Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel Seidenhof 3 stars

Sihlstrasse 9, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#63 of 122 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1967 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.1
    It's a pleasant stay for a harsh night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning is noisy during the night which woke me a couple of times. The boiler was not working but since I haven't use it so i didn't bother to tell the staff.

    I made the booking due to a flight delayed thus missing my connection flight. It was a fair price considering it's a last minute booking. The hotel is only 5min walk away from Zurich HB and 10-15 walk away from old town. The room is clean and staff are nice. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very near the train station. Breakfast provided is quite good. Free espresso machine in hotel lobby as well as in room. Complimentary water given during both check in and check out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    2 days in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived late, weather were cold (rain and wind), were hungry and wanted to visit hotel restaurant, it was 10.02 p.m., but the kitchen were closed at 10.00 and we had to go outside to find something to eat. It was not comfortable for us after long trip. It would be very helpful to prolong kitchen hours at least to 11.00 p.m for more convenience of latecomers.

    Location is great, near the central street and main railway station, but in quiet place. Breakfasts were wonderful, everything you need. Room was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Great bed and location, bad value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The value for money was totally gone. If this 3-star hotel would have been CHF 80, then it was fine. But for CHF 270 it is totally crazy.

    The bed was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Friendly reception, we were given a room upgrade and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find the entrance door to the hotel to begin with (most of the ground floor is a shop). Air conditioning would not go any lower than 22 degrees C, so spent a very restless night. No on-site parking, and nearby public carparks very expensive.

    Friendly reception, we were given a room upgrade and vouchers for their Oriental restaurant. Good location in business district. Spacious room with chairs and desk. Free wi-fi. Well appointed bathroom, but rather skimpy towels. Short walk to where we had our meeting. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Location excellent, comfortable beds, nice room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom hair from the previous guests on the wall. Fingerprints on the window apparently not cleaned

    Location excellent, comfortable beds, nice room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, pricey hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, mostly for day shopping in the business district and old city. Zurich is not big, so other locations were accessible by foot easily. Good breakfast. Not cheap

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Room was very spacious, AC was a blessing during the summer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator was not working properly when I arrived so I had to carry my luggage myself to the third floor. Some of the staff is more accommodating than others. A little expensive, but what isn't in Switzerland.

    Room was very spacious, AC was a blessing during the summer and the bed was incredibly comfy. I had to do some work over my stay and the internet connection as well as the desk space were very helpful. Staff is nice and accommodating. Great to have a restaurant in the hotel in case you arrive late or just aren't feeling like living the hotel. Very close to the train station as well as a bunch of bus stops and stores. Many good restaurants nearby too. Very easy to navigate around and cross the bridge if you want to go visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Very good Location, free coffee & snacks at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for basic room & 3 star hotel , tiles of the bathroom need to be more stable, no enough staff at the desk (most of the time , with many tourist with different queries )

    Very good Location, free coffee & snacks at the reception, good signal wifi, rituals toiletries, nice staff ( the 2 ladies at noon shift on 16/8 during my checkout ) very friendly & one gave me a bottle of water for the road

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Poor AC
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor AC Very very very noisy internal ( could be fan or AC system) that gives out extremely disturbing sound every 10 min, i could never sleep .. also poor restaurant ( breakfast was good) otherwise ain’t good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The specific room window was towards the center of the building with no outward view. But the hotel location is such you don't want to be in the room, it is just few steps away from Bahnhofstrasse , the main downtown street.

    Excellent hotel in the middle of the popular street. Staff were very helpfull and available 24hrs. Room condition was excellent and wifi is like home, 2 of us were streaming when at hotel and has been great. Breakfast was very good with special order items on menu included in price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very centrally located and by Zurich standards...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged me twice for the one night that i was there. When i contacted them they denied it and told me that i should call my own bank if there was a problem. I contacted them again (different person) and they denied charging me twice. Eventually they admitted it and it took two weeks to get my money back. Very poor service.

    The hotel is very centrally located and by Zurich standards good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Everything. Coffee and snacks were available 24/7. Breakfast was lovely. It was easy to get to the central station- just a quick five minute walk away! I will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    A cute hotel, convenient and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One (old) waitress at the restaurant was grumpy, unhelpful and sort of impolite.

    The location is perfect. The hotel is nice and the staff are excellent, with the exception of one

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was in the single room and it was actually nicer than the pics! Had all the normal hotel conveniences just a smaller bed! Nice big bathroom with bathtub. Comfy bed and pillows. Good TV channel selection. Quiet rooms. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, coffee/water/ fruits 24 hours,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast, coffee/water/ fruits 24 hours, comfortable beds, flexible and positive staff; excellent location -10 min of walking to the main rail station, 2 min. of walking to the main shopping street, 20 min of walking to the river /boats etc. Clean and comfortable room. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    A cute city hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One (oldish) lady in the restaurant was always grumpy, impolite and unhelpful.

    This property is situated in a perfect location. Close to shopping areas and an 8 minute walk to the train station. With the exception of one staff member, the rest were great. Very pleasant, polite and helpful. All greeted us whenever we passed them...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable price for central Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel as it had AC. However when we arrived it was obvious that it wasn't working correctly. The staff tried their best and management did offer a discount, but we had a bad nights sleep as it wasn't cool enough. They need to resolve this or remove AC from their advertising. Bathroom was ok but they need to replace the shower door as its broken. Bed was comfortable, although sleep was difficult as room was too hot.

    Reasonable price for central Zurich. The staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location with reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with reasonable price. Just walking by 7 minute from Zurich HB and also near tram station "Renweg". Staffs are friendly. The room is very nice and clean with nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    I was here for just one night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only low point during the stay was that Air conditioning was not working (it was roughly 28-30 degrees during summer) - due to which the stay in my room felt suffocated and the air con was not repaired until my checkout the next day. Besides this one low, the staff did everything to accommodate my discomfort by providing me a standing fan and tried their best, as the hotel was at full occupancy during my visit.

    I was here for just one night. The hotel staff were very good and very accomodating. The property is located in the heart of Zurich - just walking distance from the Zurich railway station, major sight seeing locations like the Grossmunster, Old Town & Lake Zurich. The breakfast was excellent & the bed comfy - room was quite compressed for space but all the positives outweigh the minor flaws. Definitely recommended for the breakfast, friendly staff & amazing location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    A bad night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise level from outside was horrible - I couldn't sleep. The air-conditioning was needed but never got cool enough.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff was helpful. The location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Sparkling clean rooms with comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparkling clean rooms with comfortable beds. This might sound funny, but their choice of soaps was a huge bonus. Nice stuff! Breakfast was wonderful. The location is a short distance from everything you want in Zürich.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Everything is perfect!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment handling. They charged my card with 180CHF while my booking was 135CHF. They told me they will give back the 180 and take 135CHF but one day after, not fixed yet. Guess have to wait.

    Room is nice, all I needed were provided. Breakfast is excellent. Location is great as well!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for a one-night stay in central Zürich. Well recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit basic and the atmosphere more like a canteen.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff and well equipped and clean rooms. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Frauds! They never returned my ''GUARANTEE" money back, contacted them & booking.com several times!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charged me for 534 chf as a ''Guarantee" and never returned my money back!! I contacted them several times and reported this to booking.com and nothing has been done about it!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Will not stay there again
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Air conditioning is very Bad

    The Air conditioning did not work and I had a room on the first floor, so if I open the windows its very noisy and if I close them its hell hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    It is a very good place to be.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the price. I was there in weekend and that price was ok. But in week days was not nice.

    I liked very much the hotel. The staff is amazing...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Superb stay in the heart of Zurich with everything at a walking distance.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the elevator was very very small and not smooth and had to wait to get a chance to go up. single room was a little small.

    the location was superb. the staff were so friendly and young. the rooms were very clean. the hotel was quiet and few mins walk from everything. next to alot of restaurants and shops. good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    I stay regularly here because convenient, staff helpful and breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most European hotels the rooms are small and the aircondtioning is centrally controlled and just too hot for sleeping. One good thing here unlike other European hotels you could open the window without stopping the aircondtioning.

    Location and friendly staff. Especially if you arrive early (as I do because of early arrival of plane) they make every attempt to get you a room so you can freshen up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most beds in Europe, they need a bed topper.. bed way too hard for comfort for me.

    Location. Stayed 3 separate nights. Got upgrade for two nights. When not upgraded shower was inconsistent with temperature.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Did not meet requirements and considered pricey for amenities offered. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very utilitarian premises. Basis amenities. Corridors continually smelled of cigarette smoke. Breakfast facilities somewhat disorganized and noisy.

    Bed very comfortable. AC worked well. Staff very helpful. Got a room at 0800 on Sunday morning. Also got an upgrade because assigned room was very small and shower door broken.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Centrally located, very functional hotel with good hospitality from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room is a bit small so it got very crowded at peak times. In general, Zurich is an expensive place.

    Very convenient central location, nice, clean and modern room with all the necessary facilities and very helpful and friendly staff. Everything worked perfectly in my room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the train station, stores and everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a kettle and a nespresso machine in the room. They both were rusted so I did not use them. It is nice they offer these things but sad that they cannot be used.

    Very close to the train station, stores and everything else. Good breakfast, and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice location and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is very little and unconfortable. Therer was a lady in reception not very friendly.

    The hotel very well located, the size of the room is ok. But you have to ask for an inside room, there is a club oppossite and in saturday it is a big party outside. We didn´t hear anyting. In general, the staff is very friendly. We forgot an adaptor and we borrow one from them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location and comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    more Sound proof please...

    Staff is very nice. Breakfast is good. Hotel provide welcome fruit and drinks (Herb water and coffee) in front of reception. Bed is comfy and guest can choose pillow from pillow list. Location is good and not far from station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Extremely convenient location-- a short walk from main...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely convenient location-- a short walk from main railway station, well-maintained rooms, helpful staff. The restaurant is quite good. In short value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really good. Close to the city center and railway station, the room was clean and spacious, beds were comfy, breakfast was okay. After breakfast you can find some snacks and drinks at the reception which was good for us as we arrived in the afternoon and our kid got some lemonade and croissant! Highly recommend! The staff was friendly and helpful!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition is not working well, but no big deal..

    Everything. Staff are nice. Location of the hotel is very convenient, 5 mins walk from the main station, lots of bar, restaurant and shopping mall. My room is great. We are upgraded to a suite(405) with a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size but this could be within Zurich Hotel standard.

    Very friendly reception staff. Ms. Hannah Kool suggested to use train (convenient and cheaper going to airport instead of taxi.) which I did. Good breakfast . Locations is close to major sights. Wooden parquet floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, expensive but that’s Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the hallways needs to be changed desperately. The lobby also could use an update. Towels also very thread bare and old.

    Great location, nice staff, very comfortable beds. Towels need improvement as did the overall look of the hotel. The carpets in the hallways were hideous, old and worn. Thankfully the room has wood flooring. The lobby area is also old and in need of a boost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed staying there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problem with toilet in our room but they fixed it first and then they changed our room .

    The location and staff were excellent! They accepted free late check out easily as we had children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay at the hotel. Based on several hotels we stayed in Switzerland, this room at hotel seidenhof is the biggest. Nice breakfast, central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Amazing location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cable television package had programming in German, French, Italian and Spanish. There was minimal programming in English. It's not a major problem but perhaps the hotel can include more English programming in its cable line-up.

    The bed was relatively large and it was comfortable. The complimentary shampoo, body wash and body lotions came with two options, which isn't a common practice at other hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was quite good and the service is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should check all the facilities on the room.

    Breakfast was quite good and the service is excellent. However, the facilities in room is not quite good as the price, some facilities were broken, and no one fix it. During the night time, some guests was talking very lound on corridor, that was very annoy. The reception was very nice, always try to help us. The locationis amazing, especially for people who loves shooping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast is amazing but does not have too much choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is amazing but does not have too much choice. However, the service is excellent and coffee is amazing. The front desk is very friendly, whenever we need help, they always help us. The facilities are not very quality, some of the facilities were broken, but still could be used.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    A good deal for a business traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not that I dislike it but would have preferred the room to br abit more spacious. Felt the rate was slightly over priced. Oh, that the restaurant was closed on Sunday for dinner!

    Location, Facilities and Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    a memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just perfect. When we got there they upgraded us to a double luxury room. Had a perfect view of the city. Breakfast was awesome. Everything was fresh and well prepared. The staff was helpful and smiling. They helped us with a restaurant booking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors were very tired and out dated . The room very small for the cost.

    The location is better than none. Staff are nice and helpful and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    The collaboration and assistance of staff always hlepful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as such...asked for a better rate since I m a regular customer....was given same rate offered by booking.com genius

    The collaboration and assistance of staff always hlepful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Location is the big winner for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby of hotel doesn’t match the nice location of the property. Seems the hotel might be trying to renovate here and there. Halls to the rooms had a run down feel to them despite rooms being modern and nice. Elevator was very small. Took a taxi to Prime Tower and it was 30 Franc. Not worth going in my opinion despite being a recommendation by front desk.

    Location is the big winner for this hotel. An easy walk to old town, cafes and shopping everywhere. Our room was comfortable, clean and modern feeling. Free breakfast was a nice touch. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    OVERALL A GOOD & COMFORTABLE STAY, EXCEPT FOR THE BREAKFAST, WHICH CAN IMPROVE IN VARIETY OF DISHES.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE ENTIRE BREAKFAST SET UP IS VERY LIMITED. THE SCRAMBLED EGGS ARE LUMPY AND HARD. THE BREAKFAST HAS DETERIORATED OVER THE YEARS. THE FRESHNESS IS SIMPLY NOT THERE, AS IT USED TO BE, EARLIER. FOR PEOPLE WHO DO NOT EAT PORK, THE ONLY OPTION IN COLD MEATS, WAS TURKEY SLICES; WHICH, IN MY OPINION, WERE STALE. THE CROISSANTS ARE NOT FRESH. THE BUFFET TABLES ARE NOT VERY CLEAN.

    THE PROPERTY IS EXCELLENTLY LOCATED AND I HAVE BEEN STAYING THERE FOR MORE THAN 15 YEARS. THE ROOMS ARE DECENT AND QUIET.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    prime location, very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old air condition (not central), a lot of street noise , specially on holidays , bed was huge but not so comfortable. no iron in the room

    prime location, very good! nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    More spacious than we expected. Comfortable bed with tea and coffee making facilities. Good buffet breakfast. Handy to railway station and local attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Would book it again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance. Very depressing when you enter the hotel. Very dark colors. Small restaurant has good food but it doesn’t look inviting.

    Location, well equipped rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Just a few short blocks from Zurich's Hauptbahnhof, this was an excellent choice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was adequate and met all of my needs. The staff were warm and friendly and eager to help. I wasn't too excited by the powdered eggs, but as it was a complimentary breakfast I certainly could not complain. Beautiful fresh breads and wonderful hot coffee with plenty of refills!

    I was so very impressed with the kindness and helpfulness of staff. I chose an executive room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was perfect with excellent hot water and pressure. And my room was quiet, even on New Year's Eve!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very good. Though the hotel is in the middle of the city, you have rooms which are quiet. The breakfast option is good. I like the Mishio restaurant as well for Asian cuisine. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Not memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room led to an inside patio and there was a continuous humming noise coming from some motor. At reception, they could not give us any tourist information map that was in English. Additional info: Bear in mind that in Zürich you do not get free access to public transport if you stay at a Hotel, as you do in many other Swiss cities.

    The Hotel was very easy to access from Zürich train station, which was our main goal. Breakfast was varied. Room size was OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    I would return here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Zurich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fine but with a wide range of options though it was nothing spectacular taste-wise.

    The location of the hotel was PERFECT. It is a 7 minute walk from Zurich HB (Main Station) and practically right on Bahnhofstrasse (main shopping strip). Not only that, but Old Town Zurich is also only more/less a 7 minute walk away which means you have easy access to great restaurants and sights. I could not believe how perfectly located this hotel was! It is especially great for solo travellers and those coming with children as you can come in and out throughout the day with ease due to its location. Moreover, the room was cosy and they provide you with lots of amenities (complimentary bottle of sparkling water, Rituals brand toiletries, a tablet for use in the rooms, Nespresso machine).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Centrally located, extremely convenient for a Zurich layover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable but the furniture (the desk, the shower) are in need of upkeep.

    The location couldn't have been easier - a 10 minute straight walk from the train station (which is only an 11 minute ride from the airport), very central to all the Christmas markets, shopping, etc. Despite being so central, there was no noise at night (Swiss rules!). The breakfast in the cafe downstairs was very convenient, too. Old Town is a 5-10 minute walk across the bridge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    good value 3 star hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good value 3 star hotel. super central location in Zurich city, very nice Asian restaurant in the evening, same restaurant in the morning little less comfy but still good choice of breakfast (included in hotel price), bed very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.2
    Waking up with Hilti drills kills your day!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay away from this hotel for next 6 months. The Hilti drills start at 8:00am in the morning for refurbishmemt. It says between 9:00-16:00 in the posts but not true. When I called the reception at 8:01 they just said they will notify the construction company and drills continued :((

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    I stayed there 10 nights for business. If I go again to Zurich I will book the same hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    WIFI could be improved. I asked for double bed but I received two attached twin beds which was not comfortable enough sometimes.

    Cozy hotel in a great location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Possibility of having breakfast in the room (free of extra charge).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is vey plain, but very comfortable. you can here is coridor but it was not too bad. the location is perfect! 2 min walk to the main street and 5 min walk from the main station. the room are not big but very comfortable. the toilet room is very small but the shower itself very comfortable. very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is of very limited choice only. Don't understand why need debit my credit card for twice for secure purpose. One when I made the booking and one when arrived. This cause confusion and the 2nd debit amt much higher than the room rate.

    Location is good. Shops, restaurants & supermarket nearby. 10mins walk to old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear noise from above through bathroom vents. Long walk to our room from lifts.

    Amazing breakfast. Location! In the Buzz of things. Free water. Nespresso coffee in room. Walking distance from station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    recommendation
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation can be better.

    Great location in the center of Zurich. Perfect price / quality ratio. Good breakfast, great wi-fi. The staff is very kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    When I arrived on Sunday evening, the staff were in the back...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    When I arrived on Sunday evening, the staff were in the back room smoking, so the entire lobby smelled like cigarettes. They were also a bit surly when I wanted to register... seems I broke up their smoking party. Room was stuffed with useless 'goodies' with the intention of 'upping their stars' but in reality, it is a 1 or 2 star hotel. Wold not recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Wide selection of choices of food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance key to my room only worked 1st time when i checked in, afterwards it never worked. Until i checked out it was not resolved.

    Wide selection of choices of food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Conveniently located business Hotel with small rooms but equipped with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with a tiny bed and certainly not value for money though the facilities provided with the room were excellent, liked the warm decor of white, red and grey. Loved the toiletries provided in the bath area- high quality.

    Croissants were not even warm. Did not like the breakfast service at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.4
    One time-stay enough for me... will check other hotels next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 311 was noisy - just unbearable that we had to request for transfer. The lift was small esp for 2 persons with luggage and the worse thing...it bounces 2 times upon touching the lobby level. At first, it stuns you but after many trips going up and down, somehow you just get used to it. Totally unexpected and hilarious!

    Location was tops. Very close to many eating and shopping places. Train terminal was an easy walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Expensive but appropriate for Zurich

    Stunning room - were given an upgrade and really enjoyed the experience. Wonderfully comfortable bed with excellent quality linen

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    The bathroom was much too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very small. I had trouble turning around without hitting the tap and I could not bend enough to wash my feet

    The bed was high which made it easy to get in and out of

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, superb staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was most impressed by the efficiency and courtesy of the staff - especially the parking valet. These are things I remember more than the décor or the croissants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too soft. High price.

    Good location, 7-8 minute walk to rail station, walking distance to old town and most attractions. Very good breakfast. Air conditioning. Room is clean and space is reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommend for very adequate functional stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some artwork on the walls

    Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff. Great location, walking distance to train station, and shopping. Good value, breakfast was included. Quiet room, room modern and well appointed and functional.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sorell Hotel Seidenhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: