Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel Rüden 3 stars

Oberstadt 20, 8201 Schaffhausen, Switzerland

#5 of 15 hotels in Schaffhausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm in the room thus we had to open the window. However it's difficult to sleep as the clock tower rang hourly. Breakfast is not bad. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Clean room. Very clean toilet too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Less than 5 min walk from station. Good free wifi. Staff were very nice and helpful. Good breakfast with reasonable choice. Room was clean and tidy. Many shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny.

    Clean, comfortable and conveniently located in the old town and near the station, this hotel serves a good breakfast. The receptionist kindly organized early checkin for me as I had just flown in from Australia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the bedroom, air conditioning didn’t work so had to ask for a fan and no tea/ coffee in the room.

    Location was excellent for what we needed. Breakfast was good and the staff couldn’t do enough for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room had great atmosphere. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was ample and very nice. The hotel is situated just on the edge of the old town and only 5 minutes walk from the Bahnhof.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear traffic and church bells at night, but not so loud. I think it also depens on a room.

    That was clean and cozy. The hotel looks amazing inside & outside and has delightful breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, very well appointed throughout, in a very central location in the old town of Schaffhausen. Very comfortable and warm room, lovely breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. a big thankyou from www.shacklefordpianos.com

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff was so incredibly nice from point one and on. They were friendly, informative, every staff member in the hotel greeted us, they made us feel welcome and comfortable. They gave us great recommendations to local restaurants and never hesitated when asking about directions to sights. The hotel is conveniently located near the train/bus station, everything is close by, shops, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very few electricity sockets in the room.

    Excellent breakfast with local products, good selection of pillows, very friendly staff, historic building and feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction, our room was like a box completely -on the interior of the hotel, no exterior windows- just one that looked at the hall light, I removed the bulb so I could not sleep. A bit claustrophobic.

    Staff was very helpful and thoughtful. Great location- two blocks from train, right on the edge of city square and all activities- eating, shopping, walk to Rhine Falls or bike- near the path and clearly marked. Great air conditioning. Good breakfast, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat small room for the price, no airco (it was a very hot day though), room overall was clean, but bathroom would have deserved more attention

    Very nice building, central location. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a bit chaotic and not as much choice as you usually get in Swiss hotels

    Interesting old building cleverly converted. Schaffhausen very nice town, good choice of places to eat, everyone very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great position in the old town, and only a short walk from the railway station. Friendly personnel at reception and in the breakfast room. An atmospheric building full of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and we were given a room with only two small windows in the roof. It was an oven. Was told no other rooms were available yet the hotel seemed to be mostly empty. Construction was going on which wasn't communicated when booking the room. Bathrooms very dated, small and no ventilation. We stayed only one night and would not recommend.

    Near the train station. Common areas are nice in an older historic building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bicycle storage is uncovered and in a courtyard that is not locked from the street until late.

    Great location at the quieter end of town, but close enough to walk to everything, even Fortress Munot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was made by joining two single beds and was not the best one that I'd want at this price.

    The hotel is very close to the central part of the town and the train station. Being a very small town, you can simply walk around and find everything nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Twin without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The underground pay parking was expensive for our two day stay.

    The property is wonderfully situated near the old cobblestone streets and within walking distance of many restaurants. Very quaint town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking at or near the hotel. We did pay the hotel for a spot at quite a long distance away (about 1 km ). The bathroom was tired looking particularly ,for example the sink ,and in need of a refurbishment. For these reasons I have marked down the facilities.

    The hotel has a very nice appearance and atmosphere. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful. The hotel is about a minute from a main square and walking area of the town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Twin without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had two faulty desk/table lamps - we reported this to staff.

    The staff were very welcoming and allowed us access to our room quite early. The room was well appointed and modern in a well restored older building. The hotel is within walking distance of the train and bus station and is located in the old part of Schaffhausen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls between rooms seem quite thin, therefore some noise from room next to us.

    Lovely tasteful modern décor within beautiful old building. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny, as was the bathroom. Cleanliness not as expected in Switzerland, room was a bit smelly. Some fixtures in the room were broken. Would not want to stay again.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good. No toilet accessories.

    Great location. Very nice gentle and polite staff. They are very helpful. Clean room Nice comfortable bed. Overall good stay this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Twin without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Sandra was excellent and she has an outstanding personality. Way to go. Hopefully she'll be there the next time we go. I would go to that hotel just for her

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had 2 room The rooms are too small you can not move in it and the sink is in the room with no air conditioning but there is a fan The other room with no window but there is an air conditioning The toilets door is visible

    The staff is friendly The wi fi is excellent and free The breakfast is perfect The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do not normally provide feedback but with this hotel I feel I must for the benefit of others. We stay in over 40 hotels per year, mainly in Europe. We booked a "Business Double Room Queen". The room was only half usable because of an extreme sloping ceiling. My wife had to crawl on hands and knees to access her side of the bed. This room should not be advertised as a double, it barely passes as a single. A large TV was wedged between the end of the bed and the desk, making the desk unusable and access to the other side of the bed very difficult. There were also electrical cords laid over the floor but the bedside light and desk light did not work. I pity the poor chambermaids trying to service these rooms. The room did not have an ensuite, the sink was in the bedroom. The lift was right next to the bedroom wall and made the room very noisy. I feel this hotel has electrical safety issues and is guilty of not fully informing guests of the limitations of their accommodation. There would be nowhere to put your cases, the floor space was so limited. We travel with only backpacks The receptionist on check out asked if we had enjoyed our stay, when I said "No" she did not want to listen and continually talked over the top of me even though I asked her to wait until I had finished talking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there was a window in the room, it faced a wall. But this was made very clear when we booked the room - so no complaints!

    The staff were extremly friendly and helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. I loved all the small details, fruit and water in the lobby, top quality toiletries, which made up for the fact that we payed more for the hotel than we usually do in switzerland. I would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a single room, was quite small

    Great location, everything worked and was clean neat and tidy. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Perfect location * Exceptionally friendly staff * Outstanding breakfast * Very interesting building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    elevator was very slow

    Hotel was lovely and staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Great Location and lovely breakfast, wonderful friendly service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower made a bit of a mess

    Great view over the old town, friendly staff, central location, yet quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They bring freshly brewed coffee and freshly made egg dishes per request

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No outside winder in my room

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was a little small, but still OK for a one night stay

    Pleasant and helpful staff, great location in the old town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely comfortable and they have a selection of pillows one could choose from. The staff are very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast also!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single occupancy = single room size with an extremely small bed :-(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful & friendly!!! They deserve a raise or bonus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water teperature in shower was not consistent

    Great location, nice hotel, friendly service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Great place to stay in the olde Towne. Quick walk to train and dinning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Twin without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive car park charge

    Perfect location, beautiful room, breakfast superb. Very comfortable stay in lovely town. Deserves more stars!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice boutique hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room without Window
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very extensive breakfast buffet, as much coffee or teas as you liked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. They make coffee of your preference. Nice lobby with sitting area and barservice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing fancy but totally ok for a quick stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was very soft. I had back pains the whole week

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice atmosphere. A nice lounge area that is also used for breakfast. Good breakfast. Comfortable rooms 2 minutes from the train station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice atmosphere. There is a cozy area around reception that is also used for breakfast and where you can have a drink

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    recpetion lady was very kind. my bags was delayed in the airport and she delivered it to my room. i think here name Iysha very kind.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Procedure to get WiFi access

    Good location and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Twin without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no window in my room.

    Great breakfast. Authentic building. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel in the center of Schaffausen, Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic place with a lot of character. Rich breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. Very nice room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were awesome!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room (no windows)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady in the reception is so nice and helpful. Really near the station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It would have been better if the hotel had parking facility within the premises. But considering the fact that the whole neighbourhood is historic area, that is not a possibility. I would say it is worth the visit even with payment of CHF20 for outside parking.

    The hotel is situated in the heart of city, and it was very convenient wherever we went. The building was made as the city chamber of commerce in the 18th century, and the architecture was very interesting. The room was renovated in modern style, but takes advantage of the original design, which did not sacrifice guests' comfort. Breakfast was offered in the lobby where there is a plenty of space, and we loved a variety of selection as well as good coffee. If I were to come back to the city, I would definitely choose this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very friendly staff. Extremely thin walls. I was told to shut up at 10pm by someone screaming and I was only speaking on the phone in a very quiet voice. I will not come back.

    OK breakfast and good location.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location in old town was perfect. The receptionist was lovely and remembered my name every time I passed by. The room was super with an exposed stone wall, wooden beams and rituals bath products. Fonally, the breakfast was great...they even served smoothies!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Actually I didn't stayed in this hotel, because the lobby was unfortunately on fire at the night(3rd Oct) just before my arrival. Although rooms were not damaged but still filled with burning smell, and the staff arranged another nice hotel named Kronenhof with same price for me, and it's located at the town center. I think they managed such emergency case in a proper way.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely amazing stay! The staff was super accommodating and friendly. The hotel is an eclectic, well-located gem that was truly a surprising last-minute addition to our trip. It turned out to be one of the highlights! Also, the breakfast was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in this hotel 3 times already as it is close to a client. From my experience: - Never ever ever ever book the last room. It is on the top, with badly insulated windows towards the train station. I had a sleepless night. - No good air circulation, especially in the hot summer - Small details: Empty soap dispenser in room, shower curtain dropping all the time, bacon for breakfast out 2 out of 3 times at 7.30 am. For the price this is not acceptable

    - Nice personnel - Close to the train station and my client - Relatively large rooms with nice design - You feel that the hotel managers are invested in providing something more than just the standard

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not that it was terribly hot when I stayed, but it was advertised that there was air condition and when I got there, I was informed only some of the rooms had air condition. The pillows were a tad hard.

    The breakfast was very good - it is hard to find scramble eggs and bacon in Switzerland. Location was excellent located right next to the train station and on the edge of the Old town of Schaffhausen.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was lovely. What a pleasure in the morning from the kitchen man. Was so welcoming and could'n help you enough.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, room size and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, close to train station

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was cold in the room

    The location, deco

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautifully decorated hotel, blending successfully old wood and metal/glass. Friendly welcome and outstanding service!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful hotel, with friendly staff. Excellent location near restaurants & shopping. Delicious breakfast. Perfect for traveling with pets.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Upon arrival no one was at the reception desk for more than 20min

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to declare

    Value for money and staff

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A beautiful hotel full of unique charm in a wonderful city. Breakfast was lovely. A fabulous place to stay.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sorell Hotel Rüden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: