Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel Rütli 3 stars

Zähringerstrasse 43, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#44 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1254 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Excellent (except check-in), but so expensive it can NOT be a "good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in: Tried give the worst available room of the booked category/price. After asking better, we got a much more better room in the same price and size

    Comfort, cleanness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    I’m a female who travelled alone for business for 3 days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m a female who travelled alone for business for 3 days. Felt very safe, right in the centre of the central district/2 mins from old town. V close to public transport. Staff very helpful/friendly and room kept clean throughout my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Great Location, close to main station and tram stops.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location, close to main station and tram stops. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Nice central location - lots to see/do within 20 mins walking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Hotel is the centre , railway station is 5 min from hotel by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is the centre , railway station is 5 min from hotel by walking , Zurich lake is 15 min ! Nice breakfast, clean room , friendly staff! You can also make coffee in the room ! Perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing service and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked here based on ‘glowing ‘ reviews on booking.com but found that the reviews did not match the property. Staying during summer we noted that air conditioning was listed in the facilities for the hotel and this was a significant consideration in choosing this property over others but there was NO air conditioning. We would not have selected this property had the information been correctly listed. We had to ask for a fan as during our stay because night temps were high and sleeping was difficult. We felt that we given very misleading information... Also... We were given no towels one day. The lamp ( the only form of lighting in the room) did not work. We had a faulty hairdryer in the room- but when we asked for assistance we were told dismissively that we were not using it correctly and our request was ignored. All these things on their own seem of little consequence but when combined really made for a disappointing stay. This hotel charged rates where a level of service is to be expected but they were not delivered. We were left feeling that we had been misguided by previous reviews and feedback .

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Good price for Zurich center city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I sent to the hotel an e-mail twice, prior to my arrival, but I didn't get any answer.

    The location is perfect, very close to the Train Main Station and Zurich center main attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is great , early check in request was accommodated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. It was very basic and very limited options for Indian vegetarians . Secondly there was no cooling, only fan, which was not sufficient as temperatures was high.

    Location is great , early check in request was accommodated by front office staff. Staffs were very friendly and cooperative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, staff, beds, cleanliniess etc. Stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was unusually hot in Zurich so we found there to be inadequate air conditioning. We found out that very few hotels had any air conditioning at all so we did not hold it against our hotel.

    The bed was super comfortable, the staff was super friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Very very nice staff for breakfast and checkout.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very nice staff for breakfast and checkout. Already the Second day they remembered my favorite coffee and prepared it without having to ask for it. i has to leave earlier and they were flexible and helpful Even when the booking of ny sister Needed to be canceled.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    OK but super hot in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The A/C was awful and it was super hot in Zurich(+30) Breakfast was super basic. not so many options was available.

    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff that answered all our questions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    A/C?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was awful by US standards. Apparently their A/C only cools to 6 degrees lower than the outside temp so when the outside temp is 90 + there really isn't an A/C. That seems to be relatively standard in this area. We'd like to NOT sweat at night but that wasn't possible here.

    The location was great. Superior room was spacious, standard room was not but that seems to be Europe for the most part.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    The man at the front desk when we checked in was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was bottled water in the lobby. When I entered the lobby in the evening a grabbed a bottle to take to my room so I could have it for my morning run. The man at the front desk yelled at me and told me to put it back- "it's only for runners!" I said I was headed out in the morning for a run and he said I could only take it then. It was just a weird exchange and his reaction was disproportionate.

    The man at the front desk when we checked in was friendly. The front desk staff in the morning (two women) were very helpful and exceptional professional. They helped me get on the internet when my phone was acting goofy. The location of this hotel is perfect. Very close to the train station and all kinds of restaurants/bars/shops. Pretty tasty breakfast, too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Upgraded to a very nice large room with a spa bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few little maintenance issues in my room. Cold water pressure wasn’t great in the shower.

    Upgraded to a very nice large room with a spa bath. Great central location! Clean and modern hotel. A simple typical European breakfast provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Very well located, near to the Zurich Hauptbahnhof and near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small problem in the bed, but nothing serious.

    Very well located, near to the Zurich Hauptbahnhof and near to a lot of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Spacious room. Really love the smoked salmon provided in breakfast. Good hospitality. The receptionist was really friendly, thoughtful and beautiful too. She gave us our room early knowing we just arrived in Europe after a long flight. Should had taken a selfie with her for memory =D.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Good location, but Zurich is expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel very close to rail station. In the Old Town so could walk to all the sights, bars, restaurants etc. Room was huge as was the bathroom, light and airy. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Wonderfull position close to restaurants, the main station and a large supermarket. Staff warm and friendly and renovated rooms stylish and air conditioned. Breakfast good. An all round great place to stay in Zürich.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Check the Room's Temperature
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first room was attractive but like an oven, with skylights rather than windows. Shockingly unacceptable. They kindly gave me another room, on a lower floor, but it was equally hot and stiffling and very unattractive. The hallway was cooler. I truly seldom complain, but for absurd Zurich prices, this was a disaster. Finally, they VERY kindly upgraded me to a much larger and cooler room. It was fine. But why start out with a horribly hot room in the first place??? As I said, the staff was lovely, but I'd never recommend this place.

    Staff was very accommodating, but...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Zürich Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC could have blown a little cooler but it was alright.

    Old Town is so lovingly cared for that you might confuse it with New Town in most cities. Zurich was also the cleanest city I have visited so far. The Sorell Hotel Rütli has a great location! It was an easy walk from the Zurich HB train stain and close to good food & drink. The sound proofing in the hotel was great and I didn't hear a peep. Breakfast was included and very good. Our room had a bed and a seating area and the tv wall mounted between and you could rotate the tv to the bed or the seating area. Wi-fi was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Close to station and supermarket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge for mini bar couldn’t cool enough your items. Electric kettle was not for boil water but to serve coffee only. Receptionist was less in the afternoon and morning. (When I arrived, receptionist was taking care of another guest. So I was waiting for more than 15minutes but never asked my business so I interrupted finally. Though I should have queued, I wanted to be asked if he noticed I came with luggage and was waiting...) It’s better to put the bell to call staff at the desk.

    Close to station and supermarket. Modern design room with aircon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the receptionists were not very friendly or helpful, but overall, they were OK.

    The location is great in many respects. Breakfast is included in the price of the room, and it is excellent. Internet access was solid and the connection was reasonably fast. The staff was friendly overall, but not overly so; in the past (I have stayed in this hotel a few times), they were more forthcoming and welcoming. This wasn't problematic, though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great affordable little hotel located really close to Zurich train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a superior room and it was huge! Both the room and bathroom were clean and modern. Very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very conveniently located near to the train station (less than a 10 minute walk) and near the Coop supermarket. Only stayed for a night but would happily stay for longer if I had a longer stay in Zurich.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Forget Breakfast at this property..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for d breakfast at 9:30am last Sunday.. most of things were over.. even juice, water, milk and bread was over.. first day I got good coffee but d last day even coffee was worst..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The location was brilliant, train and trams so close and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room had a very unpleasant odour which remained for the 3 days stay despite staff efforts to address it.

    The location was brilliant, train and trams so close and right on the middle of the old town. The staff were excellent, especially Vanessa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect.Direct access from airport by tram 10 (35 min) or train (10 min+ 10 minutes easy walk over the bridge).Parking either in the street or Parking Central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    A little disappointed by cramped, noisy and stuffy room. Breakfast good, some staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too much noise from street - had to keep window closed. Very hot donnas for warm weather. Goose feathers gave me allergic reaction.

    Very good waitress for breakfast. Choice of pillows. Access to station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    great location- easy to get to from the train station, area resturants n excusion tour mtg place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only one small issue- they had some problems with room Air conditioner. we had one of the two working which was ok for the weather we had while there. they were working on them - but no notice upfront

    The checking counter staff were very friendly and most of all helpful. The evening staff were able to recommend great tours and arrange them short notice. The hotel location is ideal - near train sta.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Everything was clean, staff very nice and the location perfect. Absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was set at 26 degrees which is too high as it was 26 degrees outside and I wasn’t able to change the setting. There was a feather quilt on the bed which I am sure in winter would be devine but when it is warmer weather I found I was kicking it off all the time and there was no top sheet so I was having to sleep without anything over me.

    Their home made jams were delicious. The location was perfect and within walking distance of most things. The room very clean and tidy and the staff very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    2.9
    Horrible but near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception did not inform us there was another lift to our room and we had to lug our 3 luggages up the stairs. The cleaner did not clean the cups in the room and left the dustbin on my files which were on the table. How bad can that be!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall a nice stay, got a good deal at the Sorell Hotel Rutli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Beerhouse nearby wasn’t a good experience. The food wasn’t good, it was expensive, the atmosphere was loud and horrible and the old waitress was extremely rude and unfriendly. Couldn’t get out of there fast enough. Uggh!! Would never recommend to friends.

    Although it doesn’t look wonderful on the outside the rooms were nice. It was convenient to the train station, local cafes and shops. The staff were helpful and courteous behind the counter. Breakfast was good and the area kept clean for guests. Don’t forget to have some Swiss Franc for your trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    room and breakfast, staff perfect but location of the first floor rooms too noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisy from cars, all night passing in the main road, room was on the first floor above lobby entrance, you can hear all coming in and out, delivery, .. just to much noice between 5 and 7 am.

    Very good bed, very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Good location near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location near train station which is very convenient. Room is large and cleaned which is comfotable. The staff is nice. Breakfast is also delicious. Service is good. You can leave luggages there if arrived before ckeck-in. When you come back, your luggages are already delivered to your room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, very friendly staff, comfortable and roomy hotel, covers every need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good.

    Great comfortable hotel in the city centre. The staff were wonderful and breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Room was big and spacious, with a good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we didnt watch much of TV, it could have been better if there were more TV channels. Anyway this is not a big negative point as most dont watch TV on a vacation.

    Room was big and spacious, with a good bed. Location is very near to HB station. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent "budget" option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice property, good rooms, excellent breakfast. Got a complementary late check-out upon request. 5 minutes walk from old town and main railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Good base for touring Zurich
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Five star rates ($A370 a night) for three star accommodation. But things generally in Zurich we're expensive. The breakfast options were good, but not nearly as good as those at the Novotel Gare de Lyon in Paris, from which we had just come.

    As they say in real estate riffs: location, location, location. A short walk from the central railway station and easy walking distance from the historic Lindenhof, the University, the Limmatquai and Bahnhopfstrasse.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe in my room was not working. This should have been checked before the room was let out. Wasn’t a problem though. I left my stuff at the reception and it was fine.

    Friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in Zurich except for a poor air conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very warm in Zurich when we were there and the air conditioner simply couldn't do the job. We found the room very warm even in the middle of the night. Thank goodness the windows opened so we had them opened the whole time except between about 10 p.m. and 2 a.m. when the street noise made it difficult to sleep.

    We loved everything about this hotel except the AC. Great location, nice room, and a very good breakfast. The staff was excellent as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again. Very happy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm on my trip. My room was a bit warmer then I would like with AC on.

    The breakfast and cappuccino was nice each day. Service is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel, modern rooms, amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no real air conditioner in the room. Like many of Europe's hotels, there is a device that produces mainly air and noise, but no cooling. Thank god it wasn't a very warm day, cant imagine being there in a hot summer day

    Very nice hotel, located in an amazing place just a few steps from the amazing Niederdorfstarsse and the rest of the old quarter on the right bank of the river. We took a superior room which was spacious and very modern. The staff is also great and very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoed our stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator is too small. The receptionist wasn't very welcoming and friendly. We arrived an hour before our check in time. Most American hotels wouldn't make us wait for 30 minutes to check in.

    Breakfast was awesome! Selection of food, freshness and taste were outstanding! The server (lady) was extremely nice and welcoming. We really enjoyed having complimentary fruit water and juices at the reception area. The hotel is located very close to Zurich main train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Basic accom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon (not ideal for warmer weather) and no power socket beside bed to charge phone. The location is in the pub area..so be prepared for some noise at night if you leave the window open. Staff not sincere in providing assistance when I had encountered issues w my luggage

    Convenient location to Zurich main station.. room meets basic needs..breakfast was great with the friendliest staff (think Filipino) I encountered from the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Would probably look for someplace different to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom walls, including the door are all (frosted) glass, but the door slides closed and leaves a half inch gap. The shower (bathtub) is a little awkward to get into and only has a half door so the floor gets wet. A/C basically doesn't work. There are windows, but no screens. Needs better placement of outlets. Nice enough to give you 2 bottles of water on check in, but that is it...they will not replace daily.

    Room was large and in an very good location. 10min walk to the train station and close to all of the sights in Zurich. Lots of lights in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    There are probably better value hotels in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "welcome drink" for the genius perk is basically flavored water that anyone can have. Housekeeping did not replenish supplies.

    Central location in old Town near the train station. One reception staff was very friendly - named Vanessa. Breakfast staff Catherine was great, and she greeted you nicely in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly reception staff. Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting is the room is rather dim and when it comes to reading, it will be quite a strain to the eyes.

    Room is big, spacious and comfortable. Very central and convenient location, train station is walking distance. No problems picking up some good restaurants nearby. Basically, this hotel is good for a short 1or 2 night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast has hot food such as egg and meat.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast has hot food such as egg and meat. Location is on the old town, and very close to the main station and supermarket. Early bird rate is also reasonable, and staff always keep smiling and provide comprehensive travel information. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every time an adjoining guest room used their WC the loud flush vacuum noise was very disturbing as it whooshed by my shower tray outlet, its a job for a plumber to solve,

    Reception staff very welcoming and helpful Great breakfast presentation and service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is within easy walking distance of Zurich’s main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm, but the area was too noisy to have the window open for any length of time. The room had a coffee machine, but no kettle to make tea. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by sliding frosted glass panels - not good for privacy and the lighting pervades the bedroom, waking light sleepers.

    The hotel is within easy walking distance of Zurich’s main train station. We arrived early and Vanessa on reception was extremely helpful. The room is well designed and scrupulously clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    This is what all three star hotels should be like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the forth or fifth time I have stayed at this hotel. The location is excellent, just a short walk from the station and right on the edge of the old town. The hotel is always well maintained and the rooms are spacious with good beds and bathrooms. The staff are always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Fair pricing but expect a sleepless night on a fantastic mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly insulated. I was disturbed at both 2 a.m. and 6 a.m. by the thud of heavy walking above me. As the hotel’s situated in a lively, less elegant part of the city, the hotel caters to younger persons. The hotel’s “reception” staff (one redhead + one blonde) were very terse offering 1 word responses in an almost rude fashion. The black haired receptionist on Saturday night was lovely.

    Convenient location of the hotel. New mattress and bathroom in the assigned room. Ample breakfast choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The room was nice and cozy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was nice and cozy. There is coffee and water free of charge. The breakfast was perfect! And the taxi to the airport was the most significant experience that I have ever imagined! The car was luxurious with a massaging seats, with champagne glasses and the best driver!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Great 3-star hotel is better than a bad 4-star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great 3-star hotel at the edge of the old town. Location very good, although in the evenings a lot of hassle by girls working on the street. Room was comfortable and clean. All staff members are friendly and hospitable. Exceptionally friendly and welcoming lady working in the breakfast room. Her positive and attentive attitude gives a good start to a new day. This was my 2nd time at the hotel within a month and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small.

    Comfy hotel with great location at the edge of the old town. Will be back in couple of weeks for business. Good quality breakfast with friendly waitress.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    A good hotel in the centre of Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean rooms. Excellent location. near Hauptbahnofplatz. Good restaurants for all pockets in close proximity.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and comfortable. Super easy location for main station and places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was super hot when I arrived and I had to call a member of staff in order to be able to open my window. They helped me sort it quickly though and it wasn't noisy with my window open. Wifi dropped in and out a lot.

    Really comfy bed at the end of a 10 day trip to Switzerland - my one night here was the best night's sleep of the whole trip. Staff very helpful when I had a query. Room nice and clean. Loads of hot water for a relaxing bath. Huge TV in the room with plenty of TV channels in all languages.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly nothing much for the price we paid. Not the nearest hotel from train station, around 10-15 mins walk.

    Walking distance from Zurich Main Station and majority of the attractions. Comfortable and big room for the price. Many types of pillows to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Pretty good facility at a reasonable price in an excellent location for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy with glassed in bathroom

    Very good selection & quality at breakfast, in a bright room. Helpful kitchen and friendly staff pretty solid property in a

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Location, perfect for local dining/pub scene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rain when we arrived was a pain. If you are arriving by train, first go to the street level area, then toward the Bahnhofquai exit straight ahead of all the train platforms (a great open hall with various shops along each side). Following this, you will not have any problems like we did when arriving going up major stairways from the subterranean platforms.

    Well located near the pedestrian shopping, pubbing and eating area on Niederdorfstrasse which runs parallel and one street up from river Limmat/one street down from the hotel. Recommendation very close- La Pasta for great homemade past, Geylan Kebab House across the street for great Gyros and Hohrenkopf restaurant just down the street- all very good meals and priced for those who don't want to pay some of the ridiculous prices in Zurich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for the money. I would recommend in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some in our group complained there room was too small, but most were pleased

    The front desk /check-in was very helpful and accommodating. Our room was very nice. Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Good location with personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NIL.

    Pillow menu is unique an nice touch. Breakfast selection is fair. Rituals shower gel is a good match. 3 minutes walk to Denner and 5 minutes to Zurich HB.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, spacious and clean. Enjoys an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a problem with my credit card. I eventually discovered that it was a mistake on the expiration day of my credit card. The frontdesk was kind enough to revise my reservation because of my Genius status and keep the room as I was told when I called to find out the reason of the revision. However, the following day another employee cancelled it. It was a bit of a shock taking into account that I only found out about it when I landed in Switzerland. I was able to book again at the same rate but until I did it was very disturbing. And it was Xmas eve. The hotel staff apologized on arrival though.

    Very comfortable. Good breakfast with fantastic bircher muesli too :) Really close to the Central Station and everything else. We really appreciated the friendliness of the people at the reception and the fact that they did their best to assist with everything. Clean and spacious room and bathroom with coffee facilities in the room. Also being a runner I was thrilled with the free towel, running drink and towel facilities at the entrance. You don't get to find these things in three star hotels, although I must say this may be a three star in Switzerland but in most of the countries it would definitely rate as a four star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    A good place to stay for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok but replenishing the stocks seemed to be a problem, service was slow but I think that was due to lack of staff. A self service coffee machine would improve things, as would a more robust toaster!!!

    We had a superior room which was spacious and comfortable. Had a little issue with the air conditioning but nothing too critical. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel is very central to most things.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location before an early flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier but did assist when we requested a kettle and cups for our room.

    Spacious room and comfy bed. Enjoyed the sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Excellent services from the hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is too warm as we are unable to turn on the air-con.

    Great location. Within walking distances to Zurich HB train station and shopping district. Lot of restaurant nearby. Breakfast is average. Room is clean and well maintained. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there were coffee making facilities in the room there was no tea available and as my husbands and I only drink tea it was a bit disappointing. There didn’t seem to be enough power points. None by the bed at all.

    Great location. Close to train station and trams. Comfortable Quiet. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing i didn't like. The hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want to live the city.

    Excellent breakfast, very comfortable room, very clean. Staff really kind and prepared.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a high standard 3 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to ask twice to fill soap in the shower.

    Comfortable bed, very good breakfast, excellent location, friendly staff. A problem with the in roon safe was solved in short time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Walking distance from the station and many other sights by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from the station and many other sights by the water. Clean room and facilities. Staff was accommodating when we requested a late check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed my stay. Everything i needed was within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy bars on street all night.

    Room was a good size and beds were comfortable. Included breakfast was nice. Complimentary rubber duckie was a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bars on the street adjacent to the Hotel very noisy and seedy. Had to keep windows closed in the evening and use the AC which was not very good. Very expensive but typical for Switzerland

    Good location for restaurants and walking to city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    A few small changes would make a lot of difference to the comfort level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only bed covering supplied was winter weight duvets, but it was far too hot even with the window open to need these. We had to remove them from the covers, and just sleep under those, which was not really enough, but better than roasting all night under the duvets and not getting any sleep. How long will it take before Hotels realise there needs to be a choice of bedding offered in the room ? We don't all like to sleep with the same weight of bedding.

    The Hotel is well located, the station, the main shopping area, and also the older part of the town are all accessible within a short walk. The breakfast choice was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    My husband and I stayed at Sorell Hotel Ruttli for 3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good.

    My husband and I stayed at Sorell Hotel Ruttli for 3 nights. It is a 5-minute walk from the central train station in Zurich. The room was big enough & very clean and there was a nespresso coffee machine with 4 free capsules per day. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the town on foot. The personnel was friendly and gave us helpful information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    A correct choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the hotels in Zurich are very expensive. It is not easy for people to choose a suitable hotel. I compared with many hotels, at last I chose this one. I admired my decision. The room of the hotel is comfortable and large. The location is very nice. It's easy for guests to go everywhere. It takes 5 minutes to walk to the Zurich railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Well located hotel for exploring Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too hard for my liking.

    Excellent location. 5 minutes walk from train station, at the start of the old town and convenient for exploring Zurich. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay and Zurich has a lot to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, other than Zurich is expensive and the weather can change quickly

    This is a great location. It is an easy walk from train station even with luggage. The location is close to many of the sites that you want to visit and has good restaurants nearby. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sorell Hotel Rütli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: