Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rössli 3 stars

Rössligasse 7, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#24 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 905 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Loved the hotel, but hot nights without AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC - room very hot in the heat of the summer. Breakfast was OK but not great. Wi-Fi was ok but not the best.

    Our room had plenty of space, big bathroom, and a great terrace. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Room was very clean. Hotel provided wash clothes. Special shout out to the bacon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Would go back in the Winter months.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air-con in room, and during my stay, the summer weather made staying/sleeping/getting ready for work, in the room unbearable. No air flowing, and small fan; which did not help much. Hotel staff were friendly enough, and did provide an additional fan.

    Nice friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Exept internet every thing was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was very clean. Staff was cooperative and helping.I could not use internet during my stay even staff was unable to connect the internet. There was problems with internet/wifi.

    Exept internet every thing was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Room clean, located in large, dirty/plain apartment style building across street. No character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Relatively small double room and building was like walking into an old apartment building, no personality, plain /dirty walls, looked run down going up / down stairs. Our room was not in the same building as you check in - it was across the street. Not the quaint type of "switerzland" environment i had hoped for -- would have preferred to have stayed elsewhere and paid a few $$ more. We didn't pay for breakfast and glad we didn't - definitely not worth the $$.

    Good location and room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the entrance of the building, there is a door, completely destroyed and behind is a bathroom, very dirty!!!! When I saw it, I was in chock!! I expected the most terrible room , that I would see. But for my surprise, the apartment is really good and clean. I hope they will fix it and clean the bathroom or lock the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Location and facility is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in rooms but the weather was nice so i didnt beed to use it.

    modern rooms with an ipad fridge, water ketel, shampoo shower jell and cream(natural) along with hair dryer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful comfortable room but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the rooms, including mine, face an alley with the terraces of the hotel's bar and restaurant. You could hear people talking and music playing until late (it was a Thursday night). Cars cannot get to the entrance so I had to walk 2 blocks with 3 suitcases.

    The bed was comfortable and the room luxurious in general. I was allowed to leave my luggage early in the morning (way before check-in) and everything was in my room when I arrived at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    The location was superb to trams as well as the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room too small & unbearably hot but hotel changed to better room for 2nd 2 nights. Penthouse did not have elevator all the way up. Also, stairs to 2nd bedroom were difficult with luggage. Penthouse was very warm also & noisy with windows open. Could use another fan.

    The location was superb to trams as well as the old town. Breakfast was fantastic, staff was very friendly & helpful, The penthouse was very spacious , clean with full kitchen & coffee provided, & good Wi-Fi service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Compact & friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy outside as there is a bar downstairs. Thankfully they provide earplugs.

    Interior design and friendly receptionists. Interesting self-key service board :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    - Really central to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was good- there should be more variety in the offering

    - Really central to the city - Has a variety of restaurants and bars around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in the room but they provide a modern Dyson fan which helped on a hot day in Zurich

    Great small hotel, very clean and central. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel! Don't stay anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff are exceptional; I was made to feel so special. The hotel is just wonderful. Spacious rooms, lovely decor, comfortable bed. Quiet area; I slept so well. Excellent breakfast. Great little bar next to the hotel; serves an excellent cold meat and cheese plate with fresh bread which, if you have had a biggish lunch, is sufficient for a light evening meal together with a few glasses of wine. The hotel is situated in the old town with lots of lovely shops; the Lake is 7 minutes walk away; trams to Bahnhofstrasse and the Hauptbahnhof are a 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    room big enough and clean, location is central and perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was dark and windows opening to small a space between two apartment, it was depressing wifi connection was extremely poor.

    room big enough and clean, location is central and perfect, 7-8 min walking distance to central station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location and breakfast, but couldn't appreciate it due to lack of sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly reception staff. Very inflexible and not accommodating. There was a bar right underneath the room - very noisy till 3 am with people drinking and smoking outside. The other side faces a club which is also very noisy. Didn't get a lot of sleep. Receptionist didn't seem to care.

    Amazing breakfast. Easy to reach location. Very friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, large room and bathroom, friendly staff, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel consists in two separate buildings, which was strange at the begining. There is no reseptionist durig the night.

    Perfect location, cosy and comfortable room, convenient restaurant and bar within the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff at the reception and breakfast service are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had expected a slightly larger room for this price (we are perhaps not used to Zurich prices ...)

    The staff at the reception and breakfast service are extremely kind, competent and helpful. Hotel well situated within walking distance to so many sights (and the lake)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing staff, perfect location, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was fantastic, the location can't be beat, and the staff was incredibly friendly. We spent Easter weekend in Zurich, and were less than prepared: We didn't have a reservation for dinner Easter Sunday. We spent about an hour trying to find a restaurant with availability, without any luck. But Sara at the front desk made a few phone calls and got a reservation for us quickly. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are clean, and the rooms are large (by European standards). We have no complaints and would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice modern boutique hotel in good location but with very poor Wi-Fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi is totally inadequate. Most of the time it wasn't working at all. 0.3mbps. I had to use my roaming data on my mobile phone instead. When I complained the hotel told me 'too many people must be using it'. I told the hotel the Wi-Fi connection was clearly far too small for the number of guests staying in the hotel. They said they were 'looking into the problem'.

    Nice, small, clean, modern, boutique style hotel in a good location for all shops and restaurants etc in Zurich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Very quaint hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture in the 2 bedroom apartment were a little worn. More lighting was needed in the dining area

    Very quaint hotel in a central location. The Italian restaurant inside the hotel Il Gattopardo is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit dated but that didn't matter. All is clean, functional and comfortable - and the location and friendliness more than make up for this.

    The location and friendliness and flexibility of the staff were exemplary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable clean service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in public garage off site, but nice walk.

    Had a very nice room, great style bathroom and very clean. They fitted a travel baby crib in for our 10 month old for free. We didn’t hear anyone, but view was against next building. A bit pricy as all of Zurich.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Large stylish room in the heart of the old walking town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access by car and parking is a nightmare! If driving in to drop off bags you will have to dodge the hundreds of pedestrians as you drive into the car restricted / pedestrian only old town, and then drag your bags down a small lane at the end to the hotel entrance. The hotel recommended parking is at the Opera Car Park - 10 minutes walk away from the hotel and you will still have to pay the "Reduced" car park rate of 39 CHF per night. None of this is the hotels fault - but take this into serious consideration if arriving by car with limited mobility guests or a lot of luggage. Its the price of staying in the heart of the action.

    I have travelled extensively in Europe for work and leisure. These size and quality of this room in a tiny hotel in the heart of the old town took my by (very pleasant) surprise. It would be a great selection if arriving by public transport and foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Loved how spacious our room was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issues we had was that the lift was too small for our pram so had to carry it up and down the stairs each time. Some times it was very noisy. As it’s in the main old town area some nights we could hear people outside. And finally the room was very hot. Lovely room but just turn the heating down as it’s was too hot for us.

    Loved how spacious our room was. Travelling with a 4 month old, we had plenty of room for all our luggage. Lovely breakfast (bacon was amazing!) and lovely staff. Fantastic location and very easy to find. We’d love to go back and stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    A clean, comfortable and modern hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be prepared to be woken in the early hours either by revellers returning from a night out in the Niederdorf or the street cleaners in their motorised vehicles. Use the ear plugs!

    The room was clean and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings. The beds were comfortable. Ideal location. Within easy reach of the city centre, railway station, Bahnhofstrasse, the lake, the Niederdorf and the opera.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Location in Zurich. Beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the Old Town of Zurich. Walking distance to everywhere and a great designer boutique hotel in Zurich with Bodum and HAY amenities in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Very well located, the room and bathroom were spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it's in the old city so my view was of the nearest wall. But I was out all the time. I didn't understand how to log in to the wifi.. (I didn't ask for help either). I know it's cliché but I was expecting swiss chocolate in the room as a welcome treat ;)

    The bathroom size with a bath AND a shower, the comfy bed, the tablet for visitors very nice touch. The staff was friendly and patient with my poor german. The location ist perfekt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    A clean place, reasonably priced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have appreciated more fruit choices in the breakfast buffet

    The in-room hot drinks and fruit teas, comfortable bed and excellent shower. Friendly service in the adjoining bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility and lift are a little bit small.

    Staff are very nice and supportive. Rooms very clean and romantic. Location is great and in very central old town. Breakfast is excellent too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on 6th floor, (top) with elevator only going to floor 5 and no offer to help with luggage either in or out. My husband is in late seventies. Rooftop deck is via very steep stairs pulled down from ceiling.

    Great location. Excellent bathroom and towels. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the interior and also the fact that there was a bathtub in the bathroom as I've asked for in the message to the hotel. The design - some accessories from HAY - really made me happy. The room was very light. There was a kettle (with tea and sugar), slippers, bathrobe, and we had apples. A very nice touch. The ladies at the reception were also very helpful and friendly. Oh, did I mention the location? Right in the centre, close to many different restaurants. Simply loved it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    wonderful time in zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well its a small minus when you have to go for breakfast you have to go outside to other (main) building

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great. The bed is extra soft. It was very warm in the room. The hotel is in the centre of old town. The breakfast was tasty, especially fresh juice :) If it rain outside you can take an umbrella from the reception is free. The wi-fi worked very good. The room cleaned every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice place. I would recommend it to travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The couch and chairs were a little tired in the living room but not a big deal.

    We (3 adults) stayed in the apartment. It was spacious and had a well equipped kitchen with a good coffee maker. The hotel was very centrally located and close to public transit. The breakfasts were very adequate and once you saw the food prices in Zurich realized that the complimentary breakfast was worthwhile. We arrived early from an overnight flight and were allowed in our room as soon as it became available which was helpful and much appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the first clerk on the arrival day was not that nice... very expensive for what i got seriously ridiculous!

    perfect location! lovely bathroom design

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab breakfast. Even did lactose free milk and gluten free bread! Beds so comfy and really good think duvets. Brilliant location and just a lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather prevented us using rooftop terrace (but it was winter)

    Size of the room (booked the junior suite). Kettle in room. Restaurant & bar onsite. Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice place people and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family with two small children lived in the other part of the hotel. Evry morning our walk to the meal through cold street. Elevator very small for the stroller.

    Perfect stuff. In the center of the city. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is excellent, close to shops, the lake, old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent, close to shops, the lake, old town and train station. The rooms were nicely decorated with large bathroom. Staff welcoming and our room was ready despite an early arrival. I would highly recommend particularly for the location for a short city break.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    the staff was incredibly thoughtful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff was incredibly thoughtful and kind. the hotel is also in the center of the city so we had access to everything just within a short walk. the bed was large and comfortable and quality of breakfast was great too. fresh juices and tasty bread & pastries ..! overall we had a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Modern hotel at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not available, you can use the public parking Opera which is 10 mins walk from the hotel. Parking tickets are available.

    Perfect location, in the heart of the city center. The hotel interior is modern, lot of wood. In the rooms a lot of quality furniture, products and items. Breakfast is good. Bathroom size is ok. If you walk outside the hotel, you will find shops and restaurants around the corner. The staff is very nice and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Staying with Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took a taxi to the hotel and used the bus-line thereafter. It's a 20+ minute ride to town, and a transfer is required to reach the train station.

    More like a large family home in the country than a hotel, Hotel Rossli carries the very best traits of a B&B. The staff at Hotel Rossli is very attentive and friendly. They washed, dried, and folded all of our travel clothes for just 20 Euro. Breakfast comes with eggs cooked to order and individual pots for fresh tea or coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location within walking distance from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location within walking distance from the main train station & with plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs/bars close to the hotel. Room was airy, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.3
    Central position is nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My card has been charged two days in advance with reserved amount higher than the booked price. This is an absolutely unnecessary practice resulting in funds being locked on my account. Hotel is OK.

    Central position is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    I really liked the hotel! The location of the hotel is wonderful - right in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was travelling to Zurich to meet with my friends for weekends. The location of the hotel is wonderful - right in the city center, all places to see are 2 minutes walk from the hotel, central station is 15-20 minutes walk. There are a lot cafes nearby, so you can find plenty of places for lunch or dinner. Breakfast is quite good - there are Swiss cheeses, cold cuts, pastries, fruits, etc. The bed was very comfortable. The staff at the hotel is incredibly polite and friendly. I could not print the ticket (there were problems with the airline's website) and so as I didn't want to waste my time, I went for a walk, decided that I would print the ticket later. While I was out, the lady at the administartion desk solved out the problems on the website by herself, printed out the ticket and handed it to me when I returned to the hotel. It was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.6
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's bit overrated, no any facilities like gym or spa. I was staying in single room and is claustrophobic small. Not super clean though.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Beds really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise - road works, people talking, shouting, music, until 3 a.m. - changed room and problem went away.

    Beds really comfortable. Staff very helpful, pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean and nice hotel not too far from central train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to call down to reception to ask for the WiFi password. She told me the password and then I hung up to attempt the internet. Then the password didn't work because I can't spell simple German words. So I called again and she spelled it out for me. Suggestion - maybe write the password for the free WiFi for the poor foreigners who aren't good at spelling German and offer it to them when they check in so that they don't have to go through the same hassle (we didn't think of it at the time since we were busy catching our breath from pulling all of our luggage up the steep street to the hotel)

    Breakfast was very good, but seating was a bit cramped. Location of the hotel was pretty good - you can either take a tram that stops close to the bottom of the street of the hotel or just walk 10-15 minutes from the central train station. Also, the bathroom was really nice - as in, the design was really pretty and it was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Nice interior but noisy with unfriendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two points were really bothersome, unfortunately: - Unfriendly encounter with the staff in the morning. In the morning I wanted to go to the breakfast buffet. I asked a staff member where I would find it. She said upstairs, but kept staring at me, and almost standing in my way to go upstairs. I smiled at her, to which she "answered" if I want to go and have breakfast, still making a strange face. I answered yes. She asked if I was a hotel guest. I said yes. That did not suffice, clearly not believing me, she asked again, to which I showed her my key. She then replied: "Well I don't know, maybe you just wanted to go and eat upstairs" (what...?!). When I came downstairs after breakfast, she told me that I did not need to pay, clearly she still had not believed me that I was a guest, and had checked on me while I was having breakfast and had seen that the room was paid. Overall very unfriendly demeanour. I for my part would not re-visit a hotel where I am made feel unwelcomed, and she could have handled the situation way differently (for instance just asking for the room number) - It was VERY noisy. I was very tired, and getting a good sleep is for me the most important thing when I book a room. However, even with windows closed, I could hear people in the city center partying loudly, and I barely slept.

    The comfort room was nice and large, with many useful items and a bathtube. The location is very central as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Exceptionally friendly, delightful hospitality in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Céline & Sara at reception were wonderfully patient and extremely helpful; Céline recommended an outstandingly good Swiss restaurant, Rossily's, for our evening meal, and we had two lunches at a patisserie that had been serving since 1834, with fantastic flamcooken. Great boat trip, fabulaous location for old town, shops and nature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable place in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I could even order and bring a glass of wine from the bar to my room.

    Everything - the clean and practical room, WC and shower; great location, considerate little things (tea pot, glasses, cup, local teas/drinks and even a nice bag for guests' use during the stay). Soap and shampoo are organic also from local. Dyson fan. The breakfast is in a cozy and nice decorated room. (I stayed in the single room on a cool summer day. No A/C needed)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice property and location but don't get stuck in an interior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotty wi-fi....were placed in a room that had one window two feet from the next building. The room was unbearably hot with no air except a fan. When asked to be moved they just said nothing could be done.

    Great location and very nice contemporary decor. Large luxurious bathroom. Nice touches like a market bag to use while touring Zurich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    An ambassador hotel for the city of Zürich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You may need to specifically request a quiet room if you are truly in need of one.

    Perfect service: kindness and hospitality! Artistic design and excellent location. Nice breakfast! Great coffee :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was basic but good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cappuccino was very poor, and I did not finish it: it tasted like a machine cappuccino (never very good), not one made with real espresso plus foamed milk. Had to go to a café for a real cappuccino. And there was a kettle but no coffee in the room (just three tea bags: two herbal teas and one black tea).

    Breakfast was basic but good. Staff and location are both terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    I would check another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is so hot inside the room and there is really no access for taxi to drop us off. It's difficult if you have luggages. Concierge only open until 10PM, so if you arrive later you will have difficulty to check- in. The air circulation in the room is really bad, I couldn't sleep well at night because it is so hot and stuffy. (it was room 403). They gave us a dyson fan but it doesnt really help because it was a problem with air circulation. The wi-fi is terrible. The whole time we are there, we are unable to use the wi-fi because first, it is very difficult to connect and second, the connection was really slow.

    Location is good in the middle of old city center. Within walking distance to Banhofstrasse (shooping street). Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Very well located at the narrow and pedestrian streets of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite poor breakfast when compared to the hotel's overall standard.

    Very well located at the narrow and pedestrian streets of Zurich historic centre (cars have to stay in public parkings around 500 meters away). Very comfortable and very well equipped room. Excellent amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Location, Lactation , Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where is the AC??? This by far was the biggest let down. There were Dyson fans in our apartment but not enough. The summers are humid and sleeping was a little tough. At this price and especially in Zurich Ac should be standard. But I am sure they have no issues booking this place due to location, and getting by just fine without adding the expense of putting in ac units - but this was a let down - especially since our place in Krakow had Ac units in every room. The wifi was also a bit of a let down - like dial up during peak hours. I did not find a router in our apartment and during peak hours it was so slow that I got hit with roaming international charges because it would kick me off the server regularly. So I had to post stuff at the pre-dawn hours and it worked fine. Probably one router per building. This should also be remedied for this price and its location. We were in a similar Apartment in Krakow the week before and had a router in the room and the speed was great. However all that being said - I would still stay here again based on location, friendliness of the staff and the great breakfast.

    Location was fantastic. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. This may just be a Swiss thing but hands down some of the friendliest staff I have experienced - like at the Wynn in Vegas for example - but you pay extra for that at the Wynn. Here it seems like it is just part of the culture. A bit pricey - but hey It is Switzerland and price comes with the territory - would do it again for sure. Everything was clean and the location in relation to Old Town Zurich, Lake Zurich was as good as it gets in my opinion and I have been to Zurich before. The breakfast at this Hotel which was included was outstanding, super fresh and you can just eat and eat and eat. Fruits, juices, all kinds of cheeses and breads and so on - first class in my opinion for a little boutique cobblestone walk up hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have air conditioner and it was too hot inside that couldn't sleep well!

    Great location right in center, the room was clean and well maintained! Breakfast was good also!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    In the Heart of the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't take a room on the Backside from the Hotel. The windows of the room are close behind the wall from the building of the neighbours. There is realy nothing to see and it's very dark in the room. A room on the frontside of the Hotel is much better..more sunlight and more optimistic.

    Family Hotel. Friendly Staff. In the Heart of the City. I was not happy with my dark room on the backside from the Hotel. So i have asking for the second night a room on the frontside... and there was no problem. The Staff was very understanding. The Hotel is not Wow", but Ok for a short stay to visit the hole city. Zurich is a wonderfull city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay in the old city of Zürich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice and high quality of products at breakfast, service was also efficient and friendly. The rooms are very nicely decorated in contemporary style, just as we like!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.0
    Phenomenal place but no A/C.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big thing I wish I would have known before booking. This hotel does not have A/C. I would book this hotel again in the winter or the fall but definitely not in July.

    Lovely room. Great location. Solid breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Best location but rooms are super hot and slow service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are unbearably hot, we had troubles sleeping. The drains in the shower in our room is also blocked, the water would flood until our ankles. I had informed the receptionist after the first night but wasn't fixed until we checked out. Quite dissapointed.

    Location was perfect and the top room had an amazing rooftop with the best view of Zurich Lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Great for vacation, OK for business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building access with luggage is somewhat cumbersome due to location far away form road and parking. Internet connection was useless due to speed issues. No AC.

    Very spacious room (2 BR apartment), located in the heart of old town close to many great restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, caring stuff and comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, if they had this it would be great.

    Absolutely recommend the place, amazing stuff very kind and helpful. Very clean and great internet connection. Very comfortable even considering the lack of air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Grossmünster and Fraumünster are nearby, and lots of shops and restaurants are around the hotel. Easy to get to the Haupbahnhof and the Zurich airport in public transportation. Staff members are very friendly and helpful. The room was not a huge size, but comfortable enough with nice arrangement of designed furniture and amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    The hotel overall was extermely nice, room was combfortly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They should inform their guests in advance right after booking, via email, that they are dealing with particular parking lot.

    The hotel overall was extremely nice, room was comfy and cozy. Just an amazing hotel with an amazing staff who serves their guests with passion. Location was just in the heart of the old town Zurich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is high (but should be expected considering Zurich) People in need of special assistance may want to choose another location due to complex way of accessing the elevator

    Great location, friendly staff, good facilities in the room (very spacious as well) and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Too expensive for what it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to get to. Need to walk up the small street to the entrance with baggage. Too hot in the rooms, need to have the windows open and then you hear the street noise. Not suitable for people who like it quiet at night.

    Friendly hostess at breakfast. Locations is great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was adequate and very quick, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was too hot! The one fan provided couldnt do the job, needs to be a better way to cooling the room down!

    The breakfast was adequate and very quick, very friendly service both at breakfast and at the reception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    A hidden gem in Zurich's old quarter
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of English language TV channels.

    The quality of the accommodation - we really appreciated the upgrade into an exceptionally bright and airy room. The excellent breakfast and attentive staff. The quietness despite the central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    All very good friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a good sleep as it's very loud in the midnight on the street. Groups of teens shouting and playing music. Had to close all doors but still got waked up many times. I m sorry !!

    All very good friendly staff. New facility. Convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner. We understand this is Europe and you won't find air con in many hotels but a fan in the bedrooms would have made our stay much more comfortable

    Property in the Old Town with plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    Good comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airconditioning while it was extremely warm. When opening the windows the room was immediately filled with noise and smoke from cigarettes from people on the hotel bar terrasse.

    Good comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Good location, nice staff but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather small, more like dorm room. Only shower not tub. Hard to get ice.

    Very centrally located, very helpful staff, recently remodeled so up to date. Heavy windows made room reasonably quiet considering location, near train to airport 20minyrs by train. Proper toiletries , thick towels, fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is well located just in the center , small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well located just in the center , small but convenient , recently renovated, nice rooms with wide windows and light . Receptionist very kind and helpful. Definitely a good choice that I will repeat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    5 Star Stay in the Heart of Old Town Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Penthouse Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult to travel to in car/taxi. You have to walk your luggage through a couple of streets to get to.

    Extremely relaxing and comforting hotel. Great location with amazing service. Front desk was extremely helpful and went above and beyond. The value of the hotel is great considering the expensive nature of Zurich. Rooms are nicely furnished with some having terrace views of Lake Zurich. Relatively quiet considering you are in the heart of Old Town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    The best boutique hotel in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception team are wonderful- a perfect mix of friendliness and professionalism. We received an upgrade to room 601 with roof terrace. The room itself is a joy - modern, stylish, fabulous bathroom- and the view from the roof terrace is amazing. I am so grateful- it was a wonderful start to the holiday. The breakfast was superb - highest quality products.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rössli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: