Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schatzalp Hotel 3 stars

Bobbahnstrasse, 7270 Davos, Switzerland

#34 of 48 hotels in Davos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking is on an unmonitored street so be careful what you leave in the vehicle. The staff were variable - a couple would meet with a smile, but the rest tended to be on the surly side. A blatant push in on check out, which was seen but ignored by the staff, and being ignored in preference of speaking to my male partner, also didn't endear me to the place. The rooms are beyond basic and have gone to shabby. Some tlc is urgently needed and a deep clean. The view is great but to be honest the rooms are a let down. I had hoped for a treat staying here but it felt more like a hostel experience in the rooms and that's a real shame.

    Getting to the place is interesting (via the funicular), and the general use areas are well decorated and reflect the history of the building. Free toboggan usage was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, last day some staff accidently took our luggages from the luggage room, and we were very surprized not seeing our luggages at their place. Luckily nothing was lost, they carried our luggages to another place without asking

    I like the service, the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monks cell on magic mountain is what comes to my mind. It used to be a sanatorium and it shows. Okay for an ascetic visit but if you want to indulge in luxury you are better off somewhere else such as The Waldhaus in Flims (where the Spa scenes of "youth" were filmed). Accommodation is very simple at least when it comes to the standard single rooms that sell for 190 sfr / night. The bar, restaurant, location and staff do make up for it though and even if you do not stay there make time for a visit.

    Still a magic touch on magic mountain with a lot of atmosphere and a very distinct traditional flair. Wonderful location 300 m above Davis and the only hotel I know that gives you a sledge to get back down to the conference center (however, the hotel sledges are super slow and if you are as narcistic as I am, braise yourself for a depressive experience with grandmoms passing you left, right and center). The hotel has starred in many films, including "magic mountain"and "Youth" with Michael Caine and Harvey Keitel. The spa has been renovated but is quite small. The dining and breakfast room is wonderful and the food is quite good. Staff is very friendly even though the big black cat that assumes the position of reception supervisor (and sits on the front desk most of the time) can be irritating for some people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the unique and historical atmosphere on the magic mountain. A must stay for everyone who loves nature and stunning views. The style of the hotel is amazing, and is free of any cars, making the walk from the little funicular to the hotel very relaxing and quiet!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel should pay attention that there is respect for everybody's needs. Of course there is plenty of space for children in the large hotel. But somehow parents have to be aware of the fact that the hallways should not be used for running competitions. It is not the hotels fault but we had to ask that reception to contact that parents - and that worked only for one night.

    The view from the hotel was unique and it was worth a visit for itself. The hotel is a charming spot above Davos and service, kitchen and rooms were nice and very sutiable for such a special place. The hotel was very helpfull to assist us and we apriciated their responsivnes to any of our request.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel was sparsely occupied, we were placed in a room at the very end of the corridor. The room was extremely cold and there was no extra bedding in the cupboards. As we went to bed around 12, I didn't call the reception. My suggestion would be to make sure the room is warm enough once you get back from dinner.

    The personnel were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is an old jewel, rich in history. The setting on the mountain is heavenly ..... We especially enjoyed the fabulous view from the terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food (breakfast and dinner) is very expensive but not very special at all. It feels like visiting a vampire hedgefund that tries to eat every penny from your pocket.

    This is a magic place on a magic mountain. As a fan of Thomas Mann' book Der Zauberberg you should stay here and enjoy the book even more after your stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no tv in the rooms, but it is not such a big deal. There is a tv room downstairs, for those who cannot live without watching something. The sauna opens late and closes early (16-21), at least for my taste.

    The view from the hotel is something you want to see, but you need a room on the valley side. The hotel gives you a free Davos-Klosters card, at least in summer, you you can travel from free in the area, including cable cars. The forest around the hotel is beautiful, especially the botanic gardens. You have to see it for yourself. And try the sauna!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Part of the historic charm of this hotel is that some of the decor is a bit rustic and a little rundown. We had vintage plumbing fixtures and loved them, but if you love sleek, ultra-modern everything, this is not the place for you.

    You go to Schatzalp for the incredible setting in a historic building (former sanitorium). The rooms facing the valley all have balconies with a breathtaking view of the surrounding Alps. There have free skiing (modest hill) behind the hotel and there are also winter hiking trails that are groomed each day. You take a cog railway up about 1000 feet to get to the hotel and are treated to a gorgeous view of the valley on the way up. The railway runs every 15-20 minutes so you never wait long for the 5 minute trip (or you can walk down-about 30 minutes). Staff gets your luggage up and down. Wonderful breakfast buffet including a cooker to easily cook your eggs to soft or hard boiled. Lots of fruits, meats and cheeses. Amazing free sauna (2) and steamroom complex. Staff were very helpful with details on all the possible winter activities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole reason we chose the resort is for its private ski resort - and despite the 1m + of snow, the ski resort was closed.... The hotel could be very nice but would require some renovation. In absence of renovation and with the ski resort being closed, this hotel was not worth the price!

    Private location with great view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Views, Sun Beach, Atmosphere and history of the place, location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ski lift wasn’t open Room facilities are old No TV

    In the top of the mountain. Classic mountain resort spirit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great view and location. Historic landmark building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful conservation and careful preservation of the history of the building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The views were stunning and the hotel has managed to keep the historical ambience. The food was also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the reception a bit rude.

    Location - Setting - View - Breakfast - Room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was too short. Next time I'll stay at least a week.

    Magical!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -bathroom

    +breakfast +view +location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing hotel, like if you were in the movie Youth...well, it was actually shot there. A lifetime experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a more historic building: looks like it has seen better days

    The location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were too small and the mattresses too soft. Even though we asked in advance about reserving for dinner, we were told we would have no problem to do it on the day we arrived. Oops! All booked up.

    What a classic place even if a little run down! The views are unbeatable, and the location very quiet. The price includes a good breakfast and the ski lifts. The walks through the snows trails were perfect, and the nearby panorama restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel has seen little investment so the quirky shabbiness has deteriorated into simple neglect. Beds are uncomfortable, carpets are worn, hairdryers do not work. Staff is not organized properly: - dining room: we waited for over an hour for the kids meal and then the staff realized we had not received the adult meals. - housekeeping: our rooms were not cleaned one day- even after making the staff aware, there was little understanding or even an attempt of rectifying the situation - generally, lack of service -orientation with the exception of some individuals. All of this would not be a big deal if you were staying at a mediocre hotel - but at ~500CHF/room/night this hotel is simply not worth the money. Such a missed opportunity : with a bit of investment and a service-oriented staff with a smile this place would be a jewel. .

    The location is incredible, the free skiing and sledding makes it a fantastic place for some leisurely snow activity. the style of the hotel is beautiful and the hotel has some individuals on the staff that are trying to compensate for obvious issues.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ineradicable gap between twin beds was a bit tiresome.

    Fantastic Deco interiors, wonderfully shabby. Well trained, pleasant staff. Lots of original fixtures and fittings. Good food. Great place for those who like it old fashioned. Not for those who like the homogeneous, bland, overheated kind of modern hotel.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: