Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stalden

Stalden, 3816 Lütschental, Switzerland

#6 of 6 hotels in Lütschental

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 105 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's right next to a train line, which was a bit off putting first thing in the morning.

    The owner was really helpful, and friendly, and the room we had was fantastic. We stayed in a family room, and as it had two floors, it meant we didn't have to go bed at that same time as the kids, which we do in a normal family room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    a traditional small swiss hotel situated near the beautiful...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    train noise as it is very near the rail track

    a traditional small swiss hotel situated near the beautiful small village. good breakfast and friendly owner. shared bathroom is clean. price is reasonable and value for money as accommodation in this region is very expensive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Pretty setting and just lovely to sit outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a towel bar that stuck out and you had to be carful seating your self on the toilet because of this odd placement of the towel bar!!

    Pretty setting and just lovely to sit outside. Owner made us a nice fried egg each morning😋

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Don't expect 5-star luxury, but you will get 5-star hospitality with a smile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast was rather basic - Shared toilet was in shared bathroom, ideally would have been separate

    - Very amiable hosts, feeling at home - Flexible check-in and check-out times - Delicious dinner and lunch: well-made traditional cuisine at decent prices - Less than 10' drive from ski stations or alternative 5' walk from (ski) train

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    The location is stunning, beautiful place and accessible by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is stunning, beautiful place and accessible by Switzwerland's excellent public transport. You have to walk a bit from the station, but the walk itself is an amazing intro to the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a pleasant stay here and would recommend it highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is 2 meters away from the railway. But there is no train through from 11pm to 5am and it's not too bad with window closed.

    The owner and staff are very nice and helpful. The food in the restaurant is delicious and great value. The family room we got is spacious with an attic. The hotel is between Interlaken and Grindwald ,convenient for travel. Also the view around is fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    Avoid!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this hotel after reading some of the reviews that seemed positive and the fact that it was given a rating of 7+ and good. I could see from the pictures that the rooms needed updating but at £150.00 a night it was cheaper than some of the other hotels in the area and as long as it was clean I didn't mind. I can't say what any of the other rooms were like because I didn't see them but for me, this is the worst hotel if you can call it that, that I have ever stayed in. On our arrival, we weren't spoken to except when we were given the WiFi password. We were lead down a set of concrete steps to a basement. It Was very damp and smelly down there and there was mould on the ceiling and in the shower. I accept that you get creepy crawlies in the country side of which there were lots but you would expect them to at least clean up the dead ones. The so called patio area was nothing more than a piece of unkempt, sort of grassy area with a small table that had seen better days. I slept on top of my bed because it was too damp to sleep in and was fully clothed because by this time all my clothes felt damp too. The restaurant area/reception smelled of old fat and the breakfast was very poor.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    The owner gave us a ride back to the station at the time of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far from the station and it was much more than "a nice walk" which some reviewers described as. You can easily drive to the hotel, but the path from the station to the hotel and vice versa has a lot of ups and downs, and it was not recommendable for those who carry luggage. Also, you can get a free bus card from the hotel, but you need to ask (otherwise, you won't get it).

    The owner gave us a ride back to the station at the time of our departure and it was really helpful. The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Simple hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they have ref or tv.

    The breakfast is just so SIMPLE.the rooms is quiet spacious and simple, i hope they have a ref or tv inside but nothing.Its just a simple hotel nothing luxe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Great local motel if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You really need a car to stay here. The hotel is located half a mile from the train stop, which is kind of a tricky stop to get to because of the train connections you have to take, and it's a very hilly path. Having said that, the views along the path, and in the area in general, are absolutely breathtaking, and If it weren't so hard to get to and from, or I had a car, I would have stayed longer.

    The manager, Peter, was very friendly and helpful. The views in the area were amazing, and it was an incredibly peaceful hotel to stay at.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND COOPERATIVE , THEY WILL GUIDE YOUR...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING NO NEGATIVE

    VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND COOPERATIVE , THEY WILL GUIDE YOUR THE VISIT PLACES

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty carpet

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    The room for 4 people was quite big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some lights donot work; internet doesn't work; breakfast time is from 8am, it's a bit late.

    The room for 4 people was quite big

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Priced right and close to ski resort if you are travelling by vehicle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant at the Hotel was very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    3.8
    There was no staff when I stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no staff when I stayed here. Spooky at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    8.8
    Owner and staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Owner and staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly. The hotel is walkable from a train station, which was very convenient for us. It is quieter than Gridelwald, which was desired.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Good food and very accomodating staff , the views are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good food and very accomodating staff , the views are fabulous, very comfy beds ! The train station 5 mins walk just remember to push the button on the train as it is a request stop or you will end up in grindelwald!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Great small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great small hotel. Has a good restaurant & bar. Few km's out of Grindelwald which is good. Authentic Swiss experience and hospitality from the very nice owner Peter.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    Staff are cooperative and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff are cooperative and pleasant. Location is slightly remote, But if you are by car, it is alright for visiting Grindelwald and closeby areas, Parking is available. Close to railway station going to Grindelwald (walkable 15 minute). Even Grindlewald is not far-off by car. If you have to leave early in the morning or will be reaching late in the evening make a clear understanding.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.4
    1- The staff/owner were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1- The smell at the entrance since it is a restaurant as well. 2- Flies on the food were disgusting to us.Not to mention the poor breakfast. We didnt really eat. 3- little insects and flies in the room but fortunately i was able to get red off them before going to bed.

    1- The staff/owner were helpful 2- Wifi 3- Parking is easy

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    The location was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing was a total absence of fans or ac. We got lucky since the weather was good and we didnt really need them. However, if it gets too warm, then no fans or ac could be an issue.

    The location was phenomenal. Burglauenen station: where we took our train from everyday was a 10 min walk amidst beautiful scenery, mountains cloaked in clouds, and the calming gushing of a river nearby that would lull us to sleep every night. The rooms were reasonably big. Their food was excellent .The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Every morning my kids (10 and 7) would look forward to the simple but scrumptious breakfast. WIFI connectivity was no problem. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. Will def go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    The host were very friendly, the host drove us to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was a little noisy as the window faced to the road.

    The host were very friendly, the host drove us to the train station every time! the room was comfortable and clean. It was cool at night. After getting off the train, just walking back for ten minutes and you will find the hotel just beside the road, the view was amazing along the road!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    The staff is really friendly and the location of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi signal and internet connection could be better.

    The staff is really friendly and the location of the hotel is very convenient (~600 m from train station, car parking for guests).

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    4.2
    I liked the staff at the hotel/restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is poor. It is not in town but out near the highway and requires a steep hill to get to this hotel from train station. We had to walk 700 meters in the rain from train to find this place.

    I liked the staff at the hotel/restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms (sehr...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi was quite weak in the rooms, but I didn't come all the way to these mountains to hang out on Facebook, so it was just as well.

    Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms (sehr gemütlich!), good location for accessing Grindelwald and Lauterbrunnen. Tasty breakfast. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.2
    We were in the area for a ski race.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    We were in the area for a ski race. This made it necessary to wake up very early in the morning. The owner very kindly woke up earlier than us to prepare a very nice breakfast for us, two hours before the normal breakfast time. The room was large and comfortable and wi-fi was fast. We can only recommend this place as the owner really went the extra mile to make us happy. If we go back to this region we will certainly stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    2.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel location

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Good location, friendly staff and dog friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interior a bit outdated.

    Good location, friendly staff and dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is lovely. It seems to be full of stories. The boss is so kind. He drove us to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Really friendly and willing to help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really friendly and willing to help! Organised breakfast for us even outside normal time! I would go back. It was rustic but worth a look.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    Best Rodri in Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Best Rodri in Switzerland. Exceptionally welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.5
    Interesting local (not bland and international) feel, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit to far from Grindwald to walk, but thats not a real problem :)

    Interesting local (not bland and international) feel, close to the train station

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: