Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne 3 stars

Hauptstrasse 34, 3800 Interlaken, Switzerland

#49 of 51 hotels in Interlaken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 43 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.8
    Worse hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my booking.. in one small room 2 extra bed was placed making the space very inconvinient. there was no reception and instead key with name was put on desk leaving the guest to checkin themselves.... Breakfast- there was very few items ... few fruits, bread etc.

    The owners were helpful, when she was available at the property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is small and cannot accomdate 3 adults property should not have accepted the booking there is no space for 3 beds bath tub in 21 sqmtrs

    Hospitality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location. Decent place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price we paid, there was no A/C. Also, the wifi rarely worked on the 3rd floor. We had to go down to the lobby to use the wifi. There is some kind of army facility nearby, so you could get woken up early as well as hear a lot of noise till late at night.

    Breakfast was good. Convenient Location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Great place, great host, noisy on the weekends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there on a Friday and Saturday night. We had a room facing the road. The noise from people outside of our window was horrible. Even with earplugs I could not fall asleep because of the noise until 3 or 4 AM. It is a great place to stay, just be sure that you do not have a room facing the road on a Friday or Saturday night.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent. The service was outstanding. Peter was a wonderful host. Peter's recommendations for site seeing were outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Decent place to stay, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't take credit cards. What is strange about Interlaken is a lot of places don't take credit cards. I have a visa and my friend holds a master. Neither of us could use the card in restaurant or hotels. Really inconvenient.

    Good location, close to bus stop. Room is big and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.3
    good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    single room very small but adequate for one person.. rather warm even after turning off heating. and i think a little over priced 100chf for a night..

    room quiet clean and tea and coffee facilities provided.. close to bus and supermarket..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Liked the included breakfast, balcony off the room, quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to keep windows open for coolness while we slept and crowds down on street were noisy until early morning hours. Not much sleep that night.

    Liked the included breakfast, balcony off the room, quick elevator, location near grocery store, great view of mountains and the cow parade that came by twice in the evening. We stayed on third floor overlooking street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff at reception

    Clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Central, courteous staff, clean.. The owners are helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The options in breakfast, all 3 days same breakfast menu

    Clean calm and quite. A bit over priced for the facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Hotel Sonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Credit card facility not always available for payment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    4.2
    Hotel was about a 10 min walk from the centre and convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were disinterested with a note and a key waiting for me when I arrived Nd no sign of life. On checkout the owner was too busy watching TV to assist me. The hotel is in serious need of refurbishment and Reno action. Dark, depressing and over priced.

    Hotel was about a 10 min walk from the centre and convenient for link roads.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    6.7
    The manager was very helpful guy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was quite hot and there was no fan in the room. During the day time it became quite stuffy and uncomfortable. Thankfully after mid night it became cooler. Given that the climate is changing there should be fans in the room for warm days and nights. It was also quite noisy at night (God knows why people was talking so loud till 3-4 am!, which could be heard on our first floor)

    The manager was very helpful guy.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.3
    The hotel boss was real fun to talk with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ladies of the house were not that cool...donno why...but were helpful and too dry to talk to.

    The hotel boss was real fun to talk with. Made you feel at home...in fact it was like living at home.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    4.2
    Location was very noisy almost till dawn with young people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was very noisy almost till dawn with young people shouting in the streets. Bathroom was the size of a small closet. Lighting was very poor in the bathroom and through most of the hotel. We were asked to pay cash even though the ad says they accept Visa and MasterCard but visa was finally accepted.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.3
    Bed was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was great. We had a cute balcony. Breakfast was fine with multiple choices of meats and cheese with cereal and fruit. Elevator works well so you need not worry about getting your bags to the room. The hotel is a stop on lines coming from both of the train stations so that is a big advantage. They have a lobby TV showing the status of the views from surrounding mountain peaks. You can make a go/no go decision based upon these views. No sense paying big bucks when all you'll see is fog/clouds. The owner is generally quite helpful. Great Irish pub with really good food and drink options kitty corner from the hotel. You'll need to take the bus to get to the tourist areas of town. Buses run often and the owner gave us and probably you a free three day bus pass. We'd stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    5.4
    Location was convenient and friendly enough reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really bad but the price was very high for the quality of the room. I was surprised to notice on the flyers at the hotel that the listed price for a room this year was half what we had committed to with Booking.com.

    Location was convenient and friendly enough reception. Lobby smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.8
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast from 7 to 10. Went down at 8:30 and the food was almost gone and nobody replenished it.

    Beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    Great location, nice corner room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, nice corner room

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location. Staff. Room. Everything and specially owner and manager Mr.Peter is good man.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    2.9
    staffs are not helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    staffs are not helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.7
    staff very friendly , no complications , parking place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the third bed was a matress on the ground and no wifi

    staff very friendly , no complications , parking place

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    2.9
    I will not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I will not recommend this hotel. Very old-fashioned. Dirty and a very bad smell in the room. Bad breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

    Nothing

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: