Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Rosa Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 80, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#36 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable (The room is a double or twin, we asked for a double bed but were given twin beds stuck together, very uncomfortable), pillows were uncomfortably soft but they didn’t have any harder pillow, and while room service was good, they didn’t bring a table or chairs to eat on so had to eat on the bed.

    Great location, soft drinks in the room are complimentary, pick up from train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy using the night from the street

    Very good central location. Got upgraded, great service. Classic but stylish. Great restaurants (1818 & Whymper) next to the hotel (part the group)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to work on their environmental commitment. Not just pay a lip service to it. More recycling. More water saving - they just kept changing towels despite our not requesting to do so.

    Very friendly and caring staff. Access to a local super spa and pool facility. Comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious & tastefully furnished room. Great views. Good breakfast. Nice bar. Very professional and attentive staff. Access to gym and spa at Mont Cervin Palace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just had problems with the TV but normally you are not in Zermatt to watch tv...

    We had booked one night and we ended up 4 nights as Zermatt got isolated because of weather conditions. The staff from the hotel made all efforts to get us confortable throughout our stay. Excellent location. Nice breakfast. Good food at the bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nice hotel, great location and most importantly super friendly staff, with special mention for Daniella. I had a ski accident, kids fell ill....and they made it all as comfortable for us as they could. Very caring staff, which makes all the difference in such a situation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did have a bit of a wait to be served in the bar one evening, and for the empty glasses from the previous people to be removed. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were the only thing letting the breakfast down. Lacked flavour and had an odd consistency.

    Our suite was huge yet cosy, the staff were attentive, and the location is just perfect for discovering Zermatt and surrounds. We very much enjoyed the spa facilities of the Mont Cervin Palace (sister hotel) after a day out and about in the snow. The bar also had a great local Merlot, and we enjoyed our tartare there. Nice selection at breakfast - great quality bread. The ride to and from the hotel in the battery powered vehicle was a considerate touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff under the leadership of Daniela were fantastic. Very dedicated and helped us through the entire trip. Friendly and helpful - and always with a smile on their face!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the bed was two twin beds put together - and it kept going apart.

    Super friendly staff. Great breakfast. Excellent service. Good room. Excellent bed linens, duvets and pillows.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard rooms are terribly dark. Room we had (309) was horrendous. On a dark small back court looking at walls & technical pipes. I had requested a week earlier a bright room. Complained on morning of day 2 to change. Was only offered to change category & add 140 CHF. My wife was very ill on day 2. add booked a 240 CHF massage for her at 6pm. Asked cancellation at noon. Was still charged in full.

    Staff friendly & building charming

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Seems a little expensive

    The Staff was outstanding, always ready to help and very knowledgeable; If you want to be in town as opposed to up on the Mountain it is the best

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What a lovely place full of lovely surprises! The hospitality we saw and the generosity of the hotel beat out some five-star establishments! Everything exceeded our expectations - From the car that came to pick us up (unscheduled) at the train station, to the lovely staff who greeted us and made our stay most memorable. The included breakfast, afternoon tea-time and in-room non-alcoholic beverages, were just some of the examples of the hotels generous service. The rooms were impeccably clean, the housekeeping staff discreet and the turn-down service delightful - surprising us with hot-stone warmers in our bed! The convenient ski room and the availability of the spa at the Mount Cervin Hotel were also great perks! A huge thank you to everyone who made our stay a great one! And a special thank you to Daniella and Sara who spoiled us throughout our stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room could be a bit more - it seemed a bit too dark. Was still ok, though.

    The staff go out of their way to be helpful and corteous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us nothing, always wanted to stay in this hotel, it was lovely and they upgraded us to a gorgeous suite, I want to go back in the winter, minus the racist waiter!

    The staff lovely although I thought one batman/breakfast server said to some Asian young men, "you are from far away, to which they answered, yes - he then continued, well you won't have to wash the dishes here, we have a machine" need I say more

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was adequate but not the most impressive for the price range of the hotel. Also the maid tidied away our phone charger into a drawer (we hadn't been using) which would have been a pain if we hadn't noticed and left it behind. Not a huge criticism as they did a great job in general with making the room lovely and tidy.

    We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite. The suite was really comfortable and a great size. The hotel has lovely decor throughout. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is very central by the main square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much - tidy up 1st floor decor for next season.

    Staff really helpful. Lovely dining room and sitting rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All is perfect

    So - the perfect place with character. You will fill as a real 19th century aristocrate travelling by Switzerland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were friendly and engaged. The room was comfy, spacious and quiet (I didn't even hear the dynamiting of the avalanches)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, room a little small

    Central location, spa access, pick up / drop off service, nice bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rather expensive!

    atmospheric boutique hotel with a history. first class staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is the best and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything nice.

    SPA and Location are Great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    all the staff are very attentive and always ready to help, besides being very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all great

    The staff were fabulous, they were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quality

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, but then it's Zermatt.

    Amazing views. Good breakfast. Comfortable room. Large bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and outstanding location. Staff is extremely friendly and would do their utmost to help. Breakfast was pretty good too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , professional staff, clean , amazing organization and they booked all the restaurants for us and gave us an itinerary

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Old family hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a hotel suit you cant put a twin bed.

    Twin bed not comfortable for a couple. mattresses were ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cherry stones in the bed:) and very friendly and warm atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were so friendly and helpful. A truly wonderful hotel in a magical place!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent staff members

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing and the breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial Reception was not welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ate in Edwards 2 times - food good both times but service first night was slowish second was bad - why didn't the management move staff from 1818 next door which is over staffed by comparison Hot stones in bed are brilliant idea but after half a week stopped arriving despite a couple of reminders to reception

    Cosy Boutique Hotel. Cosy Bed & Bedroom. Ultra Friendly Staff Edwards a lively place to have a drink & really good quality bar food with character

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Access to the great pool, spa and sauna, og the Mont Cervin Palace (3 minutes walk) - Good breakfast (generous buffet) - Tea and cake time (at 5pm) - Pick up at the train station - Big bathroom freshly renovated - Very comfy beds - room quiet

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Monte Rosa has the location and the history, as well as great service and character. The room was spacious, and every detail taken care of. The breakfast was really good. We are regular visitors in Zermatt, but haven't stayed at the Monte Rosa before. We will return to this wonderful hotel. Next time, we'll make sure to leave time for the spa. We hear it's great.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If you want to ski you need to walk quite long to the ski lifts or take a bus which is incuded in the ski pass. But still you need to walk a bit to the bus and from the bus stop to the ski lift. You can take a taxi but this makes it a little expensive.

    Stuff is perfect - kind, open to any wishes, you feel very much like at home. The motto of the hotel is 'Hospitality by heart' and this is true. We got upgraded to the bigger room, even if payed standard room. We got welcomed gift - fruit, water, sweets. We got also chocs in the evening, our daugther received a nice toys presents. In the evening your room is discreetly prepared for slieeping with a warm pack in the bed linen. In the afternoon there is a tea time with sweets and tea/coffee, perfect to unwind after the day spent skiing. You feel really spoiled :) We could access another hotel with swimming pool, all very nice and comforatble. Our 3 years old daughter loved it. It is perfect alternative if the weather is bad. Location is very central for seeing the village. In ski room you can store your boots on the heated stands! Breakfast reach and tasty, you get also information about the weather.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff were very welcoming, we were travelling with our Labrador - and they made a special fuss of him - with his own guide to Zermatt, neck chain and bed / bowls. The hotel is classic, based on great service, our room was very comfortable, with a view of the Matterhorn. In the middle of the village, the Monte Rosa allows you to easily discover all that Zermatt has on offer. Being able to use the spa and the pool at the Mount Cervin - was also a winner for me - a non winter sports person!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was really nothing to dislike!

    Rooms beautifuly furnished. Staff always friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet perfect. Hotel maintained to a very high standard of cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One Person in the Bar was very unfriendly but all other staff very nice

    Very nice and charming Hotel with nice rooms, good staff and excellent breakfast. Non alcoholic Drinks Are Free of charge in the mini Bar and you Van use the nice spa of the neighbour Hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fore some reason king size doubles in Switzerland have separate single mattresses and douvets

    location location location.................. wonderful place in the heart of Zermatt, wished we had stayed longer

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was amazing! Very attentive and friendly staff. The spa at their sister hotel (Cervin Palace) is wonderful. Don't forget they have a free shuttle from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There's not a thing we didn't like.

    The staff and service were FABULOUS at this super-charming and historic hotel in the center of Zermatt Village. We hope to stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Free WiFi Service was quite the worst that I have hat to suffer, although another Zermatt hotel came a close second(probably using the same system which apparently experiences difficulty in accommodating Apple iPads).even after three interventions by staff at reception I was still repeatedly locked out.evening in the brief period I was able to use the system it was very slow and frequently unable to contact the relevant server. I have had far better service even in Small provincial hotels in France,and in the Zermatt apartment in which I am currently staying(Haus Ascot).kier I have had excellent service with no problems whatsoever. Perhaps the Monte Rosa might care to look at the system being used at Haus Ascot which seems far simpler to China and far more effective for the user.

    Quality of service from staff at all levels was excellent. The restaurant menu was very good, and the quality and range off the breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm and incredibly attentive and personalized service. Nicely sized room with 2 balconies. Warm cherry pits put into bed at night. Lovely breakfast room with many delicious choices. Use of exceptional pool and spa facilities just a short walk to sister property. Loved cozy "Edward's Bar" where bartender would remember drink choice from one night to the next. Pick-up and drop-off at train station upon request.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ski room is small and open to everybody, which, although we are in SUI, I'd rather have my belonging somehow protected by a key

    Very nice historic building, excellent service. Room was right size, nice bathroom, and throughout the hotel you can feel its history. Also great the free shuttle service to station / some restaurants. Definitely recommended.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrived by car with 4 x skis,boots and plenty of luggage, and it was not made very clear in advance that we needed to find Happy Parking and come up by taxi. The people there were failry vague about us. Not a great greeting after a long drive.

    The atomsphere and decor were just right for an alpine hostelry. We loved the Edwards Bar. Reception staff were very friendly. Location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    constant inaccuracy of weather reports (Weather Channel and others)

    ambience of hotel facilities and room. convenience of ski-storage room, comfort of bar, elegance of dining/breakfast room. Serivce of staff; very helpful, knowlegable and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was excellent and the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ski room should be updated.

    Wonderful location, great staff and great bar

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing hotel, friendly staff, and right in centre if of town ... Was fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was temperamental, not so simple to connect

    Warm friendly and helpful staff, attention to detail, comfortable rooms, focus on quality

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not at all.

    Historical hotel, nice decors, very friendly staff. Good choice for skiers. Breakfast is not too much but quite good.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Front desk staff particularly friendly and helpful. Great location and access to spa a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Very useful showroom in the event you want to ski and leave after checkout.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy at night from the passing tourists.

    Our room was a good size at the front of the hotel with a view over Zermatt.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect place to stay in Zermatt. Comfort paired with alpine feeling.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent classic hotel right in the centre of Zermatt. Friendly and helpful staff and pleasant rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view and friendly staffs

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic staff!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny transportation from station to Hotel. Wide and confortable room and bed, with nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Almost nothing

    Attentive staff, clean and comfortable rooms, location

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff, locale and ambiance

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, Staff

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: