Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schweizerhof Sils-Maria 3 stars

Dorfplatz, 7514 Sils Maria, Switzerland

#13 of 19 hotels in Sils Maria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, I would've rated this 9+++ stars, the only thing is that you will see some modern-looking hotel room photos on the website. But the room we got looked fairly "old" style. Still very clean and pristine though (are are there any Swiss hotels that aren't?) :). I think they have remmodelled some rooms and other parts of the hotel and the restaurant area looks amazing-- glass roof with a view. It was snowing outside and very pretty during our visit. However, I was under the impressio that we were going to have a modern-furnished room, which we didn't get, and thats the only negative I can think of. Even then, the room was still sufficient. clean and functional. The staff was really nice, and the location was great! Close drive to St. Moritz, but you get the feeling that you're in a smaller town by staying here. Also, the pool was fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to pay for a bathrobe

    the heated pool (33°C) definitely makes a difference compared to other places; it is a very pleasant experience to go swimming after a day of skiing; then there is also the outdoor pool (heated at 24°C) which brings new sensations (swimming outdoors amidst subzero temperatures; although you don't stay there for more than 2 minutes). the bathrobe comes at a cost, but it is possible to go to the pool for free (and without a bathrobe)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, clean, modern room. Nice bathroom with big shower. Swimming pool area is nice and clean to be reaches with separate elevator directly from the floors. Big selection on teas at breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes, some questions, could be handled with more flexibility! Example: fixed tables for breakfast (c'mon let us choose..."first come, first served" it's a good international rule and I've never heard complaint about it!)

    The Hotel is pleasant and comfortable, the staff relaxed. The pool in the hotel is at the right temperature and also the pool outside worth a dive, mostly if there's plenty of snow just on the edge of it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, large hotel with all the facilities. Large room to suit our party of 5. Parking underneath extra helpful in winter and with the small kids.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The wellness facilities are not repeat NOT included. Very disappointing given the expense of the hotel. 2. Breakfast was very sub-par. a. no eggs, and the kitchen would charge extra for an egg dish (first time we've encountered this) b. breakfast seating was very specific, at a certain table in one of two areas, by our room number. we were seated next to an extremely noisy group. c. cold food options also very limited 3. No refrigerator in the room. 4. No view of Silsersee (to see the Maloja Snake). There's only one hotel in town (the Waldhaus) that *can* provide such a view.

    The staff was helpful regarding late checkout and local weather (we came and departed via mountain passes).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I am very disappointed in our 6-night stay at this hotel. We have not received the room we have booked. While the head of the reception acknowledged that there has been a mistake, there was no room availability. As a result we had to stay in the same room, which was of much less comfort than the one booked (room being much smaller and with a sofa bed instead of a double bed). The hotel manager did not see a problem and was not willing to compensate us for the less comfortable room. We will definitely never come back again. I have never been so badly treated as a guest by the hotel staff. Please be careful when choosing this hotel. Besides, be aware that it is quite a large hotel, and when we were there it has been full with 50+ aged hikers. They would be having breakfast quite early, so when coming to breakfast at 9.00 platters would be empty.

    It is a really nice hotel located in a very beautiful village and top place to discover the neighbourhood. It has nice facilities like swimming pools (indoors & outdoors), indoor play area for kids etc., but it is not as family friendly as advertised.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although great pool area, it has limited space for kids to unfold without disturbing other guests.

    Helpful staff and nice areas with children facilities. Nice pool area and private sauna facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crew at breakfast was medium, nothing negativ to say but also no positive surprise

    Nice big swimming pool and good sauna, did go real hot too :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-In ab 16:00 Check-Out bis 10:00

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reception service . very bad

    restaurant service - people quite good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit outdated

    Nice rooms, big Spa area, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Family Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff speak little English.

    An ideal base for hiking the Fex Valley. Good valve for money for family room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    - Lately new furnished rooms - Location in village centre - swimming pool (despite winter sports) - very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    Quiet location Newly furnished rooms Friendly and helpful staff Good meals at reasonable prices Nice spa area / inside & outside pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our arrival did not go very well, as we were assigned a very small room, even though we had reserved a "Superior type room" and the person taking care of adjusting this was not very helpful. In the end, we got a more spacious room and our stay went well.

    The location is great for downhill and cross-country skiing, as well as hiking. The wellness area with heated saline pool and jaccuzzi are a very nice feature. The staff was friendly and the food good.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of personality and ambience. A large complex not a cozy mountain lodge

    Excellent location for cross country ski. Very good in house SPA facilities .The Hotel is well organized and comfortable. Even indoor garage which is useful at -20 C .

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Being charged for tap water at dinner this is a little rich given the cost of the hotel

    Good facilities for the kids

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location. Good breakfast. Very quiet despite being full. Lots of organised events -

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room, spa, and sauna are from the 70ies and urgently need a makeover. Poor value for money!

    Location & cleanliness

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: