Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rothaus 3 stars

Klosterstrasse 4, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#59 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 998 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Very friendly and helpful reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive non secure parking. No evening meal available in the hotel restaurant unless you were staying with a group of very pleasant and happy nuns!

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Its OK
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant was closed both the nights we were there. Also, the restaurant is Peruvian food, was not expecting that. The hotel is really old but not in a cute authentic way, very out of date, wood furniture, no AC and it was needed. Also on a very busy street that was very loud on a Saturday night. Breakfast was mediocre. The shower was terrible, it was tiny, which I was expecting, however didn't expect there to be a weird uneven step in the shower that makes it impossible to stand up to shower. If I'm ever in Lucern again I'll look for better accommodations.

    It was clean, big room, great location, maybe a little too close to the night life. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location but very dated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks very worn and desperately needs fresh paint. The sofa was dirty with large spots

    Great location, nice and friendly staff. We even got upgrade for our stay. Free cup of tea and fruits

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Definitely staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok, but there is still room for improvement.

    Very close to the city center, very clean and comfortable, room was very spacious - large double comfy bed, sofa, desk, nice big bathroom. Girl on reception provided us with tickets for the public transport free of charge, not that you will need it - it is a walking distance to the center. There was tea at reception, which was very nice and chocolates on the pillows. Hotel also has parking around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location for walking or bus into centre of Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok only. One staff to do everything was not enough for the size of the hotel. No regular tea in the dining room, we brought some up from reception and bought our own. Hot food was cold if you were not there at 7.

    Good location for walking or bus into centre of Lucerne. Elevator to all floors Good sized rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    It is very good hotel to stay having very good location and all point o by.f interest are near
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi connection accessible in the room.u have to sit in the reception area only. No hot water facility in the room for tea and coffee.

    Very good location. Good room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    The location is fine, very close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan in the bathroom was broken and noisy. The room was super small and the wifi was not that good.

    The location is fine, very close to the city center. The staff was really good and they were always kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Small bathtub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathtub. You can’t barely stand and take a shower. The room doors are too close the another room so that makes it very noisy when other people coming in and out, but they have double door so you have to close them all. The photo is not the same as the reality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Worst Hotel. Wont recommend to anyone. This is no grudge or enomosity. Pathetic Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing actually. - No Wifi(dont go by anything they say. They DONT have wifi in any room unless you are willing to sit in the lobby infront of the reception.). The funny part is that the staff and mgmt knows about it and told us they know about it still have not made any attempt to improve it. Actual response from the Reception folks - 'Yes the rooms dont get wifi. Please come to the reception for the same' - Breakfast was terrible and had only bread. I am serious only bread. No other options. - The Towels were torn at the edges.

    Nothing actually. - No Wifi. The staff knew about it and told us they know about it still did not do anything. - Breakfast was terrible and had only bread. I am serious only bread. No other options. - The Towels were torn at the edges.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Location, breakfast - Okay / Staff - Good / NO AC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First and most of all, NO AC. Really, again, I'm telling you NO AC. My friend and I couldn't really sleep because of the hot room temperature and when you leave the windows open, it's quite noisy outside so either way, you won't have a deep sound sleep.

    Breakfast was okay, the location is quite good though it's not super close to the station though. (10 min walking distance) Staff were really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    Good thing about this hotel was its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They do not provide tea, coffee facility in the room and they also don't provide electric kettle in the room. So, one has to come down for morning breakfast. The room was quite small and not at all value for money. There is no AC in the room and it was quite hot in the month of June (end).

    Good thing about this hotel was its location. It is near to the public transportation and not far away from Lucerne station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    It was okay. Not a comfortable place but location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly HOT. I am used to Europe with no AC — not sure qhy this room was so uncomfortable. O air flow even with a little fan.

    Breakfast was nice. Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent, the staff very friendly, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent, the staff very friendly, the breakfast teasty, the room clean and very nice decorated with new staff. The location is perfect too. If I will.come back to Lucerne I will come back to stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Location was decent, a 15-20mins from main train station (if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was too small - Budget double room were not worth the price!!

    Location was decent, a 15-20mins from main train station (if you don’t have much of luggage)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great place and easy to find from the train station. Beautiful old area. We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room for 3 but it was occupied, so they upgrated us to the suite. Rent the suite, it was great. Two bathrooms, balcony, 2 bedrooms, toilet in separate room than shower with sinks in both bathrooms. Could have used a second fan in the second bedroom. It was hot. The area in Lucerne was old and scenic and we loved it. Take a boat ride to experience the beautiful scenery. Dont miss the famous sleeping lion carved into the rock! Mark Twain said it was the saddest piece of rock he had ever seen. And it is! The World Cup was going on and the town was cheering like crazy with the game played on every big screen around. Unfortunately they lost. This is a must see area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. It was quite hot in the room in late June. Fan provided, but still warm. However, this seems to be the case in Switzerland, trying to be environment-friendly.

    Great location. Short walk to river and town center. Markets and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except the breakfast. i've booked 3 rooms for 2 nights.. 2 of the rooms were very old and stained bathtub,toilets. The hotel is very expensive for the room you get. I'm the one to book for the group and i get the worst the room. the bathtub was soo small that i couldnt shower.. Compared to all hotels ive visited,this is the worst one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Would Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't have much Breakfast varieties. No Kettles in the room(But hot water is available in the reception). The bathroom doesn't have any lock which was annoying since I had a small kid.

    They upgraded me to a Junior Suite for free of cost. Nice Location & good English speaking staffs. They are providing a pass for the Bus Transport(U will save 10 CHF if u r visiting Titlis)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was horrible and I read this also on expression of other guests that tried it. The hotel has no parking and the one available is at around 200-250 m at a shop parking for about 27 CHF. The bathroom door was from glass and was not closing completely and didn't have a seal to separate the bathroom environment from room

    Good location close to city center. Friendly staff and willing to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Tired old rooms in need of modernising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired old rooms in need of modernising. Small room, not the most comfortable bed. Rated as 3stars, 1star would be more accurate. I will not be returning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Walking distance to touristic places!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very near to touristic place but located in local town area (I guess) so that it is very quiet too. 2 famous supermarkets are located near by for grocery shopping, and the room was pretty spacious to enjoy it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small shower place. very difficult to take bath. picture shown modern room but actually it is very old and small room.

    very good breakfast! hotel located near river and town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    Closeness to the city and station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel it was paid for in advance. We booked a superior double room and they put us iin the smallest sub standard room on the second floor? When we questioned the size of the room, they moved us to the fourth floor and a much better room. Is this standard practice to take your money and rip you off?

    Closeness to the city and station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great stay at the Red House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An additional lift would be convenient but it's a modernised old building so maybe there's no room for this.

    Rothaus means Red House! it was excellent in all ways. Easy walk to the railway station, downtown and the river walks, great staff, quiet, comfortable, and good breakfasts. We recommend it to travellers and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    The owners Sondra and a Emilio go out of their way to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Sondra and a Emilio go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful time at their hotel. The restaurant at the hotel is superb. I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good for family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Shower area was too small 2) Air conditioner or atleast ceiling fan is necessary. It was quite hot in the last week of May. Small table fan was not sufficient.

    1) Good location 2) Good breakfast 3) Very good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Stephanie at the front desk was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con so when the bar across the street was in full swing at night the room was unbearably hot.

    Stephanie at the front desk was terrific. The cleaners did a good job. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    It’s mostly about location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Is actually just a few buildings off the main drag in town coming in from the north, but even with the GPS, it’s not easy to find tiny Klosterstrasse, and there’s nothing particularly remarkable about the building itself that makes it stand out, save for a single humble sign on the side of the wall. Were it not for a reservation there, we might well, judging by by outward appearances alone, opted to have driven right past it. It has the appearance of its best days being in the past, and that can be a bit off-putting (one needs to get past the first impressions of the outside). Parking is available alright, but one needs to do some careful sleuthing to actually find the hidden private lot about a block and a half away. WiFi was available as advertised, but we found it very difficult to access with any reliability. Other guest were also heard you complain about how spotty it was. Finally, as a function of its location and the probable age of the building, we found it to be a bit noisy both outside and inside. One could hear the mumbles of conversation in the next room through the wall as well as traffic and human voices outside our windows – – not a significant drawback after a long day of walking this city streets, I suppose, but not as quietly restful as most would prefer.

    Location isn’t everything but it’s pretty important when you’re trying to position yourself to see a city. That’s the niche the Hotel Rothaus fills, probably a 10-15 minute walk from the edges of the downtown’s attractions. (if you’re not up to a good bit of walking, this might not be the place for you). The inside of the building shows effort at keeping it up to snuff. Our room was actually a double room—a fairly large living area (by European standards) and an equally-sized bedroom area. Lots of space in other words. WiFi was available as advertised (but we found it very difficult to access with any reliability—Other guests were also heard to complain about how to spotty it was, so it was not unique to our room). The breakfast part of the package was simple and of limited choice (as was the breakfast area) but hearty enough to start a day with. And best of all, upon arrival, guests were given a “Visitors’ Card” for Lucerne, enabling one to access area transportation free of charge – – a very nice gesture (with a firm 3 PM check-in, however, and no additional handout from the front desk concerning the various bus routes that are available, we were unfortunately unable to avail ourselves of this opportunity).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Stay was comfortable even after big hiccups
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dont have even a kettle for hot water and coffee maker.They served complimentary fruits which most of then was rotten.Brought to the attention of room service no use

    Good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, friendly staff and close to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A parking would have been great.

    They did not find our room booking in the system so we got one of the suites offered instead. Very friendly people and good breakfast! Almost located in city center, you can visit everything by foot, so great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is very close to bus stop, so it is easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like banana but there were not any bananas.

    This hotel is very close to bus stop, so it is easy to get there. The hotel room was huge that that I expected. The receptionists were very friendly and made efforts to understand my poor English. I stayed there alone and I took breakfasts in a room without people who are in a group tour. There were only people on a private travel. Therefore, the atmosphere during breakfasts was really good and silent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay in Lucerne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting Lucerne. From the start,, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The shower in our room was amazing. I also enjoyed the decor of the breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money. Some weird small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on the fourth floor was always a bit smelly, any time we visited it. The wifi in the room is really poor. Great in reception. The shower is small and not fit for tall people. The water temperature is okay but not enough if you want very hot water (also not a stable temperature). Not much shower amenities.

    Great location in Luzern. Very comfortable room and nice staff. Affordable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it would be more of an apartment as it was two bedroom but it definitely wasn't. No kitchen facilities, not even a jug. However, when I requested one the staff were super helpful and dug one out for me. This was probably my oversight though as I didn't properly check the facilities list.

    The staff and the location. Breakfast was also nice. A good place if you just want a place to rest at night while sightseeing during the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Close to center..not very comfortable though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room. With bathroom having glass doors not children friendly. Very cheap atmosphere. Burnt mark by lamp on cupboard. Shower metalics peeling off etc..

    Close to center of Luzerne

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Extremely friendly and approacable staff including the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and the owner herself are very courteous and approachable. They made an effort to provide more privacy for the direct travellers from the group travellers during breakfast which is very thoughtful of them. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    wonderful place very good breakfast and its near the bus stop
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just we have disturbed by a noise who come from the bath room i do not know what it is but the other things are so nice.

    it is the best i think the stuffs are very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    Not worth it. Do not book if planning to stay with family ( with kid)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds was horrible. Booked family room for myself, wife and kid. The bed was made up of individual 2 beds. very much uncomfortable. Was very hard to manage with kid. even lights in the bed room doesn't work.

    Staffs were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel that meets the needs of families and couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For light sleepers,try to get a room away from the elevator. It can be a little noisy if large groups of people are entering or leaving.

    Breakfast was fantastic with many options. The room was clean, and all the staff were extremely nice. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Budget stay. Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities is very old. We were allocated at the room beside lift. It's very noisy when the lift is in operation. The room and furniture is way too old and felt scary.

    The staff is friendly, it's quite budgeting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    No frills with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was terrible with the first day having cold eggs and the second day with no eggs, at all. The off site parking was also very expensive and I was charged for three days and we only stayed there two days.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the process of renovation. Our son had a renovated room that was spacious and comfortable. Our room had not bee renovated, and it was shameful. The bathroom was appalling. It had a sit-down bathtub that was dangerous to get into and out of. We didn't use the shower above it because in order to get out of the tub, we would have had to step onto the toilet seat. The sink was too small. The toilet seat didn't fit the toilet itself and was loose. The paint on the skirting boards was chipped in many places and there were visible cracks where it was absent. The hotel should have paid us to stay there.

    The bed was okay. That's about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    A good base for exploring the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central hotel about 10 minutes walk from Luzern railway station and steamer piers. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Good double glazing kept the noise out of the adjacent street. Lift available. Good choice at breakfast - but no coffee available one morning. If you need an electrical adapter for your devices etc they can provide one for a deposit. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Furniture was broken with the laminates chipped off from...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture was broken with the laminates chipped off from various places.. For 170 CHF per night, a lot better quality is expected.. rooms was exceptionally small..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Near Banhoff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My second day breakfast was a dissapointment.The staff did not prepare variety for breakfast,unlike on the first day.

    Near Banhoff.Only 5 bus stop away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    ALL good except - If both rooms had wifi - we would have no negative comments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 2 rooms - One of the rooms (#514) did not CATCH the wifi ... and the hotel staff was not able to do anything about it. Not a pleasant stay for my kids when the room does not have wifi!!

    Location - walking distance to train station / with bus stop nearby. Good breakfast / helpful dining staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    This would be the best place we stayed in Switzerland we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This would be the best place we stayed in Switzerland we loved it here. The room was very large and the bathroom was great. Staff were terrific, so accommodating and willing to assist us. Breakfast was great too, lovely selection. The location was a big plus for us - we really enjoyed being able to walk seamlessly to the city center and found some lovely spots to shop, eat and relax.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Not the worst, but would not highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have internet service, air conditioning, or accessible bathroom. The shower was in fact fairly dangerous given the shape of the tub and lack of sturdy handles in and out.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Good Location But Wouldn't Stay more than a Night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall just an ok hotel. The room was old and a weird loud noise came from the shower every time we would run water in the bathroom. The breakfast was a disappointment as lots of items were gone when we went to breakfast and were not replaced during the time we were eating. Since we came at 7:45 for breakfast which is not at all late we expected much better quality and for the staff to refill the breakfast. Overall fine for one night stay but I don't think we would stay here again.

    Good location with all the necessary facilities in the room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    Worst staff welcome ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst staff welcome ever. We arrived at 11 am, the clerk does say hi or smile, just "rooms are ready for 3pm" and that's all. People forgot what it means to be in the "hospitality" business. No air conditioning in the room (and it was a hot August)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Cute hotel with very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, just a small fan that didn't help a lot with the heat. At night we had to sleep with the windows opened because of the heat and could hear all the noise from the street.

    The location was excellent, breakfast was really good with a big selection. The staff was really helpful and nice, the room was very clean. It also had a small little balcony where you could sit and enjoy the nice weather

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    2.9
    Putting the 'Rot' in Rothaus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room was in really poor shape. The hotel feels very worn out and desperately needs a renovation - Bed was actually visibly broken and dented, in addition to being the hardest we have ever slept on - The bathroom does not have an exhaust fan! First time we have ever encountered this! - The breakfast had poor spread and even that was not restocked and guests had to queue up for cheese! - Overall one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. For the price it is charging it is just plain robbery!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Centrally located but lacking facilities!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly hot the night we stayed and there was no air conditioning, just one tiny fan which did not help at all. We could not keep the window open as there was a bar open till 3am playing loud music just across the street from the hotel. Parking cost an extra 25CHF per day. Breakfast was fine but very basic. I would not say it was worth the money we paid for our stay.

    Centrally located, about 10 mins walk to the centre of Luzern where there are lots of shops and restaurants and the beautiful river. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room faced the street and there is a bar across, which was very noisy on a Saturday night. Be prepared with ear plugs. The breakfast was barely adequate with few choices. The only fruit was green apples, only one meat choice, no cheese, a few cereals and a few breads.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was big, comfortable and clean. The location was fine, a scenic walk from the train station and a short walk to the old city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is poor and badly needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is pretty old may be dates back to 90s or 80s. For the price that's charged the facilties are very poor. Bed is not of good quality Bathroom is horrible Internet works only in the reception. No Internet in the hotel room. Rooms are not sound proof Breakfast is just ok.. Not much to choose

    Just the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with excellent staff, conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You miss Air conditioning which is not available in this hotel...it becomes uncomfortable during sunny summer days..at times..also..bathroom door is sliding one made of translucent glass and does not close completely leaving a wide slit by side....

    A short walk away from railway station..excellent staff at reception especially Miri...good wholesome B'fast...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    The locations was great but based on comfort I would look for another hotel in the same price point
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite plain and items were not refilled, we arrived at 8am and there were no eggs remaining. We were also under the impression there was air conditioning in the rooms... there were two fans My party and I went to shower between 7-8am and the first person had luke warm water and ice cold for the rest of us!

    The staff was available to answer my questions and I really appreciated the bus pass at no charge throughout my stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    It was easy to access tourist facilities from the Rothaus Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV didn't work. The Breakfast room could get very crowded, it was on the small side when a tour bus was there.

    We liked that our room had been upgraded to a suite. The location was very convenient close to the station, supermarkets, restaurants and the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel only provide 1 fan which is insufficient as we had 2 rooms in the suite, kinda stuffy in the room without open the window at night. (so safety purpose).

    Walking distance to the lake, and near to a bus station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.9
    didn't enjoy this at all and I'm not a picky traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Wi-Fi does not work. Shower is super small and dangerous to stand on (I actually slipped and fell). Cable tv did not work except for news channels. House keeping came very late around 5pm.

    Really not much to like about.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Lucern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 200 metres away and was very expensive. No chance of advertised hotel parking as very few places for hotel of this size. All electrical sockets in room were loose. Euro plugs don't fit if round type. Reception had 2 adaptors but fuses blown in both.

    Location was excellent. Very modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room girl was sour and non communicative. No smile or greeting and several food items had run out well before the closing time. She seemed put out when another guest asked her for hot water as the urn had run out. It upset the guest.

    The receptionist was excellent - pleasant and efficient. She arranged to leave a key for us as our train was delayed by several hours and we couldn't get to the hotel till 1.30am.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Very poor services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services are extremely poor, the room wasn't ready when at check-in time, facilities inside the room(TV and bed) were in poor conditon and had to call handy man twice and couldn't fix it. Breakfast was poor in quality and food wasn't filled up when running out. Staff didn't tell the truth when were questioned. WiFi was non-existent on 5th floor. Towels were not replenished and used cups were not replaced in the morning. There was a bus pass for guests but was not offered by the hotel, only found out from the Tourist Information Office. When asked for tea/coffee for the room, the coffee came in a little drinking glass.

    Clean, location, room size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Clean hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very lacking. Foods which had signs out never actually showed up, even though the labels were there :(. Breakfast staff was not helpful. Rooms were hot in July due to no air conditioning.

    Rooms were clean, location was perfect--walk easily to the heart of Luzerne. Front desk staff were all helpful, friendly, and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay near Chapel Bridge and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet kept going on and off, it was very unreliable. Very little tv channels, elevator was small, but we managed with my son's wheelchair. Reception area closes at either 9pm or 11pm and they aren't there until 6am, which wouldn't be a problem usually, but the day before we checked out, their internet was down and they couldn't process payments until 6am the next morning, problem is we were set to be at train station by 6am, I'm glad I paid the day we checked in and all I had to do was leave my keys inside the room to check out the next day, otherwise, I would've missed our train if i had to wait for the front desk to open!

    It was pretty close to the train station and to the chapel bridge and restaurants. You have to have a key to open the front door after working hours, so we felt safe. I initially got the triple room as it was the only one available at that time and was worried we weren't going to fit (fam of 4) so I wrote them and asked if there is any way we can get an extra bed. They never wrote me back so to my surprise, when we got there, they gave us a bigger room that fit all of us! It was very clean as well. Breakfast was good, basic bread and cheese and coffee/juice, but it was filling!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    A varied experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a strange experience, a reasonable selection but as quite a few travel groups were present they were all packing lunches and food was dissapearing faster than normal. The staff did their best to constantly replenish.

    Rooms we stayed in were modern and clean but we did see that not all rooms have been renovated. The pet friendliness was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.4
    The room was not clean ( dirty baby nappy was left in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean ( dirty baby nappy was left in the balcony when we arrived) ) Bathroom water is suddenly changed from hot to cold by it self.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay will recommend anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really I did like all about this hotel... rooms were a bit small but that is common in Europe and for one person was not bad at all.

    The location was walking distance to everything, receptionists were helpful, all facilities seemed well maintained and clean, the breakfast had good variety of items and plenty and the room where is served was nice and lighted by windows to the outside. To top it all the restaurant has a first class Peruvian chef with a great menu and friendly servers. Altogether had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Overall ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic, need proper coffee not horrible perk coffee that just sits on the heat, being in CH w fab coffee everywhere then we get served that? Room bit hot as only 1 tiny fan that doesn't rotate & only covers 1 person.

    Room was nice & comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    A nice hotel in center of luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant pay using credit card as i ask

    Its very close to train station and main luzern view like kappelbruge and lion statue. Have an elevator... enjoy the breakfast well prepared...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    Bad points well outweigh the good - avoid if you have a choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fridge in room 514 hadn't been cleaned out. Found rotten banana, soggy apples and an avocado from who knows when, which we threw out. The drinks, however, we left. So if you find a bottle of Prosecco, a bottle of water and a can of beer, they've been there since at least 29th June. No plug in washbasin, had to ask for one. It was one of those metal ones that lever up and down, however once down, couldn't raise it again to let water out. Manager spent perhaps half an hour under the sink trying to fix it, but couldn't. I was in the midst of washing a few clothes, so Manager got a staff member to finish them off for us. Small balcony overlooking street has lots of weeds. Tilt/turn window/doors very worn. Falls out of its opening and have to force back in. Breakfast while affording some variety, if you're not there early, forget about the bacon and eggs as they will be cold. When I asked a female serving lady if they could be re-heated, I was told 'no'. Items didn't seem to get replenished as they were consumed. Be careful with the shower. Move everything away from the area of the wash basin or it will end up wet. Judging by the peeling paint and swollen floor joins, others have found the same problem. Bedroom has no main light, only bedside lights, main light in living room is rather weak, in contrast to bathroom which is brilliantly lit.

    Close to bus stop Had a couch and arm chair in a separate sitting area. Large separate bedroom with two twin beds pushed together.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with an okay breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who was handling breakfast had a very bad attitude. She didn't care to refill any of the items and used to behave as if she was doing some favour to the guests

    Good room with balcony and 2bathrooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. No fridge. Unfriendly receptionist, did not smile once. Made every request feel like a major inconvenience.

    Great location, close to everything. Love the free public transport. Easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    Short stay at Rothaus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle and no air con provided in room. Room is small but I guess this is quite common in Europe.

    Room decoration and toilet are reasonably new and modern. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.6
    Hotel management does not keep their promises!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My family and I have stayed there for 3 nights from 6 to 9 jun. We booked a triple room through booking.com back in feb. Together with us was another family who also booked triple room. I have had bad experience throughout the 3 nights and will attempt to summarize them here for your assessment and review. We arrived on 6 jun pm and was given the first bad news - despite our triple room bookings, we were informed that due to the hotel's mistake, they cannot give us a triple room on the first night. Both families were instead given twin rooms and were to be charged 160chf (instead of 239chf) for the first night. This was only fair and we accepted. At the same time, the lady on duty (6 jun) promised to get both families 2 rooms bigger than triple rooms for the 2nd and 3rd nights to compensate for the hotel's mistake. The same lady also promised to move our luggages to the new rooms on day 2 so we just need to go to the new rooms when we are back from our tour on day 2. So we went on our holiday on day 2. The 2nd bad news happened when we got back to the hotel on 7 jun evening. Instead of being given 2 rooms that are larger than triple rooms, only 1 family got what was promised. My family was given a triple room which was actually fine with us (we booked for that anyway), but it was not fair that the hotel did not keep to their own words. I had to explain what we were promised on day 1 (shouldn't the hotel staff communicate with one another in the first place instead of requiring a guest to pass messages between different staff?). In response, the lady on duty (different from the one on day 1) promised to give my family a reduction because of this 2nd mistake. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of not making clear with the lady what the reduction was supposed to be (this will be apparent when I get to the time we checked out on 9 jun).

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: