Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rigi Vitznau 3 stars

Seestrasse 65, 6354 Vitznau, Switzerland

#6 of 8 hotels in Vitznau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 409 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Strongly unrecommend for foreigners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strongly unrecommend for foreigners. Cheating and racial discrimination. First, it was the first time we went to Swiss, we were not sure if we should give tips. So when we were eating at the restaurant of this hotel, we asked the waiter about how to give tips in Swiss. He told us we should give 10% tips whereas other restaurant we went later didn't ask us to do so, or told us there is no tips in Switzerland. Second, when we were having breakfast in the morning, the lady witress was not kind and deliberately ignore the guests with yellow skin (There were other guests who were ignored by this lady too).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Exceptionally convenient location for tourism, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything fine.

    Clean room, professional staff, steps away from the boat dock and funicular to Mt Rigi. Overlooks a surprisingly busy street, so ear plugs suggested for light sleepers. On site restaurant with pleasant food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Hotel Rigi in Vitznau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control.

    Good sized room in extension with great terrace and lake view. Wonderful restaurant and very helpful staff. Right next to ferry and cogwheel rail stations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall a fantastic experience in a completely new area for us: a wonderful adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds could've been harder :-)

    The beds were unfortunately way too soft. Otherwise, it was pure joy! The two gentlemen working in the reception were most helpful and very accommodating (late arrival, help with local activities, everything!). The meal in the restaurant was out of this world! The duck liver on red beet carpacio was simply to die for :-) !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good location to the station of Rigi mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is a little bit noisy if we open the window at night.

    Very good location to the station of Rigi mountain. Lovely breakfast with tasty ham and chese. The saff in the reception was super helpful and thoughtful to advise us the journey. Nice experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liquid soap kept in bathroom for body looked like hand wash.

    We got a studio that was good with a backyard. Nice view of mountains. Cogwheel to Rigi is just few steps away from hotel. Got boat ride to Lucern and surrounding places. Boating gives you wonderful experience. Bus stop is next to hotel. Breakfast was good. This hotel gives you a homely touch. Owner lady is so sweet. My kids really loved the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel is well located with scenic views and car parking on site.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment

    The Hotel is well located with scenic views within metres of the Ferry and Train and car parking on site. The staff were helpful with suggestions and information to do in the area. The breakfast selection was good and the restaurant meals were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, friendly people, a perfect place to stay in Vitznau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel, very friendly, helpful staff. The room was clean. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Enjoyed our stay, would recommend this hotel if visiting Vitznau. Perfect central location, close to train station and boat station. Very quiet, did not hear the trains when in room. Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to sleep before 2 am and a half linked to the fact that there is a bar with terass in the hotel juste under the window our bedroom. The noise was too important especially without air conditioner in the rooms

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    The location and accommodation are typically Swiss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more vegetables for breakfast please

    The location and accommodation are typically Swiss. The hotel is lovely and made in the old Swiss style, especially the breakfast room still has the atmosphere of the old times. Parking space was provided for free. Friendly personnel - but I guess that's a given when you are in Switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Next to Vitznau ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to Rigi train and ferry station, and the road, all of which is right in front of the hotel, thus very noisy. Our room had no water view, but was in a building next to the hotel, looking onto another building, thus lack of privacy. Room, kitchen and bathroom were very old, needs remodelling. Dark lighting in rooms. Parking was a hassle, downstairs parking lot was full often, without other hotel parking spots clearly marked. Hotel is very hot in the summer. A pool would be nice. Minimal view of lake from restaurant, many other hotels nearby had a much better direct lake view.

    Nice breakfast. Town close to nearby lido towns, and Rigi mountain. Softer beds was a plus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could not remember so many flies before but perils of being adjacent to the lake. May stay in Lucerne next time and see if this is better. Disappointed that Swiss travel no longer transfer luggage from airport to Lake towns (Vitznau and Weggis)

    Really enjoyable hotel. Very friendly bar in which to watch world cup. Dinners were very good and breakfasts (continental) were excellent. Adjacent to my favourite mountain railway going up Mount Rigi. Love this mountain. Train to top. Walk down to cable car back to Weggis. Bedrooms cool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful place, hard to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy during very late hours due to bar, making it impossible to sleep with windows open. No AC, and no fan so could not close windows due to heat.

    Great location, quality breakfast, nice room, wonderful view, helpful staff, easy parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Will definitely be back for the food and the 1 min walking distance to the tram up Rigi Klum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key to the door- vey ancient and heavy... abit hard to lock and unlock. But this is small matter and didn’t inconvenient us much

    The hotel is in its original form - very European and nice. It has one of the best restaurants that we had been to during this Switzerland trip. The food was excellent especially the garlic butter grilled prawns - which we had that 2 nights in a row👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Lake view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the toilet is very noisy. The hotel offers parking, but not for free, they charge CHF8.

    Lake view from the balcony. Train station is across the street. The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and popular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in a breathtaking location - worth another visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because we are ladies of ample proportions, we felt the towels could have been a bit bigger and fluffier.

    We were offered an upgrade to a room with a view and a balcony - wow, were we pleased with that! All the staff, but especially Thomas and Linus, were exquisitely good hosts - both spoke excellent English, and were keen to help us enjoy our short stay. The restaurant was lovely, and the food and wine, though not cheap, were tremendous - freshly cooked, local seasonal produce. We were able to take our unfinished wine up to our balcony and enjoy the sheer pleasure of watching the sun set over Lake Lucerne. Breakfast was good, too, and our little dog was very happy. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    I loved my stay at the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a fan in the room would have been nice.

    Linus was very nice and so was the other lady who did the breakfast and front desk. I'm not sure of her name but she was lovely as well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A wonderful and very silent apartment! Tastefully furnished and really big, with the lake view from the dining room. Well-equipped kitchen. Friendly staff and good restaurant inside. Excellent location: just near the bus stop. The ship quay and the train station to Rigi Kulm are located in 50 meters: comfortable but absolutely no messing up. Excellent value for that price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Small rooms, friendly and brilliantly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was is small and functional, good closet space but not room for a lot of luggage. No toiletries or hairdryer. Had a balcony and lovely view of lake. Small lively bar, smoking but I managed to find somewhere ok for my 9 year old. Friendly locals in both bar and restaurant. Dinner lovely and reasonably priced for Switzerland. Brilliant location and very friendly staff. Would go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Cosy basic hotel perfectly located for Mont Rigi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just being picky, but the beds weren't that comfy, they were old and curved in the middle but I mean this is just perfect for a two day skiing trip There were a bar just down the street that was a bit noisy at night but it was 31st of December, I won't blame it Also the room was kinda cold at night

    The staff is very welcoming and the location is perfect for accessing the Mont Rigi : The train that goes up is just across the street. The hotel has a nice atmosphere that bring you back in old chalet switzerland kinda feeling The hotel is also very close to the lake and the boat station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Perfect location (1min.walk from ship), very nice and kind staff, hotel restaurant is amazing, breakfast was really rich and last but not at least: amazing view from terrace!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Small but cosy, great location for hiking to Mt Rigi. Nice staffs! Almost no complaints. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed two nights is a little bit small, but very clean & comfortable.

    The hotel location is good, very near to the station for boat, cable car, and bus! The breakfast was also great, I loved the boiled egg with yolk soft. Coffee is one bottle for one table with hot milk. U also can make hot milk tea by yourself if you like. And there is a very good atmosphere bar downstairs which local people will come. We had a great time to chat and know them, they were all kind to us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.2
    Good room but poor location for those who wants to shop and roam around the main city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and connectivity with main city and shopping areas. Lost lot of time travelling to hotel every day. Poor wifi connectivity. No good eateries and grocery stores near hotel.

    Rooms are good size and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Adequate hotel in a good location for the railway and boats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was incredibly hot and stuffy in our little room (23). Although initially pretty unsympathetic about it the staff did provide us with a fan when I explained that my wife was feeling quite ill. To be fair the room was quite cheap and booked late.

    Great location - just over the road from both the Rigi railway and the boat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Good hotel for the price and excellent location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy by the road and it's right beside the church. I happen to like being awakened by church bells and believe it adds charm, but others might not.

    Small family owned hotel. It needs updating, but accomodation was decent for the price, clean and staff was friendly. Location by the lake and Rigi Bahn was great. Breakfast was included. Cosy breakfast room, small buffet with different breads and local cheeses, some fruit and yogurts. Nothing fancy but good. Fresh coffee and tea served to the table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bar... Maybe just the location of our room above it. Smoking smells as some people are smoking in rooms and corridors

    Convenient situation and spotless

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good hotel to visit the Rigi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing position just in front of the Rigi train station, breakfast was included in the room price. The hotel has private parking places and a good restaurant. Good ratio quality/price for Switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.5
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and Mt Rigi views are good enough to go back there again. Just 2 minutes away from Bus/Ferry. Good variety for breakfast. We had a comfortable stay at Hotel Rigi, the hosts were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay with nice location near Rigibahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited parking space, staff did not offer the free discount card for Rigibahn unless asked

    Strong wifi, walkable to the train to Rigi Kulm, free parking, good range of breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    VERY satisfied, thank you !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real dislike, just points that could be improved: - fridge in room not really cold - not enough accessible free power plugs: would be great to have some easy accessible ones at the working desk - Wifi coverage from bed and balcony too weak (had to go to bathroom for full speed, lol)

    - very friendly staff :)) - food at restaurant: TOP! - nice breakfast :) - big room and big bathroom - nice fully furnished balcony :)) - nice bed - place for car parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration of the room (51) needs to be reviewed urgently!!

    The hotel is ideally located because a few meters from the cogwheel train station to the Rigi or the boat to navigate on the Lake of Lucern. There is a grocery near the hotel, very convenient to buy the pic-nic before hiking and the post office is located in this store. Very good breakfast with a lot of regional products with more "traditional" stuff for a continental one. The staff is very friendly and helpful! The room was quite large, bright and very clean. Thank you very much! Our stay was very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the push bikes were unavailable as they were being serviced.

    Lovely hotel which was located across the road from the ferry into Lucerne or the cog train up to Rigi. Breakfast was good and we ate dinner here both nights as the food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Lakeside bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a kettle/tea making facilities in the room.

    Wonderful family hotel in a great location. I had a lovely view of the lake and mountains from my room. The bar was also very friendly which was really nice - usually a single woman can feel very uncomfortable but I felt quite at ease and relaxed. Breakfast was a delicious and plentiful buffet with excellent coffee. Plenty to see and do - the mountain hikes are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Had a room overlooking the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room overlooking the lake. Staff all very good and helpful. Lent me an adapter - as the hotel has only 'Swiss plugs'. Hotel is very close to the Rigi railway and boat stations.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.8
    Pillow cases and linen clean but pillows and duvet yellow...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow cases and linen clean but pillows and duvet yellow and stained with age No tea coffee facility in rooms Being woken up from 6 am by the church bells next door

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With such price, the room is considered quite spacious. Nice view from window and balcony although not directly facing the lake. Room design is elegance, warm feeling and comfortable. Superb location. (Bus station just in front of hotel, ship station and cohwheel train go up Mount Rigi less than 1min walking distance). Good place for those who like to stay at countryside location (Luzern is city).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    The best hotel and the staff are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing there we did not like.......its was all good.

    I loved this little hotel. Very helpful and nice people in and around that place. So beautiful and right next to the lake.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few more TV channels. Rooms quite small.

    very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location close to the lake and train, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location close to the lake and train, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Reception staff was very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff was very accommodating. Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, very nice property in a beautiful town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly hotel in great location. Excellent food and service in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and wonderful, welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and wonderful, welcoming host.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Large double bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Large double bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely accomodation for a visit to Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is 100m from Vitznau boat stop and with a view of the lake and a lovely balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Hotel Rigi Vitznau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close for the boat and the Rigi Railway. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice experience would vome again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing comes to mind what I didn't like

    It met our expations totally, great night would go again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee

    Location was fantastic , the owners were super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay for holidays with friends & family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great & convenient location, nice view, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast and service, good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast and service, good experience. Near by station to Mount Rigi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    It was a great experience to stay there for the Sylvester!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals were 5 star as well the service was very friendly! Great breakfast buffet and service oriented staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Decent hotel with good surrounding for travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoke in the room from cigarettes..

    Quick check in, easy paying. Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfy and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread was delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    too noisy, I cannot sleep both nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too noisy, I cannot sleep both nights!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    good breakfast and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good breakfast and friendly staffs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent. We checked out very early in the morning prior to breakfast. The staff packed us a breakfast to go for our train ride.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Even with the windows open the ventilation was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with the windows open the ventilation was poor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,the hotel team

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Great Swissness Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short duration of the breakfast

    Very Swiss Hotel, genuine and familial

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice small hotel, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, no safe in the room.

    Breakfast was very good, room very clean. Staff was friendly. Convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Nice lake view with balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice lake view with balcony. Very friendly staff. I love this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great balcony view was totally worth it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Charming staff and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming staff and very welcoming. We had a great room. All in all, a very quaint, friendly and authentic hotel. We will go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.9
    The restaurant served a great dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was very hot. There was a smell of smoking in the corridor, but fortunately not in the room.

    The restaurant served a great dinner. Room was very clean and there was a good view.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    8.3
    Great service, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room decor is a little bit old fashion but it doesn't really matter.

    Great service, very friendly staff. Breakfast is fresh and taste. Very convenient location only few steps away from the Viztnau ferry and train station. They will give you a visitor discount card which is very useful, you can even get 20% off the Rigi mountain rail.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    I stayed with friends in one of the Rigi apartments...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I stayed with friends in one of the Rigi apartments overlooking the lake and the old cogwheel rail station up to the top of Mt Rigi. In the past when visiting Luzern, I stayed in the city itself, but have found that staying outside saves money and allows for commuting on lovely Lake Luzern and taking in all the gorgeous views from the water--all good things. The apartment was huge, had a fully equipped kitchen, 3 bedrooms, two baths and a large living room/dining room combo, plus a large balcony. We had a parking space in the underground garage. The owners are very kind and accommodating. The Rigi's breakfast is a well-provisioned buffet and their restaurant serves excellent food. You're also within walking distance of a handful of other restaurants. Don't forget to use your visitor card that comes with your stay. It gives you discounts on the ferry and cogwheel among other things and the savings can be substantial. Also don't miss out on a ride to the top of Mt Rigi for that top of the world feeling. It's exhilarating!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Hotel is just steps away from the Rigi-Bahn Railway and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is just steps away from the Rigi-Bahn Railway and ferries to other locations on the lake, including the city of Luzern. Restaurant offers excellent food; breakfast is very good. Staff are helpful and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    The Gentlemen that checked us in was so nice and found a bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Gentlemen that checked us in was so nice and found a bus schedule for our day of departure. He also served us for dinner in the hotel restraunt and was very helpful!! Location, views, hotel staff was wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lovely place. lovely staff. a few steps away from pier or bus station or cable car station to Rigi Mt. It's a tiny little town, very quiet at night. Host gave us a lake side room with a little balcony~

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Very close to lake, dinner was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    In summer you will need to open windows, if windows are open then you will hear Church bell that is very loud, main road traffic can keep you awake if windows are open

    Very close to lake, dinner was excellent

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, cog wheel train to rigi , boat to luzern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is overpriced for a standard double room (but this is Switzerland isn't it) , nothing special on the room to make a high, small room , tight parking

    Very helpful staff, cog wheel train to rigi , boat to luzern and tourist office is just infront, nice view over mountains and lake on outside of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.8
    Friendly and accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom smelled of cigarette. Hard and uncomfortable beds. My wife got food poisining with their steak tartare.

    Friendly and accomodating staff. Beautiful views.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Reception staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaning staff entered twice in the morning of check-out day without knocking.

    Reception staff was friendly Bed comfortable Good location few steps from lake/boat station with wonderful view on Vierwaldstättersee - reachable by boat/bus for public transport.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    The room and balcony were fine but our room was situated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and balcony were fine but our room was situated above the restaurant. Because of the heat, we had our windows open, and several nights dinner guests were fairly loud quite late into the evening.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: