Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cambrian 4 stars

Dorfstrasse 7, 3715 Adelboden, Switzerland

#2 of 46 hotels in Adelboden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1422 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Pretty, relaxing, great get away location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierce staff not very friendly and not very welcoming. Seemed to care more about the asian guests than locals, lighting in room was poor.

    Spa staff and restaurant staff were super nice! Nice view from room, great food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with big and clean rooms, great views and fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most advertised thing in this hotel - is the infinity swimming pool. It’s next to impossible to make the pictures shown in the booklet! In the morning there’s no sun, when the sun comes out - there’s breakfast time at the terrase full of people, plus instead of the Alps in the background you’ll have the huge sun umbrellas. Both guests and stuff will be VERY UNHAPPY if you ask the stuff to close those umbrellas. We were told that we can do our pictures when the breakfast is finished. When it’s finished - its midday and you wont see the Alps, and when its sunset - there are at least 20 people in the swimming pool. The hotel should not advertise something they cannot provide, such a small thing can be very upsetting.

    We had the room without the view - and it was amazing! The other side of the mountains is beautiful too. The room was huge, bathroom is bigger then any other standard bathroom. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Location is in the quiet place and everything is nearby - shops and Coop. Stuff was very friendly, except one lady in the restaurant. Reception stuff is extremely helpful - gave us the recomendations where to travel around Adelboden and booked the restaurant for us. Parking is always full, but its not a problem at all as you just leave the keys at the reception and they deal with the rest. I would definetely recommend to stay in the hotel for more then 2 days, otherwise you wont be able to enjoy the Alps.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast was good and staff in the restaurant was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything and every staff is perfect except the staff who lead us to the room is awful, he was totally impatient. he asked if he could help us carry the luggages but left the luggage to my son in the elevator and just walked out.

    Breakfast was good and staff in the restaurant was nice. we enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous gem in Adelboden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one night not enough at all, :) i will back again.

    We had a lovely time at this hotel. All of the staffs are helpful and friendly . Swiss hospitality at its best. The view from our room was spectacular. Comfortable bed. Good location, the hotel is just across the bus station. The hotel was quiet with the marvellous view. I definitely recommend this hotel. Breakfast is super delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great spot to get away from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot to get away from everything. Pool is small but despite certain times when it’s crowded you will be able to get quiet moments alone in there; sun didn’t set until 9pm and the pool was open until 8, so there’s plenty of time to spend there. Rooms are simple and clean; lighting could have been a bit better. Breakfast was great and servers were kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    A truly pleasant stay which we would like to repeat in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a kettle in the room because they had some delivery problems but they offered to bring us hot water whenever we needed it. And they did!

    We had a lovely time at this hotel. The view from our room was spectacular, big room and comfortable bed. Friendly staff who all speak excellent English. The hotel is just across the bus station and so it's very convenient if you don't have a car. At the moment it's off season so though some of the nearby shops or restaurants might be closed, the hotel was quiet and we sometimes had the infinity pool with the marvellous view to ourselves! I definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit more decors in the rooms? Room was a bit plain. The elevators were not working - was very long wait or just didn’t works.

    The beautiful views, the pool, the massive yet cosy lounge areas everywhere; with a pool table, a fireplace and a grand piano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and had wonderful views. The waterfall is a must visit- you can drive closer to it from the hotel and then take a short hike up. Supermarket right around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice relaxing get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little bit far from the train station so we had to take a 30mins bus ride. It is quite inaccessible to other places cause the bus only comes every 1 hour. The swimming pool view is nice but it’s kinda overrated cause it’s a very small pool and most people take photos of the “infinity” pool from that one single angle. Also, there’s nothing much to do at town except to relax.

    The view from the room and swimming pool is beautiful, we can just sit there to enjoy the Mountain View. The swimming pool and spa facilities were quite comprehensive as they have a large sauna, steam room, foot bath etc. (though you either have to be naked or cover yourself with a towel in order to use them). It’s a relaxing and quiet town. Breakfast is super delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Hidden gem in Adelboden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it does not included the water heater for making coffee or tea.

    the new room and super comfy bed; outdoor pool and spa; the scenic view; the bar; the breakfast is very good; easy to find hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    It was our first stay at the Cambrian. But not the last one! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed the first 2 days after re-opening (renovation) and the room was quite chilly the first night.

    Lovely renovated rooms, great spa (including outdoor pool with view!), great breakfast and a very friendly and helpful staff made our stay a perfect one. First address in Adelboden!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    The first guest in the ‚newly renovated room‘ .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at times ... older construction and slamming doors. Could hear guests talking/coughing in their rooms while walking the halls. Restaurant portions REALLY small for price ... but food excellent!!

    The first guest in the ‚newly renovated room‘ ... super!! Bed excellent ... one mattress ... so, so comfortable! Rooms with view highly recommended!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Wow, its absolutely stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a lot of people who came to this hotel because of epic picture in the outdoor pool with view to mountains. Unfortunately hotel staff don`t see it, and put in the picture zone ugly umbrellas, table and chair, but for breakfast – silver bucket :D :D So, be patient! :)

    Wow, its absolutely stunning! Modern design! Big rooms! Superb breakfast! SPA zone with outdoor pool is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with a wonderful Welsh touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hotel closed on our check out day at 2pm after the winter season as we had hoped to use the spa again. Perhaps an additional notice in the Spa's naked area restricting guests from bringing their phones / camera's into this area (especially the sauna!) would be necessary. On site parking is a little expensive.

    Well designed guest areas and bedrooms. Great Spa, excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing views from the room and the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini bar, no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Room service for coffee/tea is charged extra, almost equal to the cost of the beverages itself! We found some torn towels near the spa - this should not be the case for a so-called luxury hotel.

    We stayed at The Cambrian for one night and enjoyed every bit of it. The views from the room are amazing. Spend that additional amount to book the deluxe rooms with mountain view, you won't regret it. The property is clean and the lounge areas are well designed to give you warm and cozy vibes. It is understandable that most of the people who book the hotel do it for the heated pool/view. However, we did not find the pool too crowded and in fact, even managed to have the pool completely to ourselves for sometime. Loved the huge breakfast spread. We had dinner at the restaurant which was quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful resort for the area with nice views on the valley side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was valet only. We wish the website would have identified that upfront. The resort was very expensive, but not...not sure it was worth the price we paid though. However, the beds were not very comfortable for the price.

    The breakfast was wonderful with a very nice variety of options. We didn’t eat any other meals there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    In the heart of Switzerland where international standards are still missing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of a restaurant which could offer the guests the possibility to have half pension on a daily basis without leaving the hotel in the evening would be a must. In fact food selection and quality was on average with quite a strange concept based on small tasting menu which for such an hotel is definitely a limit. Very small room with noisy conditions as no proper acoustic isolation was in place to avoid listening all the other guests walking into the corridor. SPA and Well Being is very nice but small with few options. Fantastic the outside pool with heated water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great,very clean,all faclities you need,the view is fabulous,between some hours you can eat only at bar a limited type of food but it’s ok. The breakfast is great. Rooms are very nice and clean. A perfect place for a holiday in Switzerland,we will come back soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Will definately return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It almost seems churlish to criticize anything and of course food tastes are subjective but we would suggest that the restaurant could revamp the menu and perhaps offer a more international style of menu. My steak (from Ireland) was excellent. My wife's lamb chops were heavily coated with a strange sauce with a strong interdeterminate flavour which effectively prevented them being identified as lamb. The restaurant is lovely with an amazing view and the staff are excellent and we hope that the food will reflect this in the future.

    The room was beautiful and very comfortable and the upstairs sitting area was very well built. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Weekend of skiing with the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not many things for kids. Getting our car with the valet took over 20 minutes sometimes.

    The portuguese staff members really went off they normal way to help when necessary. A big thank to them. Outdoor pool is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice, but fell slightly short for a premium hotel stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t cleaned at all whilst we were there and we asked twice for the towels to be changed.

    The pool and spa is excellent. The location is fabulous!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    It was everything as expected , a beautiful place , very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was everything as expected , a beautiful place , very helpfull staff , incredible view no matter where we went and all the facilities were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing view, amazing outside pool, very nice breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You expect nicer rooms and free parking for this price! CHF 18 per night for parking is too much! We were just 15 minutes late with check out, and the cleaning guy opened the door without knocking and having “don’t disturb” on the door! They should have called first! At least knocked the door!!

    Amazing view, amazing outside pool, very nice breakfast, very nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    Not worth for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for one day only 18Franc??! And parking lot is sooo tight. Outdoor pool was so small. It was very expensive hotel but wasn’t worth that much money. I could go a lot more beautiful hotel with that price! When we first arrived to the hotel one old lady lost her bag. And all her stuff was in it. They tried to search around but then we found out that there’s no security cameras in the hotel. Luckily she found it in her room but we felt uncomfortable after that moment. Not all but some of the workers not really helpful. Some of them were awesome!!! And thanks to them for their help.

    Pools are nice but so crowded and outdoor pool was so small for so many people!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast is marvellous, if you prefer English, Continental,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is marvellous, if you prefer English, Continental, Fruits, Vegan, Paleo, or other, it's all there! Ski-material is beautifully stored, heated shoes and enough space for everybody. Staff speak all the languages you want, they guide you through other possibilities for restaurants in Adelboden with a smile. And of course there is a wonderful Spa with an outdoor 32° pool with massage options...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfort without pretension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big room with a great view and plenty of space for our two-year-old daughter to run around. Good location. Excellent breakfast and interesting "sharing dinner" concept with one or two outstanding dishes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay in a nice village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if the staff is friendly, the service is not constant. Some days, you have water and bathroom accessories, and some other days not. Same with restaurant service.

    Very nice hotel, near the center and sports facilities. Nice staff with shuttle to go skiing. Great spa and massage. Nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    The girl on reception Chiara was super lovely and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left my bikini in the changing room and kept asking the guys on reception if they could have a look if the housekeeping found it. The girl from Reception Chiara even went downstairs to find and she actually did find it, while the other staff members were not much interested in helping and only kept saying that nobody found it!

    The girl on reception Chiara was super lovely and friendly! Absolutely in love with the Hotel and the views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar menu for lunch was limited, I suggest if they add more food options for lunch as we couldn’t find many options in the near area and had to eat the same meal for lunch everyday. However, the dinner meal in their restaurant was good!

    A beautiful experience and a quite place, of course the pool is amazing and the view from the room was really outstanding. Practical shuttle service and good staff in general. Hopefully will visit it again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Everything was just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only what we didn’t like was that room service is not working after 10... it would be much better if it’s 24h available or just till 12pm. Also mini bar is missing in the room.

    Everything was just amazing! Spa and pool r beautiful, rooms and everything is so clean and comfortable, breakfast is delicious and tasty, restaurant as well. We’ll come again for sure! :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Every single detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to point out. If you looking for night life, that's not your destination

    Every single detail. The outside pool is epic. The food is yummy and the view from the panoramic rooms is inbigorating. Must try....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Top for wellness and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people who worked there, were a bit stiff. In the restaurant they have this "tapas" for sharing system. Nonetheless was I shocked to get just TWO scallops with a tiny bit salad for 27 CHF. Even for Switzerland that's too much. Apart from that the food was really nice.

    The spa is really good. Very modern, cosy and many spots to relax. The room was very clean and the whole common area, bar and lobby are really nice to hang out at.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a bath in the room and the bar food was a bit pricey amd the restaurant a little souless (some music would go a long way!)

    What a fantastic stay. From the complimentary champagne as it was a mini-moon to the awesome spa to the incredible mountain views fron the lounge, we loved it here. Selina on the front desk was particularly kind and accommodating and the new year's eve party they threw with free aperatif and canapes was really lovely. The area was stunning and there was plenty to do even if you don't want to ski.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice quiet Christmas holiday in the midst of the Swiss Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful mountain view from the hotel. Nice public space with wonderful interior and relaxing music. Good spa zone with famous outside pool (not overly crowded as I initially feared). SPA zone working hours are long enough. Helpful personnel. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view , perfect food ,comfort room, clean .it was second time i stayed in this hotel And cant wait to back by summer time. Do not miss food in restaurant its great and tasty .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Love The Cambrian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time the food at the restaurant was not so good. It seems like the chicken was only boiled and it was tasteless. We had to use a lot of salt to add taste. The room service tea was also super overpriced, we paid CHF 15 for a tea.

    Within 2 weeks I returned to the cambrian twice. Like the first time we stayed at the hotel, the staff and the facilities were great. We love the staff that served us during dinner and breakfast, I thinks his name was Alex S. He was super friendly and provided great service. I was also very happy when we received a nice small cake and a letter welcoming me back to the Cambrian.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected a bit more options in spa zone but for a couple of days it was fine

    Design, views (take a room with mountains view!!!), breakfasts, dinners, comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    nice location, nice pool with a great view to the mountains,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the minibar was empty. the Bar was under construction full day, we were not informed about it when we made the reservation.

    nice location, nice pool with a great view to the mountains, nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Everything about the hotel was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel was amazing. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room was really confortable and clean. The balcony view was so beautiful. The outdoor pool was incredible with the most amazing view of the mountains. I def. recomment to stay at the Cambrian :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    The spa and the view from the spa was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking onsite expensive, staff not willing to provide free ugrade or provide alternatives to cheaper parking.

    The spa and the view from the spa was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic weekend, 2 nights was not enough, can’t wait to go back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool needs to be warm

    Gorgeous boutique hotel in an amazing location, spectacular views, service was brilliant, outdoor pool was heavenly and cocktails made to perfection

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    The area , the ambiance, the pool outside, the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and the quality of food were not satisfying, low value for money, as a SPA hotel, I would expect the gym to be much more modern and better scale

    The area , the ambiance, the pool outside, the staff was very kind

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable rooms, big bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearly an old establishment that has been renovated - doors in the room are old and outdated and a room we were staying in 210 would need a stroke or two with a paintbrush. An infamous whirlpool that is shown on the photos is in reality approx 8x4m big and is easily over crowded. Staff was professional but very young (average age 20-25) and sometimes lacking an experience how to deal with clients. An establishment with 4 stars in Switzerland should have a receptionist that speaks French, which was not the case.

    Comfortable rooms, big bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    This is an amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing hotel!! The rooms are incredible, the pool is outstanding and the staff are amazing. I would recommend The Cambrian to everyone! This place is incredible!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Kitchen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful personnel for cleaning. They open two doors across the corridor so guests can't go through. It's very strange that assistant personnel try to behave like proprietars. Strange personnel in bar. Don't like. Extremely inconvenient road from autostrada. While you reach the destination, you'll be with vertigo. Very uneven hotel. From one hand - very kind front desk manager Vanessa, whose merit that I remained at this hotel. Really perfect food! Not bad pools and sauna. Good rooms. But totally, I guess it's a bit expensive. Value for money nonadequate. Cost like 5 star hotel.

    Kitchen! It's almost unreal, the best I've ever eat in Switzerland! Even in Michelin restaurants. And open swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic, relaxing holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about the hotel is fantastic -the hotel rooms and views, the spa, winter garden. And the breakfast has a great selection. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and hope to go back sometime in the future. The area of Adelboden itself is great with plenty of walks in the area, even from the village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    An Example of an Excellent Management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. This is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in my life. From the first step in, you will feel the difference. WELL DONE. The staff were abnormally amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Incredible pools, family friendly hotel (my 2 year old son...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was 18 eur a night. We were also disappointed with our dinner at the main restaurant (had to ask 3 times to get the wine we had ordered, didnt get our food before an hour (not nice with starving small kids), and the food was just ok.

    Incredible pools, family friendly hotel (my 2 year old son even got his own little bathrobe), great room, comfy bed, great views of the Swiss alps. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    Honestly, the hotel is overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the outdoor pool is small in real, 5 pairs of couples were there and it's a bit crowded - the hotel restaurant is full at breakfast time. Maybe too many guests and the servers are too busy to serve. I was only be asked during the mid of my breakfast about coffee or tea. - I have super negative feeling with the fitness center staff's service. She's being very impolite. She can give instruction in a more proper manner instead of "NO!". If you want me to take off the sport shoes in my room but not the changing room. You can always tell me with a smile and softer tone. What a shame for a famous hotel got a employee like that! I'm curious if she will behave like that if we are not Asians. The worst experience in my Swiss trip.

    -The pool view is nice. -The restaurant right next to the hotel is pretty good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Place You must visit in Adel Boden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of any

    Spacious Room and Bath Comfortable beds. Cozy and Romantic lobby with fire place. Great Restaurant serving dinner and breakfast. Amazing warm-water pool with the View

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect weekend with awsome breakfast and wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had the room facing the street,- at times it was a bit noisy. The beds were a bit saggy, worn out,- just to mention what wasn't too good. Tiny point, really...

    the location in the middle of the village. The breakfast was very nice and especially the bread! OMG the bread was soooo nice,- we couln't get enough of it. Room was very clean and adequatly large. Wellness was also extremely clean and well maintained. Frienly stuff,-- just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Worthy escape !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the pool was bigger ! When it gets crowded it can get a little uncomfortable .. I would also suggest offering drinks at the pool it would add up so well to the wonderful scenery.

    I love the location of the hotel ,the style the facilities are great ! The housekeeping staff was particularly helpful and efficient ! I had a great stay :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    A dream vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no such thing.

    There are no words to describe how much we enjoyed our vacation at this hotel. Everything was great. From the modern design of the hotel, through the room, the food, the spa and the pools to the courteous service of the staff. The location of the hotel is great, we traveled a lot around the area and the view is breathtaking. Warmly recommended!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Amazing pool and spa facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing pool and spa facilities!!! I mean, beside everything else that was also to the best of standards. Service is excellent, everyone seems to be so friendly and helpful. Restaurants and lounges are amazing, with breathtaking views to the mountains.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    View, bed, very friendly staff apart from one girl who maybe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa too crowded and with kids running or screaming around. On Saturday impossible to find a place to lie and enjoy the view. Curtains were broken in the room. On booking I booked a deluxe room with view which on the picture had a balcony but later they told me I should have specifically ask for it. Such a shame.

    View, bed, very friendly staff apart from one girl who maybe had a tough morning just before meeting us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Super happy about the weekend spent at this lovely property! We will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was absolutelly stunning! All hotel staff was super nice and polite! Amaizing panoramic views from hotel rooms, cozy and stulish design, good breakfast, fancy bar with big choise of beverages and snacks! All our requests have been met, we were never refused by the hotel stuff!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Best stay in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property had splendid views of the Alps. Staff were so friendly, especially Selena made our stay the best. The swimming pool shouldnt be missed. A must consider, must stay property.. Thanks team!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Excellent standard of quality hotel surrounded by the most beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very tight, but that's just being picky! Everything was perfect!

    Bed was extra comfy, breakfast was lovely, the location was spectacular!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    The jacuzzi pool with mountain view in the spa made our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The jacuzzi pool with mountain view in the spa made our stay worth every penny. All staff spoke both German and English very well. The 'sharing plates' concept in the restaurant is very creative and the food tasted fantastic there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Modern, designed with taste, hotel with a breathtaking view on the surrounding mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Minor remark : the room was spacious, may be a bit dark and with a nice view on the mountains, though through a small window. I would recommand either paying more for large windows and a terrasse, or less with a town view.

    The Cambrian is located on the heights of Adelboden, and benefits from an unobstructed 180 degree view on the surrounding moutains. This can be enjoyed from the warm outdoor pool or through the large windows of the bar or while enjoying a drink from the outdoor terrasse. The outdoor pool is their trump card and visitors spend hours preparing their insta-facebook pictures! The hotel benefits from a modern design, simple and elegant, including a nice fireplace. Breakfast outside with a view on the valley and the mountain was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Great location and great staff, cleaning and smell great, The service is also great and breakfast s
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and great staff, cleaning and smell great, The service is also great and breakfast same. recommended to all to come and try this hotel,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, fabulous, superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dressing gowns provided for skinny people only, unless you ask.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Exceptionally clean, well kept and comfortable. Delightful breakfast, the snack bar could have more choice and be less formal. Adelboden is beautiful and the views are fabulous. The spa is superb, clean, relaxing; the only negative is the closing time at 9pm - could be later. Thank you for an amazing stay, we will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very different quality and the photos on booking.com are misleading as they represent top price range rooms. Cheaper rooms are more simple and if you cannot afford paying for a view, you do not get value for your money.

    It's a very relaxing place. The open-door swimming pool is a wonderful feature. Breakfast was varied and scrumptious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    a very pleasant stay at the Cambrian! I will visit again and I highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i have no complaints.

    the amenities and the friendly staff. the food was very good and I enjoyed the breakfast. the view of the mountains was spectacular. I enjoyed the spa and the pool. I also found the massage treatment very relaxing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many people in pool in high season. But not much to do about that. A bit expensive for us so we have to watch when we go

    Staff is excellent, pool nice to have... love breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    We will definately return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast buffet was just great, Our balcony overlooked the valley to the mountains with superb views. Hotel was spotlessly clean and we had a bowl of fresh fruit in the room . Staff were all polite, helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    We had a great family holiday in a beautiful location - and great weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great selection at the Breakfast Buffet to suit all tastes. The view from our balcony over the valley to the mountains was superb. the in/out hotel pool was great as was the view from the outdoor pool area. the hotel staff were very helpful and all areas were spotless in cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Breakfast food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spooky as we could not sleep well. There is a painting of woman's face facing towards the bed.

    Excellent Breakfast food! Breathtaking View!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Super enjoyable stay at a fantastic mountain view observatory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited parking in front of the hotel and expensive parking (CHF18 per night)

    Amazing mountains view from the living room/bar window. Great breakfast with tasty, fresh and varied offer. Room was not huge but big enough with a well lit bathroom. Our friends stayed in a room next to ours and the room was a little smaller and the bathroom did not have a window. Staff in general very courteous with the exception of a couple of individuals that were not bad but would not stand out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    View from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite old and would need to be refreshed. Therefore, price of the room too expensive.

    View from the room. Very friendly staff. Great buffet for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Completely overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's completely overpriced; the hotel itself can hardly be ranked as 3+ star. The staff on the reception was unfriendly, the room is a shame, the road under the windows is extremely loud, although it's a regular village street, but the overall effect is a real shame...

    View from the breakfast terrace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    don't expect too much for the outdoor swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    outdoor swimming pool was way too smaller than I expected from the picture on the website. Adding to this, the naked spa concept was not totally acceptable for asian. we could not use the spa at all.

    awesome dining experience at the resraurant with excellent servers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    The view and pool was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The view and pool was amazing. It exceeded my expectation. If you have time I would like to suggest to try their Spa. Their massager was perfect to release my tiredness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Amazing view from pool and terrasse of the Alps and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing view from pool and terrasse of the Alps and waterfall. Very pet-friendly. Excellent staff. Lovely location for relaxation, spa, hiking, walking. Beautiful dining room and food delicious. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to use the sauna. I didn't because you had to be naked to use it, I know that's common practice in some places but I think bathers should be allowed. The restaurant didn't have any vegan options.

    The pool was great and the panoramic view was gorgeous. The room was spacious and clean. Would be better with wood flooring though as the carpet was an off white colour which you could tell had had stains removed before.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    + Excellent view of Engstligenfaelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Must be naked in the sauna (must be able to bring in a towel for hygiene purpose) - Outdoor umbrella blocks view to Engstligenfaelle

    + Excellent view of Engstligenfaelle + Near to bus terminal and cable cars station + Good selection for breakfast + peaceful and quiet in the evening + comfy bed + Friendly and helpful English speaking staffs

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Cambrian traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: