Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Splendid 3 stars

Grand rue 52, 1820 Montreux, Switzerland

#17 of 40 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 685 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no a/c just a regular stand up fan. Room was in pretty old condition. Considering it was $350 a night, I was expecting something more up to date with more comfortable beds. Make sure if you are a US traveler to pay in USD. I ended up paying an extra $30 because I chose CHF. Let your credit card company do the conversion for you.

    Great location and staff. Breakfast was fantastic and staff were kind but hotel rooms need to be updated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Centrally located hotel, where I enjoyed a comfortable stay and had a room with beautiful lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room needs to be more modern - hotel needs to be renovated

    - the location is excellent - the staff are accommodating - the balcony and lake view is splendid

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Central location, frindly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircondition.

    Friendly stuff and top central views and location. Bus stop and is infront of the Hotel. All of the buses in Montreux are free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic family-run hotel in the heart of Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay at this family-run hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to help us including extending our stay for an extra night at short notice. Lovely, large, clean and comfortable double ensuite room. Hotel quiet at night. Good breakfast with great coffee. Excellent free WIFI. Hotel Splendid is within walking distance of the railway station and overlooks the Lake (central location within Montreux). All staff were very knowledge on local attractions, transport links and local walking routes in the mountains. We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Basic but fine, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite run-down but ok for the price in super-pricey Montreux, especially in that great location. Very basic breakfast in a lovely room.

    Terrific location & great view. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff and owner are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel located on the lake side street which is the lower level from Montreux station. You can take elevator from station level to go down the lake side street. However, the elevator is closed on Sunday, when I checked out, so I have to carry my suitcase up the long stairs. Thanks to one lady and a gentleman who help me carry the suitcase up to the station. I booked the lake-view room and I got the lake-view room but my room was at the 2nd floor. So the view of the lake is partial blocked by the cables from the main street.

    The staff and owner are very friendly. There is no air condition in the room (which the hotel already mentioned on the website) but there is a big electric fan in the room instead so it is not too hot when you are in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great hospitality, a little loud in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is above a hooka bar, so our room was a bit noisy late into the evening and sometimes smoke came through the open window. The beds are also very firm.

    We particularly liked the proprietor of the hotel. He was friendly and welcoming and provided a simple but lovely breakfast. The location of the hotel was also brilliant and central, right across from the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old and had a funny smell (maybe the old carpet?). The bed was not very comfortable, I woke up with back pain. The breakfast was really disappointing, with no eggs, really bad coffee and not fresh croissants (and very narrow selection of food).

    Very good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Expensive but stunning view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning view from the lake view rooms and a balcony with table and chairs to enjoy it from. A short walk from the train with a public elevator to save the steep walk. Very good breakfast and helpful staff. Only down side is that Montreux is so expensive. The Splendid was by far our most expensive stay but who can resist that lake view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel at great location, very friendly and helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small, but big enough for one person. I booked a room without view as I wanted to save some money, but when you leave the hotel via the front door the view is amazing right away!

    Nice hotel at great location, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast (but not much choice)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was excellent. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect. Central and convenient. Breakfast was great. Dinner was as well. Very clean. Great bed. Old world charm with very updated bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, owner very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better variety of milk at breakfast, there was no soy or lowfat options. The meat and cheese platters were very plain but they did cook delicious eggs on request.

    Upon checkin, Yvan was very friendly. We needed to check out early (07.45am) the next day so would have missed breakfast. He went above and beyond to have the kitchen open early for us to eat before we left. The location is excellent with plenty of public parking nearby. The views of the lake are beautiful and our room was huge! They had the most comfortable adjustable beds. A true family run hotel which has been in the family for generations. Excellent customer service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Splendid was the best hotel my wife an I stayed in during our one week trip in Switzerland. We stayed in two more cities but our stay in Montreux and at Splendid came out as the best. Breakfast was superb with very friendly Franca taking good care of us making delicious omelets per order. The view from the restaurant was great with lake Geneva and mountains around it clearly visible while enjoying high quality breakfast. You could even sit in the little balcony if you came in early in the morning for a nice outdoors breakfast with cool breeze from lake Geneva and beautiful view of the lake. One of the outstanding features of hotel Splendid was its friendly staff and especially Mr. Yvan the owner of Mayfair restaurant. He would greet us every evening as we got back to a cup of tea and would give us wealth of information about Montreux and Switzerland. His suggestions to visit places and very little known areas around town, as well as cultural information about Switzerland were priceless. He also gave us some very interesting facts about Hotel Splendid and how some historic icons spent time there. We truly enjoyed chatting with him and look forward to seeing him and the rest of the staff again. Lastly, for prospectus travelers who are looking for a good value hotel with access to most active parts of town and reasonable price with friendly staff and excellent breakfast: Splendid is true to its name!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Splendid location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a kettle in the room.

    The location is perfect, right on the lakeside near Freddie Mercury's statue. I watched a stunning sunrise over the mountains from my room. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in in years!Powerful shower too. Staff were polite and friendly. However I was not offered a Riveria card, and i had to ask for this. The card and discounts were invaluable to my trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff good, rooms need some help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom with no counter space or hooks for hanging things. Tile needed scrubbing in the corners. Sparse furnishings. Only mirror in bathroom.

    David at front desk was great help in planning our day sightseeing. Better than the Information office across the street. Location very nice, view from balcony lovely. Hotel coupon for free public transportation, especially bus 201, and discounts saved us money and time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend everything is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room cuz consider about security, but can ask hot water from the bar downstairs

    Highly recommend everything is perfect!location is good like 3 mins to train station, but stop is in front of ground floor, easier to go vevey, the bed is comfortable! Our room has a big window, good view to see lake and sunset! Highly recommend!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Quirky building which was probably magnificent fifty years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/ tea making facilities in room. Lots of noise made by loud car engines at night.

    Fantastic location and easy to access from train station. Our second floor room had a balcony with lake view. Comfortable bed. Adequate bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    The location is right on the lake, the staff were friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location unfortunately was further from lake so had the road in front of it, and windows not so good even though they tried with double glazing, still gap between the window and can hear all traffic and late night noises

    The location is right on the lake, the staff were friendly and helpful, advising where we can go and even giving us a discount coupon for public transport to be free and discounts to museums

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Splendid indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful hint: there are 2 elevators on street across from train station to get to the lower level street for hotel entrance. We took the scenic walk with luggage until we found them.

    Everything was wonderful; the view, location, breakfast and staff. Well worth the little extra expense for a room with a balcony lake view! The manager/reception person made our trip so much easier. He was so helpful and went out of his way assisting us with transportation for all our plans. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Our room was the lakeview.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    egg... The breakfast was good except no eggs....

    Our room was the lakeview. It was fantastic~mountains with snow and sparkling lake, nice reataurant nearhear~ Despite of bad weather, we really enjoy to stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast staff and no one helped me. I didn’t know how or what I could get.

    The manager was so nice and friendly! Great guy ! Helped me with my luggage and speaks great Spanish!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff was helpful and friendly and the facilities were all clean.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were acceptable and clean but not the most comfortable. The restaurant served a nice breakfast as well as the dinner we ate one evening.

    The hotel location was perfect. Very easy walk to and from train station. We visited during the Christmas holidays and the hotel was directly across from the Christmas Market that is set up along the lakefront.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Location is near station and also close to christmas market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property need so renovation. Price a bit high

    Location is near station and also close to christmas market. Breakfast was good. The receptionist was very good. He explain to us how to walk around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Hotel was lacking, but that view and location helped!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very dated and bland. There wasn't a lobby at all - just a check-in window on the first floor. It was a value hotel so I didn't have high expectations, but I was still disappointed by the rooms. The walls were completely bare (no hangings or art) and there were scuff marks of all different colors all over them. The two "rugs" on either side of the bed looked like a carpet sample from 1980 - they were small, dirty and uncomfortable. The curtains were mostly sheer so I often woke up to city lights during the night. The bathroom was sufficient, but also dated. I think they could do some small, inexpensive updates that would make a huge difference (e.g. fresh coat of paint, replace rugs, and add a picture or two).

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was modest, but sufficient. The location was excellent - very close to the train station and the view of the Lake was stunning. We loved our balcony with the beautiful view of the Lake. The region was expensive, so it was nice to have an option at a lower cost. The housekeeping staff did a nice job tidying the rooms each day when we were gone. Despite some of the negatives of this hotel, we loved the region so much that we ended up staying at this hotel an extra night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location and view for a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel interior could use some sprucing up.

    Excellent location near the train station with a great view of the lake and the mountains. The price was excellent for the view. The room was spacious and the staff was friendly. I arrived at 9:30am and my room was ready for me. Breakfast was decent, with a nice view of the lake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, period hotel with lift, newly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, period hotel with lift, newly refurbished large rooms. Hotel is 5 min walk from train station and directly across from boat harbour for cruises on Lake Geneva. Spectacular sunsets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    A Great Location For A Reasonable Price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a great location! We got a room with a balcony for a few dollars more, and I highly recommend that. We had a fantastic view of the most beautiful sunset, and it was fun sitting on the balcony watching the action below. It was a short walk from the train station, but it was up and down some walkways. There was an elevator which really helped. It was within walking distance of Chateau de Chillon, and it was a gorgeous walk along Lake Geneva. We could also walk quite easily to the downtown area for dinner or shopping or for Migros, which was close by. Our room was very spacious. Lots of room to spread things out. The staff was very helpful and made sure our requests were met. There was a bus stop very close to the hotel, and we hopped on the bus to go to Vevey, which was also a fun outing and less than a 30 minute bus ride away. The breakfast was really delicious, and we ate it while sitting by a large window overlooking Lake Geneva. I am so glad we found Hotel Splendid!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with the best views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are very grateful for the friendly staff who offered us the room with the best lake views in Montreux!! This hotel is a great place for business or leisure trip, perfectly situated near the train station and in front of the beautiful mountains and lake scenery. Really recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the toilet / shower was motion sensor operated. It went off twice when I was showering and scared the hell out of me! You will need to open the door of the shower enclosure and wave at the light periodically to keep it on.

    David was very friendly and hospitable! The room was very spacious and we had a high ceiling room (on level 4).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location with an excellent view of Lake Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is on the noisy side with thin walls, bathroom a bit cramped. No A/C and was warm, but too noisy to leave the door/window open.

    Great location with an excellent view of Lake Geneva. Very convenient to the bus or train station. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was booked because of easy access to the railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was booked because of easy access to the railway and boat stations. It was a happy choice as the staff were friendly and welcoming and the room more than sufficient for a one-night stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location opposite the lake, 5 minutes walk from station and with bus stop right outside.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally good check-in and friendly welcome from David, who explained the local "must see" sights and explained how to reach them. Local transportation card is offered to all guests, which makes the whole area accessible without having to figure out how to buy tickets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Good small place. Not fancy, but worth short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Ac in room and it's getting hotter in Switzerland in summers.

    Very good place, opposite to Lake. Staff was very friendly. One Mr. Houseman from the front desk was very informative.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Cosy Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not exactly a Hotel setup but kind of rooms only. No 24/7 hotel reception service. Lift is a real squeeze, hence will have to make a few trips up to the room. We were given the top floor but no lift access. Having 2 toddlers plus luggage proved to be challenging going another floor up/down via stairs.

    Walking distance to the recommended City Walking Way. Close to restaurants. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Do not stay here until they fix their ventalation and mold problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    MOLDY bathroom, just awful. It was very uncomfortable using the facility.

    View was great Bed was OK Breakfast was odd, they did offer eggs cooked to order, but not sure they could cook eggs any style except scrambled

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Splendid est tres Magnifique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to not like at the property. Charming staff, and super location.

    The staff was very friendly and warm. Since we are vegetarians, they were also able to guide us on the food options in Montreux. They arranged a vegetarian breakfast for us, despite us not having them informed them in advance. The hotel has a nice cafe as well that over looks the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall a very good stay with good value for money and excellent vies over the beautiful Lac Leman.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would extend a bit the breakfast hrs as many clients may need to have breakfast early to get on-time for work. Having the breakfast starting at 7pm wouldn't be a bad idea. Also enriching a bit the breakfast menu.

    Making check-in available and easy even late at night with no extra cost. Lake view rooms are nice and the rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, straight out onto the lakeside in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An older building, so no a/c but a good fan. Just something to bear in mind when you're booking. The benefits outweigh this, for me.

    Great location, straight out onto the lakeside in the morning, easy access to trains, busses and boats. Good selection of restaurants nearby, great help from David at reception. If you like to spend time in your room looking at a wonderful view, I have no doubt that the upgrade here to a lake view would be worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Glad we booked this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    Beautiful view from full length window and balcony over the lake; rooms high enough over the street to avoid street noise. Very friendly owner and staff. Great restaurants nearby. Absolutely no complaints.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Awesome trip in Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    What can you say about a hotel with lake view on the shores of Lac Léman in the heart of Montreux? It was an amazing stay, waking up in the morning and enjoying the beauty of the lake from the windows. Breakfast has all the basics and you can ask for omelette or boiled eggs. Rooms are big and the bed is comfy but don't stay in the room, the riviera is delightful decorated with the most varied plants and flowers. There is a short duration parking just in front of the hotel until you unload your luggage and a litter further down the road there is underground parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money. Family friendly place !! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property didn't have a/c had to keep the windows open - though the breeze from Lake Geneva was excellent, the downside was the outside noises made sleeping a challenge.

    less than 10 minute walk from the train station. Great view of Lake Geneva. Very friendly staff (special shout out to Mr. Ivan). Big spacious rooms. Have a lot of eating options near by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    Hotel is for people who go wander around during the day and sleep immediately after coming back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small and most importantly there is no desk that I can use. Bathroom is extremely small and there was a hair on one of the towels. It looks like the room as well as the whole building is maintained very poorly. There was a clock on the wall but the battery is dead. The hotel claim to be 3 star but I feel that even the picture I found about 2 star hotel looks better than the room in which I stayed.

    Hotel staff, at least some of them, are nice people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    It was just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it was in a historic building, it could use some sprucing up. E.g. some fresh paint, remove the damaged furniture from the hallways.

    The location was the best part of the stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.4
    Pleasant, but we arrived on the Monday after the jazz festival ended so the prom was full of litter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer and service in the bar could have been a lot better.

    Coffee, bread, ham and cheese. Waitress asked how we liked our eggs, I replied 3 minutes, she said are you in a hurry only it may take a while, 😂😂. Location good for bus, just outside front door, escalator to train station 100Mtr. Ship quay just across the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Best stop on a long road trip.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything!

    The staff was friendly and helpful, The location was perfect, directly on the lake with access to all the shops and restaurants and ferries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Dated charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real staff, dated amenities.

    Superb location for visiting Montreux - the beautiful paddle steamers stop right under your balcony and the lake view is amazing. The hotel is a bit jaded but exudes a dated charm. The "bathroom"corner in our room was an ingenious curiosity. Breakfast is included in the rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Historical Building with Convenient Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is pretty old. The carpet in the room feels like dusty. Renovation is needed.

    Location is very convenient. 4-5 minutes to the Montreux Train Station. Located on the main street. Bus stop is found just outside the hotel. Staff are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Montreux one-nighter.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con meant having to close the french doors to keep out the noise from the festival, so it was a bit warmer than we would have preferred.

    Location was great. The old building had charm. Breakfast was fine, though I'm glad from previous reviews that you can ask for cooked eggs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist is very friendly and professional. He solved all my problems effectively. Besides, the housekeeping staff is also very honest. I left my necklace inside the bathroom and it is kept safely in the office which allow me to collect back during my next visit :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing and too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not at all like the ones shown on the pictures. It was shabby with water stains on the ceiling, the walls in desperate need of either new wallpaper or a coat of paint, the wooden furniture old, full of stains, marks and scratches.

    Centrally located and a very nice view of the lake. Towels and bedding looked new and were clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    The right choice for 3 nights in Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The regular coffee wasn't great, but the cappucinos were better.

    Montreux is expensive, and the Hotel Splendid seemed like one of the few decent values. The location is great, a 10-minute walk to the train station, just across the street from the Esplanade (and ferry stop). The lobby and hallways looked a bit worn, but our room (352) was comfortable and very clean, with a comfy bed storm shutters that made the room extra-dark for sleeping. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was quite plentiful, with yoghurt, fruit, croissants and rolls - plus freshly cooked eggs!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Definitely would stay there again! Montreux was a very pretty town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great! Can't think of any improvements.

    Breakfast was excellent! Service was courteous and very friendly. I was recovering from a travel bug while I was there and I felt well cared for. The room with the large balcony overlooking the lake was beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Splendid offers room with a beautiful view and a reasonable price in Montreux, Switzerland
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No complaints.

    The balcony was absolutely wonderful with a view of Lake Geneva and the mountains! The sunset every evening was simply gorgeous. The price is quite reasonable for the area. The location was great, close to the train station, close to the music and convention center and just across the street from the lake. Breakfast was simple but just fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, beautiful view, staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, but we knew that in advance. Our window opened, fan was provided, and they brought ice. So it was fine.

    Excellent location, beautiful view, staff very helpful. They brought us ice, extra pillows, and even opened the breakfast service early the day we left because we had an early train. Breakfast was great, eggs made fresh to order! Very close to train station also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Choice for Those Dersiring a Hotel Near Transport Hubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located on a busy street. Traffic noise stopped around 10:00 PM.

    The the location was excellent. The hotel is directly across from the ferry, and the train station was easily accessed via public elevator just steps from the hotel. Public transport was just in front of the hotel. The lake view room was recently renovated and had a beautiful view of Lake Geneva. The staff was wonderful. They gave us many tips on things to see and do. There is a Migros and a McDonalds a short walk away near the Freddie Mercury statue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We enjoyed the stay in this hotel. Very good location. Everything within walking distance. Lovely staff, very helpful. A couple of minor details: tea/coffee facilities in the room would be useful and a bit more variety for breakfast would be nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Room with balcony & awesome lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot at night, not sure if we can open up all windows at night as we are at the first floor, close to the main street

    Good views, our room is facing the lake, very helpful & friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Splendid Hotel Splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Splendid. The staff was remarkable. They answered all of our questions, gave tips on what to do in the area..........overall accommodating. There was a special feel in this place. They love Switzerland and that joy was contagious. No coffee in the rooms, but no worries. An easy run to the breakfast room and you could take coffee to the room, that was a winning point for us! I would recommend Hotel Splendid whole heartedly:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location, perfect base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small balcony overlooking the lake and our picnic dinners on that were memorable. The location was brilliant - near the train station, on the lake and with buses on the doorstep. Old hotel but was excellent for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Lakeside Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave :)

    Perfectly situated on the lakefront, in the heart of the city, and only a short easy walk from the railway station. Spectacular views over Lake Geneva from your room added to the overall enjoyment of being there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet failed on second day. Restaurant wasn't open, although we were told it would be.

    Great location-very near rail station and bus stops. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful views but rough around the edges
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a hassle and expensive at about 25 CHF per night. The hotel is a bit rough around the edges e.g. paint peeling etc. Option of firmer pillows in room please!

    The location is amazing and the views breath taking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.9
    Great view, happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware there is no air-condition as it is an old building. I was going in winter and no problem on me.

    Good location with great view, just opposite to the pier.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Splendid indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a brighter light over the mirror in the bathroom.

    We loved the friendly and helpful staff. We loved the wonderful breakfast while over looking the lake (went with the room we booked with the lake view) and we loved, loved, loved the little terrace off our room and the beautiful lake view. The room was perfect too. Also loved the fact that the hotel has been run by the family for more than a century!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value facing Lake Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noise. Since my room faced west, it was very warm in the afternoon.

    The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and gave excellent sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. My room offered a view of Lake Geneva and the Alps.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.3
    Very ordinary hotel with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people smoking big tobacco 'jars' at the front entrance.

    This hotel is all about the view. The hotel is very old, the entrance seedy and the room ordinary with very ordinary bathroom. But the view makes up for the rest. Don't get a room without the view because it would be awful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    8.3
    Splendid location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are too soft, will need extra to sleep properly.

    The lake view from the balcony is great; the location of the hotel makes it easy to walk to any place in Montreux.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a bit earlier for us as we had an 8o'clock train.

    We enjoyed hearing the hotel's history from one of the owners. Our room was facing the water and we had a magnificent sunset and sunrise on the balcony, although it was a bit cold to sit there. The bed was very comfortable, the room better than expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    A faded film Star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit 'faded' in parts. It had an entrance that couldn't create a good atmosphere as access was via a stairway to the first floor.

    Location was well positioned for town and railway station. Room was clean and bathroom was new. The owner was extremely helpful and we had a really interesting conversation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.4
    An adequate overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was clean the facilities were lacking. there were no tea coffee making facilities which we found unusual. The bathroom was adequate although the 'hot' water was tepid, the shower rail was hanging off the wall the toilet seat insecure and the grouting around the bath was moldy, the bathroom gave the appearance of requiring some urgent TLC. Breakfast is NOT included in the price for the room. Take note that there is no parking at the hotel and every where payment is required. This will typically cost 25-30 euros for an overnight stay. This is an old hotel which is still residing somewhat in the past.

    We liked the view from the bedroom window over the lake. The breakfast was set in a very pleasant room and was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    Comfort and location and did I mention location?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of night time road noise but hey the lake was on the other side of the rode, so easy to put up with.

    Old world charm, but lots of comfort. Close to the railway. Amazing view of the lake and mountains from our lakeside room (or dining room if not as lucky)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    Sisters traveling with laughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo, conditioner or bar soap. Soap dispenser in shower very difficult to get soap out.

    View on balcony. Location. Owner very helpful with direction for a day trip up to Bock-Fabricque and Gruyere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Excellent service all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service with smiles! Nothing was ever too much and advice was excellent when planning our days. The food served in the bar downstairs was amazing too. Extremely good value for money and tasted like gourmet cooked food! The views from our room were truly spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff. Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two room opposite to each other. The first one gor three people, very nice room as it looked very new compared to the other which was very old-fashioned but with the lake side view. Im allergy to the dust and cant really sleep in the room on the first night but after they do the room, everything went fine on yhe second night!

    Staffs were super friendly, esp. The man at the reception and a girl who prepare us breakfast was very very nice. We have a room upgraded to yhe lake view as there are not much people there and the view is superb!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Lakeside antique hotel close to the trian station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mainly cold items for breakfast and not much choice but the quality is not bad. Could have more hot items for breakfast.

    Very close to the train station. If you have large luggages and do not want to take the steep staircase in front of the train station to the lower level (to lake front), you can follow the sign post for 'i', i.e. When you walk out of the train station, cross the road to the opposite side and turn left till you see a side walk to a lift for carpark (on your right) . There are clear sign post for the lift. When you walk out of the lift, turn left, the hotel is right next to you opposite to the tourist centre on the lakefront (see my photo from balcony showing the location of ' i '). There is a side walk cafe at the entrance of the hotel building and the hotel reception is on 1st floor. The breakfast staff was very nice...could have scramble eggs on request. Good cappuccino. The reception staff David was extremely helpful...gave a lot of advice on where and how to go to. Clean and spacious room with a balcony over looking the lake. Bus stop is steps away next to the hotel...can never get lost. Very convenient location. Would love to return in future.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: