Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baslertor Swiss Quality Hotel 3 stars

St. Jakob-Strasse 1, 4132 Muttenz, Switzerland

#4 of 4 hotels in Muttenz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Things to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap of the shower is insane. The water speed cannot be adjusted. The water jet is so strong and it literally hurts you. I recommend the hotel looks into this and changes the tap of the shower. No AC in the rooms. A small fan is provided which is of no use in the summer. It gets warm. The location is not great. It is far from the Basel Centre. Though it does have a super market beside, there are no much restaurants nearby. Everything is fully closed on Sundays.

    The rooms are clean. Television is big and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Standard fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel as it was close to the highway and we just needed a place to overnight. Standard hotel, not special but nothing unexpected either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    the hotel is in a good location with the tram stop just...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff could be a little friendlier and if the Italian across the road would not exist you have a problem if you want to eat at night

    the hotel is in a good location with the tram stop just round the corner and only 20 mins into town. rooms are large and have all necessary facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Bed was comfortable and the room comes with A refrigerator.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Bed was comfortable and the room comes with A refrigerator. Right next to COOP grocery store which provides easy access to food and drinks as well as close to the tram to go to Basel city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Perfect welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is really big, comfortable and beautiful. You have everything you need: hairdryer, cup of tee and a safe. The personal seemed to be very professional, as well as the explanation about the parking and the hotel. As standard in Switzerland, you get your public transport card for the whole region for free valid during your stay, what is just brilliant! The parking is in the garage, what was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice enough hotel. Staff were friendly and our room was big. Good car park and supermarket nice door. Breakfast was basic and could be better. Not the most exciting hotel in the world but does the job.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was excellent and the staff are really friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows, they're shocking.... however if you ask for an extra one three is just about thick enough. The Staff are really friendly though and have no issues in providing extra ones.

    The room was excellent and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Experienced staff, it was nice to communicate with them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area is not convenient maybe due to the type of the property. It was impossible close the blinds so it was too dark in the room in the morning.

    Experienced staff, it was nice to communicate with them. Direct tram line to the city centre takes about 15 minutes to get there and the hotel provided us with the passes to the city transport. Room was quite clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff were excellent - the only fault was the room and...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Staff were excellent - the only fault was the room and corridors were very hot - the hotel needs air conditioning - the fan supplied was not adequate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay in a quite pleasant hotel,
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the hotel had air-conditioning, particularly the rooms.

    Very well appointed room and comfortable beds. Very good bathroom. Reasonable selection of food for breakfast. Staff very courteous, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    No breakfast available in morning as that Monday was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. I pad would not allow wifi

    No breakfast available in morning as that Monday was a public holiday. No air con in room. Fluffy towels and good bed linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.4
    Why to choose this hotel? Even Ibis in Basel looks better and nicer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am sorry but this is a bit weird hotel... Damn expensive... with rooms that look a bit like from late '90... staff is friendly but never there - simply they vanish in the late evening... rooms do not have even airconditioning... you can use fan if this is too hot.. I guesss... for that expensive hotel you do not have even iron in your room... bathroom OLD

    you get mineral water for free... him... and

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.7
    Very unpleasant surprise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is terribly unfair to bill for a breakfast when you don't take it, specially when the service maid told you that if you take only a coffee you pay only for it... This kind of behavior has no excuse and should never have occurred. So don't book your breakfast, it is served anyway at the supermarket's restaurant and there is chance that you pay less if you don't book it.

    Large and calm room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    No AC.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, exceptionally clean, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Queen bed was actually two singles pushed together

    Exceptionally clean, excellent helpful staff, espresso and metro included, peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Big room, close for location needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not the same like in past

    Big room, close for location needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location! Comfortable beds and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Room was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok. But the smell in the building was terrible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.0
    No air
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    clean tea heater in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean tea heater in room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Excellent for a sleepover after a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Property conveniently located near the motorway but set in a quiet location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast has more selection for guest from Asia and Muslim country.

    free transport by train or tram to Basel SBB and city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location with easy access and many restaurants around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms too hot. Needed to open window to get some cooler air.

    Good location with easy access and many restaurants around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    The staff was nice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite having mentioned that i was bringing a dog i was not told there were extra costs...

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel if you need to be in Basel for business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms that face south could become very hot during the day.

    Nice hotel if you need to be in Basel for business. Wifi was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Modern and tidy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception closing after 5PM

    Modern and tidy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    great place to stay at when travelling through Basel by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is perfect for a night if you travel beyond Basel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location with daily free tram & bus card, very...
    • Couple

    I cannot say anything against.

    Excellent location with daily free tram & bus card, very kind and cooperative staff. There is a rich supermarket and pharmacy next door to the hotel, where you can satisfy your needs. It is in the hearh of Muttenz district, many restaurants are available by walking distance. The room was very spacious and quiet. Good place to stay. And cleanliness wasv10/10

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.2
    Hotel is clean, staff friendly, lots of parking, facilities...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were those down filled pillows that are flat by morning. I was so happy I brought my travel pillow with me. Breakfast is CHF 15/adult, but at least children eat for free. Seemed a bit pricey to me, so we bought from the grocery store downstairs. 2 capsules of coffee is included in the room price. This did not bother us, but guests should know that the hotel reception closes at night from 10 PM to 7 AM on weekdays & about 8 PM on Saturday night. I don't know what happens on Sunday night. There is a telephone left at the front desk & one can telephone their "partner hotel" if you need anything. We never had to do this, so I don't know if this works well or not. So this is more like a business hotel & not a full catering resort/spa hotel.

    Hotel is clean, staff friendly, lots of parking, facilities seem fairly new, convenient location with a Coop supermarket just outside the back door, lots of shops & restaurants nearby. The free public transportation pass is very convenient ---- especially since the #14 Tram stops 2 blocks away from the hotel at "Muttenz Dorf" stop. Takes 10 minutes by tram 14 to get to St. Jakob Arena/Halle & only a little longer to get into Basel city. Our room was quiet, large (we had a comfort suite ---- I think it is called.). Beds were comfortable ---- even the sofa bed mattress was firm (amazing!). Wonderful duvet covers. Bathroom had all the toiletries (shampoo, soap), hairdryer. Mini bar had both a Nespresso machine & a hot water cooker. 😃 Heating was comfortably warm ---- no need for fleece PJ's. Windows had closeable shutters which made the room wonderfully dark for sleeping. I just wished that I had realized that much earlier. Also the sound proofing from the window was quite good. Though the hotel is located on a busy street, the street noise did not bother us & better yet, the Muttenz Church Bells which ring very loudly & long from 06:30 AM everyday even on weekends could barely be heard from the hotel. (I know these bells because I have stayed elsewhere in Muttenz before & got woken up by these bells everyday.) WiFi for 3 devices included in room rate. WiFi worked well. Total Cost for us (including city taxes & car parking) was CHF 200/night for 4 people. This is for Switzerland a fair price (neither cheap nor expensive).

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The design of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    The design of the hotel. How they seperated the kids room and link it between the bathroom. To feel the privacy with my wife and keep connection with kids in same time.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    This was the only hotel available when we booked our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Because of Art Basel, our room rate was 351.50 for a one night stay w/o fruhstruck. Normal rates are about 1/3 of this. The breakfast was unexceptional, confusing and overpriced. It is buffet style and only select items are for hotel guests. Nothing warm was includes in our 42CH fruhstuck for two people. I only had coffee and a croissant.

    This was the only hotel available when we booked our stay. We were unaware that Art Basel was happening during the last few days prior to our departure. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    8.3
    Easy accessible, covered parking, walking distance to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Traffic can be noisy, no airconditioning.

    Easy accessible, covered parking, walking distance to restaurants/shops. Short stroll to tram station, taking you into Basel City.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    I am a badminton player, so I liked excellent ambience.
    • Family with older children

    It very nice

    I am a badminton player, so I liked excellent ambience.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast wasn't perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast wasn't perfect

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.1
    Helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Many spiders craw in, if we keep the windows open

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    Good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good hotel. I stayed there three times. Nothing to complain.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    Very good internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no airconditoning in room

    Very good internet connection free water from minibar

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: