Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Stern 4 stars

Reichsgasse 11, 7000 Chur, Switzerland

#5 of 13 hotels in Chur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The step into the room and the step down into the bathroom. I didn't think they were that obvious and had to be exceptionally careful.

    The quirkiness and uniqueness of the hotel, friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located about three long blocks from the train station. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Very good room on the 2nd floor. Excellent breakfast and they provided us with an evening meal despite the late hour arriving from Zurich. Very comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice. Very rustic and charming, but comfortable. Breakfast was great. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant and was one of the better meals I have had in a while. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cream for the coffee in our room was expired. But we still could drink tea ;)

    The cleaning staff and the ones who prepared the breakfast were very nice and welcoming. The food was excellent. We were very happy about the parking space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bit worn out and pillows useless. Asked for firmer pillows but was given cushions from a couch. Booked a junior suite but when we got to reception they had a double room booked. We were then put what seemed like ‘overflow’ accomodation in the Building next door. . It was ok but not as advertised.

    Great restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was available le but very cramped. The room and bathroom were very small and overfilled with furniture. I don’t think there was any hanging space for clothing.

    Great location near the old town and commercial areas of Chur. Very friendly and helpful staff. Authentic Swiss decor. Attached restaurant was excellent with, once again, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is well located in the old part of Chur. Our room was in an old beamed part of the building and was well furnished with a modern bathroom. The TV had several UK channels (BBC, ITV). Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good, but in common with other Swiss hotels the evening meals were very expensive.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could have been better

    The staff was very friendly and responsive. The dinners in the hotel restaurant were superb. Town is very nice, especially the mountain views and the old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reading lamp was built into the bed-just at the height of my head, making it not possible to read without keeping the bright overhead lights on.

    I enjoyed my stay at the Stern hotel in Chur. It is located right in the center of the city's old town, only 10 minutes from the cable car taking you to the top of the Brambrüesch. The breakfast buffet was excellent, featuring a variety of rolls, cheese, cold cuts, joghurts as well as a fruit salad made with fresh fruits. My single room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Very good breakfast. Attentive service at reception. Historical hotel in a quiet part of the old town. Room with good amenities, coffee machine and plenty of space. A good choice for visiting this town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift only went to the 3rd floor so we carried our bags to the 4th floor- if this is a problem for you just ask for a room on a lower floor.

    A fantastic location in the old town part of Chur. It was an comfortable walk from the train station with our bags. We were given a room on the 4th floor, in the attic. The room, like the whole hotel, had been beautifully furnished. The breakfast had a lot of options and was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next door to bell tower of church (10 minutes of loud gongs at 7 p.m. but then silence until morning.) Be aware that elevator only goes to 2nd floor. Attic room on 3rd floor seemed overpriced.

    Safe area, very convenient to rail station. Private terrace (in no way charming but had serviceable table and chairs). Fan was welcome in attic room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms small, breakfast room small and stuffy weather was very hot would have been nice to be able to sit outside for breakfast

    bed comfy Excellent restaurant and outside eating area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not aware that the "suite" that we reserved was a dimly lit fourth floor attic dormer full of beams with one small window and poor ventilation. The only ventilation we had was through the one window which opened directly onto the Plazo below full of skateboarders all day Sunday into Sunday night. The tremendous noise of the skateboards below was very uncomfortable. Should you choose to stay here, We recommend that you specifically request a quiet, well ventilated and well lit room. I posted one photo of my wife waving from the attic window

    The restaurant was exceptionally good - we dined here two evenings -- Great service and great food. The hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Breakfast was very, very nice. The location on the edge of old town is good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid the top price for this hotel, $480 per night. Room was in an attic, no air conditioning with only 2 small windows in very hot weather. Room was in a separate building, carpet in hallways was filthy and there was an unpleasant smell. Breakfast was in a separate building. The bath was very slippery and dangerous. Sofa bed broken. Finally there was "a charge" for everything, eg hire an umbrella €8. To top off the whole experience, there was an event arena opposite our part of the hotel, with music commencing at 6.00pm and lasting well into the night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are very soft - we didn't find them comfortable.

    As clean and efficient as you would expect a good Swiss hotel to be, with helpful, friendly staff. Good value for its location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Parking, location, atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds excellent staff good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great helpful staff would recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the traditional feel of the place but room was spacious and comfortable. Staff friendly and location excellent. Easy walk from train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overflowing bowl of chaocolates at the hotel reception were irresistible!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean the owner was very friendly staff was willing to help location was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too tiny

    The bed was very comfy at least it made up for the small space

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic old hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little small, but we managed. Overall, we were happy with the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff woman was very friendly, and the room very charming, private and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was just great.No complaints at all.

    The friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole stay was delightful. Everyone there made every effort to make stay perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The need to manually lock door from both sides

    Classic swiss hotel. Stark but efficient. Shower excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of air conditioning,although the fan in our room was effective.

    The traditional style of the hotel and the quality of the food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculate, comfortable, classy with superb food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were outstanding, organized a special dinner for us and it was spectacular. Nothing was too much trouble, very satisfied

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was pretty good.

    Everything of the hotel was quite good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grandlit Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Very charming hotel in a great location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, decor of hotel charming, great location, parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a bit expensive for only one night.

    Very nice and cozy room. Friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of power sockets not convenient for charging phone/ laptop

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was higher than other properties in area

    Location and guest services

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant excellent, with local specialties. Flexible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition in the room.

    Very service minded staff in the reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant meal was first-rate local cuisine. We stayed on the top floor; quaint gables, a sitting area under the roof beams, a balcony off the room.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    It's my first time came to Swiss that me impressive. the room have strong smelling from stone pine. It makes me relax and sleep well. and the staff also kindly.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The attached restaurant was excellent. The staff, including the restaurant staff, was terrific. It is within easy walking distance of the train station and the surprisingly sizable Old Town. Chur is worth a stop on the GEX.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a beautiful old building in the old, picturesque part of town, The restaurant served excellent food, I highly recommend the Engardiner sausages. There were some traditional dishes with their own twist. Breakfast buffet had a wide choice. In the room there was a kettle for making tea and complimentary bottles of water every day. Very comfortable beds. Found some English TV channels to watch too.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No snow but we can't control the weather!

    Nice accomadation! Breakfast delicious! Church bells were wonderful! New Year's Eve fireworks from terrace were awesome! Chairlift up mountain was nice and cafe battaglia at top good food... Nice overlook!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My room was cheap by Swiss standards and perhaps for this reason extremely small -- no room to store two small pieces of handluggage other than on the floor.

    Excellent location in the Altstadt; free on site parking; good internet; excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff attention to detail and small things like complimentary water in room chocolates on reception and given another free water on check out for my journey. Free car parking as well

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a junior suite our bed was weird. The pillows kept falling off the back of bed because the headboard was a semi circle not flush against the mattress head !

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at this hotel twice in 3 days. The most noticeable change on the second visit was the lack of friendliness and helpfulness from the staff on the second stay.

    Convenient location to Railway station.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our reception on our second stay. Felt like a different hotel.

    Our reception on arrival for our first stay and the hotel accommodating our request for a bar fridge for medication.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a 10-minute walk go the railway station, but you'll need a map to get there. And it's hard to find once you get there. Don't look for the name of the hotel up high on the exterior of the building. The only sign is just over the front door and the door is set back from the street. Rooms are small. But cordial staff, a nice breakfast is included, and very good food in the hotel restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is hard to fault any aspect of the hotel, but we booked well in advance and took advantage of the cheap room deal. The room was small and as the weather was hot the bedroom was also got made worse by the fact that the fan provided did not work. Overall only a very minor gripe, and we got what we paid for.

    Generally everything was fine. The staff were great and the breakfast was also good

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had low beams, hard to navigate in dark Location was by a main road, which was noisy If we kept the windows closed, it was very hot

    Very friendly Good breakfast Handy location

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Country atmosphere in downtown neighborhood in Chur! Beautiful church bells ringing in nearby town square, close to old town cobblestone lanes and squares!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very cheerful and helpful.Shower and all bedroom fittings of a high standard. really handy for shops and restaurants.and lake shore about 10 mins walk away.. Champagne to make bucks fizz was included in the buffet breakfast....not sure if this was every day or just for Mothers Day.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel had a very reasonable price, was walking distance from the train station, and my room was a very generous size, as was the bathroom. It also had a number of the little "extras" that aren't really essential in a 3 star hotel, but are nice to have, like a safe in the room and tea making facilities. Best of all was the varied and substantial breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps the only improvement I could suggest is to change the bottom sheet. Mine was a stretchy cotton and a bit pilled. A small detail and apart from that it was all lovely.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very soft.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, even had a free dessert waiting in our room after a joke with staff carrying lots of great looking puddings. very central and easy to go out in the lovely old part of Chur

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - only downside: water to shower only lukewarm after 9am. No problem at 7am the day before.

    - very friendly people at reception - reception 24h open - 7-10 breakfast. Sometimes it only goes to 9 at other locations. + great quality.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large room and bed.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very comfortable, wonderful breakfast and easy access to train.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant with local dishes.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    it changes wifi password everyday.

    location is good

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad.

    Great location at the edge of the Old Town and very close to the train station. Restaurant in the hotel was very good

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Easy check in Tasty breakfast at good times Large room size for a single room

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the room to be a little small.Could have done with 1 less chair to create more space.

    The staff were extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Desk is too small.

    Nice decoration.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So charming!! Great location, staff, ambiance!!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have the best breakfast. Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous location. Wonderfully welcoming and helpful staff and charming manager. Superb restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful staff and a very enjoyable visit. The dinner was very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful, great location for old town.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Romantik Hotel Stern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: