Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sporting 2 stars

Straubenzellstrasse 19, 9014 St. Gallen, Switzerland

#16 of 26 hotels in St. Gallen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had problems connecting to the internet but I think it was a temporary problem in the region.

    Easy to access key when we arrived. Lovely room and very clean. Parking was very convenient. We had a good night there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one downside was the location - well out of town and more than 2 miles rom the train station. I walked - and the walk was either level or downhill - but it took time and energy I would rather have spent otherwise. You get the key by entering a number in a machine - not my favorite, but there was a PERSON on the other end who helped, verbally, when I had difficulty.

    The room was big and comfortable, with a full bath, good wifi, and a desk, as well as plenty of storage space. In fact, because it was so nice, I thought about staying a second night. That didn't work out, but if your travel schedule allows, it's a great place to "park" while you see things in the area. The breakfast was great, and the person serving breakfast was delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ratio quality/price does not favor the quality. However, the price was smaller than other parts of St Gallen, so it might be a general Swiss pricing aspect. Not a minus, but the hotel is located in a suburb of St Gallen, next to train station, but still. It is close to the local train station. I feel like mentioning this because I was expecting it to be next to the main St Gallen train station - my bad for not looking better on the map.

    The room was cozy and clean, although the bathroom a little outdated in terms of design. The area was silent and close to the nearest bus station. Nice point: the self-check-in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no 24 hour front desk and you are sent a code to release your key from a safe box on arrival. I was already on a flight on the morning of my check in at the time the code was e-mailed to me and I didn't have e-mail access while travelling so didn't have the code on arrival. A member of staff was there to let me in so there was no problem, but I guess it could have been awkward if I'd arrived when nobody was about.

    The room was warm, quiet and had a comfortable bed. It was clean and had everything I needed. There was plenty of choice for breakfast including a number of fruit options and a few hot items.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy! Door very thin so you heard everything in the corridor and people walking up and down the stairs. Floorboards very creaky. Other guests seemed to use the corridor a lot, Room tiny, more like a sleeping cabin. Price/performance not good.

    Good bed. Good shower. 2-300 m from bus stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tucked away nicely in a good part of town that is not too far from the city centre to reach. The facilities in the hotel are excellent as is the breakfast spread. Overall the experience was excellent and worth every CHF paid. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old flat screen TV. HDMI did not function, limited station selection. Breakfast is good but not to the standard of the previous owner. Towels, while very clean, show wear and tear. Sink in the main room. No elevator. Room #4 is small.

    Cleanliness is very good even though it is an older building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is far, I needed to take a bus every day. However, it is reasonably cheap for Switzerland. So if you are travelling with a tight budget, you can consider it.

    The hotel is very small, simple yet cosy. Its staffs only work there part-time in the morning to prepare the breakfast and to do the cleaning. So you have to serve yourself in the afternoon and the evening (I was given a key chain which can open the main entrance and my room). I think that helps to cut costs in Switzerland so that they can spend more on my breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment.

    The location has exactly what we needed at that moment. We arrived around 2 am and the owner was very kind and received us friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    i like it all, the staff is good , very nice person , When i want to check out there is a staff that very nice and friendly her name is Natalie , the breakfast is good and the location is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance management by Chinese owner, reception staffed only during breakfast service until 09:30. Overrated price and services/facilities: no phone, radio, minibar, or free toiletries in the room. Free parking: only two places, one usually occupied by a service van.

    Wonderful breakfast. French Nathalie was very helpful and appeared to run the reception and breakfast service singlehandedly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is not there all day unlike a classical hôtel but you can reach them by phone. Beds a bit too soft.

    Staff is welcoming, the hôtel is quite and nearby both the train and bus station, only one train per hour though;

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was incorrectly advertised as included and no prices were listed in the dining area. So the CHF 16 breakfast was a bit of a surprise. Had I known this was the cost beforehand, I would have opted for a coffee and pastry elsewhere. The quality of the breakfast was good however. The hotel has no elevator and is about 5 stories. If you have a lot of luggage or limited mobility, it may not be the best choice.

    The hotel was pretty well situated with easy access to street parking. The rooms were large and comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast. They could have provided few more croissant or a more various choice of pastries in general.

    They provided an adapter for electronics, free coffee at the floor, free shavers and I could borrow an umbrella!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Bed quality of wifi

    Breakfast and nice stuff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no market open after 6 pm around.

    The hotel is cosy and clean in a very quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lication so-so, if you want central St Gallen, no staff in the evening

    Great location if you want to be in the area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter

    I love Switzerland

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No air-conditioner At least there should be a Fan in the room. It was extremely hot when I was there.

    The service and the help that the owner gave to me.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No 24 hour reception, decor needs updating

    Very good wifi, large room, TV worked, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Uncomfortable toilet facility . Pillows lacked feathers. No help with luggage.

    The cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and Herr Hörler

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price/Performance is very good.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: