Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Sunstar Hotel Saas-Fee This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Obere Dorfstrasse 30, 3906 Saas-Fee, Switzerland

#32 of 130 hotels in Saas-Fee

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    Ski break perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coming home!

    The staff and hotel were just perfect, we had a 4nt stay, taking our 5yr old skiing for the first time, hotel was brilliant, staff excellent, food great, facilities amazing, location brilliant, could not speak more highly of this place! Love Saas-Fee x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    The property has an excellent location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sauna starts late in the afternoon.

    The property has an excellent location and view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and the whole place is very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.2
    Relax for a week, food drinks and ski opportunities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was just fine. The staff was helpfull and friendly. Ther rooms were spacious and offered all what was necessary. The hotel has 3 restaurants of good quality. From the backdoor of the Hotel one can take a cable to the top of one of the mountains for hiking and sleighing. To the skil lift is only 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was superb! The staff at the reception and in the restaurant were super helpful and friendly. The room was very specious. The food was great! The hotel is very central. We very much enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.6
    Charming and characterful hotel with beautiful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our balcony was sunny only until about 4pm - but you can't have everything!

    First visit to Saas Fee, on a hiking holiday. Very generously sized, and well appointed, bright bedrooms with balconies in a charming hotel, which has one of the top restaurants in Saas Fee. Having stayed in many hotels in the Swiss Alps over a few decades, this one is up there in our top 5.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.1
    Great hiking experience in the summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two dinners in the restaurant, food was standard and meal was expensive. WiFi connection was weak in the rooms.

    The location was great and the family room was very comfortable. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    9.6
    Luxury Accomodation in a spectacular resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room had a sunny balcony facing the slopes with spectacular views - we enjoyed an evening drink on the balcony after a hard days sking. Our room was a good size. The free mini bar (restocked daily) was very welcome. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were given a special deal on the lift pass which was much appreciated. Nice breakfasts. We ate out most nights to explore Saas Fee however on our one night eating in the hotel restaurant we had a lovely fondue.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    10
    Classic Swiss Quality and Hospitality. Loved it. Amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if there's a snack available in the room.

    Classic Swiss Quality and Hospitality. Loved it. Amazing breakfast! Complimentary mini-bar, clean, beautiful views from the rooms!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    10
    Exceptional hotel with very warm and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The ski storage room it's outside the hotel and was without a ski boots dryer so you have to take your boots in your room. The hotel's complimentary transport from the hotel to the lift and back is not very flexible, the first bus back to the hotel is 3.15pm and if you want to finish skiing for the day earlier, you have a very long walk back to the hotel in your ski boots with your ski on your shoulder.

    Very large and comfortable room. Proper breakfast with something for every taste. The hotel's two restaurants have short menu but the dishes are masterfully prepared and you have to book a table a day in advance, even for lunch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2016

    10
    Bliss in Sass Fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we could only stay for 5 nights

    The breakfast was outstanding. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and welcoming. We very much enjoyed the pool and wellness area. Stunning views from our balcony!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing stay at Sunstar Saas Fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic breakfast, all the options! Local cheeses and honey. Fresh fruit, bacon, eggs and sausages. Selection of breads and pastries. Lovely pool downstairs. Nice fireside bar. Great service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception wasn't so accommodating. Service was ok but we didn't feel pampered unlike advertised on the welcome note. We go regularly to Saas Fee and this hotel is one of the best. Service though is rather on the low compared to other hotels.

    Breakfast was awesome. Very nice interior design a good shuttle service with a very pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel in Saas-Fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely girl at the desk changed my room to a ground floor room when I told her I couldn't walk the flight of stairs to the top floor. Wonderful spa. Great breakfast. All the staff is kind, helpful, caring. Stunning terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Very spacious room in a historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very spacious room in a historic hotel. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming hotel in the centre of Saas Fee and would stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some kids not under control in swimming pool and spa area.

    Friendly staff , free mini bar and good breakfast, spa good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    Traditional Swiss hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Traditional Swiss hotel. Excellent service from all the staff. Comfortable and well located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    4.6
    The room was nice, spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds and pillows were not comfortable, the waitress lady at breakfast was very rude, talking back

    The room was nice, spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    Styling, Comfort, Large bedroom/free upgrade, bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Styling, Comfort, Large bedroom/free upgrade, bathroom, staff, breakfast, wine, bar/lounge area, view from balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    great breakfast, super friendly staff, great location and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    great breakfast, super friendly staff, great location and facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    4.2
    Old, rooms definitely require renovation, value for money is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old, rooms definitely require renovation, value for money is not there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was soft and should be replaced.

    Almost everything was great, especially friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    very friendly and helpful staff, excellent service, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly and helpful staff, excellent service, very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Long distance to the ski lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long distance to the ski lift

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.6
    great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wellness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Location, Friendliness Staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Friendliness Staff; Breakfast; Wellness; Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in Saas Fee
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and toilet size are spacious, the bed is comfortable, the breakfast was very delicious and various, except the croissants taste.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly, helpful staff. Superb decor. Wonderful food. Free mini bar. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.9
    very nice play for a break in a beautiful mountain village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff friendliness and flexibility

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    9.2
    A bit quiet in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit quiet in the evening

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2017

    7.9
    The swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was quite expensive.

    The swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    7.9
    The late check-in (3 pm) despite the request for an earlier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The late check-in (3 pm) despite the request for an earlier check-in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    10
    Great place, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not much not to like about this place.

    Traditional looking hotel but with all the modern conveniences.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    7.1
    Staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have been there 8 yrs ago and nothing has changed in the meantime.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    9.6
    Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    10
    Staff was outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in a good location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable hotel in a good location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    10
    Incredible place, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly nothing.

    Breakfast, rooms, charm.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    9.2
    We had a superior family room which had a large comfy bed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi could be quite slow at times.

    We had a superior family room which had a large comfy bed in the main room (we did ask for extra pillows) , a separate twin room plus 2 bathrooms which was perfect for a family of 4. There was a good selection at breakfast and we ate in the restaurant Fee Challer twice and had a fantastic fondue. The manager and staff were very friendly and worked hard. The hotel arranged ski passes and lifts to and from the slopes if you didn't want to walk, although it only took us 10 minutes and we stored our ski's at the ski hire shop right next to the ski lifts. If we went back to Saas Fee then we would stay here again, thank you!

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    3.8
    Location of the hôtel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I arrived -as announced- at 21h30, and the welcome was not nice, there was no one at the counter, and we waited for at least 10 min (which is very long with small children!). Suggested rooms were a far cry from pictures on website. When I asked for other rooms, the receptionist informed that the manager would see us in the restaurant. However, he finished quietly his dinner before talking to us! The new rooms were a bit better (refreshed bathrooms), but still nothing to do with the pictures on the site. The rooms were not very clean (found old chewing-gum on the floor next to the bed), and not well cleaned afterwards either (cookie-crumbs never disappeared). Breakfast was ok, but the personnel (including lady whom I later understood is owner) was constantly cleaning and setting tables whilst we were eating. This doesn't help to create a nice ambiance! Though we had a bumpy start, the lady of the house never took the effort for small-talk and/or to smoothen things. Tables in the bar were not clean in the morning. When we left, there was no help to bring down the luggage. We had hoped to find a family-hotel, we ended up staying frustrated in a place with no ambiance. We got absolutely no value for our money.

    Location of the hôtel

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2016

    5.8
    Staff was very professional and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The notion of boutique hotel does not fit to this hotel. Room was huge, but bathroom minuscule. Room decor outdated. The Pool area was very noisy. Ski room outside the hotel, unheated. Ski boots are to be kept in the room. Overall the value for money was low.

    Staff was very professional and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2015

    8.5
    Very comfortable beds;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I thought there would be more to do in the town as it is described as "The Pearl of the Alps" Shops very disappointing

    Very comfortable beds; Good food Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean, less than 10 minutes walk from the piste...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There are not too many options for vegans at breakfast. The Wifi is not too stable.

    Comfortable, clean, less than 10 minutes walk from the piste, has a playroom for the kids, elegant and quiet.

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2015

    7.9
    Very nice ans helpfull staff and flexible when wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far away from ski lifts A bit old fashion decoration of room Small spa area and pool not so warm But overall great stay!

    Very nice ans helpfull staff and flexible when wanted to change things Great breakfast with lots of choice Large bedroom, kind of suite even when standard Pick up service at bus terminal

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    10
    What a great hotel, with great welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a great hotel, with great welcoming staff. EXCELLENT..!

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    10
    Beautiful breakfast with lots of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful breakfast with lots of variety. Great location. Spacious 2 bedroom suite. Will definitely return to this fabulous hotek

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2015

    8.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed comfort - we asked for a double and got 2 pushed together singles that came apart constantly

    Staff Location

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    9.2
    Love the location, the facilities where amazing and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Love the location, the facilities where amazing and the staff were great.

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurants mediocre

    Friendly staff Great breakfast Bus service to lifts

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: