Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Geranio Au Lac 3 stars

Viale Verbano, Muralto, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#17 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a little more space in the room would have been great. We came with a baby, the buggy took a lot of space in the room's entrance

    The amazing view from the balcony and the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is super nice. There was freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast and my room had a balcony overlooking the lake. Super convenient location near the station and the port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything! If one has to find one negative thing, it's the position and number of plugs, would like them not so close to the floor. Ah, and soap distributor instead of a soap bar would be nice, always a pity to waste these.

    Great facilities, a place for soap near the sink, normally positionned towel holders, great bed, balcony! Free coffee and a "secret" passage to the station. All is just top.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a bit rustic, but it's a taste thing I guess

    Friendly staff, great location and amazing view from the panorama room, good breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit too hard beds for our taste Price/performance ratio too high - as in the rest of Switzerland ...

    Marvellous view and location Very nice staff Fine breakfast Good Wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location: train station, lake, shops, pharmacy, restaurants everything within a few walking steps. Nice clean and comfortable room, friendly and helpful personnel. Nice surprise was a free card issued at the reception for free of charge local public transportation (trains and buses), this card also provides some discount in local shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are very hard and uncomfortable. The towels are old and not good. The hotel is very noisy in the early morning and there was almost nothing left from breakfast at around 10.10. Half of the training machines did’t work.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the railway station (but not noisy), the lake and just a short walk to the Piazza Grande in the town centre. It is also close to several excellent restaurants. The hotel is clean, has an attractive central stairwell and a nice area for reading / relaxing. My room was basic but had everything required including TV, safe and hairdryer. A real bonus, it also had a balcony with a lake view, I believe most rooms do. There was a tea/coffee machine available all day in the breakfast area. Breakfast was very good too, a good buffet and also a balcony area for eating outside. Bikes were available free of charge; I used them for cycling to Bellinzona, Ascona and Ronco (s.A.) - very enjoyable, mostly flat routes. All staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. I really appreciated this as a solo traveller. I was given great advice about a hike from Monte Tamaro to Monte Lema, which was one of the highlights of my visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor room facilities, really old fashion decor. It feels like care home :-( We suppose to have comfortable family room but we had one room with an old open sofa bed and two beds put together. I expect a bit more for the money and from Switzerland :-(

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facility in room would be good Air conditioning - it was hot Rooms look a bit old and tired - badly in need of a spruce up

    Balcony overlooking the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room although free tea and coffee which you could help yourself to in the restaurant, any time of day Towels in bathroom could do with replacement.

    Location excellent. Had beautiful lake view room with balcony. Good breakfast served which we are on restaurant balcony. Enjoyed the lido, about 15 minute walk from hotel. Good fun. Went back there on last evening to Blu restaurant. Really great evening. Food very good and setting wonderful with lake views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Travelling as a Family of 6 - we had one room for 2 adults and 2 children making use of a fold out Sofa Bed and another separate double room with Panorama waterfront view for the grandparents. We stayed in Locarno for 2 nights on 13-14/06/17. The Hotel had a fantastic Location only minutes to the Train with views out to the water and prominade. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was everything you could want in a relaxed Setting looking over the water. We didn't make use of the bikes as our time was limited. The bathrooms were a little dated but clean and had all that was needed. The Location was Walking distance to Restaurants and Shops as well as convenient to the Ferry, Train and buses. We spent one day going to Valle Verzasca in Lavertezzo by bus which was stunning and included a 1 hour walk along the river to the next village of Motta and the post bus back, the next day was Ascona and a cable car trip up to Cardana and the church overlooking the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view on the lake from our room.Free umbrella from the receptionist when it started to rain . Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Free coffee and tea available 24 hours . Would recommend the seaview floors as the view on the lake is superb. All the staff were attentive and very helpful. The room we stayed in was very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking relatively hard to find Wi Fi could be better

    Excellent staff, friendly and informative Super central location Clean, nice balcony with view of the lake

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 nights we were in Locarno it was in the 90's. Rooms did not have a/c. As the majority of rooms face the day's sun- they were hot. They provided a fan for each room, but it wasn't comfortable to sleep till early morning. They supposedly have some rooms with a/c but we didn't know that ahead of time.

    We had a room with a balcony that looked out onto Lake Maggiore. The location is close to the train station. There is a lakeside promenade that runs along the shoreline. To cool off we walked down to the Lido- a great swimming area with pools, a beach, slide, lockers, etc. I think it was 13 francs for adults, but was worth it as it was so hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hot this time of year - air conditioning not available, but at least the room had a fan.

    Very friendly staff and hotel, within 100m walk from the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower a bit small, and room could use more electrical outlets but these are small details.

    We had a balcony over looking the lake, as it was our first visit to area we were charmed. Heard about hotel from a woman who lived nearby and it was a find for price. Now will share that find with you. Breakfast was excellant. Free bikes. Easy walk from train station..no need for car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We upgraded to an air- conditioned room, and although we ran the machine on full fan, it never managed to cool the room more than a few degrees below the outside temperature. Admittedly our stay coincided with a heat wave, but an A/C unit that can’t cool below 78F/25.5C is air conditioning in name only. In the morning, it was cooler outside than in, and it wasn't that cool outside.

    The location of this hotel on the lakefront is its main advantage and also that it is designed with balconies jutting out at all angles to provide lake views to a maximum of rooms. It’s also situated on a quieter, non-main street. Otherwise, it’s a basic facility with modest sized rooms. It’s very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers a good spread of typical Swiss breakfast fare, the breakfast room is bright and has a long balcony for outside eating. This is a good place to stay for the price if you don’t plan on spending any time in your room, which has an American “motel feel” to it (plastic chairs, laminate furnishings). It's basic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to have minirefrigerator in the room. And may be more fruits/vegetables, add sausages/omelette for breakfast.

    Hotel is at the 1st line, fine lake view, balcon, at the same time - 100m from the train and bus station, close to old sity and lake. 24hours - hot tea and coffee, WiFi is not bad, quite nice place. Good cheese and ham at breakfast. Personnel is very friendly. Nice interiers with photo of old Locarno. Parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Front desk officers are all very nice and friendly. The one who checked me in, a guy, sorry can't remember his name upgraded me to a bigger room (booked single room, get double room) which was a very kind gesture. And he gave detail explanations about free transport ticket, bicycles which guests can borrow, door access, free hot drinks at level 2 etc. Breakfast was very good in variety. Staffs at breakfast are very nice as well. Great service. Very close to train station. Location in front of a beautiful lake. Room was spacious, clean, basic but functional. Slept like a baby the whole night. Thanks Hotel Geranio Au Lac for a great memory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor and bathroom was old and could use a redo.

    The view was unbelievable! We were right on the Lake and could also see part of the city and the Alps. The balcony and large window was perfect for enjoying the views and watching the boats. So convenient to walk to and from the feet, close to the train station and restaurants. Excellent hotel for the weekend We LOVED the breakfast and free coffeee anytime of day. (So convenient) and the breakfast room and lounge were comfortable and cozy and had great veiws. The rest of the hotel decor was very cute. So convenient to start the Centovalli Express trip across Italy too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner. Travelled with 7month old baby, so would be great if kettle would be available in this case. A little noisy with the lake view.

    Great location, view from the room was stunning, staff very friendly and welcoming, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not very well sound-proofed or the entire building has super thin walls. From the very morning we heard vacuum cleaners and conversations it was quite loud - put us out of the bed after an evening out - not very happy ;)

    Location is excellent and the breakfast was very good - big choice and everything super fresh :) The balcony was HUGE and we liked it a lot!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cold breakfast. Personally hate it: meaningless food. In general would be good to see any note about it beforehand =/ Quite poor wi-fi connection, can be completely lost from time to time(tested via skype calls and watching the online video)

    The view from the balcony in the room is really wonderful. Great location. Nice ladies on the reception.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were terrific! Wonderful front desk staff....especially Martin who was most helpful. The location was terrific...could. It have been better!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning.

    The location is excellent. We found the staff extremely helpful & friendly. We visited two places on their recommendation & had a fab time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position close to lakeside, station and good variety of restaurants. Fantastic views from lakeside rooms worth the extra. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My second stay here and my opinion remains as positive as before. The location of the hotel is perfect; near to the train station, the boats and a short walk from the Pizza Grande. A real treat was having a room with a balcony (most do, I believe) with a view to the lake. The hotel itself is very well run; bikes were available free of charge, as was tea/coffee all day in the breakfast area. Interior of the hotel is attractive and very clean, with a lovely central marble staircase and a pleasant reading room. The breakfast was excellent (usual buffet style but fresh and plenty of choice) and also a nice balcony to sit out on while eating - I did this each morning as the weather was so good. Most important of all, for me as a solo traveller, all of the staff in the hotel (reception, breakfast, room attendants) were exceptionally friendly. I had a very nice welcome on arrival and a greeting each time I passed reception on my way in or out. On departure I asked if I could pay with a mixture of Euros and Swiss Francs and this was no problem at all - everything was handled so efficiently and pleasantly. I look forward to my next visit!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a triple, and the sofa bed was a bit awkward - sitting on the edge of it was uncomfortable. But it was great for sleeping, and the room was excellent otherwise.

    The location is perfect and the facilities are excellent (breakfast room, guest lounge area, free bicycles, wifi, information from staff).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Room without Aircondition -the prices in Switzerland in general are inacceptable high, therefor we just stayed one night.

    perfect lakeside location and nearby the piazza

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were on the 6th floor which is great, but heat rises and it was rather warm in the room. Plus the shower was over the bath with a curtain. If there had been a proper shower then I would have given top marks for facilities.

    the location is perfect for the town and close to the railway station. Free use of bikes, very helpful and friendly staff. We were there for the Moon and stars so this is perfect as it is close enough, whilst not being so close as to be affected by the noise. Very nice room with a good size wardrobe and inroom safe.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel- however we cut our stay short because we were not impressed with Locarno itself. Coming from Italy, the cost is shocking - more expensive but less charming than any of the places we visited South of the border. Stay in Italy!

    We thought the location of this hotel in Locarno was excellent. Right by the water in a beautiful area (see photos taken outside the hotel and from the balcony), very close to the old quarter but in our opinion better than staying IN the old quarter itself- more picturesque and quieter but still with lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel manager was extremely friendly and accommodating and was very understanding when we decided to cut our stay short (for reasons that were nothing to do with the hotel itself) and did not charge us for the lost two nights. Breakfast was pretty good and there was a nice balcony and lounge area to relax. The room had everything we needed and was very clean. Gym looked great too although we didn't use it. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you have to visit Locarno.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, child cribs available, rooms have lake view or old city view, walking distance to the old town and right in front of the lake

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!!!

    The staff were exceptional and the free cycles were a great bonus great location for station lake and town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad parking facility

    Good location, staff was very positiv and nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great. We used the hotel bikes both days. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff and the hotel was in a lovely location by the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No a/c. Had to ask for a fan.

    Wonderful staff. Delicious breakfast. Convenient to train and ferries. Great view of the lake from bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of fridge and tea coffee making in. Bathroom and general look a bit dated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frig in the room.

    The view is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old-fashioned toilet and bathroom, horribly beds and mattress...

    view from the balcony on the lake was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find anything negative.

    Exceeding my expectations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities quite old

    Excelente Location Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning in the room and even with open windows it was very hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could only check in after 15:00 No croissants at breakfast ! Bathroom was a little dated!

    Lake view from the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC and very hot in the room when weather mid 30s C

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is completely outdated. The price for the room is much too high.

    The room had a balcony. Very nice, friendly and extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous breakfast. Great location. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very spacious and ours had a superb view. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent place to stay ,directly on the lake! The staff was absolutely fantastic! Highly recommended !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view the staff the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NIL

    location and surroundings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron available.

    Comfy beds, close to train station, and just across from lake

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff clean comfortable room great location good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No conditioned air

    Location, view, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - it was all up to scratch

    Balcony with view of lake. Lots I places to eat nearby. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast offer could be better

    Location, staff, cleaness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit hot at night without air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very spacious room with a separate toilet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ik liked the view from the room with the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise in the night, small rooms

    view and location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kindly do something about the crackly noise on the floor in 508....

    I love the location esp.the proximity to the station and the lake. The area where you can help yourself with hot drinks was wonderful. Breakfast was more than just your Continental menu. I would have stayed with you the rest of the time. Maybe next time;)) Oh! Almost forgot. Martin is so cordial he is a gem!!!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect location. Beautiful view of the lake even from the side of the building. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Great value for money!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    no mini bar/fridge in the room! no amenities in the bathroom. During check out they tried to charge me more than the price on the reservation. Around 35 euros more which has never happened to me before even though I am a frequent traveller and have booked countless hotels through Booking.com

    Very big room and bathroom. very clean, strong wi-fi, excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything. Nothing was bad.

    The hotel was right on the lake close to the main boat dock, and our room had a balcony with a view of the lake. Breakfast was excellent with a view of the lake.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is a hotel that would have been quite nice in the seventies. There's a very good reason there are no official photos of the bathrooms, they're just awful. Overpriced.

    Close to the lake and train station, good restaurants nearby. A nice hotel for the elderly.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was rather dark and old-looking.

    Good sized rooms with great views from the balcony (if you go for the rooms with a view!) and extremely close to the station. Friendly and helpful staff and free coffee and tea available from the breakfast room 24 hours a day (sadly not in the individual rooms themselves though). Nice lounge area overlooking the lake.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Décor rather old-fashioned (1980's) but perfectly crisp and clean.

    Breakfasts were excellent and the free hot drinks at all hours were most appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was very good since it is facing the lake and very near to Locarno Central Station. Strolling down the lake is definitely a must and so was walking to the Old Town and back. It's central yet quiet, and boast a great hotel team that was ever ready and helpful. We were welcomed by an Englishman ( I think he was English or Brits by his accent) and he did a fantastic job making us welcome, and explaining to us about the hotel, facilities and what's around Locarno, which of course help us a lot while we were exploring this small cool Swiss lake town. The lady who manages the bistro was very warm and welcoming when we had our breakfast in the morning. Thumbs up! Good value and most of all, experience the warmth.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy location to reach from the train. The hotel was quiet and the breakfast was wonderful, served in a large room overlooking the lake. All rooms seem to have a little balcony overlooking the lake, and we enjoyed sipping some wine in this very pleasant setting. Room was very neat and clean and a good enough size so that we were very comfortable. GREAT VALUE!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thorougly enjoyed my stay here. It exceeded my expectations of a 2 star hotel. Yes, my room was small with basic equipment, but it was exceptionally clean and had a balcony with a lovely view to the lake. Wifi was fast and worked perfectly in my room and on the balcony. The hotel appears to be extremely well run; the information booklet in the room is very clear and all staff without exception were friendly and made me feel welcome. The interior of the hotel is attractive with a lovely marble staircase and comfortable seating areas on the first and second floors. Breakfast was a typical Swiss hotel buffet in a very pleasant room - with the option to sit out on the balcony (sadly only one morning was warm enough on my visit). There is a tea/coffee machine in the breakfast area that can be used free at other times. I was also able to borrow a bicycle at no extra charge and I had a most enjoyable ride to Bellinzona.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L'hôtel est super bien placé (proche trains, bateaux), vue sur le lac, calme, simple mais très correct. Accueil très sympathique. Très bons restaurants juste à côté. Le recommande très volontiers.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was quite cheerless and simple and bed linen was not the most comfortable.

    The lake view was beautiful, and a delightful green area in front of the hotel. We highly appreciated the possibility to have our breakfast outside on the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air-conditioning in the room

    Location, friendly stuff, clean

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice staff at the reception. Breakfast was good.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: