Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Luzern 4 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 30, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#12 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Charming stay in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish that breakfast was included with the room, considering it was a very similar spread to what we had at other hotels. The hotel is old, so the floorboards were squeaky. Lift is cramped and stairs where steeper than I am used to.

    The decor and nice antiques gave the hotel so much character. The hotel is located very centrally and close walking distance to the train station and other sights. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Old World charm in the heart of all that matters in Luzern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentive staff in a setting worthy of a tour in itself - highly recommended for its charm and the little 'Old World' touches that make you feel like you stepped back to a more glamourous era of travel...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Saving up to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Liked everything.

    Beautiful hotel in a perfect and convenient city location. Quite expensive but excellent value for money for what is a luxury hotel. Very helpful Staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    The facilities and the staff were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities and the staff were exceptional. Very accommodating and helpful. Assisted us in planning our outings. One of the top front desk clerks we met on our multiple location, 30 + day trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a walkable city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the street side of the hotel and with the windows open, there was a lot of noise at night after midnight.

    The hotel is located within walking distance of the train station. It is convenient to old town Lucerne and close to the river/bridges which are beautiful. Restaurants and shops are located in the same area. Even though the hotel is 501 years old, it has been renovated is is beautiful. We booked a junior suite which was spacious. The bathroom had a tub/shower and was also spacious. The breakfast was amazing with eggs, bacon, assorted breads, fruit, etc. There is an elevator to the upper floors so it was easy to handle luggage. Hot tea and coffee available on the 2nd floor. Overall it is expensive in Lucerne, but this hotel was a real value given the location and amenities!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in the wonderful town of Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It fully met my expectations and would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel in the future.

    I have stayed in this hotel at least twice before and it is one of my favourites. The facilities are excellent - bedroom, bathroom, staff, breakfast, etc. All this in Luzern which is my favourite town in Switzerland and is a good base for exploring other parts of the Country. The hotel is conveniently located for exploring the town and also for the railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Cozy cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice area. A fine walk along the river from the train station which passes right by the covered bridge. Breakfasts were very nice. Loved the bathroom. We also get a kick out of the doorknobs and window latches/openings. Little things like European electrical outlets and switches are fun to see. Solid wood doors with arched frames. It all helps make the "Swiss" experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Celebrating their 500th year in business, strategically located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was 15 CH at checkin, included perfect scrambled eggs and bacon along with every other delight usually offered for European breakfast PLUS Prosecco! We were pleased with our welcome from the warm, cheery, helpful staff. The breakfast room was beautiful. It had such a pretty Christmas tree that my Mr and I sat side by side at our table just so we could face it and enjoy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    VERY SHORT BUT SPECIAL STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic hotel, elegant, romantic and quiet. Comfortable junior suite, very good breakfast. Good dinner and details offered by the chef at the french restaurant. Higly recommended for a comfortable and elegant city centre stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Special hotel with history
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet worked very slowly. Breakfast ok, but nothing special, if you like eat a lot in morning. Hair drier so so..

    I liked the building and old style overall, like elevator and details, decorations, floors. Don't forget to pay attention in first floor dining room (?) art build in wall - pictures in old fashion 3D. Bathroom lighting and mirror perfect. Very symphatic and friendly reception. Very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Great restaurant with very nice service and delicious food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Glass bathroom door Poorly ventilated room Construction outside which will soon be completed and was not the hotel's fault

    Great restaurant with very nice service and delicious food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location- rooms need updating but charming B and B type layout.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were dissapointed that there was no warning about the massive construction happening right outside the door of the hotel. Our room was streetside and was very noisy. We asked to move to the back of the hotel and they did- which was great. But the room was a level down price wise and we were not offered anything to compensate. We also had a hard time with the uncomfortable separated bed. Also- there is no parking on property- only a garage which is close but pricey.

    The breakfast included mimosas and was fantastic. The staff was very gracious from the front desk to the breakfast staff. The location was really great and close to the bridge and shopping area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    The staff was very efficient.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a construction on the road which began at 6.45 in the morning. The digging noise was terrible. It was impossible not only sleep but also to be in the room.The management had to know this and give the room accordingly. They changed the room next day. It was not as disturbing as the first one. They also told that the construction will go on for 6 months

    The staff was very efficient. The room was big enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Romantik Hotel Experience, but resting on its laurels - just a wee bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I begin? I travel relatively frequently in hotels in Switzerland, and so I am in a position to judge this hotel not only by international but also by Swiss standards. This is a hotel that is clearly resting on its laurels. For me it failed in 4 critical areas: 1. Reception. They couldn't find my booking right away, and so the answer came back bluntly: we don't have your booking. When did you book, was the next question. Oh, this morning? Oh here it is, yes. From then on the friendliness commenced, and the reception was exemplary. But they failed on the intro. (Why not check all bookings, including those made today from the start?) 2. The bed. I ordered a double bed (Romantik, remember?), what I received were two single beds, at different levels, pushed together. I understand that hotels need the flexibility, but this was ridiculous. Is it not possible to cover the beds and attach them? 3. The Coffee. Huge failing alas. This is where "resting on laurels" comes in. 30 years ago, brown water for coffee was quaint. Today guests expect coffee made in a Cimbali, and the "Cappuccino" to be more than milk fuzz floating on brown fluid. Same for the juice. It was not freshly squeezed, and I don't expect to have to tilt the container to extract the remains when I walk into a breakfast room in the middle of the period allotted (i.e. I was not the last person in the room). The milk, too was almost empty at the beginning of the breakfast period. Detail. Detail. 4. The WIFI. After connecting to the Romantik WIFI, we were requested to enter a combination of numbers and letters for both name and password? Really? And then, if you didn't log in the day of arrival, it didn't work. You had to redescend to the reception and ask for another access. "Many customers have complained about this" was the reply. "We are required to have it this way". When I pointed out that there are Hotels (in Switzerland, same laws!

    Well, this is a Romantik hotel, and as such it is charming. Perfectly located in Luzern, and of course an interesting interior. I liked our room (which was one of the best, but of course I paid for that). It had a terrace, and despite the Luzern festival that was raging outside at the time, was quiet. Helpful knowledgeable reception in finding a place to eat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Very nice Hotel - we had a beautiful jr suite with a balcony; staff was very helpful; great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have a little more variety & better coffee!

    They gave us a lovely cheerful room with a beautiful balcony...just loved sitting there. Air conditioning has become a problem in Europe but they had given us a small portable air conditioner & a fan so it was ok because nights are cool. Luzern we like a lot & this was our 2nd visit. Would recommend both the town & the Hotel. Only be careful some restaurants charge for even tap water, though a drinking water fountains around the city are safe & free and in switzerland one does not need to drink bottled water. Opus restaurant close to the Hotel was smart looking but the boss was a bit rude, but everywhere else was very good... There are lovely cafes, boutiques & open spaces all around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice hotel for cooler months!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy at 7:00 am since we had to keep the windows open. Internet was intermittent and even though I inadvertently booked the room for one person and it was a queen size bed I was charged an additional 180 Fr for my husband.

    Size of room was very nice and the bathroom was incredible!! Plenty of space and a great location!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Deserves its "Romantik" designation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike, but I had requested a room with a view, and ended up with a junior suite on the street side of the hotel which proved quite noisy at night. Now, as I had arrived from Zurich after an overnight flight and was checking in at 9 a.m., I was ready to take whatever room was ready; one was prepared in about 30 minutes. Had I been staying longer, I would have asked to change rooms.

    A lovely old place and well-situated, but, even for Switzerland, expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel does a great job making you feel at home. Clean rooms, great front desk service and relatively close to the train station - what more can you ask for? We took a couple days side trip to another region & we're returning for subsequent days to Wilder Mann. They were kind enough to offer to store our large luggage in the hotel so we could travel with smaller packs. When we returned, our luggage was already in our room! Best hotel for our 3 week stay in Europe - we'll be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    An amazing hotel in a perfect location for a fun holiday in Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of history in the hotel, this being the 500th anniversary of the building. It was very interesting! It was also very centrally located and simple to walk to from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Classic hotel in the best place in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator/Mini Bar in the room and no way to make a coffee in the room and even the public coffee stand was poor.

    Best location next to all tourists attraction. Hotel is classic with an authentic atmosphere. staff was very helpful and very nice. rooms were big enough and well designed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Charming get away in heart of Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window view could have been better than looking out over construction; however it didn't take away from our experience.

    We will be back. The staff was so welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed. The room was spacious and bathroom was standard European size. The location was fantastic. Overall we will come back to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, prime location, close to the attractions of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge was not working the first day of our stay. Was replaced the next day at our request.

    Nice hotel, prime location, close to the attractions of Lucerne, walking distance to the train station and docks. Helpful staff. Complimentary coffee and tea on the second floor. The hotel restaurant is very good, and good value - by Swiss standards.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are lots of stairs in this hotel that might cause a problem for someone with vision or mobility issues.

    Room was Swiss clean, the staff was helpful and the location made exploring the old part of Luzern easy. The Burgerstube offers great food right in the hotel. We love this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    an old restaurant with a long history, well decorated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the house is wooden, you can feel the floor is moving when you walk in the room, but it's ok, you're safe anyway.

    an old restaurant with a long history, well decorated and guys there are so nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit ordinary - our culture appreciates a substantial feed for this meal. For future reference, I would prefer to forgo paying for breakfast at the hotel, and would go out to an early brunch somewhere else.

    Very convenient location. The bed was extra comfy. Roomy and quiet with excellent appointments. Very well appointed ensuite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy between 7-10pm courtesy of markets but not a worry. Christmas markets

    I was there for Xmas markets which were almost next door. Plus close to Lucerne beautiful waterfrontages.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Highly recommended hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has style. Who is staying at Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann is choosing romantic atmosphere, friendliness, hospitality, and comfort in the centre of one of the loveliest cities of the world: Lucern. I highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little dear for us, but it was the one splurge of our hotels on our trip. Very attentive staff Wish we could have stayed longer!

    The receptionist was very pleasant and let us check in an hour or so early. He also gave us an upgrade with a partial view of the water! The room was beautiful and spacious. We received coupons for free drinks with lunch or dinner in their restaurant, which we used that night. The dinner was by far one of the best of our trip through Switzerland! Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Classy historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were too soft, but large enough that you could double them over to get closer to some type of firmness.

    The room was very spacious and we had multiple windows that we could open for fresh air (perfect early October coolness). The clerk at the front desk was very willing to answer our questions and provide suggestions for restaurants and attractions. One suggestion being the Glasi Hergiswil, which was very interesting. Of our 4 different hotels over our 2-week vacation, Hotel Wilden Mann had the best breakfast by far! The hotel is on some type of historic registry, so don't expect modern style. It is however, unique, charming, and clean -- with all the necessary conveniences.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very kind staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noisy outside of the hotel

    Very kind staffs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything else
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Everything else

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no a/c, but, fortunately, it was not so hot when we arrived.

    Nice hotel. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice selection between 2in house restaurants would be reccomended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Location and the rooms were big and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know that there is no AC in the hotel

    Location and the rooms were big and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfortable clean room and good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is stylish with such period elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is stylish with such period elegance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Everything is fine except for lack of air condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no air condition

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Close to Jesuit Church
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from my room

    Close to Jesuit Church

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and bed is not so comfy

    The location is very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel; excellent location; superb city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy at night because of people in the streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quirky layout and furnishings in the hallways - loved it :0)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    It was an exceptional hotel stay for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel very conveniently located in the center of Lucern, a block off the Reuss River. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful but the room itself was smaller than expected. Bathrooms were new and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    The location is good and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is good and convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Best hotel I stayed ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never had a better and classier experience and, even more, at an unbeatable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good experience, I would return with pleasure.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, great dining experience, friendly and helpful staff. They even provided a bed and bowl for my dog.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pilots very soft and view from the hotel not great.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Construction activity was going on outside leading to lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Construction activity was going on outside leading to lot of discomfort in sleep and travel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced and restaurant served no light dishes

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.0
    Staff was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and location is too far from the center given other hotels

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Best value for money in switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms spacious and comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice Switzerland !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar in hotel, no air conditionning, beds are bit old

    Style, restaurants are very good, breakfast , situation in town is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    The first room was so small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was so small. Not worth it. Bed was old.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Parking was available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but that is not the hotel it's the region

    Parking was available. Close to the tourist area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Romantic, comfortable stay as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    This wonderful hotel continues to hold high standard and take good care of its guests. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Romantic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have airconditioner

    Friendly staff. Great locaition. Charming rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    very helpful and knowledgeable staff, room was wonderful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very helpful and knowledgeable staff, room was wonderful, restaurant excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Location, romantic and cosy atmosphere, comfort, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noises from the corridor, late in the evening

    Location, romantic and cosy atmosphere, comfort, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travellers need to be prepared that restaurants are expemsive. All over Switzerland

    Ambiance

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    Great vacation rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location rooms and staff cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable room with good amenities and pleasant décor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room with good amenities and pleasant décor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Excellent staff-very helpful with activity suggestions. Staff speaks excellent English. Historic hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.1
    Wilden Mann is in a great location - downtown old Lucern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Swiss like soft feather pillows - by the time we realised it was a bit too late to call housekeeping - so check pillows when you arrive and order extra if you like additional height. Breakfast was ok - strange function room - didn't feel welcoming for the morning. There are sitting room areas on level one but again had a weird vibe.

    Wilden Mann is in a great location - downtown old Lucern near the Chapel bridge. It is a quaint place steeped in history. The staff are very keen to help and want to ensure 'everything is ok'. We received a room upgrade to a Superior room which was very large, lots of light and a very clean bathroom. The bed was firm but comfortable. We had a very pleasant dinner in the main restaurant which was frequented by locals and was good quality fresh food. Service was attentive. Reception was excellent providing advice on what to see and how to navigate trains etc!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    Overall comfort and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are quite warm, it was hard to regulate the room temperature.

    Overall comfort and cleanliness. The hotel was simply outstanding in all respects. The rooms were spacious, the bathroom spotless and new, and fully stocked with everything including slippers and fluffy bathrobes.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    The male Desk clerk was extremely helpful and cheerful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The male Desk clerk was extremely helpful and cheerful and fluent in English. We loved sitting in the mezzanine salon to "unwind" and play cards

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    The establishment is quite popular as a meeting point for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The establishment is quite popular as a meeting point for local businesses and communities, gives an unexpected scoop into local life. The place is authentic with genuine authenticity, and kept very well. The location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    I loved everything in this fantastic Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything in this fantastic Hotel! Its excellent location and when you enter, you meet the the very hospitable staff . They helped me with every request and I had quite a few. All this with a smile I stayed for 5 nights, in a very beautiful room with all the comfort imaginable. It was before Christmas so the whole Hotel was very beautifully decorated. This is a boutique Hotel with antique furniture and a fantastic ambience! Breakfast was very rich, and I would especially like to mention the 2 wonderful Restaurants in-house. Suffice it to say, that after my first trial, I remained a daily guest at these restaurants. l

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    The hotel has such charm and the room was big and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has such charm and the room was big and beautiful. We loved the windows opening out to a pedestrian cobblestoned walkway. Great location for the train station and boats.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    Nice, antique hotel, spacious room, comfortable bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The building is old so the floor was creaking, especially annoying in the night.

    Nice, antique hotel, spacious room, comfortable bed, extremelly nice breakfast where they had variety of local cheese, homemade jams, good and fresh local bread, sparkling wine and other nice things to enjoy.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful historic hotel in excellent location close to good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi good for receiving emails but not sending them.

    Beautiful historic hotel in excellent location close to good restaurants and only 500 meters from railway station. Great breakfast in lovely dining room.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    Usually single rooms in Europe are tiny with barely any room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Usually single rooms in Europe are tiny with barely any room to put a suitcase and this room was larger and decorated beautifully with everything you need for an overnight stay. Great restaurant, too!

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of air conditioning. My first days followed a heatwave and room was very hot. Rowdy street noise throughout Saturday night.

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is in a perfect location in the characterful part...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Junior suite bed mattress really uncomfortable by current hotel standards.

    This hotel is in a perfect location in the characterful part of Lucern. within easy walking distance of transport connections. It has superb restaurants which are excellent value for the high quality of the cuisine and service. Fascinating genuine period decor and great atmosphere in all public rooms. Perfect supportive staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    Location in old town, Burgerstube restaurant;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No A/C and it was hotter than Hades!!! Opened windows and used floor fan but still didn't cooldown to a comfortable level (27C when arrived stil 26C at 10PM). Asked for 2 top sheets so could shed the heavy duvets they had on bed. Open windows allowed flies and bees to enter ---dangerous as wife allergic to bee stings. Additionally street noise kept us up til 12PM and street cleaner woke us at 6AM as windows were open for cooling.

    Location in old town, Burgerstube restaurant;

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: