Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Bern 4 stars

Zeughausgasse 9, 3011 Bern, Switzerland

#21 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 916 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank goodness we only stayed for one night as we were put on the 5th floor which was a total construction site. There is no way any guests should be staying on this floor as it was not safe. There was no ceiling in the corridors and electrical wiring was hanging down from all over the place. Building materials were on the floor and we were literally walking through clouds of dust as we made our way in and out of our room. Can’t believe authorities would allow people to inhabit the hotel (particularly 5th floor) in this state, compromising our health and safety.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Nightmare
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and at the beginning of renovation with workers and dirt everywhere. The hotel confirmed that do not advertise on bookings.com that they are in renovation. This is rated as 4 stars but it is actually 2

    The hotel is undergoing major renovation and this was not noted on booking.com. The place looks like a bomb has gone off. I had ants in my room , lots of ants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room backed onto a church, the bells ring for most of the morning in a Sunday so can be annoying. Busy student bar close by lots of partying in the streets

    Good location, great value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their website said that there was a Continental breakfast available for 10.50 Swiss francs. However, when we got there it was unavailable. The room was small and with very little storage. Although near the station - a bonus for us - the hotel is in a very noisy location with revelers shouting in the street till gone midnight. There was no air conditioning.

    The bed was comfortable and the reception staff were very friendly. The tv worked and had English channels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    would
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Current construction, has impacted this rating. Very, very noisy due to construction taking place at the hotel. Rooms were very hot and there was a water issue likely due to construction which made the water brown.

    Very large room sizes, comfortable beds and location of hotel in relation to altdtadt can not get much better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    There is no place for smoking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no place for smoking. You have to go outside. Actually there is a courtyard but it is not allowed to use it. I dont recommend the hotel for smoker people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    lovely old town, but very expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good Hotel,-except room was on the 5th floor overlooking a market squire , which had night clubs and bars -very noisy till about 4 in the morning-we moved room on the last night-would stay again! breakfast were expensive, so we eat out!

    Location was really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely enjoyed my time as Hotel Bern was so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. We were upgraded to a junior suite at no costs!! Caution - train station is huge and so Hotel Bern may appear far depending on which side of the platform you get off. It is actually very near but tough to walk if you have big pieces of luggage. Worth paying CHF 20 just for a taxi ride.

    Friendly staff especially Tobias at the front desk - so cheerful & helpful with information we needed. Excellent location as the public transport is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel Bern is a good base to stay - quaint & charming - to also make day trips to Lucerne & Interlaken

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great stay in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking facilities more clearer .. .AC

    Location was a tad away from the SBB Bern station .. however its about a 10-12 minute walk ... centrally located to the CBD- restaurants/ shops ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent stay, convenient for the Bern Grand Prix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking dot com charged me for the room immediately, despite advertising the room as "no need to pay yet". The web site asked for my credit card, I thought for security, but they took the money anyway. I'll book direct next time - I don't like being tricked.

    Excellent location for the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, spacious room with reasonable rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel key room is too heavy but we can leave it at the front desk. There is no private parking at the hotel but we can park at the public parking nearby only 3 minutes walking. The entrance of public parking is closed to starbuck coffee and quite safe

    The hotel Location is excellent surrounded by shops and restaurants. The hotel building is next to coop city supermarket. We stayed at the family room. The room is so spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is actually fairly simple compared to its price but I guess this is how it goes in Switzerland (an expensive country).

    The location is excellent. Very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Plesant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms a re a little small, and my Best Western card was not accepted as I did not book direct -Tis was the first time I was advised I would not receive loyalty points

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.2
    OK hotel. Poor communications. Awful WiFi. Confusing parking arrangements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    False information regarding parking. It's a nearby public car park. The hotel doesn't get a discount. It cost me CHF40 to park for 9 hours overnight.

    Good bar menu

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall, pleased with my stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room / en suite were not exactly 4 star standard It was not possible to have Iron in the room, there is a shared Ironing station

    Location couldn't be better

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Bern stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not so good. No English TV channels. Shower in bath with curtain and poor water pressure. Tee and coffee facilities kept in clothing cupboard.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Staff is friendly and competent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms and bathrooms which must be 40 years old (even though the furniture is solid it is totally outdated). For the price it must now been redecorated and brought to 2018's standards

    Staff is friendly and competent. Breakfast fine. The price for the parking are just incredible (66 CHF for 2 nights...). Top situation in Bern's city centre. You can visit the heart of Bern by feet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Bern is an amazing city but would book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior design is very 70s and needs a makeover. The beds were not very comfortable and everything in the room was "well used". On Saturday night we heard club music until 2am.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is centrally located in the Old Town. Easy walk from Train Station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    It was a very nice stay. People must try this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Breakfast could have been added with the room tariff. 2. Availability of Beer can/bottle in the fridge.

    1. Location was very good. 2. Staffs were very good, cordial and english spoken. 3. Room interior was very good. 4. Liked availability of electric kettle. 5. Availability of papers on the desk. 6. Availability of fridge and drinking water in the room. 7. Heated toilet floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    One thing we did not like is being kept awake to the early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing we did not like is being kept awake to the early hours of the morning by a concert going on in opposite building. Nothing the hotel can do of course except fit triple-glazed windows perhaps?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    The hotel is in a great location, it is close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and old, it is need of some renovating. The bed was not very comfortable and neither were the pillows. The shower head was broken and we could not fix this at the right height, it just kept sliding back down to the bottom, not great unless you're a child! Minimum spend needed if you wanted some drinks delivered to the room, we spent almost CHF20 on one bottle of water and one orange juice. I know 'swiss prices' and felt that this was high.

    The hotel is in a great location, it is close to the majority of the tourist attractions and about a 5 min walk from the train station. There are a few good restaurants near the hotel, so don't feel obliged to stay at the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was above average in size and the bathroom was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the beds terribly hard and asked to change rooms but we were told that all rooms had the same beds. They did offer to add an overlay to make the beds softer which they did and that helped. No air conditioning is always a problem, the in room fan was adequate but not the same as A/C. We did not partake in the breakfast.

    The room was above average in size and the bathroom was well appointed. Hotel staff were helpful but kept very busy with calls which they handled with efficiency and respect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit dark (one window with external louvres, looking out into a small courtyard). Because it was unusually hot during the stay, the room was rather airless (a fan was provided) - wouldn't be an issue in winter. It's not cheap but then that's Bern for you. I'd stay again, but would probably specify a different room.

    Staff were great, location excellent, right in the old city, but in a relatively quiet street. Breakfast was superb - relaxed, no piped music, lots of choice, great coffee, and a pleasant dining area. The room was spotlessly clean. Good, if small, shower with a cool digital device for water usage (complete with a polar bear and an A-E score display!). Some of the rooms (sadly not mine!) have large arched windows looking over the French church opposite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Modern decorated room in a historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nil

    The room decoration and furniture were modern. Television programme in English was available. Apples were provided in the reception. Coop was just next door and Migros not far away but both closed early, usually at 19:00. A lot of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Decent for a couple of nights if you want to be in the centre of Bern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are actually very basic and our bathroom was tiny and in need of modernisation. We also ate in the hotel on the night and the staff were very slow and not very friendly. The restaurant has really good reviews but we found the food to be mediocre.

    The hotel is in a wonderful location in the Old Town. It looks very grand from the outside and the staff were friendly enough. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Very good location downtown Bern with service minded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is close to the famous clock tower in Bern. Our room was close to the tower, where the bells were ringing at least two times every hour during the night. You need ear pluggs if you want to sleep.

    Very good location downtown Bern with service minded staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Avoid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Room is worse than a hostel...small, cheap interior, cleanliness not the best, especially in bathroom.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very helpful and always smiling. Explained way around town very well and offered late check out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.8
    Big (expensive) disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at several hotels in Switzerland. All are expensive, but the others all made a big effort to be worth the money. This was like a budget chain motel, decor style gaudy Ikea. Eco lighting on the landing so bad we met someone using his phone as a torch. For some reason, we were given a disabled room. Don't get me wrong - I have great admiration for a hotel which provides such a thing, but just as a normal room isn't right for a disabled person, this wasn't comfortable for me. It looked like a hospital bathroom and the toilet was so high my feet could dangle without touching the floor. The "wetroom" shower just meant that the bathmat and the rest of the floor got soaking wet.

    Can't think of anything to put here. Sorry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Need proper curtain on your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is one thing I couldn't believe is as a well-know franchised hotel, there is no proper CURTAIN at our room! Our room is very close to the church where I could hear the bell rings every hour over whole night, however as it is summer time and sunrises very early about 5am, light come through the very light and nearly see-through blind?! I woke up since 5am and couldn't sleep well!

    Location was brilliant only 10 mins walking from main station and close to most of the tourist destinations. Bus stops are nearby and you could find loads of restaurant within few mins walking. Hotel service is not bad and the ladies at reception are helpful and patient. Breakfast is ok with selection of bread and some hot items!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Great except for noise in middle of night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been warned that 3rd floor room on front of building, very noisey in middle of night due to partiers very loud. Was awakened at 2,4, and 6 am by the noise.

    Everything but- see below

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Friendly staff, good location, BUT not worthy of 4 star status
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad value for money. I decided to rent a room here because the rooms look good based on what they advertised. However, in the end, I felt a bit hoodwinked.The building is old, which doesn't bother me. The ground floor and restaurant are nice. It changes when you get into the room though. The fixtures and furniture pieces really clash with the style of the building. Some of the furniture pieces seem forced and inappropriate. There's a large lounge chair and coffee table next to the bed which are oddly placed. I took a "business suite" on the third floor, which was very small. There's no bath. Moreover, there's virtually no natural lightning because the window is tiny about 100 x 50 cm. They told me the 'mini bar' was free, but it only contained one beer, one small single serving of champagne and water. For 250.-/night I was honestly expecting more from a 4-star hotel.

    Location, restaurant, staff was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly hotel in the heart of Bern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the room into tiny courtyard

    Great location with very friendly staff. Offer a special deal for the Metro parking, under certain conditions. The hotel is in the heart of Bern with a wide range of facilities around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    The stay was pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, I did not expect that the towels were not changed although I have left them to indicate that I need new ones. There is little space between the bed and the wall, unnecessary furnitures inside the room.

    The location is very convenient, easy access to the center of Bern by foot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value Central Bern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast costs 20 chf extra but there is the coffee/croissant option at a lesser cost. No dislikes worth mentioning otherwise.

    Near to train station and Metro car park in a central position. Good choice of restaurants nearby. Sights of Bern are within walking distance. Wifi excellent. Air conditioning by plug in tower appliance. Coffee/tea making facilities with kettle (no Nespresso machine). Very comfortable bed and clean room. The bedroom looked onto a central floor courtyard so if you value your sleep keep window closed in warmer months. Key not key card entry system. You drop your key off each time you go out. Reception staff very helpful. Excellent value for money for a short stay in Bern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.8
    Expensive but scenic Bern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This should have been a 2-3 star hotel, very basic rooms, small beds. The price of a night in twin bed room is same as Zurich Sheraton . Something is wrong about high prices in Bern.

    Location is the only thing that is attractive for this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.0
    Nice stay with warm welcome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and view of the room is not so good. Anyhow, we didn't open the window.

    The location of the hotel is very convenience to get to train station and supermarkets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a fun weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was travelling to Bern to meet my friends there. When I arrived I found out that one of my friends didn't book the hotel. So, we asked at the reception if it was possible to add one more person to the single room that I have booked. The staff was very helpful, and just for additional 20 CFH per night my friend could stay in my room with me. The hotel was family friendly and the location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in beautiful Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm, but they had provided a fan so they must be used to this type of comment.

    Good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location in the heart of Bern. All you could want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indifference of staff when my chair broke during the evening meal - (I weigh only 80 kg). Very noisy street all night - not sure whether it was Easter celebrations or drinkers; but it went on ALL night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.9
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property itself was great but taxi driver we used from station was horrible! (we knew it was short distance but it was raining so badly!)

    The location was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait 20 min outside of the hotel under the snow before someone came to open the door. I tried to ring the bell and call the hotel but nothing worked!

    Location was very central.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location in old town close to sights and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was a little limited.

    Great location in old town close to sights and shopping. They provided a nice crib for our baby. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.2
    Love the design of the room!
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for twin beds but they gave us a queen bed.

    Love the design of the room! Very colorful and modern looking. The location is perfect, it's walking distance from most of the attractions in Bern. In the winter, the room is warm and cosy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not enough for the money you pay for it. The price should be lower.

    The location of the hotel perfect. Check in check out was quick. Coffee tea staff in the room is a plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    3.8
    Awful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not like all about this place as it looks not right in many ways, not clean, very dark, staff not trained and not professional

    Awful staff from the moment I stepped into the reception. Careless in answering my querries. At check-out they charged my credit card 9,000 CHF instead of 160 CHF. When I called them they said they will refund the next day and so far after 4 days the money still no refunded, on top of that they keep saying that it's not their mistake. Really an awful place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.1
    The location of this hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. So we were out for the day to come back and find our hotel room not cleaned despite us being away the whole day, which was really disappointing as it was too late in the day for it to be cleaned as per the hotel staff. Their only compensation was giving us clean towels. I think this situation could've been dealt with in a better way.

    The location of this hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable stay, environmentally friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower temperature fluctuated somewhat. The WiFi can be a bit slow - though still managed to have a Skype call okay, so not too bad.

    I appreciate the environmental friendliness - while a lot of hotels say that if you leave your towels hanging up they'll leave them for you to use another day, most hotels just replace them anyway - Best Western Hotel Bern actually followed through and have an awesome water meter on the shower to help you conserve water! Great idea. There's also a nifty additional locking mechanism on the door chain.The desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant make a tasty aperol spritz. The location is good, an easy walk to various shops, restaurants and the station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position is excellent. It is central. Hotel gives you a ticket for bus and trams. You can go everywhere with public transport and most places are within walking distance too. Staff are very friendly and helpful and all speak good English. I will definitely go there again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.0
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little dated. Paid too much for what it was.

    location location location. right opposite the rail station, near view spots and chapel bridge near by.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Bright and cheery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right in the middle of town, walking distance from the station and close to the old city, and the river. We had a very bright and cheery room, quite spacious and with a balcony. It was an unexpected and welcome upgrade. In the 1914 Volkshaus - largely gutted apart from the facade. Very helpful staff, and a free public transport ticket as a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for a trip to Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit unreliable.

    Spacious and very comfortable room. As an allergy suffer I was very impressed with the hypo-allergenic room and felt fine in there which isn't always the case with a lot of hotels. Hotel in a great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient to train station and the old party of town but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward finding & getting into because of construction.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    The room is nice and the bed very comfortable, Breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is nice and the bed very comfortable, Breakfast was very good, lecker :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Noisy construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Significant construction going on which prevented us from enjoying rest time during the day.

    Room was clean and staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    BEST BREAKFAST IN SWISTERLAND
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEST BREAKFAST IN SWISTERLAND

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent, our room was little bit noisy (over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition or at least fan, it was warm for us.

    Location is excellent, our room was little bit noisy (over the restaurant), but OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Good location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and great staff. Room was comfy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Cozzy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff really helpful and friendly. Had a flight early in the morning before they served breakfast and offered me breakfast to go.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    I like the hotel location. Very
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time and process.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Central location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Thanks for the welcoming champagne which make honeymoon stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for the welcoming champagne which make honeymoon stay in Bern more pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was very good, and the personnel was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been slippers.

    Breakfast was very good, and the personnel was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Fair Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Rooms can be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive and small room size.

    Connectivity to the trams and trains. Surrounded by restaurants. Few bottles of water and coffee was complimentary!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Reccomended hotel in city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel and great quality /price value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not bad but very ordinary. The restaurant is also very ordianry.

    The room was very goog and clean. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Average - good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms looks old

    Fiendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good price/quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very well acustically isolated from neighbours

    Right in the center, nice structure, equipped with everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    The location and cleaning!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and rather 3* than 4*

    The location and cleaning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast and central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive (probably due to a special event in Bern at this time ?)

    Good breakfast and central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful hotel but a bit costly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    price is pretty high

    Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast, large room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    The room had a balcony in previous stay, but this time does...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a balcony in previous stay, but this time does not. I expected it very much, so I just disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Cozy room and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located in the historic center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located in the historic center

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: