Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Säntis 4 stars

Landsgemeindeplatz 3, 9050 Appenzell, Switzerland

#5 of 15 hotels in Appenzell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 161 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. The nearby church that chimed every hour and half hour; pleasant during the day, not so pleasant when you're trying to sleep!

    Very nice bathroom, and good restaurant (good breakfast and tasty dinner). Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have order a coffee because someone came to visited me . So I didn't want to take the perosn inside my room so I needed place to sit and have coffee .. like in the bar .. they let me get into the bar but that was smoking area unfortunately I cannot be sitting in the smoking area.. I didn't like that at all . . Also miscommunication between the staff . Each can give you irrelevant information . The room looks classic but .. I enjoyed being in the bathroom than the room . There is sofa corner of the room that's not even suit the room . The tv and internal phone didn't work at all .. likely I don't bother to watch tv because I was busy so it didn't bother me . I love their breakfast . It's actually worth it .. . Overall very quite and traditionl place..recommend for short stay . The hotel name is romantick 🙄Omg .. I have not deserve to get at least a romantick kiss from bf lol . Overall 50% worth it for money

    I like the staff .. they are very helpful ..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Junior's suite facing the square is best. Biggest, brightest, highest level. Provided us a thermoflask instead of a kettle, which is very kind of them so we can make hot drinks at night. Thanks so much for that. We'll be happy to come back next year, and definitely take the same room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning (Switzerland can get very hot in summer) so bedroom windows have to be left open, and there is a certain amount of street noise (particularly in the early morning) at the back of the hotel

    Very convenient, central location; clean, comfortable rooms; excellent restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on the main square of Appenzell with easy access to the local shops and restaurants. Hotel has a charming Swiss style restaurant on the first floor as well as an ample sized terrace for outdoor drinks or dining.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As someone who prefers a walk-in shower it would have been preferred.

    Family run and the proud owner was very evident, helping out when needed. A very good winelist with many Swiss wines to supplement the fancier labels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. Also, no clothes pegs - in the bedrooms or bathrooms!

    The location is excellent. Our two rooms overlooked the Landsgemeindeplatz. The rooms were large with adequate seating space. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always hate to leave and we are looking forward to our next visit!

    My wife and I have visited Appenzell many times and we always try to stay at Romantik Hotel Santis. The facilities are excellent and everyone is unfailingly courteous, friendly and helpful. Plus, the meals are always delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The warm and professional welcome. The thoughtful room selection. The cleanliness and appointment of the room. Located in heart of beautiful Appenzell. Friendly and courteous staff. Super breakfast room and really delicious fare including The Best Gluten Free bread ever. Pure relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of bed, noise in the hotel at night

    Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, size of the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a poor Wifi connection.

    Nice place with tradition, excellent breakfast. We appreciated the good restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Excellent breakfast Sunterrace on top of house

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed old , bedding old

    lovely hotel in a perfect location , staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedcovers were too warm for the time of the year

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is ok, but not more than that.

    Nice hotel at an excellent location. Good beds and nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The selection on the restaurant menu is very limited

    Centrally located with lots of charm. Rooms are large and clean. Professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, no air conditioner

    Quaint

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only weather- it was raining upon our stay & it was Easter holiday

    Atmosphere & decoration of the hotel is very homely. People r friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us an upgrade in their Romantik room which eas beautiful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we have dinner at the restaurant, only our table was put on place mats instead of a tablecloth....It looked like a breakfast table.

    A young receptionist when we checked in was very nice lady. Although we asked her an additional matter , she coped very well.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wasn't sure what to expect and was so pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a romantic room which was quite large and had all the amenities. The staff was beyond helpful and so pleasant. Ate in the dining room and would recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found nothing we disliked.

    The staff was friendly and capable. The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many flies in the restaurant.

    Nice view. Cosy hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely friendly personnel, also with our American Friends wo do not speak any German. Great location, wonderful dinner with exceptional service!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Two small beds instead of ond big one

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Within walking distance of everything, including the train station.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was a little rude. Also WiFi was horrible and room very dated. Don 't advertise WiFi if you cannot connect!

    The town was great!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food and service

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: