Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schweizerhof Zürich 4 stars

Bahnhofplatz 7, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#9 of 122 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 964 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    LOCATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    LOCATION. HOTEL [DECORATION OF ROOMS, FRUITS, SERVICES]. STAFFS [RECEPTIONISTS, HOUSEKEEPING, CONCIERGE, CHOCOLATE MAN, RED JACKET MAN, EVERY BODY WORK IN HOTEL]. STAFF ETHICS. KINDNESS.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in heart of Zürich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive.

    This hotel was a charming old hotel in an amazing location right across from the train station and central to everything in Zurich. The breakfast was lovely and very European.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Location, hospitality, generosity with surprises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, hospitality, generosity with surprises. We were offered to choose from among delightful fruits, peanuts, chocolate bar, biscuits from a cart brought to our room. Not only were the front desk staff helpful, they offered us to bring some bottled drinking water with us open checking out. Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast at very competitive price. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Love the Zurich experience with Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft for me.

    Very convenient location - Right next to the main station, main shopping street, the old town, and the Zurich Museum. Helpful staff, fantastic breakfast and hospitality with complimentary fruits and chocolates.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this hotel. We needed to be near the station to get an early connection to Zürich airport & didn’t expect such a high standard. We wanted to explore the city for the time we had to spare & it was an ideal location. Would recommend even without having access to station. Breakfast super.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms,good food
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hello, the staff makes mistakes on the reception check in and out. Rooms are not ready in the mentioned time ( from) 2.00 for check in. We made a note one day before coming that the time for arriving to the hotel is between 2.00 p.m. and 3.00 p.m Haven been arrived at 2.30 p.m we had to wait 1 hour more!!!! for checking in because the room was not ready by time.

    Clean rooms,good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Best central Zurich hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine.

    Fabulous hotel - super comfortable beds - great restaurant - excellent breakfast and good service even although the hotel was pretty busy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Greater quality of some personal is needed for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)One of the sink was licking (room 415) 2)The room was not clean enough as I have found pieces of bread under my bed. 3) Initially I have been given the wrong room and the WiFi password. 4) Due to unknown reason I have been cheacked out 2 hours before I had to leave the hotel (had to leave at 10:30 am)

    The updated interface of the hotel and the concierge service was excellent. I have been given the best recommendation where to have a meal upon my preferences!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Great start to a Swiss adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot when we arrived and the a/c is very weak, though it did the job.

    Reception was terrific. Checked us in early and upgraded us to a bigger corner room! Breakfast was excellent and the service couldn’t have been better. The fitness center is new and definitely a plus. Can’t beat the proximity to the main train station either.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn't like was that main restaurant was shut at the weekend.. Also I got charged CHF 7.80 for a pot of hot mint leaves water.. I felt this was rather excessive as I didn't have any branded tea.

    Room was nice and clean. There were always fresh fruit available (to balance off all the cheese that I have eaten). Staff were helpful and polite, I felt totally at home. Location is very central so all in all an excellent choice. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Holiday stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    I had requested an early check in as my flight arrived at 9.00 am fortunately they could accommodate my request. I was thrilled to check in at 10.30am after a 13 hour flight. Very efficient check in and very helpful staff. Beautiful old world hotel, but with all the modern conveniences. Wonderful location spent the day exploring Zurich town. The next day I had breakfast in their dining room, absolutely stunning venue. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh orange juice and eggs made just as you had ordered. Couldn't speak highly enough of this hotel and the amenities. also loved the little toiletries and chocolates that were available in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place to stay when in Zurich, quite rooms which is a bonus in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally didn't like the smokers sitting at the tables right outside the front door. But then I don't like smokers being anywhere in public, right outside the front door was poor.

    The location was outstanding. Center of the city. The staff were very professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Top Notch In Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed being upgraded to a deluxe corner suite! All staff friendly and excellent service from all.Mitsuya a server at breakfast very kind The towels at the hotel were extremely plush and soft!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Hospitality, Location and Restaurant options makes this a great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    some rooms have windows facing the inside courtyard, it serves people who like quiet rooms, checking that would be better if you want outside facing rooms

    Superb Location, right outside the Central station and exceptionally friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Very good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was closed, a pity for a Saturday evening, summer time, full of people and tourists around ….could have been nice to have an after hour drink …. And beware if you have a car, the public parking is not right next to the hotel.

    Very nice classy hotel right in the heart of the city center (beautiful city by the way !). Excellent location. Excellent breakfast. No comment on the restaurant, we didn't go. Very professional staff. Beautiful rooms. We recommend !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was fine

    This is one of the finest property I have stayed with excellent excellent courteous staff , superb location, excellent service right from check in , to room service to breakfast to the front desk. Very good boutique hotel in Zurich They are so thoughtful that in lobby near lift on every floor fruits are kept for guests to enjoy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, welcoming, very service orientated, comfortable, good location to explore Zurich from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    A wonderful, smallish family run hotel, located opposite the main railway station and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. Great restaurant and a cosy bar, with a wonderful barman. Breakfast provided a wide range of choice, included cooked options. Our room was beautifully appointed, as is the whole hotel. My only wonder is why this isn't recorded as a five star! We have stayed at a few five stars that are not as good. Staffed by a really helpful team of customer orientated people. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel has an extremely central location right opposite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Families with young children left their hotel doors open at times so it was a little noisy on my floor in the mornings.

    The hotel has an extremely central location right opposite the main train station. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious with a very good selection. My room had a very comfortable bed and overlooked a quiet corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is wonderful, just amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its quite noisy whenever the tram passes by, and there's barely any space in the hotel. Everything is squished to minimize the space used. It was quite hard for us to move in the room with all the bags, and the toilet was quite small too.

    The location is wonderful, just amazing. Everything is just few steps away. The AC works well rooms are quite clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hot breakfast was very good! staff are friendly! love the fruit at each floor for guests. room is very clean, comfortable. overall, a very wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny! We didn’t have enough space to put our luggage The mattress could have been better

    The staff was excellent! They were extremely warm The mattress could have been better But the location was absolutely fantastic. It’s iust opp the train station and 2 min walk to ten shopping area too They allowed us to check in 6 hours before the actual check in time because our flight landed early morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    This hotel was the icing on the cake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel was the icing on the cake. Carlos started the day off at breakfast by being the most amazing host. Dinner was wonderful and room service superb. It’s locatrd across from the train station so very easy to get around from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    This Hotel goes above and beyond for its clients.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was wonderful!

    This Hotel goes above and beyond for its clients. The location is perfection, directly across from the train station, near all the best shopping and buses are just steps away. Our room was wonderful and spacious. We were met with juice and hot towels, shown to our room right away, the breakfast service was outstanding. They helped with dining plans, maps, bus numbers and shopping ideas. When it was time to leave at the end of our visit they escorted us and our luggage to the train station gate to bid us farewell too. Loved the staff, the hotel and the location. Its the only choice if you are going to visit Zurich! I would come back and stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful service; great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our lovely room faced the Bahnhofstrasse; there was quite a bit of constant tram and people noise. The soundproofing with windows closed was good, but then the room was much too warm at night.

    Beautiful, clean hotel; really excellent breakfast and service. Quality toiletries; fresh fruit available daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The heart of a most enjoyable trip to Xurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An outside garden in which to enjoy the sunshine

    Room was lacking much natural daylight but otherwise excellent. Breakfast delicious. Exceptional service in the restaurant, innovative and very high quality dinner menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Spoil yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptionally comfortable bed. Very well placed next to railway station. Staff very helpful and attentive. Good breakfast with freshly made food to order

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wish we could live here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    From the moment we entered this hotel it was perfection for the duration of our too short stay! At the reception desk we were given hot towels to freshen our skin and a glass of sparkling wine to celebrate our arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the best possible customer experience I have had this year in an hotel ! People are there to make your life easy, they offer you all day long almost nice apero, or yogourt delivered in your room in the evening in case you needed....amazing place GO !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, great comfortable rooms and good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception personnel not very welcoming and very expensive for 1 night only 660 Chf one night.

    Excellent location, great comfortable rooms and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was pretty small, but nice and well equipped

    The hotel is at an excellent location in the main shopping street and close to the railway station. The staff is very nice and the breakfast is delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Good old Swiss hospitality at its best, competent staff and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good old Swiss hospitality at its best, competent staff and top service - just the best, period - even when compared to most other Swiss hotels. Not cheap, but excellent value for money. I stay there regularly, home away from home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay while in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely stay. The staff was amazing from the Reception/Guest Relations, Breakfast team to the Evening Butler. Perfect location for travelling - just across from the train station, delicious breakfast with a wide choice of hot dishes from the menu, bircher muesli, cottage cheese. Comfortable rooms with bathrobe, slippers, tea kettle, bottle of water and fruit. Very good soundproofing - no street noise at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Great location , across central station and next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , across central station and next to Bahnhofstrasse. Friendliest crew ever, ready to spoil you at every opportunity they get. Great food, great tips on restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location with main train station and tram station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with main train station and tram station just outside hotel gate. The staff were very friendly and served nice juice/coffee and fruits when we checked in. We had a junior suits which is comfortable with all the facilities you need and the hotel set up extra bed for children for free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Location was convenient.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was convenient. The concierge help my daughter Mary Kimberley Scott across the road with her luggage to the railway station.Very helpful staff. Thank you booking.com

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel in the heart of Zurich!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Schweizerhof is a great hotel, very welcoming and thoughtful to the guests. They went out of their way to help me with the various complications of my travel and helped to ease my trip. The location is on an elegant street, but is right beside the main station and is easy to get to (just follow the Bahnhofstrasse signs). The main sights of Zurich are within an easy walk. The breakfast was excellent, and I ate at their restaurant several times and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are modern and spacious, and the Wifi was good. Overall a very pleasant place to stay and I hope to go back in the future!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Extremely happy with our 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't keen on the pillows, but the bed was very comfortable. One of our nights, the bathroom light was flashing on and off, but next day the staff must have done something to turn it off completely, however there was still plenty of other lighting to light the room. Also one of the taps in the bathroom was leaking - all minor maintenance issues that are easily fixed when reported.

    Hotel was lovely. Staff were extremely helpful at check-in. The breakfast was fantastic, and included champagne! Hotel was in a great location near the railway station which is where we arrived, so it was very easy to find the hotel across the road. Could not fault this hotel as the service was excellent. Stayed in Room 318 - Our room overlooked the roadside, but was still reasonably quiet and warm. Shower was good. Loved the fruit bowls near the elevators.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    It was a comfortable stay that allowed me great convenience for my rail journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout of the room was a little weird. You couldn't turn the TV to face the bed properly

    Very convenient location, comfortable bed, great breakfast, and lovely free chocolates and sweets at 6pm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    high expectation met with great service, great location and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist when we checked in was very friendly and said there was an option to pay in euros rather than francs but a different receptionist when we checked out was not so obliging.

    As above, the extra service, the great location for travel by train and the room furnishings. Also the instruction card for the Nespresso machine (the previous hotel didn't have one). Champagne as part of the breakfast offering was a lovely option for those that wanted it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    It was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dust web in the corner of my room. That wasn’t pleasant to see, especially in a small room.

    THe little extras like fruits, water offered on arrival and departure, wet towel upon arrival. Gread bedding. Yummy breakfast with freshly squeezed juices. Super convenient location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey but probably about right for Zurich

    The staff were really brilliant. The place was a big hotel but run like a small hotel where everyone knew your needs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    location, breakfast are the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have a small issue with cleanness of carpet under the bed. But this was fixed very shortly. A bit pricey, but for this location it is no surprise

    location, breakfast are the best

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check-in we were given a 20 euro voucher for the hotel restaurant; however, the restaurant was closed that night and we checked out the next morning, so we were unable to use it. The voucher should have been good for the bar or the cafe too.

    Almost everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Excellence in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no information booklet on the hotel in the room for times and services etc., I could of contacted reception but I was on holidays and it just seemed too much like work. Would stay again and again and again if I get the chance.

    Location opposite the main train station, staff were all pleasant and helpful, breakfast and dinner service were both fitting of a hotel of this caliber, Bed was adjustable and very comfortable. Just a wonderful place to stay when in Zurich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    A good up market hotel close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard - room well equipped but small for double so too much furniture to squeeze around

    Staff welcoming - a couple of minutes walk from station so very easy access from airport via train 5 min - breakfast great food not so good in bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, in the heart of the city, few steps away...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls between rooms are not isolating the sound from the adjacent rooms

    Excellent location, in the heart of the city, few steps away from train station and other transportation. The breakfast was great and a lot of varieties, the staff were helpful and always smiling, WiFi worked fine and you can use more than 1 device.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Will always stay there whether for work or pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and not made to feel uncomfortable having breakfast alone. Service fabulous and reception staff and concierge particularly helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast is a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff outside the hotel to help with luggage. CHF 20 just to park the car (not the parking itself) is overrated and bizarre.

    The breakfast is a plus. Cozy and well renovated room. Friendly staff. Perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfy hotel, great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife is vegan and I'm vegetarian and the options at breakfast could have been better. For example: they did not have non-dairy milk, no nuts at all, they could have a better variety of seeds and fruits (also dried fruits).

    We had a huge room with two bathrooms which we did not expect, I think they silently upgraded us. They also brought fresh fruit in the evening just when we needed it. All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Convenient but expensive for my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, something for breakfast, even at 06:15 would have been appreciated.

    Pleasant overnight stay near the station. But, I had to leave before breakfast was served and the promised coffee and croissants supposed to be available from 6:00am in the lobby were not there. So, I had nothing for my inclusive breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location , the reception is very old fashioned and small. Rooms are small , bed is of real bad quality . For CHF 360 this is certainly no value for money

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Superb in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything but the Hotel is in downtown Zurich so don't expect an inexpensive stay.

    We stayed at the Hotel Schweizerhof Zürich for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was outstanding! Our room was great, the hotel is right downtown and across from the main train station, but unlike in a lot of cities in Europe, in Zurich the main train station is in a great neighbourhood. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, the breakfasts were fantastic (try the eggs Benedict) and the staff was superb. I can't rate this hotel highly enough. Booking.com gives the hotel a 4 star rating but it seems like a 5 star in everyway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very Comfortable stay with Swiss hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located right across from the main train station (and very close to the old town area) in a beautiful building with all the modern amenities. At check in we were welcomed with sparkling wine / fresh squeezed orange juice and a wet towel to freshen up. Room has everything one needs. Our room faced the courtyard so was very quiet, but no view. Breakfast was very good which included a menu of hot breakfast items made to order. Service at the restaurant as well as the reception staff was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    I would.probably choose this hotel again to stay if I went Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem with anything. Maybe the restaurant was a little pricey and there could be more vegetarian dishes on the menu.

    There were a lot of additional treats and comforts. The bed was comfy but the pillows and duvet were gorgeous and soft and feathery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is an excellent hotel by any standards. Great staff, wonderful location, clean environment and well laid out. a pleasure to have stayed there and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel to stay in for one night stop over. Opposite station and short walk to lake and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar small.

    Location - directly opposite the train station ( which is actually a very attractive building). Also round the corner from the main shopping street and within walking distance of the old town and the lake where you can go on a boat trip. Customer service Comfort

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a better view from the bedroom.

    By far the best hotel I have stayed in Zurich. Amazing! A bit pricey but well worth it. From the TV in the bathroom to the floor sensors when you wake up in the middle of the night and get up to the breakfast I was duly impressed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    A classic great railway hotel in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.....

    Fabulous location across from the station. No view and lots of traffic but double glazing 100% efficient and aircon quiet. Lovely restaurant and friendly staff. Room was clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Amazing Hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at Hotel Schweizerhof at the beginning and end of our trip. I cannot say enough about this hotel and its staff! Everything was perfect!! Our concierge, Marcus, was superb!! The breakfast was wonderful. The gym was great! Perfect location from the train station. Walking distance to old town, the shops, and the lake. Highly recommend this hotel during your stay in Zurich! We hope to make it back here again in the future!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Loved Hotel Schweizerhof Zurich!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved Hotel Schweizerhof in Zurich!! It was absolutely beautiful, and centrally located to the train station, to all the sights, and restaurants. Everyone was friendly and helpful!! The rooms were perfect and offered wonderful amenities too! The breakfast was delicious and they offered a wonderful variety of foods. The gym had everything I needed and it was clean! The best hotel we've stayed at!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Perfect Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was just perfect. Very kind and friendly staff and so confortable room. I was very impressed with their hospitality. You can have fruits and chocolate every day in your room and even some snacks will be offered for free in the evening. Definitely stay this hotel again when we come back to ZÜRICH!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing. Poor value for money. Will never return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a junior suite but the bathroom is very small. No view at all. The gym room is tiny. The evening butler did not show up every night (though we are actually not particularly keen at the butler service. the so-called treats were ordinary, e.g. yoghurt and Lindt chocolates). Besides, the staff are not friendly. While I was waiting for my husband at the hotel lobby with my luggage (my luggage were placed in a tidy manner), I was asked to leave. The worst thing was that since we have a few pieces of heavy luggage, I politely asked the front desk if the porter could help us taking the luggage to the train station platform (the station is opposite the hotel but with a few crossings and we were prepared to offer extra tips for the help). Although the front desk promised that the porter will help, turn out he only took our luggage to the front door of the hotel and asked us to go to the station ourselves. With a five-star hotel, I would expect the staff would go an extra mile to ensure a pleasing experience for the guests. I had stayed in five hotels during this trip to Switzerland and this is definitely the worst. Will never return.

    The location is good, just opposite the train station. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Centre of Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar should be opened longer.

    In the centre. Very clean, beautiful room. Breakfast good. Valet parking service, parking man cleans your window as service, nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    The hotel porter meeting us at the station platform is aways...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative comments

    The hotel porter meeting us at the station platform is aways a delight. Excellent breakfast with home made jam from the fruit of Maitre'd's own garden. Everything you could possibly require is supplied from iron, ironing board, umbrella and all toiletries, even cleansing cream. Staff very friendly and helpful. I have no negative comments.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of any so far.

    I would prefer the lighting in the bathroom much brighter. We ladies need to put some make up on and make sure that it looks okay outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Everything about this place was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything g was great

    Everything about this place was excellent . We were greeted and cared for like family . I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Great Location! Friendly staff and a enjoyable continental breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the smaller side and for the cost, I was a little disappointed. I just left a hotel priced around the same amount but it was much larger. I do realize everything in Zurich is more pricey so my assumption is that a "bigger" room would have cost a lot more. In short, don't assume based on the price.

    The staff was very friendly, especially in the dining room. The property is more along the historical side, so if you are looking for modern/contemporary this isn't the place; that being said the rooms were slightly modernized, meaning you can tell they were retrofitted as much as possible to compete with newer hotels. I especially loved that the power bar came with various adapter outlets. Fresh fruit was delivered daily and placed throughout the hotel which was a nice touch. The train station is across the street and the airport is a close drive. It's about 10 minutes or so ride on a good day and probably around 20 minutes or so on a busier day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    My stay was way too short to assess fully but the overall impression was very positive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed a bit too hard. A memory foam mattress might have been better.

    The hotel is very conveniently located. The staff was polite and extremely professional. Spotless service. The room, while not very large, was comfortable and crisp clean. The amenities were good, the attention to detail was noticeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel and Location - Just starting to get a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to be critical. It is Zurich so not inexpensive.

    Great location immediately next to main train station. Well organised and maintained hotel with friendly touches.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Excellent old-school, formal customer service. Comfortable rooms, high-end breakfast, cosy bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room I was staying in was a little old fashioned, but the hotel is currently going through a refurbishment programme - floor 3 at the moment, so next time I go there, I will ask for a room on that level!

    Excellent staff - so polite & accommodating. Comfortable rooms, clean bathrooms, excellent breakfast and superb service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. For a double sigle bed!

    Everything great! Late chek out at 3pm, as our flight was at 23pm, we got a vouche to the spa, where we could take shawer!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was good, but bed horrible. The king bed was 2 singles pushed together and for some reason the 2 mattresses kept sliding by morning there was a sizable gap between and my husbands side was 10 cm off. Other family members noted the same problem. Also, the over interior of the hotel could do with a renovation.

    Location. Right at the beginning of Bahnhofstrasse, so easy access with car and able to walk to main shops. Staff was attentive and nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in perfect location, especially for train travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby is a little blah, and price was too high, but convenience won . . . this time.

    Fabulous location to make an early morning train out of Zurich. Lovely staff. Very impressed that the hotel provides a detailed water analysis in the rooms & encourages guests to drink the tap water.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    The staff was excellent, the breakfast terrific, and the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable.

    The staff was excellent, the breakfast terrific, and the fruit in the room was lovely touch. It definitely has the old world charm!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    We were both suffering terrible colds and quite unwell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Wish we could have ventured out more but were in need of rest.

    We were both suffering terrible colds and quite unwell. The staff were very concerned and helpful to us. Much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: