Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spinne Grindelwald 4 stars

Dorfstraße 136, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#27 of 40 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 366 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Spacious, comfortable, nice location l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would b even fantastic if we can have our breakfast at the balcony terrace, just like the picture.

    The room is really spacious, with a balcony with Eiger view! Very comfortable room, location is great too, near to grindelwald train station. Walking distance to first and pfingsteg cable car station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff. right location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean, but the hall carpets are quite old and grotty and the noise insulation is bad. But this is very common in the older mountain hotels

    The room was clean and nice with a great view. The Hotel Terrace restaurant was very nice and. We were there for an ultra Marathon, and they had exactly the right set-up for the pasta bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, we reserved the Eiger room and it is just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went at low season so the restaurant was not open except breakdast

    Perfect location, we reserved the Eiger room and it is just like fairy tale. And it is quiet still easy to shop around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the restaurant was closed. Understand why given it was the start of the low season but it would be good to know prior to booking.

    Location and view of the Eiger from our room was a highlight. Extremely comfortable beds and great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful view of mountains, will go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have loved to go to the spa/sauna, but did not feel comfortable to go "textile free".

    Good location, restaurant food is excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient location & great staff& views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. !

    All staff very friendly and helpful. View from balcony of North Face of Eiger is superb. Food at Hotel Eiger across the road is very good. All staff,specially Diego&Carla very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Amazing location and fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of trouble with the hot water in the shower if it was a busy time in the hotel, sometimes it would cut out and the pressure was low

    Amazing view from our room, absolutely stunning. The hotel is a bit older but still a great place to stay. Very nice rooms and the staff were great. The restaurant was also great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    We are very happy to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a little simple, but acceptable .

    Excellent location, room, view , receptionist are all very nice and helpful, give all required info about the ski and transportation, we stay in room 601 which is a suite, spacious and wonderful view, great for 3-4 people family, they also help us to pick up at station as we have 3 big luggage, fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Overall excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better choice for evening meal menu, could make more use of the lounge area as a pre-dinner drinks area with a member of staff dedicated to serving drinks there.

    Best scrambled eggs and excellent Swiss musilie at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Mountain Dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The room was beautiful, the view from the room was breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and always there to help you. Location close to the train station (ca. 5 min walking).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    The location is good and the room spacious,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Their definition of "Eiger view" is somewhat large. It could only be seen when standing on the balcony. Otherwise what was visible from the room was the roof of part of the hotel and a large pipe. - The double glazing did not keep out the noise from the street - The tourist tax was not included in the price stated on Booking.com

    The location is good and the room spacious,. What's great is the room had a wooden floor so it was very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Everything was above expectations, particularly the room and sauna facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is 3 min walk up a hill but had a loading/unloading zone right next to door

    Excellent location, wonderful view of the Eiger from balcony, superb room - very comfortable, large size, beautifully decorated, large & varied breakfast, amazing spa and the best bar in town is on the building!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Once in a lifetime, unforgettable experience. We highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was amazing. The staff was excellent and the food was so delicious. Very romantic getaway. Best location and in our opinion, best hotel in Grindelwald.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly. The room is very cozy and has all the facilities you need in a hotel. The breakfast was really delicious and has varieties of food to choose from. The view from the room was breathtaking. The location is near the Grindelwald train station and the cable car to Grindelwald First. The hotel has its own restaurant and spa & wellness. I definitely recommend this to everyone! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Our stay was below expectation and due to the poor breakfast offer, we did not eat dinner here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The breakfast choice is very limited; 2. Scrambled Eggs are free but they charge for fried eggs; 3. Food not properly heated 4. Very noisy at night time until early morning hours

    1. Very centrally positioned - near shops,station 2. Comfortable beds 3. Clean rooms 4. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Central location with easy access to all Grindelwald has to offer ;-)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi service did not work for us at all but we didn't have the need for our phones much anyway. We thought the room was a bit small for the price.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful the entire stay! Breakfast was very good with cold meats, fruits, cereal, cheeses and even warm eggs and bacon. Great location in center of Grindelwald with shops right out the front door. Bed was comfy and warm. Great view of the Eiger from terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Really helpful receptionist, since first time we contacted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful receptionist, since first time we contacted them to ask for a portier drive at night. In the morning we had really good coffee. Breakfast was delicious and staff really friendly. Thanks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Eiger view with easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not bright enough at room. Choices of breakfast buffet are not enough.

    Good location and nice Eiger view from room. Staff are friendly and provides you discounts to enjoy activities in Grindelwald. Easy access after get off from train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was way too hot during the night. Noise from the hall with opening and closing of doors.

    Great location, nice staff, clean room with a great view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.3
    Could have chosen a nicer one in Grindelwald at this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs at reception are required for better friendliness.

    Staffs at breakfast are very kind and friendly. You could feel a little bit swiss wooden house.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Unforgettable Swiss experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was absolutely nothing to complain about...

    - an amazing view of the mountains - a nice and relaxing spa - friendly and helpful stuff had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. would definitely come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    The heating system could not work after 1 o'clock at...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system could not work after 1 o'clock at night, which is the most disappointing part of the wonderful hotel. As everyone knows, the temperature could be rather low in the mountainous area, it was utterly cold!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay in Grindelwald with great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that I can really say here, everything was good. The only thing is that in the lounge you can sometimes feel a bit of a draft when a lot of people are entering and leaving the hotel.

    The service was great - all staff was very kind and did their best to make our stay a good experience. The location is nice, right by a bus stop so you can reach both Grindelwald First, the trainstation and Grindelwald Männlichen very easily. Even though we did not have the half-board we did eat dinner at the restaurant one night and it was very good food. I am sure the half-board would be very satisfying as well. The wellness area is not large but it covers all your needs, it has 3 different saunas and a bubble bath. Our room was quite large - we had a corner room. The beds were comfortable and the view of the Eiger was spectacular. All in all a very good stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location, excellent sauna, breathtaking view, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit too modest, and the standard room is a bit too small

    Great location, excellent sauna, breathtaking view, clean refurbished rooms, very nice restaurant, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Location amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron machine inside the room.

    Location amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Excellent view of the mountains!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Mainland China women climbed from their room window to my balcony and peeped inside of my room. it's not the fault of the hotel.

    nice views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to train and gondola. We were upgraded to junior suite which was great and our views were spectacular

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Linen was not prepared or available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen was not prepared or available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet a bit small.

    View of Eiger at the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Cute room with excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is cute. Location is good. Excellent view around the areas to take photos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Nice breakfast, location and high speed internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony lacking the privacy.

    Nice breakfast, location and high speed internet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were perfect and the location too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps and the Hall ways before entering your room are very old

    The rooms were perfect and the location too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, view, clean, SPA facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, other guests

    Location, view, clean, SPA facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent facilities and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luggage tags when leaving bags No coffee at breakfast

    Excellent steam room, jacuzzi, sauna and ICE room fountain Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    staff were extra helpful and flexible about parking the car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff were extra helpful and flexible about parking the car and allowing us to shower even after we had checked out. much appreciated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 4 star, nightclub noise till 3am. Also charged for carparking.

    Great location wonderful viewd

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff, prefect breakfast, amazing view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Heart of Grindelwald
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather.

    View and Sauna. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    January skiing in grindlewald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fruit in the room needed changing but I'm being picky!

    Great view of the eiger. Warm comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Good Location, nice spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Location, nice spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Last minute booking turned into a delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs to be upgraded

    Amazing view from our gorgeous room, lovely balcony with a view of heaven.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location with great views, but was not worth the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited staff at breakfast, not much breakfast to choose from, parking only for 6cars only stressful to get one of these, also costs to park.

    Views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many insect inside the room

    Excellent view, good service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous. Very helpful staff, always with a smile and ready to support in any matter. Great breakfast with an outstanding view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Totally amazing location, hotel and view. Great local restaurants and most of all you must make the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Open rooms, great view, great location, nice and clean with friendly services. Sauna and spa tub a relaxing bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Everything was very nice and the facilities were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very nice and the facilities were amazing. Anything you need was inside. Love the Sauna area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The view from our room and from the restaurant terrace was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room and from the restaurant terrace was absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish our room was in the 5th floor.

    the hotel is near the train station. Good Eiger view, but too close ;)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fairly basic. Had to pay for parking.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Excellent view!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    The spa, rich breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't so clean

    The spa, rich breakfast, location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Magic views, much needed rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just what we all needed a little spoiling.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very very clean, super cute and with excellent mountain view from the balcony. Staff is extremely friendly. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    The views from my room & nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from my room & nice hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast. Very nice view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    6.3
    at the spa you are not allow to go with a swimming suit on,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    at the spa you are not allow to go with a swimming suit on, only naked. totally disagree as i chose this hotel having a sauna too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.3
    Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was in a single room, so pretty small, but as i would have expected

    Excellent location Nice dining options Excellent staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.9
    Quiet room, cool to have a sauna after a ski day, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room, cool to have a sauna after a ski day, nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable accommodations and easy access to all the local activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower water temperature was a little temperamental.

    The staff were great and it was easy to park our car.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    We absolutely loved the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I really can't think of anything!

    We absolutely loved the hotel! Stayed in one of the suites which was very spacious( we were four with the children), comfortable, plenty of space to unpack, two bathrooms( one with shower, the other a huge one with a shower, two basins and a bathtub in the middle), the view was fantastic, we were next to the mini golf. Breakfast was delicious: cold cuts, cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon, yoghurt, fruits, etc. We had dinner at the hotel, everything delicious, the setting, calm, quiet. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.3
    Good central location in Grindelwald, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately the general standard of hotels in Grindelwald is rather dissappointing and surprising given the popularity for international tourist (Eiger, Jungfraujoch). Mostly rather ugly blockbuildings, stuffy interiors and ex-soviet style feeling. The location, balcony view and the terrace in nice weather did wonders though and the stay was very enjoyable. The room was a non-smoking room but smelled of smoke and wunderbaum spray to cover it up. This though dissappeared after airing for a day. Hotel staff told us, they had a problem with visitors from various background adhering to the no-smoking rules. The most unpleasant part was unfortunately the inconsiderate behaviour of many fellow travellers from various backgrounds. There were guests form China, Korea, Japan, Argentina, Spain, Norway, France etc. Not everyone respected the peace and quiet of fellow travellers. Children were allowed to run around the corridors screaming until 11 pm...groups were visiting each other in the rooms with the doors left open until late evening. As the hotel is very sound sensitive and not very well sound-insulated at all, we could hear people walking upstairs, the children screaming in the corridor, one neighbour watching TV, the other scream-skyping with the family back home for 90 min with the door open..All of this at the same time...at 10 pm.....The staff was very helpful to try and mediate, but I think the swiss civilised quietness that normally is adhered to is difficult to enforce with visitors from so many different backgrounds. In the future, we will probably look for a more quiet hotel, not so much used for group tourists.

    Good central location in Grindelwald, very nice garden-terrace restaurant with unobstructed views over the Eiger. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a room to the south, the balcony also overlooking the Eiger.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast and spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service at the restaurant could have been better. The hotel has limited parking facilities - so we had to park at the city parking for the entire duration of our stay.

    Excellent breakfast and spa area. The room was very cozy. The ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.1
    Two top floor suites are really nice and spacious, and views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Breakfast were basic, little choice of poor quality- especially the bread was not really fresh, the halfboard dinner menu was canteen like and really unappetizing- would have expected better quality, especially for the Easter weekend 2. Kids in spa area after their allowed time, spa small and overcrowded, was a bit funny to see naked adults squeezing with kids in the little jacuzzi, the humid sauna was not working so not a pleasant experience this time. 3. We booked eiger view suite, as we stayed in it before, however on arrival I could see lights there and then we just got key from the other suite without any explanation. Not complained as the other suite was also nice and we were just too tired anyway for going back and forth, but its a bit dissapointing as you expect and pay for something you know and then get something different.

    Two top floor suites are really nice and spacious, and views from there are just amazing lovely to be there in summer as well as in winter sun!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Amazing service, the staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing, perfect hotel, and team!

    Amazing service, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The view - incredible! The room was very clean, nicely furnished and well equipped. Glad to have English TV channels. Breakfast was unforgettable, and we really can't wait to go back! Thank you hotel spinne!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.5
    the staff were excellent,friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although I paid extra for an upgraded room - it was not in main hotel but down a dark dull low ceiling corridor. No info was given about Eiger which would have been a bonus. The room itself had a balcony with an awesome view but we found the room was dark on account of overhanging balcony above. Room was adjoining another and over heard neighbours easily. Room was too warm even with radiators turn off- we slept with door open.

    the staff were excellent,friendly and kind. The location of Grindelwald was superb and the location of the Hotel Spinne within Grindelwald village was great right beside bus stops and in the centre.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.6
    Great view of the Eiger mountain and surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was really hot in Grindewald when we were there and they did not have air conditioning or any type of fan.

    Great view of the Eiger mountain and surrounding areas. We sat out on the patio every night. No else btreakfast, too!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I didn't like the flies at the breakfast, but they are at every single restaurant in Grindelwald, weird?

    The view!!! We stayed in the suite and it was awesome. Very comfortable, convenient location and the suite was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    We had lovely room with view of the Eiger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Daily onslaught of coach party guests descending on mass to breakfast making it a less pleasurable experience

    We had lovely room with view of the Eiger. Good quality of good at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    8.3
    Loved the spa area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdoor bar staff bit lazy , and you get basic 1 tea bag in room first day then have to buy from them on , not replenished daily , we were not told either so not aware , really what would it cost them for little things that are standard everywhere else

    Loved the spa area

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.6
    Definitely splurge on the Eiger view room - it was worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You do hear a bit if street noise if you leave the window open. We stayed in May, so it wasn't a busy season and it wasn't an issue.

    Definitely splurge on the Eiger view room - it was worth it! The hotel staff was excellent! I arrived with a recently sprained ankle. They found me a doctor, willing brought ice to the room and in essence provided the comfort needed when you are injured away from home. Beyond that everyone was friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    Great view and a hearty breakfast to start the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow to have the rooms ready for checkin same the next day to have room freshened up was late afternoon

    Great view and a hearty breakfast to start the day

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    The rooms were absolutely lovely, well furnished and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Naked spa could awkward if travelling with extended family members!

    The rooms were absolutely lovely, well furnished and comfortable and spacious. The staff were wonderful too, when our daughter came down with chicken pox they organised an appointment with the doctor for us. We felt really well looked after. We can recommend the breakfasts, and the packed lunch (you can order them for cost) for the journey home. Really liked that it was easy to get in the ski room, it is on pavement level. We would stay here again!

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: