Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St. Josef 3 stars

Hirschengraben 64/68, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#20 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1287 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better from a taste buds perspective. The portable aircon makes the room look a bit clumsy especially if you are not used to it.

    The staff were wonderful and most helpful in every which way. The proximity of the hotel to the Railway Station and the Zurich Old town was a big plus. The rooms were clean and hygienic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my favourite hotel in Zurich. It is very well located, close to the train station, the old town, the city, and just down the hill from ETH. The breakfast is wonderful. I've stayed here numerous times and always had a very good experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vehicle access is difficult even using gps. It would have been best to make an illegal left turn from Seilergraben at the intersection at the south end of Hirscengraben to access the elevated street with St Joseph.

    Location is great, just near the main train station. Stairs are involved in getting there, though (or a very long walk or drive around several blocks). Also near the busy eating and drinking neighborhood (Rathaus) on Niederdorfstraus near the river below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were quite large, very clean, great location and parking available at hotel or on street right outside. Easy walk to old town, staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great location, fulfilling breakfast, great wifi, friendly environment. Lovely 3 night stay in a beautiful city with lots to see and do. Lake Zurich breathtaking and a visit to Interlaken and surrounds a must.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps a sign for dinner reservation. I wanted to have dinner at the restaurant but only found out it was all reserved.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Good amenities and very close to the city within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed provided had a pretty bad mattress

    Location is very good and we got a large room on ground floor. Staffs are very good with a nice breakfast spread. They have electric kettle with tea/coffee in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a bit lost walking from the station when we arrived and walked much further than we needed to so perhaps some better walking directions would help overseas visitors. The tray in our shower was a bit shallow so we had to be careful not to get the bathroom floor too wet.

    Our room was large and included a comfortable sofa, a reasonably large desk and tea and coffee making facilities. There is a coin operated washing machine and dryer available within the hotel - very handy for the international traveller. We had an excellent 'menu of the day' lunch at the restaurant and it was reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was great - near enough to the main railway station to walk and very close to the old city and museums.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a negative comment, just an observation: the attic rooms might be hot in summer. There was a mobile air conditioner in the room, but did not have to use it. Leaving the windows open for the night was enough.

    Perfectly located for the University and ETH. Spacious bathroom in the single room, good price for this room. Quality food at breakfast. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get there walking from the station you had about 50 steps to walk up on the street. Would not have booked there had we known we’d have to carry suitcases up steps.

    Clean and spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit hot in the room, the covers are thick for May, we solved it opening the window.

    Excellent location in the centre of Zurich, close to the central train station and convenient for transfers to airport and day trips by train. Close to the trade area, the river and the lake. Best room space use I've ever seen, conveniently furnished. Very clean, excellent breakfast - big variety. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Lovely quiet room in a good location a few minutes from the station so it's a very simple journey from the airport. It's also very close to the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat modest breakfast. If you're walking, be prepared for stairs.

    Generous room size during this stay. I'd stayed there a few nights earlier and the room was very nice but smaller. Clean, looked out onto a quiet courtyard. Plenty of shopping and sights nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was great, food itself was just good. Historic hotel, so room was a bit cozy.

    Absolutely lovely old (but updated) hotel right on the water. Perfect location. Helpful staff at front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything...after a 15 hour flight including a 3 hour wait on the tarmac in Hong Kong the lovely Yvonne kindly gave us an early check in plus upgraded our room. She also gave us lots of advice of things to see in Zurich. All of the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.The hotel is spotlessly clean breakfast was great with lots to choose from. If we ever have the opportunity to return to Zurich the Hotel St Josef will be where we stay. Many thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, just a couple of minutes from the city center. The parking in the hotel's yard is only 15€/day, which is ridiculously cheap for Zürich, and the room prices are probably the best value for money in this expensive city. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern, so is the rest of the hotel - it could easily pass for 4 stars, not only 3. I'd definitely pick this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The hotel is very conveniently located in old town. We stayed for 3 days so they gave us a great room with a small sofa. It was perfect. Bathroom small but everything was perfect. Breakfast had a nice selection! Front desk staff was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for extra pillows. Limited space in bathroom. Shower needed a shower mat. Just felt cramped. Luckily we weren’t in room all day .

    Close to where the action is in Old Town, and there was action on May Day! Sitting at an outdoor cafe and saw police stopped a couple of protesters. Sirens and helicopter around us. But felt pretty safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On center, near landmark

    The bed, the spring is broke, so not comfortable anymore. No AC, so you should open the windows and after that the mosquitoes will come in to your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t sleep with windows open because of noise from the street.

    Bed was a bit hard- but had tea/coffee making facilities and fridge in room ( something very rarely seen in Swiss hotels) !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady that was serving coffee at breakfast's time was kind of abrupt. I would like to have 2 little soaps instead liquid soap.

    Breakfast was good, I loved the cheese. Nice staff. I arrived a little bit earlier and they managed to give me a room within 5-10 minuts. Very close from Old town. Train station 7 minuts walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for Zurich's measures the hotel is a good deal, has convenient parking which is possible to use for the whole day at 15 CHF, so no need to roll around looking for a slot. Well located. The room was rather spacious and clean, had all we needed, also a transforming sofa which was helpful with the baby. I wouldn't ask for more in the city, so all the complaints about poor breakfast etc. should be referred to the expectations of the guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant not open during the weekend. Breakfast was fine but not anything special.

    Fantastic value hotel within walking distance to old town, main station and Zürich centre sites, shopping etc. The reception staff were extra helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Especially liked having tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom to an otherwise roomy junior suite was very small. The fridge in the rooms is un-stocked, which would have been good to know when arriving late at night. However, drinks and small snacks can be purchased from reception.

    The hotel is located in walking distance to the main train station, river and many of the city's attractions. The rooms were very clean, modern and spacious with comfortable beds and adjustable heating. There was a good selection of breakfast options each day. The staff in reception and in the breakfast restaurant were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only disadvantage (it does not affect my hotel's evaluation which is highest) is that in the bathroom a shower courtain instead of any glass door, you cannot bathe without flooding the floor and the wavy courtian sticks to the body...

    Great place, kind, friendly, smiling and very helpful Staff - I couldn't plug in my laptop (please note! in Switzerland the electrical sockets match the three pins-shaped plug and only fit for EU standard plugs with thin pins and earthing-free), but I got an adapter at the hotel reception without any problems and for free use for all my stay. Very good wi-fi, delicious breakfast (fresh fruits, soft boiled eggs were as necessary and not as usual in many hotels hard boiled), an electric kettle and fridge in the clean room. Excellent public transport nearby (tram no. 10 driving max. 30 minutes to the airport, railway station, numerous trams, the famous Polybahn). The hotel is max. 10 min. walk to the Old Town, Kunsthaus, Landesmuseum, next to the ETH University and the ETH Library and the Zurich University, but please note! if you need to reach ETH Library or University you have to climb about 350 meters up the stairs, but their steps are perfectly profiled (next to it there is a parallel path without steps, you can choose where you want to go - the latter option is especially convenient if you have a suitcase); this "hiking" is an everyday exercise for your health! Students run upstairs without breathing! Once you are at the top, the prize is a beautiful view of the Zurich panorama from the Polyterrace. I can strongly recommend the Hotel St Josef.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfasts were ok, nothing special: cheese assortment wasn't impressive, lacks hot meals options. To get to the hotel, you have to hit some steps -- it's on the heel side, so be prepared. Reception entrance isn't obvious to spot from the street.

    Situated quite well -- can easily reach it by walk from Hbf, not so far from the city centre and good restaurants. Price isn't low, but when compared to other options in Zurich, it appears to be of a good value-for-money rate. Good stylish & spacious rooms, comfortable bed -- it was of real double size, not just two single beds placed together. On the check-in, reception staff was super keen on making a good impression, on check-out was just ok-ish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in our room wasn’t working ok but wasn’t a big deal for us.

    Very good location within walking distance from train station and major attractions (hotel is near the red light district which someone might find disturbing). Clean and spacious room with all necessary amenities (WiFi, fridge, safe). Staff was polite and helpful. Included breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendlier staff in the breakfast restaurant. Fetching a fork was a bit of a hassle for the lady working there.

    The breakfast buffet had a good selection if everything for a great breakfast. The breakfast room staff were not as friendly and helpful as the reception staff. The lady at the reception was truly fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More steps than expected on the walk from the station! Not really that many, but it felt significant with heavy luggage ;-)

    Great staff! The room was more modern than I expected - the hotel has good a very good job of keeping up-to-date.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find the beds a little too hard and the pillows uncomfortable.

    The meals we had in the restaurant were ample and fresh. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. It’s attractively decorated. Close to the railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I will have to think about that

    I think everything was very good from the phone call to the reception the fact that we could book in early that is a great bonus and all the friendly staff thank you and well done, you will see us again !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place from all aspects - the location, facilities, service, breakfast is delicious. the hotel is using only top quality products. this is only 3 stars property and there are some 4 stars hotels what may learn a few things from St Josef. Great place if you are after a very good night sleep and breakfast, but if you need a pool and a gym, simply choose another place with the pool and gym :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was comfortable, spacious and warm. The location is perfect, close to old town and to ETH and to the main railway station. The breakfast was extensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the beds a little too hard and the pillows uncomfortable.

    The staff were helpful and we really enjoyed the breakfast. The location was really good. Spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is poor and boring, room was "complex" (you have to watch your head not to bump the diagonal ceiling), staff was odd, very expensive to what you receive.

    Clean, location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice building, big rooms, we stayed in the ground floor 3 people and the room was more then enough space for everyone and plus very clean. The breakfast is missing veggies, open buffet of sorts of cheese, ham, salami, and bread, with some sweets, also what I did liked allot that they served uncut fruit. The staff is very nice and everybody speaking English.

    Close to everything, we never used the pass for public transportation, most of the awesome stuff up to 15 minute walk, we paid in the airport for the pass 53€ for 3 days and it wasn't use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street the hotel is on is a level higher than the adjacent old town, so be ready to go down steps or a ramp if you are walking. Not that it really matters, but it is doubtful you will have any sort of notable view from your room. A great hotel, but nothing to write home about.

    This is a quality budget-friendly choice! It was very nice for the low cost and very close to the main train station in Zurich. There aren't really great public transit options to and from the train station, but it is only about a 10 min walk. Only two blocks from a lot of food and store options. Our room had a great sized tub/shower and all the normal amenities. Room was nicely updated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a little small and the glass bathroom door makes it difficult for one person to sleep while the other is working and using bathroom.

    Location is good, walking distance to main part of Zurich but located in a quiet street. Plenty of parking space within the premise or on the street outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the stay was great stay!

    First I would like to stay that it's a little difficult to find but Hotel josef is situated up a hill about 2 minute walk to stores restaurants etc and about 7 minute walk to the train station, downtown area and village. From the airport it's very easy to get to the hotel. You take the train to Zurich main station and get off at that stop then walk out over the bridge and straight until you see a brick wall and walk up those stairs and a little bit dither and saint josef is there! The room itself was big with a sofa and a bed. The room had a tv and the staff even gave us a treat when checking in. The lady at the front desk was so nice and tried to help if we had questions. The breakfast was perfect for the morning and the lady every morning was happy and cheerful! They offer crossiants and other breads like toast, rolls, etc, cheeses, meat, a ton of jam, cereal, fruit and a course coffee and other juices! The room also had very good wifi and was cleaned daily! I would also like to mention that the bathroom was cleaned and spacious. After a long day of traveling, a hot shower is perfect and this hotel had hot water for the entire stay plus a hot towel rack for our towels. We loved our staff here and would recommend it for sure!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for a quiet room which they were happy to give me. Unfortunately the room was tiny and the bathroom so small you could hardly turn around in it. The fact that I was charged a regular price seemed frankly very overpriced.

    Charming staff with lovely personal attention. Great location within walking distance of the old town and shopping areas. Train station is easily reachable by foot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect.Staf was so nice, gave us useful information about the sights, the shops. Location is good, very close to the city centre. The hotel is clean and cousy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were few vegan options at breakfast.

    Hotel St. Josef is within walking distance to the train station but also close to the old part of the city where you can find a lot of restaurants and shops. The hotel staff were very helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable. The room decor was simple and modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn’t have shower tub, so while showering the whole bathroom floor gets wet

    The location is great, close to the main station and main streets. Quite enough for resting and close to the busy shopping street as well. very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the stay was comfortable. People nice. Breakfast could be better but it wasn't bad. Room simple but comfortable. There could be more lighting, it was a little dark but with energy saving lights find that in many hotels these days. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Easy walk to the main art museum and old town. Once I found it everything fell into place. Lots of shops and restaurants across the street. The funicular won’t get you to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent Location. Very close to the main sights to see in Zurich and also close to the train station to travel outside of Zurich for a day. Everything is in walking distance but it is quiet near the hotel. Great and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, very well situated. Charming anf modern at the same time. The restaurant was very good too: fresh ingredients and imaginative combinations including for vegetarians.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot breakfast. You can’t order a scramble or fried eggs. Hot chocolate is in an powder pack, considering Switzerland is famous for chocolates. Expensive restaurants

    Ample space and storage inside the room. Fast internet connection. Near shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the train station. However, it located on the street that needs to take a long steps from the main street, which was a nightmare with heavy luggage. However, there was a ramp if you walk further along the main street. If will be great If the hotel could notify all guests for this information.

    Staff are really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to a busy street, a bit noisy at night.

    Good middle class Hotel in the City centre of Zürich. The rooms and the breakfast are nothing Special but for Switzleralnd a good value for Money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Everything was up to our expectations. The staff was very helpful with our train reservation for our trip to Salzburg. The front desk loaned us an umbrella one evening when it was rainy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal was good, not great.

    This is a great little hotel situated just outside the Old City. You're 5min walking to Zurich Main Station if you need public transport, but can easily access the city on foot. Room was great, bathroom is massive, and staff were all very kind. The rate included a nice breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were wimpy and beds were a little too firm. They also use down comforters which were too warm for when we were there. I asked for an extra pillow which they were kind enough to supply.

    Great breakfast and very good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walk to the hotel is uphill.... ehh..

    Very clean, staff is nice and friendly, relatively close to the train station, breakfast is nice and opend early enough to catch early plane.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't understand how the card had to be left in to turn electricity on in room. Great idea to save energy, but we were unfamiliar with this. We did figure it out.

    Within walking distance to the heart of the city. Yet away from the hustle and bustle. We would stay there again and recommend to our friends. The van service to the airport was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great location. It was very central situated in the old town and was within walking distance to everything. The railway station was a 5 minute walk. There was a good choice for breakfast and there was facilities to make tea and coffee in your room. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be friendlier. After staying at different spotless hotels this one was a bit funky.

    The area was fantastic! The room was hugh and had a great kitchen. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor annoyance that we were visiting on one of the hottest days mid-summer and the rooms are not air conditioned. We knew that - and in hindsight - we would still book again!

    Staff was exceptionally helpful...gave great recommendations for seeing the city and even made us a boxed lunch on the day of our departure since we were leaving for our flight before breakfast was served! Love the ambiance of the smaller hotels and this one did not disappoint!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff was welcoming and informative! A family friendly hotel! The room was larger than expected and bed was comfy and firm. Good breakfast spread too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location, a 10 minute walk from train station. Easy walk down Neumarkt to sights. Modern, clean rooms. Quiet. Huge bed, comfortable firm mattress. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi on the second floor is bad. But when I tell this to the stuff she suggested me next time to contact them asap when there is such a problem and they will put an extra wifi-router. I am satisfied with this answer:)

    The breakfast is quite rich. There are different kinds of alternatives and everything is perfect! The location is also perfect. Just next to the railway station and to the university. You can always find some interesting path around the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and clean place, just next to the old city and all city sites. Less than 10 min walk from the main train station. Room is modern and clean . Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was a gem! So convenient walk everywhere and the breakfast was exceptional! Couldn't beat it anywhere I'm sure. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent wifi too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were very helpful especially as we were waiting on a package posted from another hotel. Also organized an airport shuttle. Breakfast was good. We had lunch at the hotel one day and there weremany choices including a 2 course daily special with 2 options for 19 or 20 CHF which was generous and good value.This was a great value well locayef hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 min walk from train station, very clean and neat hotel with great included breakfast. Situated up above the main street, walk past the stairs for 100m and there is a ramp which makes pulling luggage much easier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have got a sunny room with a street window. Lack of real air conditioning in the summer time caused the room was really hot (34 degrees) and loudly.

    Great location. I could walk everywhere: Hauptbahnhof, The Old Town, the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately during our visit the restaurant was closed due to summer holidays so I cannot comment on that. We'll have to try it next time!

    10 mins walk from train station and 5 mins walk from old town.Very quiet and nice location. Excellent breakfast set in a flowery patio. We will certainly come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C. Asked for extra fan and none were available. People gathered in the parking area in the evening to play loud music and party until 3:00 in the morning. Our room was at the front of the building. If the windows were open to try to cool off, the noise kept us awake! The restaurant/bar was not open at all during our stay!

    Nice size room . Located in Old Town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and no air conditioning which made it quite stuffy as it was a warm night. The noise from the street was terrible as we needed to have the windows open - there was traffic noise and lots of people shouting into the early hours

    Lovely garden area to have breakfast if the weather is nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fault of the hotel; Somehow I was able to mess up and book the room on a night I was in another city (my mistake but since that too was booked via this site, a warning from this site would have been nice). Oh well, life happens :)

    The front desk staff was very friendly, as was the lady taking care of breakfast. The front desk guided us to the walking tour we could take and it was lovely. The room was quite nice and modern. We liked it here :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of the train station in Zurich. The hotel gave us an upgraded room which was like a mini apartment. Very spacious, modern, and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was too far to walk to and from the train station on a hot day with our bags. It had no air conditioning so windows had to be open and the street was also quite noisy throughout the night .

    Close to the old town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On Saturday night, there were people right outside our window drinking until after 4:00 am. This is often an issue when you are close to city center, but it was especially bad. The next night it was just fine—fairly quiet. We would not stay here again simply because the WiFi was unusable. And the data coverage at the location on our cell phones was spotty.

    Right across from Old Town. Great staff at check-in desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the high prices in Switzerland, this was a very good value and a good location with a short enjoyable walk to the old town and the train station. Comfortable room on a quiet street allowed for a very good night sleep! The breakfast on the outdoor patio was also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mainly had one comment on the way the bathroom was designed. There is just a small drain in the shower and a curtain, but no lip to keep the water from running all over the bathroom floor. This is a lawsuit waiting to happen. It truly is dangerous. I was very worried that my mom would walk in and slip on the wet floor, so after every shower I was on my hands and knees trying to dry the floor. The hotel should consider buying some bathroom mats that allow people to not slip when everything gets wet!

    The hotel was very clean! It was in a great central location as well. The staff were absolutely excellent. Every person we came into contact with were professional and very kind. They welcomed us to their city and their hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel St. Josef traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: