Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunstar Hotel & SPA Davos 4 stars

Oberwiesstrasse 3, 7270 Davos, Switzerland

#24 of 48 hotels in Davos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room is definitely compact, however, it had all the essentials and it was absolutely fine for two nights. The decor was a little bit old-fashioned but that also gave it a certain charm.

    The spa was a highlight with two types of saunas and four different steam rooms (with different aromas) as well as effect showers (rainforest, glacier, high pressure etc.). The breakfast buffet had a really decent variety of food. The hotel is very central, allows you to preorder ski passes until 10 pm and even has its own ski rental place. The single bed I slept in was incredibly comfortable. The staff was very polite and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very well designed, with decent rooms, two onsite restaurants, a very nice piano bar and also a cinema for the younger. The spa is very good, and in case it's rainy outside there's the swimming pool. Also, the hotel provides free transport from and to the skilifts by shuttle bus - Avoiding a 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night but we enjoyed a very relaxing weekend. The staff is super friendly and attentive. The Spa area is small but offers a very nice aroma steam themed corner. The Breakfast buffet is fantastic and offers a huge variety of all different kinds of food and beverages, a very generous selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a fantastic hotel! The facilities are great - I really enjoyed the use of the pool and spa. My room was fantastic, and bed very comfy, with a lovely balcony view. The room also came with breakfast which was excellent, and the hotel even left me a card and gift on my birthday. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable with nice wooden furniture and comfortable beds! There was also a FREE minibar, which was a nice surprise! Staff were really friendly, and the breakfast was great... the coffee was especially good at the breakfast buffet (which for me is always a sign of a top class hotel!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything as expected from comments I read on booking.com. Maybe not always my personal style, but it fit well with the surroundings. I felt very comfortable there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Careless for service at the hotel restaurant. I was so surprised! No body can explain the dishes in English, nobady asked me how about your dish tast or asked if I need more bread, for instance, during I had my dinner there. Especially, after I finished my dinner, to start to sign my bill before, I tried to complain about their service quality and the food tast, but the manager she almost had no reaction, just said "oh so, it is ok"... Incredible!

    The reception, facilities of room, Sauna area, location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance, rooms and swimming pool need renovating, the style is very old fashioned.

    The breakfast is delicious and the hotel bus is very fast for drop-offs and pickups around town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They may have to think about renovating soon. The colours, tiles and patterns are outdated.

    The hotel has everything needed for a great holiday. The hotel bus sets of to the lifts every 15 minutes. Very friendly hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Late evening lounge singer not to our taste. Early evening pianist pleasantly relaxing.

    Friendly, efficient and unobtrusive . A very comfortable stay in a quiet location. Shuttle buses to and from ski lifts made a trouble free day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ended up here because we could not find anything else in Davos - it was the ski championship in St Moritz. A big hotel, well run but probably a bit expensive for what you get.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot. My single room was a little small perhaps.

    Great breakfast options. Omelette and Muesli were very good. Very helpful and friendly staff. Everything thought through to enable you to get equipped, and transported to the pistes to ski as quickly as possible.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check-reception and restaurant. Checked in on a busy day and was advised could not have a meal in the restaurant, or room service. Suggested I walk to a hotel near the station,

    Restaurant meals excellent. View beautiful, Facilities Good, Located in a quiet area of town. All modern features - wi-fi etc of a high quality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, short walk to the Jakobshorn cable car and bus stop if you wish to go to Parsenn. Plenty of free parking was available at the hotel although was not very busy at the time. Ski room facilities were large with plenty of space to store equipment and boots. Good breakfast and friendly staff, couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa, location, breakfast

    The staff is dedicated and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast, great dinner, nice facilities with big spa, very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room incl. Skipass
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything good, friendly staff, large room, bath, bar and restaurant both good, spa and parking, great value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room incl. Skipass
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room incl. Skipass
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear every word of the neighbours. The staff was very unfriendly and unprofessional. The rooms aren‘t at 4* level.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, very accommodating. Spa was fabulous. Excellent selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing it was wonderful

    great staff. great location, greet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to climb a hill to get thete

    Very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast sauna swimming pool regular buses to skiing places

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't have a reservation you are not admitted to the restaurant , because it's too small for all the guest.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no idea dogs were allowed to stay in rooms, listening to dogs barking when trying to sleep no fun

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent food and presentation. Excellent rooms. Facilities faultless. Staff amazing. Location just brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value and great staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would not recommend this hotel for wellness. The wellness area ("spa") is too old-fashioned, respectively just not what you'd expect when you know "real" spas or modern wellness hotels.

    Great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As we have been loyal returning guests to the hotel for more than 8 times we find quality of the hotel management and attention to the customer rapidly degrading. The food selection for both breakfast and dinner has less and less variety and goes to the basic food. Professionalism of the restaurant waitresses is also goes down (they serve much slower, more confused and some do not speak good English). Also roughly 8 out of 10 announcements/news are in German only. Aside from the dining experience, before the room was cleaned twice per day and during the evening time the weather forecast along with small chocolate was a norm to be found on a pillow, but not anymore. All in all, it seem the Hotel started to go toward the commercialisation route forgetting about customer experience and swill-quality-feeling yet still increasing prices. Seem like, for the next year we will consider other hotels around Davos.

    We have been staying in this hotel for more than 8 times already. We like its location (although with kids/pram it is harder to get from the main shopping street as there is a significant street incline of about 60-80 m long toward the Hotel). Within the hotel we like most the lobby - it is spacious and has a Swiss-feel.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Swiss Frank is too expensive, but hotel can not do something with it :-)

    Comfortable hotel with multiple choices how to spend time. Excellent bus service to ski pistes.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heater is central controlled The liquid soap/shampoo quality is not what a four-star would provide

    Shuttle bus back and forth to ski lifts/train station Swimming pool Staff very helpful and nice Dinner (half board) is good value proposition

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The business center is not worth mentioning: three old computers with only a browser, no other (office) software and slow internet. Fitness room closing too early. Smoke in room from neighbouring rooms a couple of times (smokers on the balconies).

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, very efficient and nice rooms (!), the region, free transportation with all trains, buses and cable cars (!), nice magazines, clean, good beds (!) and quiet room doors (!); refrigerator, quick cleaning of cloths, free transport from and to the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little difficult to find, coming from the railway station.

    Very friendly and helpful staff; very good kitchen; comfortable room; and availability of many facilities.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel caters almost exclusively to package tourists, and it was very difficult to find a breakfast table that was not reserved - there were supposed to be signs to indicate free tables but the staff rarely used them. This was a stressful start to each day.

    Superb location just minutes from Davos Platz railway station. Spacious room with balcony and free minibar. Great bathroom. Free WiFi. Excellent breakfast buffet. Free train and mountain pass. Front desk staff were wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a bit tricky to find the place, as Sunstar has two hotels at same address. The one I stayed is located a bit higher on the hill and is not visible when you approach by car in the rain. But this is not a big thing and is compensated once you enter the door.

    Very comfortable and high-quality hotel. Nice relaxation area with sauna, gym and pool. Comfortable bed and nice view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Spa was pretty nice. Not so relaxing since there are a lot of kids around and no jacuzzi which to me is vital to restore your muscles for mutilple days of skiing. But the outdoor sauna was fabulous! Dog friendly so would sometimes hear barking when the owners left them in their room alone. Other than that dogs seemed well behaved and didn't smell in the room.

    I was on a long layover and treated myself to this beautiful respite in the mountains. The staff are extremely friendly and happy to assist with anything. Fantastic breakfast buffet with more than you can imagine to eat and drink before a day on the slopes. Better than I've ever experienced before

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very pleasant and a nice stay. I suggest this Hotel for the nice location, for the kind service and for the nice accomodation facilities. I enjoied my stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    road and pavements close to the hotel were covered in ice so you need to be very careful while walking

    outstanding staff, plentiful breakfast , clean & cosy room, free wi-fi , free minibar !

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, modern rooms, comfortable beds, tasty food.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff were amazing. Very helpful in everything. Comfortable, with excellent facilities.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Heating not on, +8 degrees outside, frosen in the morning.

    Nice pool. Transport to/from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much has happened at this place since the seventies with either the rooms, pool or the guests. I was the only one below 75.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior-Design der Zimmer

    Interior-Design Reception/Halle

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Decoration needs to be refreshed

    - The huge balcony

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly and helpful, pass included for cable cars, internet worked well, fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room, the chocolat, the breakfast, the pool, the fitness

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of stuff included like sauna facilities, mini bar. Bar area was very nice and cosy. Staff very friendly and professional.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was off and on.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great staff, free shuttle every time, center of Davos, awesome wellness center, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    few newspaper available except for German.

    sauna, breakfast, super helpful and friendly staff, convenient and felxible shuttle bus

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice wellness area

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: