Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Romitaggio

Via Agarone, 6597 Agarone, Switzerland

#2 of 2 hotels in Agarone

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.8
    So disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food, the service. To be avoided.

    We stayed there a few years ago and loved it. Now it is so different we could not believe it: poor service, bad food and the price high. The room was nice, but never again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Romitaggio sits off the beaten path on a hillside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Romitaggio sits off the beaten path on a hillside overlooking Lake Maggiore. Once you have navigated the slow twisted road to the top of the hill you will find a beautiful place to experience the Swiss Italian Alps and the culture of its people. The staff is friendly and helpful, beds are comfortable and the shower water pressure Is the best. Romitaggio’s patio is a the perfect place to enjoy their wonderful food and spectacular view. If you are in a rush or not adventurous you might better find a place in the valley closer to A2 but if you do you will certainly miss out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no fridge/minibar or kettle available in the room which was a little disappointing. The shower was very small and it was very hard not to flood the floor. Also, the noise from the restaurant below was very loud until about 10.30pm, just to be aware.

    The bed was very comfortable and the views from the mountain were Stunning! If driving be careful of the narrow roads leading to the hotel. Very cute hotel, with what seemed to be a popular bar/restaurant on the bottom floor. The lady who greeted us was very kind and very friendly. Overall, nice place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    7.9
    Good cost benefit, old but style room. I would recommed to my cousins that like different experiencs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good and big breakfast would be nice, but only if you like. I prefer to leave and eat something in the area. There was no nice view inside of the restaurant. Outside the floor was crashed, not clear is it was constructing or recently damaged. In general, very good for the price.

    The location is trick, you should like to climb the mountain. It was special for my family. They loved. The room looks old, but with style. Fit's perfect our needs, good price and comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    6.3
    The pension is located uphill between lake Lugano and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The budget room we had was quite rustic. They should open the windows before new guests arrive since it was a bit smelly due to the humidity of the old building.

    The pension is located uphill between lake Lugano and Bellinzona. Bellinzona, Val Verzasca and the cities around the lakes Lugano and Maggiore are only 15-30 minutes away maximum. The location is quiet and if you have a car it is easy to reach. There is free parking on the spot. The food at their restaurant is good and the portions are generous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    A local off the beaten path but wonderful get a way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is hard to reach without a car.

    Very unique off the beaten path hotel. Very gracious hostess. She ran the hotel and the yummy very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    7.5
    My wife and I speak French and hade expected to be able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I speak French and hade expected to be able to converse in the French in the French speaking section of Switzerland. We dealt exclusively with he owner who could only speak Italian.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.1
    Cute little village, appt with 2 rooms and kitchen , super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not clean found Some hair on one of the beds, quite dark appt, two rooms but one room is the living room

    Cute little village, appt with 2 rooms and kitchen , super nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    7.9
    Simple stop between towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No iron, or wardrobe accessories, no where to wash your clothes or buy things as it is in a remote location.

    Staff was great. Had a slight problem with ants in the studio apartment, understandable as it was semi-outside. Staff relocated and upgraded us to an apartment at no cost and no fuss. Food at restaurant was daily priced and very good. Staff was super friendly. May be hard to access at first due to being positioned on a steep hill - other than that great for a stop-over in Switzerland for a night or two.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, Sabba is perfect host, nothing was a problem so helpful. Comfortable and tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. The restaurant and food excellent, probably the best bolognese I've ever had! The room/suite very comfortable, quiet and tranquil.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    3.3
    I would not recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all, we did not get the room we booked. We got another room with much lower standard. And with only one small pair of covers, for a dobbel bed and 2 people. The TV didn't work and the woman in the reception/ restaurant did not speak a word of English. She didn't even understand words like food or dinner. The bathroom was really outdated and poorly done/ easy, half done solutions and dirty. The food in the restaurant below was nothing to write home about either. And it was really expensive in comparison to what you got. If your just looking for a somewhat cheap "roof over your head" for one night I guess it would be fine but I would not recommend this place for any thing else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Very clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. they mix currencies EUR and CHF . Present some costs in EUR but charge in CHF or the other way around. There is not a big difference between them but still is bothering. 2. they extra charge. Initially told the breakfast is 10 EUR per person for 2 adults, ( 3 years child will not pay ). Final bill around 22.5 EUR charged of course as 26 CHF. 3. the power plugs in the room are hexagonal and a round one will not fit in.

    Very clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    3.8
    Total Lack of Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no place to park a car although a car is the only way to reach the property. They provided no toiletries (shampoo, soap, or anything else). They provided no drinking water, coffee, tea, or any items to make the stay comfortable. But there was NO place to buy any of these items because you are literally on the mountain once you arrive. Thankfully we had some from previous hotels with us or we would have had nothing. The towels were poor quality and tiny. Our room (a family apartment) was located directly attached to the properties outdoor dining room. There was no privacy. The dinner guests could look right into our bedroom. We were afraid to turn on the lights lest they could see through the scant curtains and into our bed. Also this meant that until the restaurant closed at midnight it was difficult to sleep because of the noise levels. There is no air conditioning and no screens in the windows so our children got bitten by many mosquitos. It seemed this property had little to no care for our comfort. Also breakfast was not included which is also a bit ridiculous because again you are literally on a mountainside with NO other options for places to eat or any type of store to buy small items. The wifi was free but mostly didn't work.

    The View from the mountainside where the hotel was located was fantastic. We loved the town of Bellinvue with the castles to explore. It was charming and the castles were just beautiful with view of the Alps from every side. Fantastic place to visit, just pick a different hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plugs were not compatible with any of our travel plugs

    The staff, the food, the room was big with loads of storage. We were made so very welcome it was great after a really poor experience in Freyming

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    3.8
    Not recommendable for Summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feel like stay in a construction site, the windows is spoil, poor wifi reception, next door is under construction. Room is very warm, cant sleep during night time.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    9.6
    Every penny worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It was just perfect.

    Nice sweet accommodation in the nice Ticino-Style. Very friendly behaving people. Good and rich breakfast served at table (not intercontinental). Been traveling with one kid (9year old) and it was just great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    5.4
    Unhospitality and funny events
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roud lady, who didnt speak english and was always stressed.They didnt served breakfast, because they had to go!...they didnt offered their refrigerator for my pharmacies and proposed to leave it in the balcony...they almost got dissapointed that we preffered to have dinner in their restaurant. There was not even a table or a chair to leave our things. No shampoo evenThey left us alone and hungry in the morning wondering what was most important than serving their quests!We paid 160 euros and the service was disagreable at all. The room was clean and the cook was nice, but the responsible lady was inpolite...such a pitty for the place and the try of the others

    Very nice place, nice nature

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    5.0
    Beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee or tea present in the apartment for the morning. Breakfast weas not included: sfr. 10 euro per person. With two kids who eat very few it is too expensive. The mattresses and pillows were old and too hard. Kitchen cannot be called a kitchen.

    Beautiful view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    4.6
    We've got a problem with the change:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We've got a problem with the change: The hotel was 108 CH, we paid in euros, and the change would be 96€. The hotel still wanted us to pay 108CH, so they charged us more than what booking.com told us. Not good at all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    7.5
    Nice location, the room was equipped with a very big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to park especially in the evening when the restaurant is full, we had to park basically on the road. The room is noisy on the first floor in the evening because it's above the restaurant and music is played at times

    Nice location, the room was equipped with a very big and comfortable bed, we enjoyed our stay very much

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2016

    5.0
    Not a hotel I would stay in again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was below the standard we expected. The room was small, the food and service were poor. This was one of four hotels we booked through booking.com for this holiday. We have booked hotels through booking.com for the past few years and have not had to complain about any of the hotels before.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    10
    Fabulous Apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uschi and Martin are lovely hosts and the apartment is bigger than it looks. All rooms are very big clean and very very comfortable and modern. The outdoor area is lovely, parking out front and handy to rail. We had a car so no problems. We highly recommend this apartment. My adult son surprised us and travelled from Canada to meet us and Uschi kindly arranged for a very good portable fold up bed - very comfortable indeed for an adult and plenty of room for it in the loungeroom. Thank you Uschi for arranging this!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    8.8
    Good price/performance hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to go a narrow road to get to the hotel. (Luckily no cars were coming from the opposite direction)

    Pets and parking are free. Live music at dinner. Terrace restaurant. Quiet neighborhood. Friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    9.2
    The apartment we were in was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Remember to take a torch if you go back late to your room.

    The apartment we were in was great. if you like rustic and authentic then this is for you. The facilities were adequate, but the views from the balcony stunning. The staff were really friendly and helpful ( the day was so hot they let us check in early to cool off). Plenty of free parking across the road. The restaurant and food was great. Would certainly book again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    7.5
    Villa in Agarone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The guests could look in our room as they had dinner . There was a large party having dinner and they didn't leave til after 11pm and we had an early day planned for the next day so that was not good. The beds were clean but the place needs a good clean up all over but price was right . I wouldn't stay here if the temperature was over 70'F it was a bit hot in the room and no fans. Low ceilings if you are tall.

    Our room was literally next to the restaurant so convenient for good food. You could pay extra for breakfast . Scenery was amazing on the side of the mountain with vineyards around the villa. Small kitchen was great to have ... Freezer worked great. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.4
    Perfect place, beautiful view, silence location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not working and moldy fridge Mold in the shower Too dark room

    Perfect place, beautiful view, silence location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.2
    Hostess was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hit head if tall person

    Sova gave us free food while drinking our wine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.3
    Good for travellers as a stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite old, bed not comfortable, a bit from the parking

    View, good for one night, quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.2
    best price with best service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staffs are very nice. The sight view from the window is also amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.8
    The kindness and the availability of the owner offering a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kindness and the availability of the owner offering a more confortable room for me and my family. Very good stay!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    7.5
    Nice view and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no shampoo

    Clean and nice view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    Our host was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    LOVED EVERYTHING

    Our host was AMAZING! Seriously everything about this place was flawless!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    7.9
    beautiful location, large apartment, ok bathroom, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to find, long walk to the rooms ,

    beautiful location, large apartment, ok bathroom, good restaurant,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    Very good location eith very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good location eith very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    Very good location with ver friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good location with ver friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice host, super location between Bellinzona and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice host, super location between Bellinzona and Locarno/Ascona, tasty food at the restaurant, clean and functional rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    9.2
    The bar and restaurant just right below, serve good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant just right below, serve good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.6
    Nice surprise!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and the room is so warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have to carry the luggage up a steep stair to the room

    The bed was very comfortable and the room is so warm

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.9
    Great Place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position overlooking the Town, The Staff, The room was quaint and the Hotel very nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    7.5
    Brand new shower and bathroom, al fresco dining,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed in room nr 3 was old, noisy and uncomfortable

    Brand new shower and bathroom, al fresco dining, restaurant/bar

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Romitaggio Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: