Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seehotel Riviera 3 stars

Seestrasse 24 -26, 6442 Gersau, Switzerland

#6 of 8 hotels in Gersau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a hotel to visit "out of season" (we were there early May) - not much to do in Gersau, would have to travel to Brunnen or Schwyz for shopping/restaurants. Bed and pillows not very comfy.

    Perfectly located right opposite the ferry terminal and as we were only staying one night, we were able to book a ferry and see the 'Southern' part of the lake on a two hour ferry ride, which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault really. If I owned it I would probably want to give it some fresh paint.

    Excellent location with views of lake from room and balcony. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Clean room and premises, good restaurant and overall value for money. Proximity to ferry. Peaceful and quiet township.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed a little dark and dingey - in need of TLC and a good coat of paint !

    Hotel looks a little tired and in need of investment to re-furbish. Good staff with great attitude and good service. Hotel is OK and delivers better than first appearance. Good for stopover and near to boat for Lake trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    > Unfortunately it was hard to rest due to road construction works right in front of the hotel. They started very early in the morning and went on all day, so sleeping was not an option neither in the morning nor in the afternoon. Would be nice to have some notice about these when booking or at least a significant discount for the trouble (if you spend a week there it's really annoying) > Would have been nice for the breakfast buffet to start earlier (it's from 8 to 10) > The cleaning service was a bit sloppy (like leaving the cleaning products behind or cleaning the coffee machine and leaving the pieces in the middle of the table) - wouldn't hurt to take a look behind before finishing. > The wi-fi system is very inconvenient (user and pwd, and cannot be used with an apple tv). A standard password should be enough.

    > Very nice hotel, great location and view from the balcony > Staff was nice and helpful > Breakfast was very good and having a coffee machine in the room is very convenient > We greatly enjoyed the sauna facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to connect to wifi with username and password everytime if you leave the property

    It's just one minute walk from bus or boat station and there's a nice pizza restaurant across the hotel. You may swim in the lake as well. Breakfast is good as they baked their bread freshly everyday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The desk was not staffed longer periods.

    Location of room super, particularly since there was no traffic to Viznau at night !! Breakfast buffet (incl. staff)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You literally cannot check-in until 3pm. This is quite late and we didn't have a problem checking in early at any other hotel we have been to in Switzerland. There was also a mix up where they put us in the wrong room so at check out the guy was all confused and couldn't find our paperwork. Then we were advised at checkout that we had to pay for breakfast at 15 chf a person even though we were told at check in that our room included breakfast. I would not have had breakfast there if I had not been told it was included. I'm assuming this all had to do with the mix up with the room and those other people had breakfast included in their room rate. Either way it was their fault and I should not have had to pay. So I will not be returning to this hotel.

    Great location, housecleaning staff was friendly, rooms were larger

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great size room. Friendly staff at reception and dining room. Great breakfast. Quiet location. Coffee in room. Fan in room. Great service when issue with shower head.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and out dated considering the price. Room very small and Wifi not working.

    Spectacular views of the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family room - interconnecting Doors
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel has stuck in the old days. A new style and modern furniture would be needed.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk was mostly unstaffed.

    Room as good. Right in front of the ships that take you all over lake Luzern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from Lucerne center

    Staff is cooperative but available all the time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice 3 star hotel Long balcony with wonderful view Clean and nice family rooms Wonderful lake and mountain view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were dreadful

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive :-/

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An extremely overly priced hotel. Felt grotty. Cleaned bedposts myself. Badly needs to be refurbished. Breakfast was inedible. Just wierd. Will return to lake Lucerne but not this hotel.

    The view from the balcony. Separate bedroom for children. Clean bathroom. Friendly chambermaid.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower was not working properly, the carpet was very dirty, the ceiling had a big infiltration, the juice served in the breakfast was spoiled (my kids drank 2 glasses!) and the manager was rude and impolite. He wanted to see the diapers from my younger son to see if he had diarrhea!! The first and last time I go to this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Inferior wifi, very poor or dropped connectivity if staying in corner rooms, breakfast buffet disappointing.

    Beautiful view, well situated, clean rooms, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very basic breakfast provided with no omelette and bread was limited and on asking for more since the bread basket was empty, was told it is finished.

    Excellent location ! It is right on the lake with bus stop in front.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    only the location

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Every thing is top notch

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is fantastic

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: