Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rochat 3 stars

Petersgraben 23, Old Town Grossbasel, 4051 Basel, Switzerland

#17 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2639 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was in a convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was in a convenient location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable. There were options of a very nice breakfast buffet or a simple quick breakfast (coffee + croissant).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great location, service and ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was an excellent location at the inside edge of the old town and down the street from the university. It was an easy 600 yard stroll up the Rhine from where our Viking ship docked. Both front desk staffers were professional and very helpful. We stored our bags across from the desk before check-in and learned from the delightful night desk staffer that we no longer need a voltage converter - only the adapter plug. It is a lovely old building but very nicely updated inside. The free Basel card at check-in was a nice bonus that we used for many free streetcar rides and half-price at the art museum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A rare find! Great quality, price, location, service. Tip: ask if AC can be set cooler than 70F
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't get the thermostat to go cooler than 70F, so the room was too hot at night. We've found that many hotels in Europe limit the ability to control the thermometer, so this hotel wasn't any different in that regard. However, if you like your room cooler, you may need to ask the front desk to manually set the temp, and confirm that this is possible before you book the hotel. We didn't learn about the air conditioning limits in European hotels until several hotels later in our trip. Hence, we didn't ask the Hotel Rochat to adjust the temperature for us so maybe they could have. This AC issue existed in other top tier 4-5 star hotels too, and some hotels were able to manually adjust the temperature to a certain extent. Tip: If you are in the new building, you need to carry your luggage up a flight or so. No elevator.

    Very helpful staff. One gentleman offered without any prompting to call our cruise company to confirm the dock location for our cruise ship because he knew docks could change. He also recommended a French/Swiss Basel restaurant that had the best meal we had on our trip through 6 countries. Large room, very modern, clean, extensive buffet breakfast. Terrific quality, and especially for the price. We asked for a quiet room, and the location in the new building overlooking the inner courtyard was perfect. This place is a rare find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Loved Hotel Rochat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff—Paola in particular—made our stay delightful! She gave us a warm welcome and recommended two excellent restaurants. She also helped guide us via public transport to Fondation Beyerley. Later she helped me find a bike shop when I needed some work done on my bike. She always greeted us with a big smile! The other staff members were also very friendly and helpful. We loved our big 3rd floor room with the skylights right next door to Peterskirche. Wonderful location close to river, sites, and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location with clean accommodations and helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most other hotels included breakfast in the price. Would have liked hand soap.

    Big closets with lots of hangers. Great shower. Relatively quiet--except for church gongs at 7:00. Helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel in great location with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked tea & coffee facilities in the room. The decor was a little dated.

    Lovely quiet location in the old town. There was an excellent choice of well-prepared food for breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. The family room was enormous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice for hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 km walk difficult with large luggage from train station, or 18 CHF!

    Good room size for Switzerland, clean and modern inside but old world charm outside. Very helpful staff. Excellent price for Switzerland, as good as most 4 stars I have been to.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were not that comfortable. Also, we had to walk a really wierd route to our room, at first getting lost sometimes

    The airconditioning in our room was pleasant. The bathroom was very nice, including the shower. I liked the hardness of the matrasses

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, there was no parking for hotel guests, although a large public underground car park was close by. The price was quite high, although this is to be expected in Switzerland.

    The location was very good - very close to the river and the old town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Fashionable hotel in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some complementary water would have been good

    Very nice hotel in Basilea historical center, in the quietest area on the hill. Good choice to explore Basilea

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with early morning wake up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have done without the early morning wake up call from the neighbouring church every morning at 07:00. Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room. Room 211 should have blinds in the bathroom

    Comfortable spacious room in a great location not too far from the historic old town. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, refurbished hotel. Careful in summer as no AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Fan did not circulate air at all.

    Great location. No AC, so be sure to get a quiet room as you will need to keep the windows open. It was very hot in August and traffic noise and pedestrians kept me up. Hard (firm mattress) bed but nice pillows. Bathrooms are nicely refurbished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, lovely rooms, close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant except for breakfast. Location good for old town but high up, mainly accessed by steps and not good for the less mobile.

    Fabulously friendly helpful staff. We arrived very early and they sat us down with a cup of coffee while they prepared our room. The room was very spacious, great bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Worked well, love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of tea making facilities in room. Pillows. No atmosphere in the evening as no facilities.

    Breakfast ok - staff need to be bit more hands on and check what has run out etc. Pillows on bed awful - but maybe that's personal. No tea making facilities in room. Great location. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Hotel Rochat is an excellent place to stay for your visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was clean and the staff very professional and welcoming. The room was exceptionally clean as was the bathroom and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was good quality and well prepared. The location is central and quiet with easy access to the city...a short walk to a direct tram to the Swiss railways station (for bus connection to the airport). The excellent botanical gardens of the university are a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    A brilliant hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit of a maze but once we'd negotiated our way about a couple of times it was fine.

    Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was lovely and cool despite the 37° heat outside. The shower room was also large and it was immaculately clean. The staff were very helpful and the location was perfect: in easy reach of the river, the old town and a tram stop. The breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all.

    Everything was excellent. Great staff, especially Paola, very clean, comfortable room, great location and very nice breakfast. I recommend highly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a bit disappointing that, having said in advance that...
    • Group
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit disappointing that, having said in advance that it was our Wedding Night, we did not even have a little chocolate or a small detail as a welcome for such a special night. Other than that it was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room really needs tea/ coffee making facilities. Then it would be more than perfect.

    Everything. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and absolutely spotless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the most comfortable stay in Hotel Rochat. The staff were really friendly and gave us drinks upon arrival as they could see we were suffering in the heat outside. Great location for visiting the river and the free travel pass was amazing for viewing the city yet saving on cost. Switzerland is an expensive country, so although the cost of the hotel was more than I'd normally pay, you definitely get your money's worth.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely old building in the old town of Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives for us. Rooms were a decent size. With aircon! There isn’t a bar in the hotel but there are tons in the surrounding areas.

    Lovely old building in the old town of Basel. Very handy for tram stops and the Rhein River. The main Market Square and city centre was down one set of steps on the side street. Less than 5 minute walk. Staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. As we were leaving at 4am the the afternoon receptionist said he would make sure the coffee machine etc was on early so we could get free coffees while waiting for our taxi. The woman running breakfast (Katherine?) was very helpful and friendly. The photos on the website are a good representation of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for anyone making a first visit to Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location near a pedestrianized area with shops and restaurants which leads to the centre. The correct electrical adapter for Switzerland could be borrowed from reception. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The room was really great, the staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really great, the staff very friendly and helpful. Basel in summer is incredible. You can also swim in de city river. One of the things you can only do in Switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was problematic for my PC, could never connect despite 2 staff trying to resolve. I went to gelato places to use their free wife with my PV.

    The breakfast is very good and a great value for $16 CHF.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location for old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not realize that the hospital heliport is just across the street, thought it was landing in my room. The hotel room and hallway needs to be refreshed

    The breakfast was the best part of the stay but a bit pricey

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Great for a short stay. Very clean. Conveniently located. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways are a little depressing and could use some updating. There was no lotion in the bathroom.

    Hotel Rochat is very easy to access, in a safe and quiet location, and the property is very clean. Great value for money and decent breakfast. As this is a value for money property, you need to bring any lotions and other toiletries you may need. Besides this and the fact that the Hotel is next to an emergency hospital, good stay experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    We've stayed at Hotel Rochat a few times before and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit stuffy, even with all windows open. Bathroom was rather small.

    We've stayed at Hotel Rochat a few times before and we always come back without hesitation. The location is great, rooms always spacious and clean, staff friendly. Breakfast is very diverse.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The location was great, and when I got lost walking to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great, and when I got lost walking to the hotel, the front desk attendant walked out, found me, and walked me back to the front door. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience with kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room in the building attached to the main building. To get there I needed to take the lift and go through several halls with stairs, which are very difficult to navigate with luggage. I'm glad I didn't need to go in and out with luggage more than once. Even then, I was offered some assistance from the staff.

    Everything was very clean, the breakfast has a good selection, the room was comfortable and quiet, and the staff was Very Helpful on everything from being lost in the building, to nearby stores and restaurants, to interpreting a question from the taxi driver, and even which train station to use to go to my next stop. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Elegant, sophisticated hotel in a good location, for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only real annoyance was that the pillows were too soft - hard to sit up on them to read or watch TV.

    The hotel breakfast was excellent. At first I thought it pricey at CHF 16, but when I went to a cafe and paid CHF 9 just for coffee & croissant, I decided it was a good value. It was my first stay in Basel, and the staff was very helpful with my many questions, mostly around public transport. They have AC, much appreciated in a warm week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value at a quiet location very close to the center of Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The amazingly quiet location in the old town for such a low price cannot be beat in Basel. The bed was comfortable, the bath a bit sparse but had the essentials. Excellent variety of foods for breakfast. If you are coming with a car, be warned that the parking area is very, very tight, ie, only for smaller cars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    WE really enjoyed both the hotel and the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the beds were too hard and there were only two pillows, not four.

    The hotel is recently renovated. Nice lounge. The extra large bedroom was wonderful. it had a great view, was comfortably and attractively furnished

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    super nice hotel, people and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was great , and tehe people worcking in the recepcionwere really nice and helpfull. Plus, the location of the Rochat was perfect, close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Clean and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small thing but a small bottle of water from the mini bar was €6. I guess that’s Switzerland!

    Clean and fresh. Friendly knowledgable staff. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Rochat is a quaint hotel set in a picturesque old town Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a bit hard and we had to ask for extra pillows. Would've liked a kettle in the room or the ability to have a coffee or tea in the lobby at off hours.

    The location is great and easy to get to from the airport. Picturesque setting. The staff are super helpful and pleasant. The hotel is quiet and very clean and bathrooms are modern and updated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    I like the room that is clean and spacious as well as the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were dissapointed the first time we came to the hotel to check in was late in the evening. However, the staff who speaks italian had a LONG chat with the italian customers. So we had to wait for a considerably a long time even though we were already tired.

    I like the room that is clean and spacious as well as the location that is close to the center and nearby public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel Rochat Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of stairs to reach room with luggage

    Everything was spot on from moment we arrived. Helpful friendly receptionists. Lovely spacious comfortable (for 3*) light room and bathroom. Spotlessly clean & modern inside, attractive old building. Quiet district, close to amenities & river. Short tram ride to rail station. We didn't have food so no comment. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, modern, nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included. Really should have been at this level hotel.

    Excellent location. Front desk staff friendly, helpful. Rooms good sized, well appointed and modernized. 110v outlets some rooms with USB ports. Nice “rain” showers, good pressure, lots of hot water. Did not have the breakfast so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included. Elevator tiny. Some rooms in an adjacent building.

    Location is perfect. Desk staff very nice and helpful. Rooms comfortable and fairly modern, especially the bathrooms. Fair price. Did not have the breakfast so cannot comment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Location was very good for my purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complicated access to room through 2 different lifts, plus corridors and small stairs. Room was big and clean but furnished with clumsy, charmless furniture.

    Location was very good for my purpose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great long weekend and very chilled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was difficult as only 2 slices of white bread individually wrapped in cellophane and bananas were black but others would find it ok as plenty of other things to choose from.

    Helpful reception when we arrived and always pleasant. Nice clean bathroom and even the sofa bed was comfy and clean. Great location and easy to get from the airport. Got the Basel card to help with getting in places and traveling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel stay was great, the room was spacious and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel stay was great, the room was spacious and modern. Location of the hotel is very in the center of the city so you can move around walking everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is great for those who are interested in the University Library (3 minutes walk).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was every morning the same, it offered little variety from one day to another.

    The comfort, the position very close to the University, the surroundings comprising a park, old churches, some nice bistros etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is at the very nice location in the hearth of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an annex building overlooking the church. Nice wiev but bells dong in 7 AM. We asked for 2 separate bads. They expected us to separate the two bads stuck together.

    Hotel is at the very nice location in the hearth of the city centre. Room spacious and clean. Staff at the reception very hospitable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our keys stopped working 15 minutes before the check-out time. It was inconvenient, because we needed to open a door with them on our way to the reception. The rest was good.

    Very nice shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Hot, good food and beer but expensive town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Manager is top class and has a great sense of humor. He up graded me as I am a frequent guest in the Rochat. Always my first choice hotel in Basel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Hotel rochat
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Availability of a glass of wine in the evening would be a nice addition, Maybe a snack too

    lovely hotel above old town. delightful park across the street and a church with a concert of bells twice a day (not interfering with sleep). Old town reached by a stone stairway. Nice breakfast. Terrific staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was convenient, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather dull and soulless reception areas. We would have liked access to hot/ cold drinks or alcoholic drinks other than in room mini bar. Also tissues and extra cushions in our room.

    Very large room and very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice and relaxed weekend in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged a turistic fee different than the one indicated by booking.com. Initially the room was 93 euros + 7 euros fee. In the check-out we pay around 104 euros. The floor in the room could be more clean and we heard everything that happened in the stairs and other rooms.

    The hotel was nice for our short stay in Basel. The Hotel Rochat is located in the historical centre, near the Basel University and Hospital and just 4 minutes walking to the downtown. Nearby we had a lot of transports such as buses and trams that go everywhere in the town. In the check-in we receive the Basel Card which allow us to use any kind of public transport for free, a free ride ticket for the small ferry that connect the cathedral to the other side of the river. Also include a 50% discount on a cultural activity (zoo, museum, theater, etc.). The room was nice, good bed, very warm but equipped with AC that allow to regulate the temperature.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very friendly a helpful staff - tasty breakfast - perfect location, quiet area - free Basel Card with many discounts and free use of local trams and buses

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    The location and the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was much more noisy than we expected: the bells of the nearby church ring at 7.00 a.m. !!! Not exactly what we were looking for...

    The location and the cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a short business trip in central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not super friendly, public areas upstairs are a little run-down, no food items in the minibar (drinks only).

    Modern, nicely refurbished rooms, large room size, great Smart TV and fast Wi-Fi, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    A great stay for short trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The room was very clean, the staff super nice and helpful. The location is perfectly situated next to the river with an great view. City centre with the shopping street is very closeby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, would come back again despite the bed issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed wasn't very comfortable and the pillows were too soft.

    Good central location, bedroom had everything we needed, staff very friendly and helpful, free Basel card added bonus giving us free bus and tram travel and half price entry into the zoo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of a parking spot.

    Welcoming and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms. Good value for money with respect to other hotels in a Basel that are in the same price range. Breakfast is also good but, in my opinion, too pricey for what it is served.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall, i enjoyed my stay here. Good, basic and really clean room - job done.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls and ceiling were a little on the thin side. In the morning i was woken up from the vibration from a phone from another room. Whenever someone moved around upstairs i could hear the floorboards creaking. Chair and pillows were uncomfortable in the room.

    Friendliness of staff at front desk. Room was really clean. Nice location. Room was well lit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    It’s close and convienient if working at Novartis. It’s only a 20 minute walk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is has a maze of corridors and finding the room can be challenging. The hotel would benefit from sone signage on the internal walls to point you in the right direction.

    The room was quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay, right in the center of Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overnight stay, right in the center of Basel. Very good value for money given the location and very friendly and helpful staff. Parking is not on site, but a parking garage and public parking are close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Value for money and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have a bar or serve alcohol.

    Nice, quiet location close to the old town, 3 mins walk to the tram stop, and then only a couple of minutes away from the Rhine bridges and the main tourist attractions via the Tram and easy to walk to everything too! The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and the family room was huge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Well worth the cost to stay in old city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little parking @ 14 euro per night! Nearby public parking v.good but 25 euro per night.

    Good position to visit old town. Recent refurbishment, clean and comfitable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Well located with spacious rooms and delicious breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a weird smell like wet dog. But opening the window made it better. There are LOUD church bells at 7am that ring maybe 20 times! The toiletteries were not so good.

    Great location close to UNIBAS and the Biozentrum and old town and the Rhine. Breakfast was amazing!!! They had everything from breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, to hot saucisse, eggs, and crepes! The coffee was fantastic too! Totally worth the 16chf!!! The room was large and we liked that it had a sitting area for 2.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    A pleasant location to start exploring other cities in Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only liquid toileteries, no shampoo.

    The room, is large, clean and pleasant, well heated during winter, close to city center and in a select area. Comfy bed. The receptionist with smiley face and well intended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall a good experience, just a bit too off centre for my liking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is more inconvenient than I expected: the distance into town isn´t huge, but there is a very steep flight of stairs to negotiate in order to reach the level where the trams run. Count on 20 CHF if you take a taxi to or from the railway station.

    Staff on reception and at breakfast were very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Hotel Rochat, Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, bright spacious and comfortable. Situated within easy walking distance of old city centre. Staff were friendly and welcoming quick to offer help. Breakfast buffet 🥣 offers huge choice, available for 3hrs you can eat as much as you want setting you up for the day. Very tasty and great value. Christmas markets were beautiful and atmospheric. Travel voucher given to guests means free travel on trams and buses both of which are fantastic services, enjoy Basel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We would highly recommend Hotel Rochat. A mix of old and new. Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did have to pay for overnight parking in a local parking garage. It would be nice if parking could be included.

    We loved our cozy 3rd floor room. It was clean and modern, but had character and looked out over beautiful rooftops of the city. The location was great for walking around the city. The stay also includes passes for transportation and discounts to local museums, etc. We would have stayed longer had we known ahead of time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stuff was lovely and very helpful. Lovely hotel and breakfast. Great location, everything we wanted to see was walking distance, between 5-15mins !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    I am planning to return to see my grandchild and and stay for longer stretches.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above... Charged to make local calls. We were there for the arrival birth of my first grandchild . I could not call from my room to another room. Had to go through front desk. This was ok but hard to communicate about hospital etc. need weekly rates.

    I prefer my eggs from a Buffett cook more however, I could special order my own eggs. Maybe a little more variety of breakfast meat. I stayed 14 days. $16,00 per day . They had a $5.00 for drink and a bread. But l needed protein .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was more than grate.

    Clean and large room and barhroom, comfortable bed. Excellent location. We have never met so nice and kind receptionists.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking.com site said the hotel is 660 feet from a train station and it was not. We were still able to walk to and from the tram station but I’d say more like 2000 feet.

    We were in a very large family room that worked great for our family of 5. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Very Clean and Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My card was charged two times due to previous booking so I have to wait for the amount to be returned in my credit card. It says 24h front desk but after midnight no one was there when I wanted to ask something.

    The hotel room is very spacious, clean and well organized. The bed is very comfortable. Every room has its own Wi-Fi Hotspot which makes the internet very fast. The TV has its own songs and city guide for Basel so if you have free time you will never get bored. The hotel gives a card that can be used for FREE public transportation during the stay. The location is very good, short walking distance from the city center and very easy to find.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice and functional, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in team a bit grumpy late in the evening.

    Breakfast was very good, bathroom was on the small side but spotless, 5 minutes walk from the historical town. Friendly staff at checkout.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good start for a visit to Basil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little Breakfast. 1 Coffee and 1 pice of bread with nothing on it.

    Location is good, nice people, WiFi, free bus ticket, card for free WiFi in Town, city map. And ..... very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Great location,comfortable & good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear people in next room talking at night So maybe soundproofing not that great ! Otherwise all was very comfortable & relaxed

    We really were made to feel welcome here at this hotel! Staff very helpful and friendly!! Our room was very comfortable & clean and good size ! The hotel was a short direct tram ride that was free with the Basel transport card (great for tourists & tourism) short walk but in good location to transport hub as well as museums & market places and restaurants and river also !! Didn’t have breakfast so can’t tell you about that! Otherwise met all our needs and was an enjoyable stay, good value too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Extrely helpful and welcomng staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking . Had to use public car park and that was a bit expensive.

    Extrely helpful and welcomng staff . Large clean modern rooms .and bathrooms . Good location .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Grand lit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no kettle in the room

    Wonderful staff, spacious and clean rooms, great shower. Nice area, close to most sights but not too busy. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rochat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: