From room 8, lovely balcony with perfect view of Matterhorn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.4
    When we checked in, the receptionist told us,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, the receptionist told us, "breakfast will be served tomorrow from what time to what time". So we took for granted that it was complimentary. The next day we went for breakfast- which was very simple (and terrible), just some breads and coffee and tea. Even the eggs are to be boiled by yourself (so we didn't have them). The waiter saw us in and didn't mention anything about charge. After we finished, she came out from the kitchen and asked for 13 F each person. Which was totally ridiculous and the breakfast doesn't worth it at all. If we knew it was not free, we wouldn't have our breakfast there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    everything is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    please, need a flexible check out time for traveler. thank you.

    everything is perfect! nice location, facility, view in the room, everything is really good and comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    The price of the hotel was a little to high but over all we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lighting in the room, not enough light, was to dim, and there was no staff around after hours, even the telephone was not working, and for us westeners, we love ice, i was sad that the resturant did not serve ice.

    the staff was very helpfull and polite, and the place is very clean especially the shared bathroom which was always clean, which is important to me and my wife.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Best, best, best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best stay ever! Great price, location, comfort bed, great room condition, everything was super clean, every staffs were soooo helpful and so kind. Breakfast was great. so nice that we can use cups, tea&coffee, plates anytime. Definitely willing to visit again:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Location view Matterhorn from room, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location view Matterhorn from room, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    great view from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great view from room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent in center of zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just fact that bathroom is shared.

    Location is excellent in center of zermatt. Also rooms are very clean, small, but comforfable. Stuff very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Hidden gem in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent location Very helpful and friendly service Amazing room Good dinner and breakfast options

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay in according to value of money and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nil

    Located inside city centre, adjacent attractive point can reach conveniently.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    ...

    everything was great, our woody room, the view of matterhorn, the location, the staff. really everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Nice location, good value in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and view of the Matterhorn. We happened to be on the correct side of the property. Breakfast was well prepared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is very nice, i cant remember her name though. We got the room with the biggest balcony looking straight to matterhorn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Stay was adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room bath across the hall

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, good position, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, good position, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Magical town, cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony + view was just fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable, cosy rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    MUST GO
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Beautiful town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Clean Cozy Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, lovely staff, views of the Matterhorn from balcony, and a two min walk from the train station all at a great price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Good locat5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good locat5

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    No fuss and very cheerful staff
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Not ensuite

    Staff were pleasant and very accomodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    breakfast is good, nice environment and staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely view and great stuff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Great staff, service annd restaraunt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small but fine.

    Stay for supper - Excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    It's really a wonderful place which I met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's really a wonderful place which I met. I could see the Matterhorn in front of my window. Nice breakfast(like buffet)convenient location Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    We booked this hotel last minute because our other hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel last minute because our other hotel in town was disappointing, and we ended up canceling our second night. This room was the only I could find for less that 200 per night, so I was worried we would be getting a a bad room. But it was beautiful. The room itself had a lot of character with wooden beams and a spacious bathroom. We had a huge balcony that we had access to through the bedroom and the bathroom. The best part: There was a perfect view of the Matterhorn from the room/balcony. It was also right next to the bus stop and close to shops and restaurants. I was also pleasantly surprised that at breakfast, in addition to the usual fare, was a delicious, fresh pear kuchen. It was all a great experience and I was extremely happy with my decision to cancel at my first (more expensive) hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    After stepping into the room and taking a look out the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The check-in process is done completely by the guest by going to the assigned room and finding the key and instructions there. This was not a problem, but I wish this would have been made more clear before arrival. The only staff member we encountered during our stay was the woman who served breakfast, so we could not really get any recommendations for sightseeing or restaurants.

    After stepping into the room and taking a look out the window, we were amazed with an unobstructed view of the Matterhorn from the window. It was a luxury to have such a great view of the mountain from the window and also the terrace. Request room 8 for the best view in the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location in the heart of Zermatt, but not in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surprisingly, the hotel doesn't have the "run by a family"-vibe. Perhaps because they were present only during the dinner (in the hotel restaurant). It really does have potential to be more charming and intimate, and they should work on getting a more personalized touch. The lady who cleaned our room and prepared breakfast was fantastic!!!

    Excellent location in the heart of Zermatt, but not in the most noisy area. Very reasonable priced for Zermatt. The rooms with shared bath are great as there are only two rooms sharing.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    - location in the centre of Zermatt not far from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - room 5 is not good. Very basic and with the loud gushing river right outside, it's impossible to sleep. - sharing the bathroom with showers that are impossible to regulate temperature-wise. - very poor breakfast selection.

    - location in the centre of Zermatt not far from the train station. - good price in an otherwise very expensive town.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish they had an evening meal service. They had very simple meals only, i.e. salad or quiche plus a salad. They were both very good when I wanted a light meal.

    location and view

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    The room was beautiful, views stunning, location perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast did not meet any of the dietry requirements i and my partner emailed months before our stay about, nor was there any effort to make any food available that we could eat throughout our stay. breakfast itself was not great.

    The room was beautiful, views stunning, location perfect, bath roomy, shower great.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    the view in room 4 was just awesome with an gigantic terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the shower curtain must be ex-changed they run out of bread and croissants at breakfast

    the view in room 4 was just awesome with an gigantic terrace. we could see the Matterhorn from dusk till dawn :-) The staff (1 lady) was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast spread was a bit limited, especially if you weren't there early as things like croissants ran out both mornings.

    The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station, the town center, and other points of interest. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    The location was perfect and the bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't see any staff member at all on check in or after that. It wasn't until 5 minutes before checkout we actually saw someone who worked there. Very strange

    The location was perfect and the bed was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    At the balcony, we could see the Matterhorn, while sunset we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the balcony, we could see the Matterhorn, while sunset we watched the Matterhorn changed to golden, it was wonderful. We think it is the best sell point of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Authentic Swiss style chalet close to the centre of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only minus was having to share bathroom with several other guests.

    Authentic Swiss style chalet close to the centre of the village. Very clean and comfortable. Very pleasant hostess. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    This is a wonderful little hotel right in the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a wonderful little hotel right in the centre of Zermatt but not on the Main Street. The room was simple but lovely and clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also lovely and spotless. Breakfast was great and the staff were lovely. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Easy to find, cosy, comfortable room, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were surprised no one was there to meet us on arrival. But we were able to find our room without any problem.

    Easy to find, cosy, comfortable room, good breakfast. Our second floor room had great views on three sides and an en suite bathroom. We got advice on the weather at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.3
    The restaurant is excellent, with nice, friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is excellent, with nice, friendly service. Matterhorn with sunny weather superb, absolute 'vaut le voyage'

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    - comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - the room is small

    - comfort - nice location

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    2.9
    bad host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bad host. he damage my perfect swiss trip. and hotel le mazot is scary. besides, a bathroom's door is not locked. so cruel memory.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    Cleanliness, functional room and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need to do self check in without prior notice however process is so easy

    Cleanliness, functional room and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    great location,great breakfest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    share bathroom was a little busy

    great location,great breakfest

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    The room was simple, but clean and more than adequate with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was simple, but clean and more than adequate with a comfortable bed. The view of the Matterhorn was amazing from our room and balcony.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location; friendly staff; the room was clean & basic.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Great breakfast and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast and excellent location. Great value.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Proximity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift, shared bathroom

    Proximity

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    6.3
    Location - close to town and not in the main strip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast selection is limited. Wall is thin. Room is tight. Pillows are too soft.

    Location - close to town and not in the main strip.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.1
    the room was nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad wifi connection depend on devices. Self check in.

    the room was nice! nice view! They kept my luggage for a day after check out.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.3
    Sizeable and clean room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sizeable and clean room and bathroom. We had a balcony that would have overlooked the Matterhorn if the weather had liked us.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    central location 500m from train station, good wifi, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no elevator to upper floors.

    central location 500m from train station, good wifi, room size reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location and value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You need to do self check in.

    Good location and value for your money.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    Location and the view of Matterhorn are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unsafeness as check in by myself and no staff for enquiry. Limited shower gel for use.

    Location and the view of Matterhorn are great.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    very cossy, had a lovely view, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    didn't have any bad experiences, was a little over just carbs for breakfast everywhere we went

    very cossy, had a lovely view, great location

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.3
    Phenomenal view and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Phenomenal view and great location. The attached restaraunt is awesome too!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Walking distance to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep stairs to upper levels - no lift

    Walking distance to railway station view of Matterhorn from room

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    The fact the restaurant wasn't open
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact the restaurant wasn't open

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    Good location, clean "shared bathroom", friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom is hard to locked and lower water pressure.

    Good location, clean "shared bathroom", friendly reception.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi connect

    good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Quiet, good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet, good value for the money

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    6.3
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    small room no table but large toilet -,-

    good breakfast

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: