Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Carlo Garni 2 stars

Via Nassa 28, 6900 Lugano, Switzerland

#21 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1503 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, but not too hot either. There is a fan on top of the bed.

    Location is in the centre of the city. Walking distance to everywhere. Friendly staffs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is an a fantastic location. Right in the beautiful town area, extremely convenient to shopping and sightseeing. Such a good price for the area, you can't beat it. It is comfortable and clean. It is no frills, like many Swiss hotels I've stayed at in my budget range, but I'm not paying for luxury hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is room for improvement in breakfast however cant say that it was bad.

    Nice and cozy hotel in the heart of Lugano city centre. Just 3-5 minutes walk from funicular station of city centre and lake lugano at 2-3 minutes walking distance. Rooms are specious and staff is very friendly. Enjoyed our stay. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accidentally booked a room without a toilet. I didn't mind the bathroom down the hall, especially because it seems I was the only one on the floor, but I wish the reservation process had made this more evident.

    The staff were very kind. The location is perfect for Lugano, right downtown. The room was super clean, including the external toilet. The bed was larger than a normal single and very comfortable. There was also a super silent ceiling fan that helped to cut the humidity feeling in Lugano that day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are on the smaller side and the walls are thin (I could hear a man snoring in another room). But I think the positives outweigh the negatives here - I would book again!

    This hotel has the nicest staff and is absolutely perfectly located in the old town. It was a great price for the location and fit our needs for our busy trip of sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has tolite area and showering area in seperate corner. They both have no ventilation! When you do your job in the tolite, the whole room can smell it. They are like boxes. It seems to us that these two boxes were added afterward. From the floor plan we saw, there is one of this room type in each floor, so make sure you dont get this room. I think it is also the smallest room as well.

    Good location. Has a fan in the room so it is good when the weather is hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not parking available The decoration of the place was not very fancy The room for the breakfast was very dark and without enough space so we decided to have breakfast outside

    The best of this place was the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be great if we can have slippers in the room. But I totally accept the absence of slippers for the sake of environmental protection.

    The location is excellent. Wake up before sunrise, walk for 2 minutes to the lakeside, and you can enjoy watching the sunrise comfortably.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor insulation, we could here people talking in their rooms. Uneducated people talking loud and slamming doors at night

    Friendly staff. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location near the main seaside boulevard, plenty of restaurants within walking distance, the central train station is only a short walk away

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms. The host leave two adjacent rooms for us and upgraded one of the rooms. We love the wooden furniture in our rooms. What a comfort night!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be a bit quieter - we were woken up by the church bells early in the morning, and then again by the people in the corridor.

    The location is great, the room is very nice, value for money is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was very close to all the major attractions in town (shopping, restaurants, exhibition hall, cathedral, etc.). The staff was friendly. Facilities were clean. Fo the money, this location is a complete bargain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lovely location right in the center of Lugano....on the main shopping street and a short walk to museums, trains, boats and the lakeside. The room was perfect and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was directly at the city center. The stuff was very kind, Savio was very friendly he was ready to help all the time. Perfect place to stay in Lugano! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a fault of the hotel but no parking at all. We were able to find a parking meter spot fairly close by to unload and then went to the LAC underground parking quite nearby. Parking costs need to be factored in to the overall cost.

    Very friendly staff. Looks like a group of young people wh are very attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The buffet breakfast is light, but delicious. It begins at 8 o'clock which is slightly late if you want to travel on early trains. However some days you may request earlier breakfasts.

    The location is excelent, on the shopping pedestrian street, near the lake embankment and the city center, not far from funicular to the railway station. The very friendly personal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic being just 100 m from the lake and €15-20 from the train station. We were virtually in the shopping district with lovely restaurants all around too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    toilet was separated from the shower also the washbasin was outside the toilet and beside our bed

    great location , stuff were very helpful and breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish we had booked more than one night here so we could have explored this beautiful place more.

    Our hotel room was quiet and spacious with a large closet/luggage area. It was easy to reach using the funicular from inside the train station (left hand side as you exit station under the escalator) to the bottom of the hill and close to shops and restaurants. Easy walk to explore the lake front and historical centre, Staff were very helpful in ensuring which items were gluten free on the breakfast menu and directions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel San Carlo Garni was perfect and there was nothing we did not like!

    Patrick and his colleague Dirac (sorry if this name is spelt wrong) were the most perfect hosts and gave us loads of tips about Lugano and howto see the very best of the area in a short time. The room was very comfortable and excellently set out and the hotel could not have been better situated in the town for everything. We were very sad to move on to Lucerne and wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room (number 42) was not very big and shower and toilet were super small. Possibly ok for one night but we were there 3 nights. I could not find any pictures of the bathrooms on hotel's website prior to booking this hotel. It is very close to the lake- great location.

    Great location, close to train station and to the lake. It is on a busy shopping street but at night, after all stores are closed is fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot in the rooms and obviously no air conditioning but not a big deal. Other reviews said it was Noisy beause of the location but we didn't think it was Noisy, just perfect for us!

    Amazing location and inexpensive for the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge. No ice. Bathroom.

    Stayed in largest room for 3 people which had 1 double and 2 single beds with sufficient room for bags and hanging space. Partition wall to bathroom was made up of small glass tiles of which some were missing so not full privacy in the bathroom. Breakfast room was clean with basic cereal and continental style breakfast. Felt a bit like a 3 star backpacker. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Parking in public carpark 10 minute walk. Special rate with reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, no view - windows to the wall.. poor breakfast.

    In the centre of the town, close to the lake, coop market next to it, strong wifi, comfy bed, ticino card - free public transport (trains and buses) and many discounts. Polite and helpful receptionist with good english.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have a car, you have to park at Autosilo Motta. If you have big luggages, it can be a hassle to bring them from the parking to the hotel.

    The location is superb, close to everything. The street is not allowed to cars so the ambiance is peaceful. The staff was very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of A/C turned out to be a big problem as the weather was very hot. There was a lot of street noise until 3 a.m. that was a problem with the window open.

    The hotel is next to the Coop which was very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed only less than 1.2meter wide. I booked for two people bed . But the bed width is for one people only. And hotel made bed only for one people. It's a very bed experience to live there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot at night, not much fresh airflow

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast the next morning very good and plenty ful at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey for a cramped room

    Breakfast was satisfactory as was the room if not a bit pricey for what you get. The location was excellent just seconds from the lake, the restaurants and the shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super location, great prices for what you get. And the best was the personal, extremely friendly and ready to help up and above. I totally will book again if I return!! Thank you so much to have made our stay so great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was beyond accommodating. They rearranged rooms, got up early to make us breakfast, and even offered to pack us lunches for our long trip. They recommended excellent restaurants as well. So happy we didn't pay more to be closer because this location was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing. Receptionist upgraded my room at no cost so I wouldn't have to share a bathroom. The wifi worked great. And another receptionist gave me a little ticket so I could use public transportation in Ticino for free. Would love to go back again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that I did not like. The breakfast could be better with more fruits...

    The location is excellent: less than 10 mins from/to the station via cable car. Five minutes to the lake side. You are in the heart of the city with luxury boutiques around. Still, very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom or Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very confortable and they served a great breakfast. Far better than we expected. Wished we'd had more time so we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to locate even with GPS. Absolutely no parking nearby to be able to check in. Parking garage is convenient but only after check in did we learn about it. Was a strange configuration to the room setup.

    Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was great for shopping, walking around the lake and finding many restaurants in the area. Even a Coop is near.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Very nice and accommodating staff! Took in two cycle tourers out of the rain, gave us a place to store our bikes, great shower, good WiFi, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and therefore the acoustics not so good, so you can hear mostly everything in the rooms around you. If your sensitive to noise and don't mind sleeping with earplugs, it's ok.

    The friendly staff, cleanliness of the room, relative quiet room (on the 3rd floor), the LOCATION was excellent, the price was right.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is compact - ok for a short stay

    Great location one block from the water. Excellent helpful staff especially the guy who checked us in (5 May evening). Beautiful stylish woodwork in room - the desk especially and the wardrobe cupboards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are basic. It was raining, so a few umbrellas for guest use would have been good.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk from the lake, and the funicular from the station made access easy. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee making facilities would have been nice

    This was a nice room very near the waterfront in Lugano. The room was comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We would happily stay there again. Lugano was beautiful. If you arrive/ depart by train take the funicular from the station down into town. It costs 1.30 swiss francs and stops near the hotel. There are a lot of steps if you don't!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Excellent and very friendly staff, amazing location near everything, free transportation was provided to us during our stay, very good breakfast,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included in our room rate.

    Hotel was located near to the centre, furnicular station and the lake. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and recomended us good restaurants. Do not forget to ask for free Ticino travel ticket at the reception. With this ticket, you can use trains and buses in all Ticino for free and you have some additional discounts for furniculars and other attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A choice of dishes for breakfast is rathe small.

    Very good location, in the center of down town, near the lake, 2 minutes walk to funicular, COOP shop is next door. Very good wi-fi, reliable and easy to connect. Hotel design is nice, many elements of light color wood on blue walls. Comfortable bed and good shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is excellent - very close to the lake, shops and restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very good! All the staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. We would stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    slight smell of drain from the bathroom when you enter the room. Apart from that it was nice.

    Amazing location, friendly staff, comfortable room with desk/bathroom, wifi was free, good and easy to access, modest but sufficient breakfast, Italian coffee

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the location of the hotel. Just accross the street is the Lake Lugano. And the surroundings of the hotel itself are the high end shops and restaurants. Also, the train and bus station is just 5-10 minutes walk. The staffs are very friendly specially the guy at the reception who help us a lot but I forgot his name.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room will be more comfortable with carpeting floor, specially in winter.

    The staff is great, very friendly and go the extra mile. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked the natural wood styling. Elevator great for heavy bags. Cosy and warm for our winter stay. Comfortable facilities that all operated effectively. Quiet and even a little view of Lake Lugano. Location excellent, within 5 mins walk or less from the funicular to SBB Stazione. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time I will book the hotel directly with their website because they have different currency and the rate changed when booked in euros.so was charged more than indicated here.

    The location of the hotel was really good. Room was big and comfortable. Breakfast was good. If go back to lugano would stay in this hotel for sure. Staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. It was a very pleasant stay.

    I liked the staff at the reception. Very kind and accommodating. He even suggested activities that we can do while we're there in Lugano. The design of the room was very nice... There were two TV sets so all of us get to watch comfortably while resting.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money. The room was small but very comfortable, with everything you colf whish for: a large Walk-in closet a flat screen TV an adequate bathroom with toiletries. Breakfast was good, with fresh bread, an assortment of jams, juice, boiled Eggs croissant. The staff was kind and helpful. Decidedly a three star hotel!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ideas for improvement. It is great just the way it is.

    Absolutely fantastic place, in the best part of Lugano, close to pretty much everything, quite easy to find because everyone seems to know the street. The room was spacious enough and spotless, there were toiletteries I would expect at a 4-star hotel and not in a 2-star one. The breakfast was tasty and filling, my mom loved it even more than I did. And to top it all, it seems to be one of the reasonably priced hotels in Lugano. I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks like it used to be a hospital or something like that. I didn't like the fact that someone clearly went in my room after I checked in and went out to dinner. I had left a light on bc I didn't want to come back to a dark room at night by myself. However, when I came back someone had gone into my room to turn off the light. If I rent a room, it's mine for the night and unless I'm causing harm to anyone else or giving reason for concern, there is no reason to go into my room. It made me wonder what else they were doing in my room. The bathroom was also dirty and smelled like urine. I don't think it was properly cleaned before me. The place was just gross. The person who checked me in that night was a bit bizarre but the kids who provided check out the next day were very hospitable and helpful.

    Location is fantastic. It's interesting for such a shabby hotel to be sandwiched in the ritziest part of town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard.

    The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were helpful with restaurant suggestions. There was a broken bedside lamp, but the staff fixed it quickly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is satisfied.Very nice staff. We love the Italian food restaurant very much by his recommendation.Cheap and delicious food.Also good location which is very near the bus station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff.breakfest( even Black coffe was cold). We requested a crit/ cob for our baby 30 days before our stay and we didnt have it. They compensated with a bigger room, but all we needed was a crit/cob)

    Location is excelente. Room confort is Ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sink, toilet and shower were all in separate rooms (the sink was in the main room with the bed.) It was workable altho "different." Considering the price and excellent location, we considered it a fine room.

    We can't sleep under European duvets, like having a down quilt in warm weather. We asked, and they re-did the bed with a sheet and a light blanket!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy not for light sleeeper, can hear people voices from outside the hotel. Better training for hotel staff in tourism knowlodge. He was no clue when I ask about the famous "Glacier Express Train"

    Right in the city centre, good for shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing wrong with this hotel. For a two star hotel it was above expectation.

    This hotels has a 3 star standard with an exceptional location. The staff was very friendly and gave useful information about the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel location can't be better, right in the heart of the city very close to the water and transportation and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kind of noisy early in the morning during the week and late in the evening on weekends.

    Perfect location just a few steps from the lake and the city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. There is a ceiling fan but the weather in September was quite hot. Leaving windows open helped but the street noise then was incredible. Shower door could do with some maintenance

    The location to bus & train station is great. So close to the lake and restaurants. It was within walking distance of everything. The staff were so helpful & knowledgeable. Couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location of the hotel. Good parking option - we parked in the nearest parking lot and bought the 24hours ticket for 30 franks. The hotel is small, but fine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location is great for shopping and restaurant. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is simple but sufficient. Note that the funiculare is under maintenance so you need to take the funi bus from the train station then walk a bit to via nassa. We were lucky ( well we had 3 luggages ) that the bus was empty and the bus driver was very nice that he walked us to the street that led to via nassa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not accesible by car (we didn't know that), you need to park in the street behind the hotel, in a public parking.

    Big bed, very central, very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    superb staff and location, rooms are clean and nice, centrally location,we felt like home, the staff were extremely good and kind. We enjoyed staying here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Basic Hotel, rooms outdated which need an upgrade. Breakfast not the greatest in the back room.

    The great Location in Lugano, close to the lakefront, the shopping and the restaurants etc

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and a friend stod for four days at this super pleasent place. Everybody was realy nice and made us feel more than welcome! Our one-double-bedroom room (no. 43 on the 4th floor) was realy spacious, clean and also had a tiny little view on the lake ;) The guys at the reservation counter got very good recomendations for restaurants and places we should visit. When we come back to Lugano one day, we will definitly choose this hotel again! Thanks a lot for this wonderfull time :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioner. Was a bit warm for sleeping at night. They did have a ceiling fan going though. Also, a couple of the windows in the wall from the bedroom to bathroom were broken. (didn't mean you could see in the toilet or shower, but I did step on a piece of glass that was missed when vacuuming... Did not cut myself or anything)

    Patrick was friendly and nice. Simple but nice breakfast was included. Room was clean and comfortable. Washroom was large as well. Location is perfect. Fairly quite room as well (not a lot of street noise, though on Sunday morning we did hear the church service.)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, close to Coop, friendly staff, easy to reach from the train station via Funibus. room is clean, price is reasonable for swiss standard. breakfast is ok with swiss standard no complain.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - value for money - warm room with no AC (a fan existed, though didn't cool down the room sufficiently)

    Located in downtown area, though not at the coast street (and no view on lake)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small fridge to keep things cool in warm summer

    Great downtown location in centre of old Lugano. 1/2 block from fabulous lake promenade. Great value hotel. Room and bathroom snug but clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not air-conditioned. It was quite hot and humid on the night of our visit. There was a fan in the room and that did help. We had to have the window closed for the first part of the night, as there was loud music nearby. After midnight, we could open the window again.

    Decor and fixtures in room and throughout the hotel were well-thought out and tasteful. Breakfast was very good, especially in an Italian part of Switzerland. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location is very good for town centre and lakeside. It is a very steep walk from station down to the hotel. Funicular not working 2014 to 2016. We used replacement bus to return to station next morning as we couldn't face the climb. Bus was CHF 1.10 each and well-worth it for 65-yr old visitors!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stay in the family room this time, the room are well equipped. Staff are warm and very friendly. Hotel is just next to the supermarket, and only few minutes from center and lake.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Carlo Garni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: