Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Simi 4 stars

Brantschenhaus 20, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#118 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The receptionist was rude - nothing was explained to me except for the breakfast time. Running time for hot tub and stuff or THE FRONT DOOR was not informed to me. The receptionist was not welcoming at all. 2. For the reason above, I was locked outside in the morning after I came back from jogging in the morning. Apparently, the front door is locked from time to time and you have to enter the code to get in. HOWEVER, THIS WAS NOT INFORMED TO ME when I checked in. So I called the hotel and they answered me the third time I tried. The person who answered the phone sounded so angry (almost like yelling at me to tell my name and the reason for calling). Telling her my name and the room number, I could finally got myself in AFTER LOCKED OUTSIDE FOR A WHILE IN THE MORNING. 3. You can literally hear everything in your room. You can hear people talking and walking in the hallway. Also, there is construction work going on right next to the building so you can hear the construction workers talking and working from 7 am so if you wanna sleep in, you really can’t. 4. The light was broken. So please get them fixed. I was too tired and upset to ask people at the hotel to fix it right away. Overall, my experience at hotel simi was terrible. I would not go back even for free. When checking out, the rude receptionist asked me if the stay was good. I just said it was good because I just could not wait to get out of the hotel and did not want to talk to the receptionist any longer. I truly hope the people at the hotel read this review and improve their service.

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view was so=so but you get what you pay for. housekeeping could have been a little better. overall the room and the facilities were very clean though

    Staff (owner) was very friendly and helped me plan what to do during my stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice warm room with comfortable bed in good location close to the railway station in Zermatt. Good breakfast included in the price but no restaurant for the evening. The staff were very helpful with pick up from and to the station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THANK you for your hospitality and for taking care of the guests stranded in Zermatt because of the heavy snowfall. Your Hotel is clean, the people are friendly, the room is comfortable, and the breakfast is perfect. Again, thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not very easy to find at the first time. after you know the place then it's very easy. Very near to train station and restaurant.

    Excellent staff very good service and very friendly. Clean and quite and worth for money. I feel very comfortable even i'm a lady travel and stay there alone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms large though not the newest... Too far to walk to the ski lift (15 Min). Ski bus is still a 5 min walk and too busy so you’re better off taking walking shoes or a cab (make sure to share as it’s 12 chf for two or 3chf pp if more than 4 in the cab). Spa area is not very welcoming (and heavily smells after chlorine so we went straight up to the hotel after the sauna).

    Good hotel for a ski trip Very good breakfast Lovely owner (the lady) - super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no temperature control for heat, and no AC. The room was quite warm all night and it made it difficult to sleep. I had the window open but it didn't help much. Also they had a air freshener (one of those oil bottles with sticks coming out) that smelled way too strong for the small space. I didn't like the smell.

    The room was very comfortable, and so was the bed. Plenty of storage space including a safe. The shower was a spa-like experience. There was a full soaking tub and part of it closed off for a shower featuring multiple jets from above, at the sides, at the feet, and even a hand-held shower. It's always nice when a hotel provides you with a bath robe in the room. Just a short walk from the train station, no need for a taxi or the shuttle. I recommend the Derby restaurant on the main street just before you turn down the street for the Simi, I had the best lasagna in my life there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to this hotel was the cost per night to stay here but presumably this was reasonable given the location.

    This hotel was perfectly located, about 15 minutes walk from the ski slope with many restaurants and cafes nearby within walking distance. Hotel staff were friendly and the room was very spacious and clean. Our bed was comfortable and we even had a nice little balcony. Breakfast was included and there was quite a selection. Thank you to the breakfast staff as we thoroughly enjoyed our scrambled eggs every morning. As we were staying over Christmas, the spa and sauna facilities were very busy so we didn't use these. In the evenings there was a man playing the piano in the bar which was absolutely splendid and created a wonderful atmosphere. Although checkout was mid morning and we had plans to ski until 1pm, the staff stored our luggage safely and allowed us to use the shower faculties. Thank you for your hospitality!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no view from rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noises. Balconies directly opposite hotel next door, so use curtains.

    Nice location. Balcony with view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it was a bit less expensive (but then everything is expensive in Switzerland...)

    Location, helpful stuff members

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Variety of food for breakfast could have been better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    spa area is closed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room smaller thane expected.

    the dog shower facility

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is extra charged.

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, convenient central location yet quiet being on a side street. Good breakfasts. Great for skiing and we will return for walking in the summer.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, everything was great!

    Excellent location, just five minutes walk from the station. Very wide choice of food for breakfast. Instead of a double room we were given the small chalet adjoining the hotel, which had a lot of character.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious rooms with a big comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom with a wonderful balcony view of the village chalets. Very welcoming staff and a small but sufficient spa.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It needs a bit of refurbishing, otherwise it is perfect!

    The staff was perfect, the owner of the hotel always tried her best to accommodate our requests. She looks after her hotel perfectly!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the spaciousness of the room and the Bathroom. Plenty of room to spread out with several relaxation areas. It was close enough to the town centre but in a quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was quite avg for the rate, smelled a little smokey like it use to be a smoking room. Kettle fixed to tray not near plug socket so had to move to plug in etc. Just little things but for £110 a night surpising.

    The sauana area was great and staff were very plesant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe the curtins in the rooms. Didn't protect verry much from the morning sun. The room was quite light at 6 am.

    The location is verry central. Close to the station of the gornergrath. Frendly staff, good breakfast and an excellent WLAN (i had to work)

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Storage room - available, but it was not locked for the day.

    5 minutes walk from the station, solid 4-star breakfast, small but good and hot sauna and steam-room, several good restaurants next to the hotel (50 meters). One can take shower after checking out before leaving Zermatt. Good value for money, in my opinion.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big room and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast. Large comfortable room. Location. Staff

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice staff Nice room Big and tasty breakfast Great Wellness area

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room, very good buffet petit-déjeuner, silent during the night

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been better

    Room very nice

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    somehow cold in the room.

    central location

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff courtesy and willingness, wonderful position

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location. Well atention by the team.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good breakfast, quite good location, 2 min to the train statiion, 5 min to the ski lift, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were a little old

    The people

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were always cheerful and dealt with all of our wishes.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location and excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    clouded by tour persons

    Near the station

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at Simi is very helpful, friendly and go out of their way to assist with everything! We had a lovely stay and will certainly be back soon.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very pleasent stay , hospitality , excelent recommendations and reservations for different restaurants . Petru from Bucharest

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: