Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helmhaus Swiss Quality Hotel 4 stars

Schifflände 30, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#19 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 516 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction going on just right next to the hotel.

    The staffs were all extremely lovely and helpful especially the one at the morning shift. Hotel was well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable and there were plenty of restaurants and bars surrounding the hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and very accommodating to help in anyway. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The central position was excellent. Very close to tram transport and great eateries. The staff was welcoming and very willing to give any assistance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was polite, helpful, and even helped me get reservations for a restaurant. The staff reallt made this hotel high quality. The bed wasan actual double bed, the first I have ever seen in Europe. The room had a.c., a rarity in Switzerland. Shuttle to airport was a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room. That said, coffee machine accessible near breakfast area.

    Staff exceptional, great position for walking old city. Clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to mention.

    Helmhaus is a small, extremely well-run hotel in an ideal location. It is in the “old town” and in close proximity to transport, walking distance to a number of sights (two key ones include the Kunsthaus Art Musuem and the Fraumunster Church with Chagall stained glasswork), with many excellent restaurants nearby. The highly professional staff is testimony to the hotel’s excellent manager Mario. They are extremely helpful and knowledgeable and provided four excellent recommendations for restaurants. A couple of additional positives warrant mentioning: They sell direct daily and multiple trip transport tickets (Unusual for most hotels) and for travelers on the road for a couple of weeks, they provide an in-house laundry service (One good sized bag for the usual suspects) for the equivalent of USD$20. This is both a convenience and very well-priced by European standards. Beds are very comfortable and location is not on a main thoroughfare providing for a good night’s sleep. A good breakfast and the NY Times is available with your coffee in the morning. Security is excellent. Amongst the smallest elevators seen, but it will get you up to your room and help with the luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are issues with this hotel. We tried to avoid to make these comments but management + board was not willing to meet with us to discuss matters. Basically: 1. Night staff member (Moroccan) made rude comments to my wife (Chinese), which comments can potentially be racist based, as a result of which wife did not feel safe in this hotel. 2. Noise issue from outside were not properly addressed and these were the starting point of the discussion. As a result we continue the battle with this hotel.

    Apart from night staff + I guess management + board (see comments below) all other staff were very helpful, efficient and very friendly. Score above reflects our dissatisfaction with how our complaint below was managed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only that could be improved is selection of healthy things for breakfast like seeds, avocado, hummus and I mention that to lady on reception when I was checking out, she said they would probably organize something like avocado and other stuff if I stayed for few days and informed them earlier on. Saying that I am healthy freak as try to do full whole plant diet so in fairness it is hard to accommodate in hotels. I did indulge though over there as pastry were amazing and so were freshly made egg yum yum really nice.

    Great reception from charming man at reception, sorry forget your name and lovely younger girl as well. Breakfast lady keep moving making sure everything is full and coffee she was serving was delicious and hot just like it should be. I was very happy with attitude, location and fresh lovely smell inside room. Will leave you review on TripAdvisor as well as you deserve 5 stars in my opinion. Did I mention they have that amazing service if you need anything they bring it to your room for free, for example kettle, toothpaste, different pillow, very nice indeed. I stayed in many 5 stars hotels and they weren't as good as that one so well done to you all. With best regards Maggie

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in the room I requested, double bed, was not available, and reception staff were not initially flexible, but after a bit of persuasion they offered me the room type I booked. All was good after that, however, had the initial contact been more on the correct foot, the overall stay would have been that much better.

    comfortable room and bed. good and healthy breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no restaurants near by that catered to single people really and as a female traveller I would value having that information for any hôtels that Booking offers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were spotless and beds very comfy. The breakfast had a good spread of healthy options and the coffee excellent. The service and staff at the hotel were cheerful and very helpful. I'd go back for sure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife slipped in the shower and cracked the back of her head. The hotel did nothing to help except request a taxi for the nearest hospital if required. Only then did they offer to put a rubber mat in the shower to prevent slipping. Our second room did not have a bedsheet on the bed on the first night. We only found out the next day as we arrived quite late the previous night. In addition, the mattress protector on which I had slept, has a blood stain on it as well as on the underside of the pillow which means they probably hadn’t changed the linen before we got there.

    Good location and quaint hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very kind staff, quiet and spacy rooms, very comfortable beds. Breakfast was rich, it was easy to find something for children. Perfect location to start sightseeing with a lot of restaurants surrounding hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very accomodating ( very pleasant people ( nelda , jean , irene etc ) breakfast was awesome . Room was Great - Super Clean and not to small at all..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Payment conversion, it did not follow booking.com rate, even though there was a exchange fluctuation between Euro and CHF but it fluctuated more than 200Euro within 3 days of stayed.

    The staff is friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent central location in the historic old town. Many sights easily reached on foot. Trams a 2 minute walk away. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts. Comfortable beds with magically light duvets. This was our 3rd visit. We will be coming again...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An excellent small hotel in a very center of the oldest district of Zurich. Clean and comfortable room and very friendly staff. A nice welcoming gesture was a glass of excellent wine when arriving.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is centrally located to walk to everything in the old section of town. The staff is exceptionally helpful providing and scheduling tours. The rooms are well equipped and if you need anything it can be provided. Breakfast is great with a wide variety of food and personal service. I am so glad I stayed here and cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Friendly/courteous staff, fabulous included breakfast, unbelievable old town location, boutique elegance, and fresh roses everywhere. I loved this place and wouldn't hesitate to return xo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish that either the rooms had coffee or that there was 24 hour access to coffee. We had an early Saturday morning flight - and breakfast doesn't start until 8 am on Saturdays.

    Beautiful room in a good location. The staff were helpful and friendly and greeted us with a glass of champagne after a long day of travel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Comfortable bed with comfortable pillows. Controllable, well funktioning room temperature. There is everything in the room for the needs. Staff is outstanding. I fall in love the pictures used throughout the hotel, I even bought the artist's book.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip and we regard it as a hotel highlight. It is delightful to stay in a boutique hotel where guests are treated as individuals and personal requests are remembered from one stay to the next. The staff are very accommodating - our room was quickly made available, several hours early at no additional charge, after a long flight from NZ, which we very much appreciated. At our request we were provided with a kettle and cups and saucers so we could make a cup of tea in our room to help deal with the need for midnight snacks while fighting off jetlag. The same requirement was provided when we returned to the hotel three weeks later. On that occasion we paid an extra rate to keep the room until 6pm which worked really well as it effectively gave us a whole day in Zurich before we had to head to the airport and home. The staff were very helpful with providing suggestions for cafes, walking routes to follow and other parts of Zurich to visit. They were generous with their local knowledge and pointing out things to see on the very good local map they made available. The location of the hotel is excellent, with the number 4 line of the tram system running right outside the hotel and only four stops from the main railway station. The hotel is in the old town adjacent to Limmatquai with a very nice square between the hotel and the river. The local walking is great, with the hotel being on the route of the designated walking path around the sights of the old city. It is a very short distance to the lake with its lovely landscaped walk along the edge, and the opera house. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants close by offering something for everyone. We even found a local Vapiano nearby which is so convenient for a quick and easy meal after or between sightseeing excursions. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing noted

    Outstanding breakfast that is included. Is the smallest (24 room) Four Star Hotel in Zurich, so nice and low-key very near everything in "Old Zurich." Most everything is a short walk away. Noted is that we were joining up with a National Geographic tour and the initial recommendation to us on the hotel came from NatGeo. The property does not have a big fancy lobby and does not need it for the 24 rooms. The staff are excellent and most helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that expensive makeup went 'missing' from my room and the desk staff shrugged their shoulders. I would never recommend this hotel because of this.

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk receptionists were very helpful with suggestions of what to see and how to get places. We also liked the coffee offered at the reception desk. The hotel location was perfect for our sight-seeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is ~7 min walk from the hotel and expensive (43 CHF per 24 hours) , but for luggage handling you can park for a while at the entrance.

    Great location Great staff Great room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well located hotel in the old part of Zurich. Near the lake and many restaurants. Good range of food for breakfast. Staff very nice. Room kept clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and accommodating. They greet you by name as you come and go. The morning we were to be checking out, we had to leave before breakfast was to be served ~ we had planned to get breakfast at the airport. They heard this and arranged for the woman who does breakfast to come in early and set out breakfast for our family! She made us feel as if it was her pleasure to do this for us!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is easy to reach from the main train station (basically, it's a 10- to 15-minute walk, but one can take a city tram). The location is near the river, close to all the main tourist and shopping attractions on both sides. The standard room may feel a bit tiny, but it's OK for the night's rest (we were spending the day exploring the city and its surroundings anyway). The rooms have air conditioning, and its importance cannot be overstated in summer. The hotel personnel are very helpful, and the breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice small hotel. The location is central, but surroundings are not too noisy - we had a good sleep at night. The staff are very attentive and friendly. The breakfast is very tasty - something that we were looking forward to every day of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff was not pleasant and demanded to see my passport when I provided my Swiss driver's license as a form of identification. she was rude and asked if I were swiss. I live in Switzerland and thought that my Swiss Driver's license would suffice as identification. It was just an unpleasant welcome when I had walked in the rain and was absolutely drenched and just wanted to get to my room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is a little awkward with water splashing onto the floor, but very minor problem.

    The check in process was excellent, we arrived quite late in the evening after a whole day of travelling. The reception gave us a glass of wine on the house which was an excellent touch. The hotel made sure we were settled in ok, helping with dinner bookings and sight seeing suggestions. The breakfast was a good selection of cereal, cold cuts and bacon and egg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Very well located in the centre of Zurich altstad. Well presented and thoughtfully renovated and clearly well maintained. Good value for central Zurich.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't that effective. Room never cooled off.

    Very clean, professional friendly courteous staff, great location. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices... when artbasel take place prices goes up and is amazing. The flexibility of the owner to help us in one mistake we did booking one night more. We pay in advanced but he refuse to return money back. Breakfast is ok but just that, nothing great as mentioned in the advertising. Pillows: awful.

    The location is great. The air conditioned of the room is great. we have had 32º wifi works fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Truly perfect in every way . Attractive premises, comfortable rooms, Modern bath, great location, charming staff. You all delivered at a fair price. It was not A business trip I looked forward to but the hotel was so on for all my needs I could have stayed Longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no iron/ironing board in the room, which would have been handy considering I as traveling for business. The bed was not exceptional (but ok).

    Great location. Polite and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They charged me a lot of extra money for double occupancy instead of single. Single rooms are really single, the bed is single and the room is quite small. The reception is too small for a 4 star hotel as well as the rooms.

    I liked everything in this hotel, the staff, the location, the breakfast, the rooms although small but nice, clean and equipped.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was great but the pillow was a let down, one large one, far too soft, had to put my coat under my head. A small thing but affects your sleep.

    Great quality spacious room and modern bathroom, and the perfect location to explore Zurich and Zurich lake. Being welcomed by sparkling wine was delightful! Rituals products in the bathroom was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 15. Small room for the price. Located above hotel entrance. Noise from Street and other guests disturbed us most nights. I was disappointed with our room since I specifically asked for a QUIET room! On our previous visit we had a fabulous big room and it was on the strength of that experience that we booked this time. I'm not sure if we'll be booking here again in the future

    Extremely comfortable bed. Lovely light duvet, wonderfully comfortable pillows. Delicious breakfast. Fabulous location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room on the 5th (top) floor which was quite small and with he bathroom which had basic sliding doors and a very confined bathroom. This hotel is absolutely not a 4 star hotel and the price we paid for one night was eye watering.

    Location is excellent, right in the middle of the Old Town. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and the room were tiny. There's no lobby when you come in; just on the first floor where there's a breakfast room.

    The hotel was renovated or new; it looked modern. Breakfast was good. Great service and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even with the double glazing there was quite a lot of street noise, especially late Saturday night. A tiny point, but I was disappointed we didn't get the chocolate on the bed after the first night.

    The very best thing was the staff. Every staff member we encountered was cheerful and helpful. The hotel is in a great location and the room was very comfortable and attractive. We also loved the warm apple drink welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey compared to the rest of the world, but pretty good value in Switzerland

    Staff were great, super nice and professional. Great location and a very nice, spacious room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, it was exactly as expected, had the facilities required and everything was as you would expect in Switzerland, tickety boo.

    Clean, well located in the Altstadt and typically Swiss, couldnt really fault it. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, everything worked (which makes a change from some hotels). We were provided with cups and kettle when we asked. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A rather enjoyable stay and we would certainly return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Each time in Zurich I stay in that hotel. Very good location and friendly staff. Clean rooms and good enough breakfast. A bit overevaluated, as usually. But I like it

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was poor. We stayed at 4 hotels around Switzerland for past week and this hotel was the most underwhelming. Chose this hotel due to reviews and travellers choice award however was disappointed. We did appreciate staff assistance with early arrival and departure but overall the warmth and friendly atmosphere was lacking. The room was very small and facilities limited for price paid. Would not recommend or return.

    Appreciated staff accomodating our early arrival and also helping us with early departure

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm, too warm, although we tried to lower the temperature with the thermostat. Nice design of the bathroom, but no place where to hang your towels after use, or to keep your personal stuff.

    Comfortable bed, quiet room, good breakfast. Excellent location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean small hotel in the old city center of Zurich. Excellent stuff. Small room (as expected), but fully and well equipped, nothing was missing to the smallest detail. Since the room was already available, we checked-in early in the morning, (09:00 instead of 14:00) and they offered us same day breakfast as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet can not lock, no pot for coffee in room. No good view from window.

    Staff are friendly and helpful.Very good location, the hotel is closed to Thai restaurent, old cities and landmark of Zurich, and tram also.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a room for my mother and her partner and they were very happy with the warm friendly staff. The location is fantastic, right in the center of Zurich.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I loved the room, the hotel was quiet and very centrally located and the breakfast was great. Also, they kept a bag for me one day which was really nice of them!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In wanted to book the parking and booking.com stated that this is not necessary there is free parking......there is not....it is a 15 minutes up-hill walk to a public garage which costs a fortune to stay for 24 h......and adds another CHF 60 to your bill just for parking....the information provided on booking.com is misleading......my friends run into the exact same problem

    It is a real wonderful little hotel, perfect location (except......see what I didn't like) and the breakfast and staff is very good and service oriented.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone says the breakfast is amazing. I thought it was good, but not "amazing"

    The location of this hotel is great. 15 minutes walk from Zurich HB station, 10 minutes from Central station and 5 minutes from the old town and lake. The breakfast is nice and the rooms are spotless. Mario, on the front desk, was a wonderful source of knowledge; printing of lists of places to visit and onward travel itineraries. We cannot thank him enough for his help and general friendliness and service. We were two friends staying in a twin room, and it was big enough, with clean towels daily.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure from shower though adequate could be improved slightly

    Breakfast room is bright and clean. Staff are still same cheerful people we met several years back. Food selection is wide and I like the fried bacon. Fresh coffee with toast or croissants after a bowl of nuts/yoghurt/dried fruit. Front office manager Mario is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of any negatives except that Switzerland is VERY expensive. The double room was expensive, but not as much as some of the other hotels.

    The room was of adequate size considering it's Switzerland, and very comfortable. I was concerned about noise since the hotel faces a small square, but with the windows closed, it was completely quiet. The staff was exceptionally helpful, friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent...just a lovely stay before heading to the mountains.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The prices seem to be on the high side. But this is Switzerland. Everything in this country seems to be unreasonably high-priced - hotels, restaurants, transportation. It's like they are milking the tourists because they can. I love Switzerland, but I go to other European countries like Italy much more often - the prices feel more fair there.

    A small hotel with nice comfortable rooms, attentive staff and excellent breakfast. Location near the Old town and reasonably close to the railway station is very convenient and yet quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was above what I've paid for bigger hotels in Zurich.

    A great find right in a busy part of the city, yet it's just away from the hustle and bustle so is quiet. Everything is beautifully presented, public areas spotless and the room very nicely refurbished. Air con too which was a great bonus in the middle of summer. Wifi worked well and breakfast great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest, we didn't spend a ton of time in the room, but the mini bar was nicely stocked, and the bed was extremely comfortable for the 2 hours I was passed out on it. Plus we got upgraded to a bigger room, so that was pretty cool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. We were greeted with a glass of wine and all our luggage was taken to our room, which was an upgrade. Nice of them.

    We had traveled from Italy half of the day. All was good, until finding the hotel.The street SchiffLandern is just a short walking street. It was very hard to find. It took us an hour,. even though we knew where it was.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no physical fitness facilities at all.

    The general manager was excellent as was the housecleaning staff. The location was the best of any hotel that I have stayed in in Zurich, and I have stayed at least 10 different hotels over the years.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit small and no free parking.

    Very clean and nice rooms. The staff was helpful. Superb breakfast. Nice and quiet position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small

    Position and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my iPad in my room after check out. They offered to bring it to me at my office location. That’s service excellence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable for a couple Room rather small

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming The Location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is very small

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is quite small.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel's location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location, great staff - very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast - just a nice open vibe in the hotel. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff, great location, clean rooms and a great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower would be too small for large people - Room 14

    Excellent staff - very helpful. Great location in Old Town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of construction it was a little noisy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing ....

    The location, the room, the breakfast, the staff - everything !

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Helmhaus Swiss Quality Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: