Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere 5 stars

Promenade 89, 7270 Davos, Switzerland

#9 of 48 hotels in Davos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 584 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff deeply apologized for the situation but I think it is still worth mentioning. One of the nights there was a party at the hotel. My room was in the first floor and both me and my wife couldn't sleep until 2am when the party was finally over.

    Breakfast and dinner were superb, all the employees were very nice and they would do everything to please you. The Spa had nice amenities and the room was the right size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff deeply apologized for the situation but I think it is still worth mentioning. One of the nights there was a party at the hotel. My room was in the first floor and both me and my wife couldn't sleep until 2am when the party was finally over.

    The meals were exceptional. The spa has very good offerings and the overall cleanliness and hospitality of the employees have to be commended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillow menu offered (as standard pillows useless), but all menu choices not available!? Staff inattentive, mostly, inexperienced. poor attention to detail. tea cups dirty in breakfast room. smell of smoke on corridors, reported to reception 3 days running- NO action taken. bed sheets not regularly changed. room cleaning variable. (some times turn down done, most times not?) dust and dirt on all areas of hotel surfaces, in bar, restaurant and pool seat windows. No attention given to swimming pool /sauna are, often out of water and drinks. Not 5 star service/attitude at all. Balcony overgrown with weeds. Open fire burned out on cold evening, no interest of staff to restock.

    Building, food and (very stretched) service in Romeo and Juliet restaurant. Convenient shuttle service and friendly drivers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door squeaks so it may awake your partner :-)

    We have liked the entire hotel experience, especially the SPA area. This hotel has a remarcable attention to details. Here just 2 examples but there are many more in all hotel areas and services: - They have kind of children check-in area where kids can write or draw something at the reception desk while adults are doing the check-in - They provide you a free full daily refill of the minibar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi connection is not the best and interruptions were often.

    The hotel has a great location in the centre of Davos, the rooms are quite big and very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a classy style. We loved the swimmpool area. Also the shuttle service to the ski pists was very much appreciated. Thanks !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ski room access No in and out skiing

    Good size room with nice view, great shower pressure and yummy breakfast. Transportation to and from hotel are free until 9pm which was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all good

    excellent junior suite room, excellent breakfast, excellent spa area and pool, very good food, excellent location, got a free cake for my birthday

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa area feels loud and crowded when there are too many people there.

    The Hotel was a bit of a building site due to the WEF. The staff tried to be extra helpful and the hotel offered a glass of prosseco to make up for the noise. The Hotel itself f is well located and the bar area is lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) At our first dinner we forgot some of our order. When I complained and waited another 10 minutes and invested again. Got a cheap excuse from the staff. There's something that can be forgotten, but then you stand by it. Also the statement that I don't have to pay for the French fries is not appropriate in a 5 star hotel. 2nd) The room cleaning service was not what I expected. Already on the first day the Kleenex box In the bathroom was covered with a handkerchief. The next day the empty box was removed, but there was no replacement.

    Very friendly staff. The most of the staff came from Germany

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful Swiss hotel, grand in a typically understated Swiss way. Conveniently located in Davos. Good spa, great massage, very good breakfast and dinner, flawless service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - - - The hotel advertises rooms with double bed (booking.com) and king bed (hotel own website), while the beds are not double/king, but 2 single beds pushed next to each other. This type of communication of the bed types is not correct and not fair, even if the 2 matresses are covered by one single bed line(sheet) The breakfast doesn't reach the level of a 5 stars hotel, the selection of the food is limited. Even if I communicated the lactose intolerance of my partner well in advance, lactose free milk was available only during the first and fourth breakfast, and was "sold out" for the second and third... We were hesitating to try the hotel restaurant for dinner, but we did no do it, as in certain cases the menu was not yet available at breakfast time, and if it was already available, only the selection of the food was indicated, but not the price. Again, it is not fair. Lack uf consistency in term of daily refilling the bathroom products: sometimes we received only 1 shower gel for 2 persons, some times we received 2...

    +++ Very nice room, with view from the balcony, probably the best in the room category booked by us (434) (Special thank to Silke at the reservation desk of the hotel who was answering my emails with special request to the room location immediatelly) Cleanless everywhere Helpful staff Very good wifi Free parking Very good location, you don't need your car at all, free public transport (cable cars, local buses, train Kolsters-Davos-Wiesen-Filisur), with a lot of excursion/hiking opportunities For runners: go to Davos lake, there is a path/walkway around the lake of 3,95 km, don't miss it! Even is there were some negative experiences, we recommend the hotel with potential return from our side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights and benefited from the three-day pass which was good for public transportation and aerial tramways. We took a tour of the hotel property which helped us to appreciate what goes on 'behind the scenes'. We dined in the Bistro Voilà and enjoyed attentive service and excellent food. The breakfast buffet was simply excellent. Overall, we were happy and would gladly return. The hotel earns a big portion of its revenue during the World Economic Forum held at the end of January every year. At other times of the year the prices are very reasonable for the same high standard of service and amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very expensive Friday and Saturday night room rate -not indicated on website! No air conditioning, noisy late-night returners, small bathroom, very expensive restaurants and bar.

    Friendly, helpful shuttle service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic Staff. From the moment we were met through to the goodbye at the end of our stay the service was impeccable! A special mention has to go to Patrik who was the first person to greet us and really looked after our family for the whole stay. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast buffet lovely.Very fresh.Fruits were for the most part ripe & flabourful. Delay with coffee service & all staff did not understand the important difference between filter coffee and a classic Swiss "Cafe creme"(stronger cup from the espresso machine).One morning the white tablecloth had yellow stains from previous guests.Not particulary appetizing. In a classy hotel such as this it should have been changeds.Otherwise pleasant stay! Indoor pool was a nice temp. Not too hot!& opened early which was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had one portion pasta with black truffeln for 210 CHF. After conversation with manager was deducted 40 CHF, but anyway it's impossible. Be careful to order smth without fix price!!! No play room for small kids.

    Location is perfect for family. Senior suit is super- two large separate rooms. Comfort beds Tee coffee facilities. Fine gourmet restaurant and bistro.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So long since we used the old-fashioned room key system! No credit card style entry cards here... We had a large suite, yet the bedroom/bathroom had a rather old fashioned decor.. The hotel did not have the appeal of other Steigenberger hotels, or of other 5 star hotels in the same resort.

    The excellent location, and the mini-van to get us to and from the ski slopes. Pleasant bar area too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    they should have informed about construction on site before I confirmed my pe paid booking. It was not transparent and honest.

    staff service was great, specially the guys in the parking and reception. good team.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special situation/ disturbances by preparations for WEF were a bit intransparent in the room offers before the booking for that time period, they were mentioned but somewhere easy to overlook; Sauna area too small; wellness area in total not impressive nor well setup; amenities refills in bathroom incomplete; hole in bathrobe,... just some little things not too dramatic but overall impression during our stay: hotel not smoothly organised as expected for 5* hotel (possibly due to circumstances); got no breakfast table for 6 although several tables that size available at that time with just 2 persons; juices and jams not signed first day

    Personell assisting with parking and shuttle transfer to ski Parsenn or Jakobshorn very friendly, prompt and supportive, even in freezing cold temperatures of up to -20°C; chief receptionist very professional; massage by Maria Landolt highly recommendable, accommodated individual needs; rich choices for breakfast; room for improvements, will surely be fixed; room maids service very accurate

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the evening at busy times the Lobby Restaurant and Bar was understaffed.It was difficult for the staff to catch up with all guests and to provide the necessary attention and service. Though staff was always friendly and apologetic when requests took a little longer than expected.

    The staff at the breakfast was very friendly and extremely attentive to the guests - a good start into the day ! The New Year's Eve event was planned to the last detail and with utmost professionalism.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly, they made us feel as though there was no other place they would rather be. We really enjoyed the Christmas spirit they spread throughout our weekend stay. The Rooms are quiet and have comfortable beds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The whole staff was very friendly and nice! Such a pleasent expirence! Nice room with a great view and small balcony! Unfortunately we only stayed for one night, but we would have loved to have stayed many more nights

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 209: Old, narrow, feels unclean, no tv in bedroom. Room doesn't match the overall image of the grand hotel. Was to tired to ask for another room.

    Building, location, staff, breakfast, parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit tiered/small No Aircon Horrible traffic signaling in Davos

    Free public travel passes for buses and train rides/cable cars Super breakfast buffet spread Indoor Swimming pool Free parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heated floors in the bathroom

    Nice and complete breakfast, renewed common area and bar are pleasant. Perfect location walking distance from mountain access, shops, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a junior suite and the mini bar was all-inclusive, however we only got to know this at the day of departure, so spent money on beverages from local stores

    Friendly, helpful and professional staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road can be a bit disturbing with the windows open. Staff in the restaurant were on a rotation and they confused our orders on several occasions. We had to report a broken bathroom hook twice and waited two days before it was fixed. These are minor things but still frustrating and took the shine off our stay a little bit.

    Excellent breakfast, lovely spa and sauna area, exceptionally friendly staff. Excellent value, in particular including the half board meal option. A very thoughtful gift of macaroons left in our room for our anniversary. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just check if coming by car the promenade is open. We arrived during tour de suisse. . Out of the control of the hotel but check first and then you can adjust journey time to avoid embarrassment

    Service and quality

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something in the breakfast room made my husband sneeze! This was the only problem we had.

    We loved the location, the staff, and the breakfast was excellent. Top marks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Personally I booked and paid for two rooms for six nights. Quite expensive. My sister's husband died and she was unable to accompany us. Requested a partial refund or goodwill payment but was refused. Other hotels on our European tour were more sympathetic.

    Large comfy room with a balcony facing south. Excellent restaurant with one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. Staff very friendly and attentive. Complimentary chauffeur car to and from rail station and to many of the local cable car stations.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed of the gourment dinner. Would appreciate if the waiter can extend his service to ask the Chef if he can replace us with other dish.

    Unlimited glasses of Processo

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a better attendance to the Gym. We thought te selection of fitness equipment was too limited

    Convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa is tiny for so many rooms and is very basic

    Charismatic heritage building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table ready for me at breakfast. Had to sit at a dirty breakfast table and then wait for it to be cleared.

    Quiet comfy room. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and spa area were too crowded.

    Great hotel, very friendly staff, would definitely come again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location friendly staff food pet friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotel experiences so far. Amazing service, breakfast and spa area. The rooms are spacious and the free minibar is a nice treat!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower glass wall was leaking water out on the floor. Should be an easy fix.

    Great value and facilities. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic rooms and great food. Staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect. Best hotel of a two week trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kids club, some mistakes at charging the bill

    Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner was good quality, Meals were outstandingly well presented but rather pricey for the amount.

    Well located. Helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prossecco for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, rooms, bed, breakfast, mini-bar inclusive, price - everything was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere. No heating available!

    Evening meal was beautiful but very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To see how certain customer smuggled food in napkins and bags from the breakfast buffet ....

    Just to enjoy Davos since last time in 1986!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in junior suite

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, the missing electric kettle, the missing hygiene faucet etc etc

    Primarily the location. Expectations on everything else exceeded delivery

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner !!! Superb cusine

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The dining room staff were rude to my husband. They were also very unhelpful when it came to us having a baby and we had to find the baby chairs and bring them over to our table. It was surprising to have this kind of behaviour which was a stark contrast to the warm staff at the front desk.

    Staff at the reception desk were great. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. The shuttle drivers are wonderful as well.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Got a good deal by booking early on a smaller single room on the back side, 137 euros a night compared to later prices. For Swiss standards probably not bad but still pricey. Then again wifi, parking and breakfast included as well as shuttle to ski lift if needed. Bed was average, room itself comfortable and quite except for a stampede of the neighbour upstairs which happened only twice. Excellent breakfast, friendly personnel in general. Housekeeping awesome. Female staff at reception appeared a little reserved, men seemed friendlier but that's my impression. In general it looked they all would go the extra mile. Good sauna facilities and cellar to store your ski equipment. I think they even got rid of the snow which was on my car, thank you. Overall quite alright and recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - We had a problem with heating in our room, after few requests has been solved - relaxing area in sauna was small

    - good location, organised transport from the hotel to the slopes by hotel shuttle bus during whole day - tasty breakfest - good wellness centrum - sauna, pool, fitness room - very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Junior suite was big, but quite dated and worn. They didn't clear the afternoon tea tray or do an evening turndown. There was a piece of bacon in the pool! The bacon aside the pool wasn't suitable for young kids.

    The price was very good for our last minute booking, the staff were lovely and helpful, location was good and the views from the room stunning. The left a lovely little tray in the room with candies and cake in the afternoon

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was a touch patchy, but in such a location I soon barely cared!

    The staff were superb, extremely helpful and friendly. Great room, great food and nice facilities (spa etc.) plus a regular car service around the town completes the picture of an excellent experience.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pools are relatively cold, some hallways are cold also. Somehow the staff did not come across with lots of energy and happiness and this large hotel would benefit from have some signs that explain better the closest path to the restaurants, spa, etc.

    Great breakfast, nice room size, great shuttle services, well located.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are good but perhaps not Iin the 5 star range. The free shuttle service ends around 19.00 leaving only taxis to get back after a meal elsewhere in Davos.

    Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. For Davos, in a decent price range.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A quite poor experience, an hotel for business with standard service behaviour but not an hotel for holidays. And a very poor experience about the housekeeping : our light meal we had the first day, stayed after the evening housekeeping, a paper on the floor too. Not a five star service as we used to have in switzerland.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    our early morning call was forgotten

    the hotel was absolutely beautiful and extremely well presented; the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The photoes didn't represent the room properly. The photoes were of a different room (the bathroom in the room was different from the one on the photoes)

    The minibar was included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    From start to finish this was an amazing hotel experience. I called the hotel as the train pulled into Davos and a concierge was waiting to pick me up at the train station. At check in they upgraded me without my asking and gave me a glass of prosecco and in the room was a tiered tray with nuts, small cakes and fruit. Each night the turn down service placed a chocolate on the pillow, a tangerine on the coverlet. The buffet breakfast was amazing and served in a gorgeous room with great views. The lounge area was wonderful and there was live music in the evening. The restaurant was completely atmospheric and the food top quality. And if you needed a snack sometime, there was always a large basket of fruit in the entry area. I used the pool and hot tub each night and with classical music streaming it was the perfect way to end a busy day. Location within Davos was perfect for walking but the hotel offered rides to where ever one wanted to go. It was also interesting to read the history of the more than 100 year old hotel--Robert Louis Stevenson, Einstein, Mandela among the clientele. Despite the venerable age, the entire hotel had be modernized in terms of facilities and the rooms. A perfect mix of the charm and stateliness of yesteryear and the luxury of modern times. Service was always friendly and impeccable. Interestingly, this wonderful hotel, that felt like a resort, was no more expensive than some of the lacklustre boxes down the street. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very wonderful stay at this 5 star hotel. The Staff there are very friendly, kind, nice. And even for the manager, they are focus on the custom demands.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price was a bit severe. Problems with parking. I paid with credit card but I have not received confirmation of charges

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and tidy rooms, beds comfy, brilliant view. Breakfast was excellent with a range of foods. Good bar, and restaurant on site. Good, free internet, sauna and swimming pool. Location is perfect. Bus located just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We received an offer by email for a room upgrade, which we accepted. Upon arrival we were informed the upgrade was not available. Please, please, don't offer your guests services you cannot provide!!

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - not enough parking spaces in front of the hotel - lobby woke me up Sunday morning because my car was only 98% parked on the property - lobby bar: very nice and perfect ambiente but the staff dont really check if new people sat down, e.g. walk around. we waited for 15 min. to get a cocktail then left without even being spotted

    - double upgrade to a Deluxe Suite for a relatively low fee per night - late check out at 13:00 - 24h room service, perfect if you arrive Friday evening late and do not want to go out for dinner - very nice rooms, spacious and clean - very central location to get everywhere by foot

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    While arriving it took 30mins to deliver our bags up to the room. Great service since.

    Good service overall. Huge room in the 4th floor. Very nice bed. Room was totally quiet and soundproof. The hotel spa is very good for relaxation with many saunas, whirlpool and a swimming pool. Good breakfast with also some warm food selection. Had a nice last-minute offer with amazing value for money. Hotel also provided Davos-cards, which included free usage of the lifts.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The quality of the breakfast is not quite matching a five-star standard, in particular the juices and the cold cuts.

    The atmosphere of the loation, the "grandezza"

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. The first room we were given had not a good view. so we asked for another room with a better view. They provided a larger room with a better view without additional charge. We aldo enjoyed swimming and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A really luxurious and beautiful hotel. Very friendly staff and great facilities, the health and fitness center is really great. Beautiful views of the Swiss Alps.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a little mix up with the payment of the room but luckily we kept our receipt so this was resolved quickly.

    The shuttle bus to the ski lifts went frequently. The location is really good as you stay close to the centre. Helpful staff. Good entertainment in the evening. The wellness area was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The spa is very small for the size of the hotel and thus very crowded in the afternoon. Its name "The Grand Spa" is clearly not suitable. The dressing room is small and for both genders with too little lockers.

    The fact that despite being a 5* hotel with luxury services, neither staff nor majority of the other guests were snobbish, so it was a very enjoyably stay

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noise and exhost smelling from the heating of the WEF-Pavilion in Front of the Hotel in the hotelroom was disgusting.

    The hotel seems to be excellent outside WEF-Time.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is nothing much to do at the hotel after sunset The food is nothing close to good and very expensive for no specific reason The hotel is really old - not worth it at all. Go to Verbier village in Switzerland to see what a real vacation should be like, stay away from Davos and this place

    Staff are kind, they give you a ride to anywhere in the city and try and help you out as much as they can

There are also 55 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: