Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunstar Hotel & SPA Grindelwald 4 stars

Dorfstrasse 168, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#14 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good staffs and location but little bit old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It needed to change old sofa bed to new one. If you use it as sofa, it is OK but if you use it as a bed, it is old and not strong enough. I recommend owner of this hotel renovate old facilities to fresh. some facilities including Elevator and sofas look some old.

    Wonderful location and very kind staffs. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Very nice for honey moon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff , very kind and nice place , front of mix mountains , near to places of activity , near to train station that going to to of europ.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    The pictures and rating of this hotel on booking do not...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures and rating of this hotel on booking do not adequately reflect the quality of this hotel. This hotel caters to big tours . Every day buses bring hoards of tourists to the hotel. This is a four star hotel but in terms of cleanliness and services there are many three star hotels in Switzerland that offer much more. The hotel also looks dated and needs a fresh coat of paint. It is in front of a busy street so if your room is on the road side you can’t open your window at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cleaned but the carpet in the corridors was extremely dusty (I am allergic to dust).

    Nice hotel in a great location. Wide choice of food for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Modern hotel offering amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Grindelwald is basically just one long main street, and this hotel is on the far end. It's about a 10 min walk from the train station to the hotel, slightly uphill - Bathroom was a bit cramped - Safe was tiny, not suitable for a laptop or tablet - No coffee/tea station in the room

    - Amazing view, Grindelwald is absolutely gorgeous - Friendly staff - Comfortable and quiet modern room - Multiple sockets and USB ports for charging your electronic devices - Soft drinks in the mini bar were free - Chocolate bar as a welcome gift - Room had all required amenities: safe, fridge, tv - Great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Loved the spa and pool. Grindelwald was hot when we visited so once we were done climbing mountains it was nice to lie on sunloungers and swim :) staff helpful with advice on where to go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    I really like the view from the balcony and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My mother really likes drinking tea and we had to go to the lobby for the hot water. Plus the water was not hot enough.

    I really like the view from the balcony and the room was very clean. Staff was really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Paradise found!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The experience was wonderful. You will not believe the view from your window -- ask for a room facing the mountain. The staff is amazing and the breakfast is a delight! Book now, and enjoy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Very helpful and kind staff, nice location with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breaky but that is fine, it is anyway free. I hope they improve breakfast even they charge.

    Very helpful and kind staff, nice location with beautiful mountain view, clean room with fast wifi connection. Very valuable price! Perfect to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Place of the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception need some training on Hospitality , cleaning stander and style of the Hotel rooms + Lobby Area don’t meet our expectations ( old style ) to be honest the Breakfast was excellent variety of food staff served for Breakfast was very good really. By the way I recommend this Hotel to be booked for group of friends only!

    Place of the Hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Sunstar's staff, facilities and location were exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for our stay! We were a group of four adults and four kids ranging in age from 7 - 16, and no one wanted to leave! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Agreat place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    waiting for the elevator was most of the time a bit fustrating

    the room was clean, the bed was very confortable and the breakfast was for me outstanding, I would say; SUPER

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in good location with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were much too soft and made it difficult to sleep Absence of a jacuzzi. The no clothes area of the spa

    Nice pool Possibly the best hotel buffet breakfast I have ever had Good location and great views

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent on all counts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather!!!

    Sunstar now has excellent Wifi in the rooms and lots of electricity sockets. Sunstar Grindelwald has a perfect situation, extraordinary facilities and very good staff. HB dinners have improved remarkably in last few years. We have been returning for the last 15 years. Need we say more?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfort and relaxation at a price you would expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was okay, lots of choice of egg, meat and pastry offerings, but might have been nice to see more savoury cooked breakfast options and filter coffee. The bar service in the entry area was also slow, and the nonalcoholic cocktails wildly overpriced.

    Very nice clean hotel with a large spa swimming pool, pleasant balconies and quick provision of everything we asked for (for example a new keycard and an extra pillow). Internet worked. Pretty much as it should be for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great central location right opposite the cable cars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minimal car parking spaces outside hotel so had to pay the equivalent of about £12 a day to use their underground car park which was our only option. We were family with a 6ft 15 year old who was on a small camp bed which wasn't ideal and I don't think was value for money.

    Great central location right opposite the cable cars. Friendly staff. Free minibar refilled everyday. Generous breakfast. Nice pool facilities. You can buy lift passes and hire skis at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable but would not rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a shortage of staff in the bar and lounge area. It was difficult to get service. The pillows in the bedrooms were poor.

    The staff in the restaurant were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel but noise from avocado bar is a big spoiler
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok. The avocado apres ski bar which is near the hotel carried on with loud music until 3am and we could hear it from our room. This is a real problem and the hotel needs to address this urgently

    Great diverse breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    Very ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned design. Facility was old. Staffs are not very qualified. Bed was not comfortable at all. Not worthy of the cost.

    Good location. Small balcony with Mountain feel. Breakfast is nice, especially omelete.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are perhaps a little tired and in need of a revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are perhaps a little tired and in need of a revamp. Also it was very difficult to get Ice to our room for drinks!! We had to take a plastic bag down to the bar to get some ice as there never seemed to be any ice buckets available? However over all we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    We had to leave early due to an illness and got charged the full amount plus more ☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a terrible personal experience which isn’t the hotels fault but they were less than helpful/understanding. I accidentally booked a double room for one person and upon arriving (we drove) at 1am they proceeded to tell me they had to charge me an extra €200+ for the second person, then €15 a night for parking. I couldn't afford that but I had no possibility of canceling last minute. My friend got sick the next morning with the flu and we had to go to the ER. Unfortunately he got worse and we left the following morning at 5am without sightseeing, without sleep or using any of the hotel amenities. During checkout they still proceeded to charge me the full amount of €800+. I get it though, they’re a business and it’s not their fault, we just had bad luck :( maybe next year when I win the lottery I can afford to come back.

    The location is the best selling point, directly across from the ski lift. Breakfast was pretty good, unfortunately that’s all we got to do.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Location next to cable car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is average 3 star, far from proclaimed 4 star. Prices are comparable to some luxury hotels, so value for money is very poor. Interiors are old and shabby, SPA is a joke, and also quite old.

    Location next to cable car. 2 out of 3 rooms were ready before official check in time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    We will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was with my 2 big teenagers in 1 room and the 3rd bed was more for a child than for a teenager/adult.

    The hotel is great. Location and view are very good. The food is great. The swimming pool is large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly not typical case (meaning does not happen all the time), and overall minor issues: - There was a conference, where many attendees was busying the lobby during the coffee pause of the conference, was difficult to pass through the crowd. Maybe such crowd can be organised to gather somewhere else, but not on the path from the front door and the rooms. - Lobby did not have a dedicated attendant to ask for coffee etc while front desk was busy; had to wait quite a while to ask for coffee / drinks. Could be improved by installing a bell / phone to call an attendant.

    - Perfect location for the "First" slopes, as well as rentals, eats etc. - High quality and rich breakfast. - Well taken care of rooms and bathrooms. - Friendly and helpful staff. - Easy-going, comfortable and calm place to spend time inside in case outside weather gets unfriendly. - Fumoir :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    A nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the only real issue is how tremendously expensive the rooms are for what you are getting (simple shower/small tub/not very good mattresses/terrible lighting in the rooms) The swimming pool was quite cold and we were disappointed that with all the spa amenities there was no whirlpool (heated small pool outside or inside but somewhere ;-)

    The staff was tremendously helpful and professional and went out of their way for us many times. Thank you all! The location is really wonderful. The Alderstube restaurant was nice and hot stone food was interesting but took a long time. Restaurant service was great and very professional but super slow. I thought it was a really nice place overall but very expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful breakfast, the free mini-bar was quite the treat,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bathroom accumulated the smell of cigarette smoke during the nights and was very unpleasant to use the following mornings. It's a non-smoking venue so perhaps this was diffusing through from another guest who was doing the wrong thing by smoking in their room. The absence of an extractor fan in the bathroom (possibly not working) meant I couldn't make it clear easily. I reported this to Reception on the second day but unfortunately they were unable to do anything about it. All of the power sockets in the room were taken up by the appliances. An extra, empty power socket near the bed or desk would have been helpful, but it was no problem to unplug the desk lamp to make space.

    Wonderful breakfast, the free mini-bar was quite the treat, the iced tea and towel on arrival was a welcome surprise, and the staff were delightfully-helpful and friendly - a shoutout to Mary-Anne for making me feel so welcome, and Sybil for her sense of humour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Pick it only if you would like a refreshing breakfast and decide to go to First
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is disappointing with its so-so comfortableness and poor view in room (have balcony but not accessible, funny)

    Excellent breakfast. No doubts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More in hotel activities and a game's room for childeren/teenagers would be good

    Good breakfast and comfy beds. Clean room and bathrooms. Excellent swimming and spa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    This is a proper high end hotel which should be rated 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the pillows, they were so soft that you had to fold them over, but were then too chunky. They seem to be the choice of several hotels we have recently stayed at, but are extremely uncomfortable. The washing detergent for the sheets had an unpleasant odour too.

    The absolutely amazing view from the hotel of the Eiger. Breakfast was fantastic and the gentlemen at reception was very helpful and gave us some great tips. Other than that the decor was very newly renovated, modern and it was a great place to stay in Grindelwald within walking distance of the shops and restaurants. The rooms were big and very comfortable. The spa services and pool look fantastic, but we didn’t get a chance to use these as we were only there for the night and day to check out the Eiger.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    service was special with the waiter knowing my name.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room at night was too warm

    service was special with the waiter knowing my name. Spectacular views from the room. The wellness spa was a bonus on the wet day and views from the room were so calming. Having the ski hire on site was great and they were very helpful. The location in town was perfect. Best place to stay in the snow in Grindelwald, actually I would say Switzerland!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous, would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a spa but I believe it’s custom for you to have naked spas which I couldn’t bring myself to do .... 😊...... 😢

    The beds and pillows were extra comfy. The rooms and hotel were always lovely and warm . Lovely all round relaxing experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free parking lots are limited. You have to pay if there's no free parking lot. The room is a bit too small. Also we waited for a while both when check-in and check-out.

    The room and the breakfast was acceptable, just as an average of a 4 stars hotel. The mountain view was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    Everything is OK but the front staff are the worst and made it a horriable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been in hundreds of hotels across the world so I have seen it all but this hotel's front staffs (receptionists) were the rudest and the most impolite disrespectful ever, they act with a since of superiority specially with Arabs they will go as low as they don't even respond to greetings except (Sibylle) she was great unlike the others. It was a big disappointment really

    The view was fascinating and the location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value with all the ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hotel that caters for large groups, so its not boutique or intimate. I didn't require either, but just a clean and comfortable place to sleep, so it was great. The bed while very comfortable is a fold up variety to make better use of small room space, which means you have to put it up to move around the room freely.

    Well located commercial hotel with all the amenities that was great value. Front desk staff were professional, polite and friendly and check in efficient. Room was small, but comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of options to choose from. The hotel is situated off the main drag and had off street parking. I understand there was spa facilities included in the room rate, which i didn't have time to use. Couple of drink items in the mini bar are included in the room rate, nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Great stay with great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was super perfect from the staff to hotel facilities .. speacial great thanks to Mr. Hussain ( Receptionist ) for his kindness with all hotel guests

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.0
    Cool paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive!

    Very incredible natural place. Very friendly staff and extremely comfortable. In front of jungfrau first and near many other sightseeings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all rooms had balconies.

    I enjoyed the breakfast pack provided as I had an early morning checkout. The single room was enough for one person although a little larger would have been great. Clean and functional bathroom. Nice smelling soap! Fantastic views from breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely view of the village and mountains from the room, comfy bed and excellent breakfast included. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a good position in Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I could not understand why the hotel restaurant has such a very unexciting menu. For this reason I did not have dinner in the restaurant at all during my stay. From my observation each evening the large restaurant appeared to be almost deserted. Surely the answer must be to offer a more attractive and interesting menu to attract people to dine there.

    This is an excellent hotel which is very professionally run. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were of a very good standard and the daily cleaning was also very good indeed. A small selection of beer and soft drinks are available without charge in the minibar in the room. Any drinks which have been consumed are replaced each day. The swimming pool is excellent and very well maintained. Breakfast is of a high standard with a great deal of choice. There are about fifteen free parking spaces in the open air in front of the hotel. I arrived in the early afternoon and was able to park here. Otherwise the only option is to pay CHF10 per day in summer (CHF15 per day in winter) to park in the hotel's underground car park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Top place to stay within less than 5 minutes walk distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top place to stay within less than 5 minutes walk distance from the First station. I was picked-up from the train station. Staff is super friendly and helpful. The SPA facilities were a great way to relax after the hiking days. Excellent breakfast. Would love to come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent views and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel caters for a large number of upmarket tour groups. They do there best to put them on other floors but still not ideal

    Excellent views and great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Great ho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garages were a bit confusing as two different entrances but they look the same inside!

    Staff really helpful, room had an amazing view, so beautiful we just wanted to sit on the balcony on an evening, even when it was cloudy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Just wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All hotels in Switzerland are expensive, but this one is so good, it's impossible to complain!

    The receptionist who greeted us was fantastic. Flawless English and gave the most useful information about where and when to eat and what to do in the area in a very short visit. The room was super-comfortable and excellently equipped with stunning views. Service superb, and facilities perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are very good but the rooms could be better for a hotel with an excellent location.

    Location is very good. Hotel is 4 stars but could be top of 3 stars. Nothing exceptional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    Stay at sunstar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water kattle in the room and no service in the lobby.

    The lobby is big and have a nice view to the mountains friendly staff and have luggage help service. The rooms are big and clean. The location is near to the market just across the road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice view outside the window, nice buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It need to take around 10 minutes to walk from train station to hotel, it would be hard time if you are with lots of luggage, since the path is a slight slope

    Nice view outside the window, nice buffet breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay in basic, modern hotel with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not offered welcome dinks when a party of German speaking visitors were No chef making eggs at the buffet unless you ask Rooms are a bit basic and tired looking for what you pay.

    The view from the buffet restaurant was great and the hotel is situated in a great place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Great location close to town and the ski lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to town and the ski lift. Very spacious lounge area a nice place to sit in the evening. Staff were lovely - a very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a relatively large and modern hotel for Switzerland. There really wasn't anything bad about it. Worth spending the slightly more money to have fantastic views of the mountains from the rooms. (it is worth it, and if you are considering staying here, you can afford it).

    There is basically one street in Grindelwald so hard to have a bad one. Directly across from one of the main lifts...Spa was nice. Dinner was surprisingly good and the menu was good value for money. Free hot water for tea (for all the Brits out there) or ramen noodles (which seem to be pretty popular) in the lobby 24 hours a day...Staff was friendly, they also have free apples and gave us a welcome drink we arrived. Could use the spa/pool the whole day after you checked out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location, free mini-bar a plus....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant is closed in the fall. Breakfast was excellent but I was surprised that with the number of tour groups there, there was only one coffee machine (at least that I saw) so people were standing in line.

    This hotel is right in the heart of Grindelwald and very nice. I had a cozy single room with a balcony on the street side. No problem with noise. Loved the free mini-bar as I hiked in and didn't have to go anywhere for my arrival beer. Breakfast was generous and very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was perfect. Very nice and helpful staff. Clean room, free minibar (soft drink and beer), rich breakfast. Definitely I will stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not at all what is advertised in the pictures. Bathrooms outdated with cheap shower curtains. Very old carpet and wall paintings all cracked. Bed not so comfortable with limited number of pillows and blankets. Towels also not from the best quality. A "ok" hotel, but not worth the price.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    No problem here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is positioned perfectly short stroll to all amenities the rooms are clean great views staff are more than happy to help with all your queries food is nice I have no problems in recommending this establishment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Friendly staff. Excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Beatiful swimming pool with excellent view. Very nice massage. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.1
    Location is great (opposite First Bahnen;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are a bit outdated and would require some update for the price you pay; carpet should be removed

    Location is great (opposite First Bahnen; bus stop in front of the hotel); great SPA area and silence room with view to Eigernordwand; friendly staff; large breakfast buffet; mini bar in the room is free of charge; the restaurant attached to the hotel is very good (Adlerstube)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.2
    Good spa hotel in centre of Gindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bread at breakfast wasn't very good. Cheese was small pieces. Pool would benefit from massage jets.

    Very good hotel in the centre of Grindelwald with good spa facilities. Excellent steam room (Romano-Irish) suite, great outside sauna with outside and inside relaxation area with superb mountain views. Breakfast was pretty good and covered most options. Pool large.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get into the sauna area you need your room pass, which is not obvious. Should be explained on the doors or upon check-in.

    Very good location across from the First valley station. Shops within a few minutes. Very quiet at night, despite room to the road. Breakfast buffet excellent with beautiful view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Large indoor swimming pool and outside sun terrace with amazing views. Great sauna area with several hot rooms, with or without steam. Highly recommended. Dinner very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel:) very big, with amazing location and view to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel:) very big, with amazing location and view to the mountain. Foot steps from first mountain attraction and you get a discounts from the hotel. Breakfast is great, a lot to choose from:) I like this hotel very much so👌🏻

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Great location and views but needs new life breathed into property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in dire need of an update, very outdated. Furniture in rooms and lobby old and hallways on floors in need of refurbishment.

    Location was superb, terrace with view excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellent with potential to be even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of staff in restaurants and bar and lounge area. Large number of short duration tour groups staying in the hotel.

    Excellent location and views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff although in the main efficient, were impersonal. The one time we ate in the a la carte restaurant, it was quite ordinary despite a touted 1.5million upgraded kitchen. A larger selection of pillows would be welcome.

    Wonderful view. Great gym and pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.1
    Tour group hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was small and the bed uncomfortable. Furnishings were plain and not new. Prices in the restaurant are too high. There were no budget choices. The hotel was full of large tours that monopolized the elevators and reception desk.

    excellent gym and fitness area. Nice lobby and dining rooms. Great view from rooms facing the mountains

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient location
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Love the clean renovated rooms and it the hotel is close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and pool close very early

    Love the clean renovated rooms and it the hotel is close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The location , the Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location , the Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs and insects windows have no covers

    Clean and spacious rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    I would like to thank grit schcutter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I would like to thank grit schcutter

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    It is near to the activity at waldeswald area
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is near to the activity at waldeswald area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    goooooood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    service and everyone~ view is so good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful view, clean room, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. The mountain view is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    I liked everything about the property, the breakfast view is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the property, the breakfast view is awedome😃

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    It was overall a very good experience and I would love to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Eiger Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - sometimes the employees were a bit rude

    - Bed was very comfortable - View was amazing - Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    location
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms too small for the value

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: