Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel Ador 3 stars

Laupenstrasse 15, Mattenhof-Weissenbühl, 3001 Bern, Switzerland

#22 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1163 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Great Location, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. we stayed one night and it was perfect for us.

    The staff were really friendly and nice, they immediately gave us the map along with instruction where to go and what to eat. They offered as well keeping our luggages on the last day after we did the checkout. The location was perfect, close to the Central station and to the bus station. The breakfast was also really good. The butter and the cheese were super tasty. I'd recommend staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    1. Breakfast: includes everything to start your day with...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    1. Breakfast: includes everything to start your day with energy. Coffee, natural juices, eggs, fruits, bread, ham, salami, yogurt. 2. Really close to everywhere. Bern banhoff is 5m walking and Bern downtown like 15m. 3. Small bedroom but very comfy. Internet on 5th floor was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    The lady at the reception in the morning, Laura, was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin? Breakfast is awful, limited, bad quality. The employees seem to have given the order to even put food AWAY to keep it for next day, and not putting back the few options that get emptied. Eggs are cold, bacon is swimming in a bath of oil, hams are terrible, fruit is very bad, and overall the service is awful. Which is even more frustrated after they promote their breakfast as something special...! Specially bad!!! Then, you have the blond lady at the reception in the afternoon who directly mistreats and treats the customer with hostility... what a nightmare to any customer service standards! Then you have the toilets, in which if you dare taking a shower, you flood the whole floor, because it doesn’t work properly. This happened in BOTH rooms that we booked, so it doesn’t seem to be one shower broken but a problem in design. And don’t you dare using the water kettle provided in your room! It seems to be old and non automatic, so when you put water to boil, it gets all out of the kettle, watering whatever you might have around in the table!!!! The room space is also very small, and overall, the lobby has nowhere to sit to wait (my dad is 85, we never saw a lobby in which he had to wait standing!!) and really, is it this honestly a 4* hotel? We paid almost 600 euros for 2 nights... worst service I’d ever received!!! And we travel A LOT! Avoid this place like a pest! For this money I am sure you can get way better hotels to stay!

    The lady at the reception in the morning, Laura, was extremely kind and professional, explaining us all the ways to move in the city. Also the employees at breakfast were doing their best under the conditions. Really good that the hotel provides with a ticket to use public transportation during the stay... which was extremely handy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    BERNESE BREAK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO WORK THE COFFEE MACHINE TO MAKE A CUP OF TEA... I COULDN'T OPEN THE WINDOW

    LOCATION - SIZE OF THE ROOM - FRIENDLINESS OF STAFF - QUIET - BREAKFAST

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    The personell were great, always smiling and very helpfull...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was beyond average. The room was warm with limited effect of the fan.

    The personell were great, always smiling and very helpfull and the location was for perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall really nice, we had great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    You are limited of opening the window which means in summer if you stay in standard room, it would be too warm. Altho there are fans but still the air can't be exchange properly. I would suggest if you can't stand warm weather, then you must book business room.

    The room is small but well equipped. Staffs are super friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the best part of the hotel. Great location, super near the old town and trainstation. If you have chance to travel in Bern, this is the place to be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of this hotel was excellent. We were able to walk everywhere eg train station, old city , bear park etc. The receptionists that were on during our stay were very helpful and provided us with the information we needed to get the most out of our short stay. Great experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel, OK to recommend for families and children, due close to main train, tram & Bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC, since it was summer, very hot and cooler fan was given, not enough to cool the room.

    Excellent Breakfast, Close to main train, tram & Bus station. Cozy rooms, bit noisy due to road traffic during day time, it's OK as we were always out during the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Below average hotel for the price.
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. Air conditioner was not great. House keeping service was not great. First day the housekeeping didnt discard the rubbish from the room and didn't replace used cup in the room. One night aircon was broken and other night it was making noise. No facial tissues available when requested on day one.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location but could find a better hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms Very hot and no air con or ability to cool the room sufficiently Would rate a 2star not a 3 star

    Location was central and close to the sites we wanted to see

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location to Bern Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is too small for 2 luggages to be opened on the floor. Fan/cooler is not powerful/not meant for this hot weather.

    it was summer with 33C!! the fan/cooler provided in the room was not good. We were like staying in the oven for the 2 nights stay >.<. Only the bread fast table is a consolation to us and the clean sheets in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff was really friendly and tried their best to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a furnace in the room! The temperature was 31-32 deg C throughout inspite of a fan. We were with an infant who didn't sleep the whole night owing to the heat. The windows couldn't be opened completely. The wifi was a bit poor in the room. Found 2 cockroaches during my stay of 2 nights. Really the hotel management need to work out a solution.

    The staff was really friendly and tried their best to make our stay comfortable inspite of the hotel not having any ACs. They offered us to shift to the other hotel. They also gave us ice cool packs to help us get through the heat in the night. The Ritual products are amazing, the room itself is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.0
    Not adequate for summer nights
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only "business" rooms have air conditioning... and in the other rooms is not possible to open the window. I asked the frontdesk lady and she told that they had recently suicide cases and since then the windows can not be open. Not very convenient for a hot summer night! The rooms are really small and the "bath niche" is not separated from the room.

    Location close to rail station. A public parking is located in the basement of the hotel. Convenient but expensive. Breakfast is good, better than in nearby similar hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, not super close to the restaurants and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely hot - no a/c. A fan was provided but it wasn’t enough to cool us.

    Very helpful check-in staff. Hotel and room very clean. 3-minute walk from train station, 10-minute walk from the old town. Breakfast was very basic but it hit the spot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    A centrally located hotel in Bern, very convenient to the main station and to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very very small with no place to hang things. Bathroom was a corner of the room without a window and with plastic walls to let in light. Television was large and flatscreen, but hung from the wall.

    The hotel is centrally located near the station. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. And the room had air conditioning, which we didn't expect and which was very good to have on a hot day in Bern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean hotel, friendly staff, but too hot. Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too hot. 3rd floor room with outside temp at 61F and room was never lower than 80F. Difficult to sleep.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    GOOD, BUT MISSED AIR-CONDITIONING. WHENEVER I BOOK ANYWHERE, I MAKE SURE THERE IS AIR-CONDITIONING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AIR-CONDITIONING AND FOR A CLASS OF THAT HOTEL, IT NEEDED IT.

    CLOSENESS TO TOWN AND VERY HANDY TO EVERYTHING. I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT THIS HOTEL HAD AIR-CONDITIONING ON EVERY FLOOR. IT DID NOT IN OUR ROOM AND IWAS MOST DISAPPOINTED. THE KINDLY ROOM MAN THE FAN FIXED THE FAN FOR US.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Avoid in the summer months
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room aeration. Bathroom size

    The hotel is centrally located, just a short walk from the main train station. The rooms are quite small and not very bright. Good bathroom amenities. The bathroom is very small and it is basically impossible to get out of the shower without closing the bathroom door. The rooms are extremely hot during the summer months with no AC. Only a fan is placed in the room which merely lowers the temperature of 1C making it impossible to sleep at night. Breakfast buffet with several breakfast items, however of mediocre quality for swiss standards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Very near to main train station and excellent hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is clean and comfortable. Very near to the main train station. We were staying in Bern and going to all other places. The best experience was at the breakfast, the lady organizing the breakfast name "Edith" was very caring and helpful. I never had this experience in the past.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, got free shuttle bus/tram tickets for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room There is a parking in the same building, it’s charged quite too high rate/day

    Good location, got free shuttle bus/tram tickets for free two days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress was shitty.

    The location is very good. It is quite near to the train station. Staff is good and very friendly. Rooms are clean and are well illuminated and ventilated. They provided extra pillows of different type according to one's need. Last but not the least, the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location, very friendly staff and coffee machine in the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clean in the room, but someone used my coffee machine before my stay - empty package of cream left in the garbage bin.

    Good location, very friendly staff and coffee machine in the room was smth I needed during my stay ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    The healthy booster welcome drink was really a good start to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to dislike.

    The healthy booster welcome drink was really a good start to our stay. The location was good,the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Isabelle, and the breakfast was wholesome and healthy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is so close to train station which so convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is so close to train station which so convenient. Also not too far from the heart of the city ( in walking distance). Good breakfast and helpful front desk. Room size is good for 3 people (3 bed).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff are very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite small. If you need more space, this hotel might not be your choices. Breakfast not much choices of food.

    Staff are very helpful and nice. Good location not far from the train station. Value for money and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel ideal for seeing Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather small - fine for one person for a couple of nights but a bit cramped for 2. As it was Easter the bar was not open for snacks, which was a bit inconvenient.

    Hotel in a very handy position, close to station and in easy walking distance of main town sights. Very friendly staff, good breakfast. Hotel was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and neat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Great location close to the railway station and the whole...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have my booking reservation in the system, but the stuff solved it on place.

    Great location close to the railway station and the whole city; internet is good even for calls; breakfast is very tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Pet friendly, great location, and great breakfast!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I honestly, couldn't find anything that I didn't like.

    The croissants were extra flaky and delicious with their homemade jam. They had a nice simple breakfast with eggs, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruits, yogurts, etc. Unfortunately, no pets were allowed on this level. But it was easy since I was also traveling with a friend, we took turns as I don't trust my dog in a hotel room alone. But overall, I love my experience here, the staff was very helpful, friendly, and made me and my dog feel super comfortable. They even gave him a rubber ducky that, to this day is his current favorite toy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative is that our room was very small. We travelled with two large suitcases and it was extremely awkward to operate out of these due to the small room.

    The location of this Hotel was excellent. Extremely close to the Bern Train Station. In addition it was very close to the main attractions of the City. Breakfast was excellent! The lady in charge of the breakfast area was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a great stay, we would stay in this hotel if we go back to Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel location was excellent, near the train station, which enabled us to visit more cities in Switzerland easily. the staff were super friendly and they recommended beautiful locations to visit. They were very helpful. the room and bed are comfortable, the bathroom well equipped and clean. the breakfast was also very good with many varieties.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice affordable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly stuff, clean room and location is why this hotel provides good value. Also, breakfast is tasty and I like that it starts early at 6am, but selection isn't that wide.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Close to railwaystation - all you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite small, Standard as you would expect.

    Breakfast was very good, all you would expect, good choice with local specialities. A few steps from the railway Station - Take Exit upstars to Schanzenstrasse called "Welle", walk downwards and then next street to the right

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Hotel is not far from Bern Railway Station so is handy in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are not big, even a double is a little tight on space.

    Hotel is not far from Bern Railway Station so is handy in that respect. It is only a short walk to the historical centre. The breakfast was good and the staff were all really nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely introduction to Swiss hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can not think of a thing. This was a great hotel at a great location.

    I thought the staff were extremely helpful when we first checked in and the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful too. This hotel is extremely well located in Bern. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband and I spent two nights in this hotel and we had a very nice stay. The hotel is located 5 minutes walking from the central station, in an optimal position, close to different supermarkets, a big mall and few nice restaurants. The stuff at the hotel is very kind, the breakfast is big, tasty and with a lot of choices, the room was super clean and anywhere in the hotel you can find only "Rituals" products which are a top choice! The room was quiet as we requested, everything was as expected. I highly recommend you this place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Basic but comfortable hotel close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions that the hotel sent were not very clear. But we used Google maps and it all worked out.

    Basic hotel, but comfortable for a short stay. A 5 min. walk from the train station and very close to old town. They give a public transport card that we used on the local buses, which made it very easy to get around town. Reception staff was welcoming and very helpful. No A/C but it was a cool day and the windows can be opened. Good breakfast with fresh fruit and many choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Budget hotel in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really tiny. There is no space for our luggages. If you want to wander around the city, it's okay. If you want to take a rest and relax, the room space is too tight to laid back. It's super space saving indeed.

    The room rate is not that expensive for staying in Bern. It's walking distance from Bern train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Brett and Linda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good clean hotel, the room was on the small side but adequate. The location was good only a few minutes from the train station west exit. Just outside the old town, about a 5 minute walk. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Great to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast starts at 6:00 or 6:30. But if you want to take all of menu, after 6:30 or 7:00 would be better. (staff is nice though)

    The reception staff is so nice. Easy to access from Bern Station. There are complementary coffee and snacks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    The room was nice and clean, the staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have an air con, hence very warm. There was a fan, but it would not suffice for this hot summer.

    The room was nice and clean, the staff helpful. Also the location was fine, walking distance from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much space in the room (not that easy to open a suitcase), a little noisy room conditioner

    In general - very good, worth of money, a very good choice for the breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Bern is a great city! I loved to stay at this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed, too soft for my back...

    The breakfast was really excellent. The staff at breakfast was very friendly. the view from the restaurant was also great. Busstop and railwaystation are close

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    It was very hot in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot in the room. There is no air condition but a fan, which is better than nothing but at that price one could expect more. The blankets are very thick, which is definitely compfortable in winter, not so much in summer when it is hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay overnight in Bern, conveniently located, clean, modern and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms small, just enough room to fit bed and nightstand, but had closets for gear.

    Great location near train station and old town. Comfortable rooms, quiet, clean, modern. Excellent breakfast. Decent price compared to other places to stay in area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Would have pciked another hotel based on experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very hot, no air-conditioning and the temperature sat around 26 deg C at night. Had the window open all the time and the outside shade down but this did little to help. Made the room uncomfortable.

    The general room condition was good, and the breakfast was nice and had a good selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value, good location and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C, just a fan. The weather was hot, so we had to open the window. This made it possible to sleep, but let in the road noise. A couple of niggles. The extract fan in the bathroom did not work. Nowhere sensible to hang up coats (there was a hook right next to the door but this was unusable as my coat got caught in the door)

    Close to the station - easy walk from the western exit. Very helpful staff and very good breakfast. Good value for Switzerland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is horrible. Especially if very unfortunately you are assigned to rooms facing west, you're doomed! It's damn hot even though with a fan, the room temperature is 30 degrees all night long. What's worse, since the window can't be fully opened, it feels like living in a steam room. I'd rather sleep on the square than spend another night in the hotel

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Sweltering stay at The Sorrell Hotel Ador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon - only an inadequate fan which had a temperature indicator of 31deg! We could not sleep - the room was excessively hot.

    Good location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location close to city center and railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. 1. No proper door which could be closed, just a sliding glass door. 2. No dedicated place to pur your wet towels to let them dry. 3. Extremely slippery floor, especially when wet after a shower.

    Good location close to city center and railway station. The tv in my room did not work so I was upgraded to a better room without cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Acceptable hotel in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great wifi, breakfast was good. Room was comfortable, though there was no airconditioner, just a standing fan which sufficed. Location stated to be 3min walk from train station, but when reached then realized that's not Bern's main train station, which was a 6-8minutes walk away instead.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable room near main railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was without air-conditioning. It had ventilator only. Because of summer weather outside It was hot in the room and the window could not open completely.

    Very welcoming atmosphere in the whole hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Good, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location near train station and bus stop. The complimentary bus ticket made travelling around the city a pleasure

    The staff at the front desk is friendly, considerate and extremely efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.0
    Accepable -- air conditioning on 2nd floor a plus in summer heat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was super tiny though and there was noticeable mold and mildew in the bathroom shower. I've stayed at the Ambassador hotel before and will choose that one instead in the future (similar price and both air conditioned, and I think the Ambassador is much nicer because the rooms are bigger and cleaner, so I'm willing to do the 10 minute tram ride to get there in the future).

    This is an acceptable place to stay. I loved the air conditioning (must book a business room on 2nd floor and pay a bit extra but it's worth it in the hot days of summer).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Good oveaall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped and the 'air cooler' wasn't particualrly effective. The weather was hot but I don't know if it wwas unusually warm.

    The location was excellent,staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast very good and plentiful and the free public transport ticket a real bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.8
    unfriendly reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel staff on reception desk on our arrival (27'th June 2017) was really really un friendly. She should explain nicely that air conditioner (AC) was an unusual thing in Switzerland, which is become a kind of 'Luxury'.

    the breakfast was good, and also the breakfast staff, 2 Ladies, they were so nice to our family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Place to avoid when it's warm outside - you'll expect it even hotter inside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely hot room, the temperature never fell under 85°F/30°C. No aircon. The window could only be opened a few centimeters. The road was very noisy outside. Just a horrible experience. I only got 3 hours of sleep and was wrecked for the whole next day. I have traveled to warmer countries and experienced hot nights, but never as bad as this and definitely much cheaper.

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    The good and the Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. The circular rotating fan was not adequate to combat the very hot weather.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast provided was very healthy with variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Great experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a water boiler in the room would be great ;)

    The reception saw that we were travelling with a baby and suggested we change our room to executive room which of cos we needed to pay but it's definitely more spacious. Receptionist were kind, friendly and helpful to our requests. Especially we are travelling with baby. Overall, great experience, highly recommended as it's near to train station. Also keep up the great hospitality people!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel - get air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning and the fan provided did nothing to cool the room down. Miserable nights sleep despite the comfortable bed and nice bathroom.

    Very convenient and the staff was very polite and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Great venue for running in the Schewizer Frauenlauf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was only cleaned after 13.00 on Sunday. The room was very hot and the fan provided didn't seem to help at all.

    Good breakfast and very friendly staff. The location was perfect for our needs (running in the Schweizer Frauenlauf, being very close to the start area ). However, it was quite noisy (traffic nose from street). The room was quite small, but acceptable considering the price. Easy access from Train station and easy walking/running distance to the river, and central Bern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to lack of sound insulation, there was a lot of noise coming from neighbours & street.

    Very close to train station & city centre. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice location, very close to the central train station and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location, very close to the central train station and the city center. Friendly personel. The room was spacious and very clean. They offer coffee/tea facilities and water in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Helpful staff make for a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting too hot overnight led to bad headaches. The corners of the beds are very sharp. We covered ours with spare towels, so a snotty tear our fragile old skin.

    We found the first room too hot. It was difficult to sleep. When we told the pleasant efficient and very friendly desk clerk she moved us to the cooler side of the hotel without any complaint. Every staffer at the reception desk was charming and friendly. As were the hard working team in the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is not far away from the train station, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The glass door of bath room would sometimes collide each other while open/close, I didn't know whether any components loosen.

    The hotel is not far away from the train station, the location is great. Also the air-conditioned room make me feel very well in hot weather.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room got quite hot and stuffy because there was no AC

    Conveniently located close to the train station; very friendly staff; good breakfast; fast (free) WiFi; free ticket for public transportation for the length of stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely. Worth at least a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just squeezed the price into my budget.

    A comfortable and enjoyable hotel. Breakfast selection very good. All staff were efficient but very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Convenient and friendly place to stay in Bern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a busy and noisy main street.

    Location was very convenient for the main train station and old part of town. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The lady in the breakfast room is delightful and helpful and the breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more a two star hotel category. First, we arrived 30 min early for checking and even with one of us felling bad, they didn't allow us to go to the rooms. The first room was ready at 14:00 and the second only at 14:20. The room is too much small, regular bed, but if you pick up one with street view you will have problems with the noise, mainly at the firsts day's hours. It's not soo close to the main station... it's a good walking. It's far from many tourists points.

    Breakfast was good and internet fast. They gave us a ticket for public transport, however nobody could explain us how use the public transportation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff (especially at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was relatively small and not very quiet, due to the busy street just outside.

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff (especially at breakfast!).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast with great cheese, good space in room,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resetting WiFi password every other day, missing the bed lamp, shower could not be closed fully by the Cristal.

    Excellent breakfast with great cheese, good space in room, free tickets for tramway, nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    7.1
    Well located and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small for two individuals sharing with very little room for two bags. The rooms were very hot but could not open window because too noisy.

    The convenient location to transport and the old town. Breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and smiling staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and smiling staff. Breakfast sufficient and satisfactory. Clean room. Good enough for a stay in this nice city. Hotel is 5 min. walk from the main train station, the same for the tram stops. Hotel gives you free bus/tram ticket valid for the days of your stay. Great experience, I would say.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.9
    Business Double Room with Air-Conditioning - Overall, a good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is known that Switzerland is expensive. Very expensive... In any service or product offered. This is another topic talk about. But I do not make an exception and treat this review hotel in comparison with what other hotels from rest of Europe offers for this money... In conclusion is an expensive hotel, with not too good value for money. Although compared to other hotels in Bern, it is probably one of the best solutions ... For 165 EURO per night, with breakfast included, it probably is a good price for Bern. Behind that, there is an old TV, and the room requires little renovation/update. And there is no so much view from business rooms...

    Comfortable room, spacious enough, very warm, comfortable bed, free espresso cafe, fruits, water and two candy, in the room. Clean room and great shower. Stuff was nice and helpful. Location is good. Perfect for train travel and close enough to the old city center. Free travel city tickets and easy and fast access to the public transportation. And stuff were very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.2
    If you need the train station ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you travel with full size luggage, then there gonna be some problem with the space. The all glass bathroom is modern but somehow seems alittle uncomfortable in real life.

    Close to the train station, less than 5 mins walk. Very attentive staff, polite and helpful. Nice little room (a little small) but nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Leonides Vidal Pérez
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern and very good quality for value (more than 3 star hotels), excellent breakfast buffet (all bio from local farmers) and very clean and confortable rooms. Personal very kind and helpfull. Located at less than 5 minutes walk to old town monuments. Parking at the hotel underground and a shopping mall just infront.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sorell Hotel Ador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: