Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schützen Lauterbrunnen

Fuhren 439, 3822 Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

#19 of 23 hotels in Lauterbrunnen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Knowing that I was travelling solo, Jacqui was always looking out for me and gave me good recommendations on what to do in the area. She made me feel at home in her lovely hotel (:

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities provided were very run down- eg. lights were spoilt, very difficult to unlock the door, WiFi signal very weak. Also, they were very short handed, staff wise. There was no one at the reception when we arrived, and was told to wait till 4pm before check-in was allowed. Generally, a very unpleasant experience.

    Location is good. Only 5 min walk to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in times are late, 4-8pm, but was able to keep my bags behind the desk until then.

    Very clean, great location, kind staff, awesome view, cosy wooden hotel. Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The issue was we booked a budget room w/ a shared bathroom as that was the only thing left, but there was no shower, only a sink and toilet, at least as far as we could determine. We checked in late and they left us a key w/out any explanation of where the shower (if available) might be, and no one could tell us where it was prior to having to leave on the early side of the morning. But otherwise it was not a bad hotel.

    This hotel is similar to many in the region, the breakfast was good and our room had a good view of the falls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is NO ONE at the front desk. We were left keys in an envelope and that's it. The hotel has a new owner who also runs tours. She doesn't understand English. It wasn't clean in areas.

    The waitress in the restaurant who served our coffee was very nice and helpful. She was the only one at this hotel that give us any information on the area. The beds were comfortable, but lacking pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was fine but would have loved some sausages, scrambled eggs and mushrooms. Also a kettle in the bedroom for coffee/tea would have been great.

    We got an excellent room with views of the fall and mountains. The staff were friendly and switched on the TV for us to check the weather on the mountains enabling us to plan accordingly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room quite spacious with a balcony facing the waterfall. Very nice view . The lady owner ( Chinese) is very friendly and offer us a kettle. The WiFi also good .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a mistery how this dirty place received a status of “Three stars Hotel”. No receptionist at the front desk. One small dark toilette for at least 4 rooms with no soap and towels. Shower somewere at another floor. Two narrow beds with small bench between them, 4 hooks on a wall and agly wall cupboard were furnishing this tiny room. The window was situated on the level of the street covered with broken furniture and garbage. Please see my photos. Keep away from this worst hostel we ever saw.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - When the room is so small one side of the bed touches the wall and even then there isn’t room for even one night table it shouldn’t be called a double room. - Only one shower to be shared between all rooms with shared facilities. - During our entire stay the vast majority of the rooms were rented to a tour operator that was starting loudly their day before 6AM.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t even see the check in staff. Saying that, I didn’t see any staff! Room was tiny and bathroom and toilets were quite run down. I guess i got what I paid for but I was still a bit disappointed, I’ve stayed in hostels with a nicer room!

    It was comfy and the view was nice. That’s it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a beautiful balcony with the view of the waterfalls. The town is small so everything is walking distance. The breakfast was nice. Beds were comfortable. Very nice receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took a room with sharing bathroom. Room was extremely small. No place to stand too. No tv. Atleast wash basin is required in room.

    Its location is cool. And very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too bright in morning when I forgot to close curtains, but it is worth seeing the picturesque waterfall!

    Excellent view of waterfall, A fabulous location close to train station. Comfortable room, Friendly staff, Free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low value for money even for a Swiss hotel, this was the most expensive in a 9 day trip to 3 places. It was way below our expectations after seeing the photos. We were expecting a more luxurious place and ended up in what could at best be a hostel. Very old worn down room and bathroom. Staff was never available at the reception. We left the keys at the desk and left at check out since there was no one to be found anywhere.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major problem as the shower and water was always nice and warm. The tiles in the bathroom were a bit 70s retro and the lighting was a bit dim.

    The staff are lovely. The breakfast was nice with choice of ham, eggs, bread and cereal. Great view from our balcony of the nearby waterfall. Comfortable beds. Short walk from the railway station and BLM cableway to Mürren.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty hot in room but better than cold.

    Very friendly staff and helpful with our diary intolerance breakfast requirements. Fine facilities for slightly old hotel. What was not in room we asked for and got.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Group of Chinese tourists waking up at 5:30, taking breakfast and shouting across open doors. Since walls and floors are very thin (wooden construction), don't expect a restful night if you are not an early morning person...

    Close to the station, parking available, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was unattended when we arrived, tried calling with no answer. We had to wait 2 hours sitting on the floor of the reception area until someone showed up. There was no sign or anything to let us know when someone would return.

    Friendly staff in the restaurant, happy to have a chat while we enjoyed a beer at the bar before dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all really friendly and welcoming. They also left us a lovely letter and a bottle of champagne congratulating us on our wedding. Our room had a stunning view of the town. The bath was nice and big - exactly what I needed after being sick and trudging through snow. The bed was also really big and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No available staff to do an early check in. Check in is strictly only at 16:00. Very old facility. Every footstep is heard in the rooms. The waking path leading to the entrance was very icy and staff didn’t bother to salt it. Many people slid and fell while hauling their luggage

    Excellent breakfast. Great coffee! Close to train station. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could do better with the bathroom though... the ceiling is was too low, shower head was too low too so I had to have a shower with one hand...

    The hotel was just ok. Comfy bed, nice and big room. The breakfast was ok..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegetables on menu but this is being picky..as everything was wonderful.

    Cosy traditional Chalet. Wonderful staff.Allowed us to kick on for new year's eve. Great traditional fare in restaurant. Breathtaking views from verandahs. Only 100m or so from train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant wasn’t opened as there was only 2 places open in the whole town to eat. Not much variety for breakfast eg hot breakfast

    Iwe loved the snow

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no answer when we rang and emailed about our train delays so we arrived to find an envelope on the window sill. We had trouble with keys and locks and noone was there to help us. In fact apart from breakfast helpers we saw noone just a lot of chinese tour groups and their leaders. Noone talked to us. Reception is "open" from 4 to 8 pm but still we never saw anyone. We even had to leave our key on the desk as we left as noone was there. This really is NOT SATISFACTORY!

    Position right in the centre of town was fabulous. Very short walk to train. The breakfast lady Jackie was really helpful and friendly and I dont know how we'd have managed without her. Our room had a balcony and a nice view and was spacious on European standards. The hotel nextdoor was called The Oberland. The management and staff there were fantastic. This was where we ate dinner as the Schutzen had nothing on offer (even for Christmas)... Many thanks to Mark and Ursula at the Oberland...you made us feel welcomed to Switzerland.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small small small!!! No hairdryer. We had a room with private bathroom, a lot of other rooms had a shared bathroom, which made it a lot more expensive but really still quite overpriced for that size room.

    Excellent breakfast menu and very lovely staff. The lady at the front desk from South Africa was very nice and so was the Asian family who runs the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit of a hike to the shower, but we didn't seem to have any competition for it. And there was plenty of hot water, at least when we were there.

    The hotel was centrally located, very clean, and quite comfortable, with a nice breakfast buffet - accompanied by a TV with weather webcams of the nearby mountain destinations, which was very helpful. We had a tiny little room on the fourth (top) floor; toilet and sink in the room, bath on the second floor. The room was very small, but fine for our needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t a 24 hour receptionist which wasn’t so good. The hotel is old and the room was just about ok doesn’t have too many facilities. The only best thing was the view from the hotel and your room. In Autumn & winter the restaurant is closed which makes it so inconvenient for us to get a meal we had to drive to interlaken for dinner every night as there’s hardly any options in Lauterbrunnen. It’s completely dead after sunset. Driving back from interlaken wasn’t easy as there aren’t many street lights on the main road 😞 So I suggest to only make a day trip to Lauterbrunnen not worth staying the night here. Interlaken of Grindlewald would be better options. Breakfast is just average

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was definitely 'cosy' (+ shared bathroom upstairs) but I knew that when booking as it was advertised as such and was one of the few rooms left in Lauterbrunnen when making my last minute booking - I saw some of the other rooms and they looked great and very spacious. The good view out the window was also partly obstructed by outdoor furniture leaning against it. Price was expensive for what it was compared to many other parts of the world but I guess it was probably comparable for the area.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly, even allowing me to sneak in for a late breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways and carpets need a bit of remodelling.

    Pleasantly surprises: the rooms were very clean, it was quiet at night with just the sound of the cowbells and Staubbach, and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some tour groups arriving/leaving in the middle of the night shouting in the corridors, not sure what the hotel can do about this (maybe signs asking for quiet in relevant languages)

    Beautiful place, comfortable hotel, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.The room was REALLY small although double occupancy; in the room: 2 single beds, old wardrobe with shelves; a very small night table (rather a taboret); no chair; very small window; 2.In the shared shower, the shower foot towel was not exchanged the next day, but hung on towel bar: not hygienic at all; there were no other bars or hooks available; 3.The only time there was someone at the reception was in the early evening, shortly before 6PM; there was no possibility to ask questions and get some information; 4.While reserving a room, I used my credit card, but I was not given the choice of the mode of paying; I wanted to pay cash, but the receptionist charged my credit card before we even left. 5.Our guest cards were given to us a night before we left, not before, so we couldn't use them to claim discounts.

    Breakfast was excellent! Parking was great! finding the hotel was very easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar area was closed, which meant we had to go out every day just to have an afternoon or evening drink. That meant no way to meet the other guests. We had to borrow a jug to have a cuppa. Nothing in the room to show hotel services had to do all that in the reception area which had limited hours.

    Jackie our breakfast host was a wealth of local knowledge we looked forward to sharing our plans with her and then sharing again the next day. Her smile was a great start to each day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is centrally located in Lauterbrunnen and I was able to walk directly out of the door and into the mountains! Breakfast was included, and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel is pretty basic, but for those just wanting to hike/ski/explore and have a good value room to sleep in, it was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of breakfast meat and cheese one day when hotel was full.

    charm, ideal location, free breakfast, helpful reception, easy free parking,terrace outside our bedroom, waterfall view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ensuite bathroom! The hotel had a toilet on the same floor as our - luckily almost next door to our room. The shower (only one for the small hotel - not sure how many rooms) was upstairs. Not an ideal situation but we survived.

    Lauterbrunnen is a lovely little town near Interlaken close to many gondolas which take one to the various mountains. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dark, small, angles ceiling so husband's kept hitting their heads. Motion Lights kept going off while we were climbing stairs to our room. Shower was on third floor were were on fifth floor. The reality of the place was not explained by booking.com. I can deal with whatever something is but set up reality by telling me the shower is two floors below me and that our rooms are in the attic with crawl spaces to sleep in.

    The location and that is had and elevator

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms: one with communal shower, which was very small and one double room en suite, which had a cute balcony and was clean and comfortable. However, the price is way too high for what the place is offering... even for Switzerland.

    The location was perfect - the view on the Staubbach waterfall is amazing. We did a walk from Lauderbrunnen to Stechelberg, which was beautiful and the start is very close to the hotel. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Propety has been sold and no maintenance for past several years. Was there 10 years ago. What a difference now. Rooms dusty and hall carpets beaten up. Large aisan tours descend on this small hotel and swiss charm is gone. Came to see switzerland. Day manager and breakfast staff good as they are still from old owner. Also fire alarm was hanging from cieling

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very badly setup. Very limited lighting in the room.

    Location. View of falls from room. Balcony. Good location to catch the train to jungfrau

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor quibble. We were there in August and could have used some air conditioning, but I imagine it would only be used one month out of the year, do I can't really fault them for not having it.

    We wanted the small town feel (Interlaken seemed to much of a big city) Lauterbrunnen filled the bill, and this hotel was charming, had physical keys, an interesting hallway layout, and felt like a throwback to an earlier era in a good way, maybe 1940's. We arrived late, but there was an envelope on the front door with our name on there outside and the keys on the inside. We spoke to some one from the hotel only once (to get more toilet paper, which they supplied straightaway.) So they were there when I needed them. One more point: We went paragliding, and the pickup point was literally next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude staff. Gave me a room that was on attic that looked like a dump. No staff onsite till noon to answer any questions. Was yelled at for following as he was too busy with other things when asked for a change of room.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of cigarettes in a non-smoking room

    Our room smelled like cigarette smoke, the room was very basic and dated, and the breakfast was basic as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cigarette smoke in hall on 2nd floor was quite unpleasant to walk through on our way to room. Pillows too squishy for us. Never saw anyone at the front desk, except the evening we checked in. Would have really loved to have some glasses or mugs in the room, and access to hot water for tea.

    Wonderful view from balcony. One of the most beautiful places on earth. So grateful to have a place to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel and for the price you pay (€160 per night)you dont even have a kettle! I have paid less then half the roomprice for other places and it even has coffee and tea on the room.

    Great location, lauterbrunnen is stunning. The lady that serves breakfast really Nice lady

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Views outstanding. Staff Very Nice and Helpful. Quiet, Clean, Comfortable Swiss style hotel. Restaurant very good. Great Location. Walking distance to train station, bus stop in front, grocery store and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, the beds were not comfortable, the bathroom was the tiniest bathroom I have ever used!

    The location was good and glad they have onsite parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location. Staff all helpful, delightful South African lady who served breakfast was hugely helpful. Prices in Switzerland for Brits are astronomical, multiply everything you're used to by a factor of 3. Doubtless this stunningly beautiful environment can charge ceiling prices for everything. In particular the mountain railways/cable cars seem to have trebled their prices for reasons nobody could explain to us. If you haven't done it, climb up the path to the Staubach waterfall and get nicely wet on the rocky ledge/ tunnel that goes right underneath the fall, good therapy on a hot day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The condition of the building is very poor. In fact it is obviously neglected (almost as if there is no permanent handyman employed there). Many neighbouring properties have healthy flower displays and one can see the effort to keep their outer appearance tidy. Anemic flower pots with wild grass growing in cracks on the pavement greet guests at this hotel. The inside hallways have water stains on the walls and much of the carpeting is threadbare. Some rooms appear to be renovated, unfortunately ours was not (except the bathroom...it was redone some years past it seems), and the walls were scuffed and dirty. Too many issues to list.

    Location, decent breakfast, and friendly staff are the only positive things about this establishment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a ripoff. This hotel should come off TripAdvisor. I would not suggest anyone go there. Our fridge was broken, our phone cord was cut, didn't work, and the tv wasn't plugged in... Leading us to believe that was broken as well. The place is a dump and I'm positive they're just taking everyone's money. Totally wished we had stayed in the hostel down the street. I almost called the cops if they didn't refund my money. ---- which they didn'T. I just let it go and left early in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited. Some of the staff (especially at breakfast) weren't helpful and never smiled at the guests. Check out seemed very forced. Rooms needs AC. Most of the time there wasn't anyone at the front desk.

    The location is probably the best thing about the accommodation. A few of the staff were friendly and helpful. The size of the quadruple rooms were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost

    This is an expensive hotel compared to other local alternatives. It was clean and quiet in my side room and I slept well however the hotel needs a serious facelift and is quite dull inside. The staff were very friendly and as I was on a walking trip I needed one night and a good sleep. I slept really well and there was no noise disturbance at night. Had it been a holiday with my wife I might have felt ripped off but on my own walking it was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of some simple amenities such as water kettle and tea.

    Great views from Balcony. Easy access to Train station and shops. Restaurant serves great traditional breakfast as well as dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathrooms we're great, and the showers were on different levels to our room.

    Room was very big and had a nice balcony. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found my car with a scratch in the hotel parking. No note was left to announce me about the incident.

    They pay attention to my sick son and offered a flask of hot water, tea and sliced lemon free of charge. The staff at reception give us a lot of helpful travel advices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed a fan to cool the room for you to sleep comfortably as we were there in early August and it was very hot. The bathroom was very small and dark - needed more lights. The room key was an old "skeleton key" and very hard to use, not safe in case of an emergency. The hotel/restaurant should provide ice on request, especially during the summer months when the temperatures are hot. We would not recommend this location and would not stay again.

    The view was good and the breakfast very tasty. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little dated. Also the front desk clerk did not have our rooms sorted out. Turns out that booking.com only sent them 2 room reservations when there should have been 3 and they were sold out. We made do. Not the hotel's fault but communicating with the front desk staff was not easy as he only spoke broken German.

    Great location. Stunning views. Tons of options with the included breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and staff were very pleasant and helpful! We could see the Alps from our bed and the huge waterfall next to us! Great location for hiking and the oversized bathtub was wonderful to soak my hurting feet! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have liked some variety in breakfast on different days. I was there for 5 days and was at the end fed-up of having to eat the same stuff every day. Also the WiFi strength in my room was quite poor; it only worked decently at a few locations.

    The hotel is within walking distance from the Lauterbrunnen railway station. I had a room in the attic facing the river; the view from the room is magnificent. The room was neat and clean , the bed was very comfortable, and the towels were also changed daily. My room was well-equipped and upon request the hotel owner provided us an electric kettle as well. Overall, it is a good place to stay in Lauterbrunnen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things seemed a little dated. Our main light in our room was broken. For how much we were paying, we expected more. The breakfast was just ok.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location in the centre of Town. We were easily able to access everything by walking. Close to restaurants, the supermarket and the bus/train station. Staff were friendly and made suggestions of rainy day activities for us. Views from the room were amazing. We had a shared bathroom and this was fine for the price we were paying. They also provided us with breakfast when departing early before breakfast had started.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room was filthy, I didn’t even want to stand on it. There are not enough bathrooms and toilets if you are sharing bathroom facilities, the floor was sticky and there is no ventilation. The hotel badly needs to be renovated.

    Check-in and staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very understaffed. The manager was also the waiter,no receptionist was available other than him at any time, so no questions or problems were addressed for the entire evening. The manager was rude and unaccommodating several times throughout the stay. Also when the booking was made it was charged immediately (no other bookings did this) and the rate was higher than advertised. The manager blamed both these problems on booking.com

    They let me keep my bags in a secure room until check-in was available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reached the hotel late. In Switzerland it appears the reception does not stay open all night. We took a bit to figure out that keys were waiting for us on a window sill by the main door. Once we got in, the place was great. Good breakfast too. Hotel agreed to take care of our bags even though we had checked out. Had a great trip to Jungfrau without having to worry about bulky bags! Overall, excellent stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was excellent. Immediately upon entering the lobby felt very welcome. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is perfect and is only a short walk from the train station and very close to the main part of town. The included breakfast was excellent as well and the coffee machine was amazing. The rooms were clean, comfy and spacious plus the view from our balcony was amazing. Was traveling with my 13 yo son and we both had a great time. Can't wait to go back. Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I understand there was no air conditioning in the whole place, but we could have used some fans in our rooms. The temperature in our room was about 90 degrees Fahrenheit. We were placed in the attic of the hotel, which has three rooms - two of which were ours. My husband and son are 6'4" and could not stand up straight walking on the 4th floor. The rooms were very hot since we were in the attic. There is one shower in the whole place that had mold on the wall. It also has a super long shower curtain which makes the shower basin clog up while you are showering. Major updating needed. Also, since we were in the attic on the 4th floor, WI-FI connection doesn't reach up there, so we had to go downstairs every time to use the "free" Wi-Fi. We also experienced a rude waiter who got upset that we asked for plates to eat with our pizza. There were four of us eating. He brings out three plates. I ask for one more plate and he leaves shaking his head. When he returns, he says, "are you happy now?" It took all I could do to keep my husband from "going off" on him. Terrible customer service. We voiced our concerns and frustrations with the woman that checked us in and asked to speak with the manager, but were told that he was out of town until Sunday. So, basically, we were screwed. There were no other vacancies in town, otherwise, we would have jumped ship.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at the reception had a really bad and rude attitude. Told me to wait impatiently when I was looking for someone to help with my check in and he was busy serving dishes at the restaurant. Thereafter he attended to a customer who came AFTER me while I was waiting at the reception all the time. His foul attitude will stop me from ever coming back to this hotel. Another thing, the cleaner did not replace the towels after our first night. The towel was simply folded and replaced to where it was, still wet from my last shower.

    One female receptionist and the lady working at the restaurant were very helpful. They went out of their way to attend to our needs and requests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a comfortable hotel. Everything is in wood, so you get that mountain feeling. Surrounded by beautiful mountains, very close to a big waterfall. Parking on site, walking distance to everything in the town. Nice big breakfast, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room was not nice. It was old and outdated. One of our 2 main light fixtures was broken. They didn't even have tissues in the room. I would not stay here again. The only positive was the location.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor in the room was very sparse and sterile. No real charm in the rooms although the rest of the hotel had more of a Swiss feel. (breakfast area, restaurant, etc.). I think this is pretty typical for Switzerland. However, they were so friendly and warm it made up for the lack of decor in the room.

    The staff was so friendly and nice... we felt very welcome and that made for a great experience. The location in Lauterbrunnen was great. We sat out the front patio enjoying our hot chocolate and wine while looking up at the mountains. The location is also great for seeing the waterfalls, exploring both sides of the valley, and walking to the train and lift stations. (5 min. walk).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could have a few more options. The price of the room seems expensive for what you get. There was an old box TV in the room - not sure if it works, we never turned it on - you don't need to when you have that gorgeous view right out the window!

    The location was fabulous! We had one of the rooms with a private bath - it also had a private balcony that faced the waterfall (room 20). Gorgeous view!! The beds were comfortable. The private bathroom was a bit tight, but functional. The lighting was a bit dim. The shower has very hot water. The stairs and hallway are lit by motion sensor lights - so they appear dark until you enter the specific stairwell/hall - there is also an elevator though. The staff were friendly! We did eat at the restaurant for dinner - serves a wide variety of food (pasta, Swiss, and Chinese) - I recommend the tomato soup.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better.Not much variety..

    The location is very good and it gives a very good view of the mountain.The rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the most wonderful place to stay, like fairy tale! We were unexpectedly lucky enough to have a room with a balcony and a view of the beautiful Stubbach Falls. So much to see and do.. Trummelbach Falls, Murren and general walking around soaking up the beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely under staffed. Showers in serious need of ventilation and cleaning as black mould was growing.

    The one lady who was running everything was amazing and friendly. Always had a smile on her face.... make her the boss

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was depressing. Lighting made it worse. Property needs serious upgrades/ updates. Staff were good. Restaurant was decent. 170CHF per night seemed like a lot for the quality of the room. Will probably stay in Murren next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, the room we were assigned is smaller than what we have seen on the booking site. Toilet is old, light is very dim inside

    The location is good, the surrounding scenary is superb

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: