Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grichting Badnerhof Swiss Quality Hotel 3 stars

Kurparkstrasse 13, 3954 Leukerbad, Switzerland

#23 of 56 hotels in Leukerbad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Replace carpets in the hall.

    Classy and pleasant owner. Polite and helpful staff. Price & quality is in proportion. Hotel needs some refurbishing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were more than nice. The Children wanted to take a stroll with their dog and the man drowe away to get the dog. Then he went home once more to get the leash which he had forgotten. The Children were overjoyed. They were multilinguals which I appreciate. The rooms were like heaven; balconys with a spectacular wiew; Clean, perfect beds and a bathroom which was splendid! Breakfast - more than you can ask for. Espcially the fruit plate was found very good. They were social and came up to us every morning to be helpful - one of Switzerlands best hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    spa area looks abandoned and awful. the swimming pool area needs refirbishing, the jets in the pool did not work. quite draughty inside: the swimming pool and the room. some confectionary provided at a breafast was sour! they HAVE to look after freshness of their food!!!

    just 3 mins from the bus station. a free towel and a bathrobe are provided. the leukerbad therms are really near (seen from the windows). excellent view on mountains (at least from my room)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They never send me invoice/bill after VISA payment done immediately after late check-in. Staff had been promised to send via email invoice but after fax, emails, phone call nobody sent me what had been promised. If you are business travel, like me, please let's pretend invoice or you are not able to demonstrate to your company hotel accomodation.

    Wellness centre. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay at the hotel could have been truly awesome if the check-in experience was better. First, I could have been offered the Wifi password at check-in, rather than have to ask for it later. Second, it would be nice if one is provided a bit of information on things to do in town and recommendations on ski lessons, hiking, spas and etc. Overall, I would say, reception could use more warmth and welcome, especially if they see you are a solo traveler. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world (from dirt cheap to five-star) and I would say that this is the first time I felt not so very welcome.

    There are many things to like about the hotel. For one, breakfast was superb and with excellent views of the mountains. The room was cozy and comfortable, although it was small. The location is very convenient, near the bus station and the thermal baths. The hotel also had its own heated pool and sauna, but I never used it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a junior suite for more space, which we got through the additional living room area. However, the bedroom itself was quite small and dark (the only lamps in the room were the once on the nightstand) and the beds themselves were quite limited in size as well.

    The hotel is conveniently located close to the town center and to the Alpentherme. All staff members were friendly and courteous. There are nice facilities like Sauna, steam-bath and a pool, which we never used during our stay. The breakfast had a good selection and the staff was prepared for some additional wishes (like a fried egg).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Turkish bath was not working and there was no-one available to help. Room was a little too cold on arrival. Staff were very nice but were super busy.

    Great location in the centre of Leukerbad. Lovely swimming pool and spa area. Great for relaxing. Nice restaurant, delicious and not too expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot think of anything which I did not like at this property.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The special day menu was excellent with a wide variety of food for my four day stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no parking place near the hotel, need to leave car on the main parking of the city near the auto bus station. 4-5 min by feet from the hotel.

    Nice place, nice location, very friendly polite owners. We enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    update decor. rooms tired and worn and carpets in hallway worn patches. ceiling patches - needed painting and all updating. pool had rusty metal pipes, not as pristine as expected

    Very nice staff, lovely dining room - good food, one piece of wrapped bread in clingfilm was moldy, amount of birchermuesli limited for all

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    City car park isn't free, 14 chf per day

    kind and helpful staff, great breakfast, great location (walking distance to the baths and ski lift)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff. Breakfast selection. Balcony and view. Pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pt dej top, personnel adorable, piscine et spa top

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. Very well located with nearby affordable parking in the Rathus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to small

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastique Stay, wonderful staff. We could not have had a better stay, people were really nice, they welcomed our family the best way, our little one enjoyed the cot, the swimming pool and the baby chair at breakfast. Btw breakfast is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - car parking is not directly in site (3-5 min walk) and is closed at all times. You need to ask for a key at reception to enter it.

    + good breakfast with a nice view over the village + nice big room with wooden furniture + friendly staff + the swimming pool is simple but good, warm tea is available in the wellness area + children are allowed in wellness area and they really enjoyed it

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The family suite we were in was far from the one shown on the website: it was older (8o's style), two-story with a spiral staircase , waterbed(??). I think a picture should've been included on the site so that you know what to expect.

    The location, breakfast, clean, quiet, view.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    They went out of their way to accommodate us - There was a mistake in booking, I'm not sure whether I made it or was a bug with booking.com, anyway a single room was booked instead of a room for 3! In the end they charged us for a single room, so really honest. Used restaurant for drinks only but they were nice there as well Room was well furnished Bathroom large and newly decorated Sumptuous breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only complaint was that the facilities could have been a bit more updated although it was fine but not really a 4 star. Also we woke in the morning with hundreds of ants in our room that came in from the patio even though the patio door was closed. Not a huge deal as we checked out that day but had we stayed another day we would have needed to move. I'm sure they will resolve this.

    Great location, excellent staff and a nice warm pool. Leaker bad is a beautiful area and this hotel is right in the middle of the village, it has a pool but also close to the thermal baths, restaurants and a supermarche. It is a 15 min walk to the Gemmipass cable car. The hotel staff was so friendly. We were able to drop out bags and go for a hike since we were early and the room wasn't ready. When we came back our bags were in our room. Also the wifi in the hotel was great.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool was just a little bit cold.....! Shame as it's great! Am sure that it will be nice and warmer with some sun shining into the pool area.

    Very friendly staff and the breakfast!!! Yeah! A great swiss breakfast with the best swiss croissants ever! nice view, the breakfast lady switched between 5 different languages every minute and was so nice! The receptionist was very nice too! All staff great! Wonderful place to relax inbetween a hard day's work at the spa!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was good

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were very impressive and multi-lingual!

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel, only negative was the corridor smells of food....

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Need aircondition. It was too cold for baby.

    Kind staffs.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Neighbours very noisy

    Great spa, nice varied breakfast with veggies, great location, nice mountain views

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good food and location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    incredible breakfast buttet. enough for the entire day!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They have an underground tunnel connecting the two buildings! Pretty much everything was great, and the staff were helpful when called upon.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Grichting Badnerhof Swiss Quality Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: