Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monopol Luzern 4 stars

Pilatusstrasse 1, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#36 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1044 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, noise, noise! I stayed in a room facing the train station and the street noise makes me awake till 3:30 am. The newly equipped carpet has horrible smell. It smells like someone just vomited on it.

    Location is excellent in terms of transportation need BUT is very awful in terms of quietness. You can clearly hear the drinking people loudly shouting at 03:30 AM.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not have air conditioning and the mattress could be a little better

    Location , location , location , this is the closest hotel to the trains station and the bus station , walk distance to any place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Lucerne 49 years ago. 1969 The Chapel Bridge has stayed with us all these years. Should I dare mention that back then we used Frommer,s guide: Europe on $5 a Day. But enough of the past. Times change, costs change and places change. Nonetheless Lucern has maintained it’s idyllic manner. If you have never been: Go! We stayed at rhe Hotel Monopol very near the Bahnhof. Conveniently located across the street and the tourist office is adjacent. The staff was wonderful. Breakfast plentiful and in as nice a room as one could hope. Highly recommend the Monopol. Don

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ha booked hotel with none person by mistake. They were going to give me a single bed who is unacceptable.

    W had to pay extra to get bed together. Had to change rooms after first nite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there on the Beginning of May and the cleaning staff likes to open the window so after we came back there were a lot of mosquitos and flies in our room.

    Location is perfect, right next to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture specially the carpets Smell from carpets I believe

    Starbuck and Mcdonalds are within the peoperty Staff were great and helpful Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel lacks basic room service which I should have captured earlier. No kettle too in the room for a cup of morning tea and no restaurant at all is a pain.. Plus no air-conditioning which I discovered later has been the reason that probably I would not recommend this place to anyone else.

    The service by the staff was superb - polite, responsive and always willing to help. Went an extra mile with their behavior. Both the front office staff as well as the bell boys / housekeeping team.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast, rooms are little old because it is an historic building, however they are spacious. You can easily go to the terrace bar upstairs (very well recommended)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limite items on breakfast buffet.

    The hotel location was very easy to find and nearby the train station with less than 2min walk. The room was clean and super comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t entirely comfortable, however this may be personal preference - I prefer medium-soft rather than medium-firm.

    I liked the modern, cleanliness of the room. I really liked the modern bathroom fittings. I really liked the view of the mountains and proximity to the Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music until 1:30 am kept us awake.

    Simon was very helpful. Staff made good recommendations and were accommodating. Starbucks in lobby a bonus! Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception is kind of disconnected from the rest of the hotel. It took us ages to reach our room (extra-long corridors).

    Room was huge. Bathroom was big as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt like cigarette every now and then, mattress needs to go in the bin as was well over used by date

    The staff were wonderful, friendly and prompt. Room was spacious and water pressure in the shower was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More toilet paper in room seeing as there were 3 of us using the bathroom. Had too phone reception twice for more toilet paper.

    Friendly staff, centrally located and ideal for arriving by train.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two single beds pushed together instead of a double bed. Slightly outdated style. The hotel asks for a 50 CHF deposit on arrival.

    Sofa in the room. Room is nicely layout and clean. Nicely sized bathroom with a double sink. Good storage space. Fairly quiet. Great location right next to the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps toothbrush set should be provided to complete the pleasant stay. Tissues should also be replenished.

    Convenient, comfortable, breakfast was god, ease of travel around Lucerne.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * The entrance to reception was a room at the back of Starbucks and the only lift to the rooms above was located where Starbucks customers queue. There was no proper hotel entrance - and Starbucks customers could access the toilets on the first floor of hotel. Security?? * There was no restaurant in the hotel. * Noisy nightclub music underneath thumping till 4 am on NYE. * It is ranked as 4 star but hard to see how that is justified.

    The hotel was right at the escalator down to the train station so enabled quick access to trains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel interior is old and out of date. The bathtub design is dangerous even to adults, not to mention to kids, very easy to be tripped and fell and might be hurt by the bathtub glass.

    Breakfast was only thing can complement a bit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful and friendly front desk, double room and triple room were very spacious, with a connecting door in between, good for families. Breakfast room had a nice view outside. Escalator outside hotel which leads directly to the central train station, very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1.Will be good to provide a simple water boiler and some coffee sachets in the room. 2.Variety at breakfast was poor.... At least must have some leafy salad varieties... Like lettuce ! 3.The Bread toaster is like a small home use one..... Should have a professional HOTEL grade toaster especially for big loaves of sliced bread.... People have to wait long to toast their bread at breakfast.

    Accessibility to public transport is great. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room and no hot water which was really inconvenient.

    The property is located next to the train station which is very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lactose-free milk option for the coffee; noise from a night club or the basement until early morning.

    Very nice staff - indeed a perfect location. A Starbucks within the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was extremely noisy with a lot of kids and drunks partying all night. Good central location just the wrong room.

    .They had a great view from roof top bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman working there told me “get up we are a 4 star hotel!” as I sat on the stairs in the lobby near Starbucks to tie my shoe. Very rude staff and the bed was similar to a thin IKEA mattress. Carpet was dirty and not vacuumed. Deposit needed of 50 CHF at check in just for the room and 20 CHF for an adapter.

    The croissants were good and they provided extra pillows

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one kettle is provided for each floor. And the kettle takes about 5 mins to fully boiled the water. Few ppl were waiting before me, so I have to wait at least 30 mins to my turn.

    I personally rated "its perfect location" for the this hotel. Very near to main station, it's just right in front of you. Very convenient. Many shops around, You can just spend a day to walk /visit around. A walking distance to take a yatch ride too. The hotel entitled you for transport ticket to certain places. That's a great complimentary I have seen. The room is spacious! Staffs are friendly unlikely those bad experience I met at Stuttgart hotel. Breakfast wise could be improved. I will be staying here again if I come to Switzerland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location! The hotel is next to the train station, surrounded by buses, ferries and important museums. The chapel bridge and old town are walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware: rooms of the same class can be quite different from each other. Having stayed here twice in two different rooms located in different parts of the building, there could be a MAJOR difference in terms of acoustics and sound proofing between rooms.

    Excellent hotel. This was my second stay here and it was even better than the first one. The location is just brilliant. A great base to explore Luzern and the surrounding area of central Switzerland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. No fresh fruits. Had better breakfast at some 3 star locations. Hotel looks a little aged.

    Location next to station is fantastic and very convenient. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel.We received a complimentary upgrade to a suite with lake view. Very conveniently located to railway station and for boat trips on the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills. A lot of noise from corridor and other guests in rooms. One elevator so long wait in morning if you have a heavy suitcase.

    Location is excellent. No sound from train or road. Large room and bathroom. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish you had a resteraunt in the hotel. Other than that it was good.

    Great location, the breakfast was great, the staff was very helpful. They recommended some good restaurants and helped us with travel itineraries. It was a very pleasant experience.We travelled from Zurich to Geneva and stayed in 6 different hotels and this was one of the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a bit noisy. The lift is slow so we took the stairs a lot.

    Good location very close to the main train station. Comfortable, large room. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient to all transportation. Right across the street from the main train station and main transportation hub for buses and trollys. They give you a transportation card so you can ride all the buses for free. Right next to boats to Lake Lucern. Booked a room at last minute and was upgraded to a suite on the top floor. HUGE room with sitting area and overlooking the lake. Near places to eat. Near lovely art museum. Not far from old town. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel to the train station was very close, staff were friendly, breakfast was sensational, wifi was good and the rooftop bar enjoyable. Bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint but beds on a funny angle and have wood frame that we both walked into

    Right beside the railway station and close to everything. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were informed there was no hot water upon our arrival, after traveling for two days a hot shower we were really looking forward to. However we went out to dinner came back had a drink on the roof and we got back to our room the hot water had recovered and we were able to clean up so all is well that ends well! Some of the other reviewer's complained about having no air conditioning, this was not an issue for us as it was a very cool day that had rain, however we could see that if this were a hot day this could have been a problem.

    Very close to train station, just cross the street! Very cool rooftop bar, best view in Luzern for a bar no doubt! Very friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were not the best - same as in every hotel every day.

    Position near the station was good for us but not ideal for visiting the old town which we would liked to have seen more of. Room was spacious and the bathroom very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. There's only a jug in a broom cupboard in one floor with no tea bags or milk or cups. There's also no air conditioning and the rooms are stifling in the summer. The traffic noise is too loud to have the window open.

    Closeness to railway station and lake boats was excellent. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best thing about this hotel is the location. Starbucks right next to reception. Mc Donald's and many other restaurants just outside the door. Train station right in front of the main door. What more can you ask for :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be brighter. There is no air conditioning and it gets a bit humid and warm when the windows are shut.

    Location was superb. Super near train station and the tourist spot of chapel bridge and easy commute to other parts with trains. Lovely eateries easily accessible on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff went above and beyond expectations. Pointed out attractions, how to get to them.....could not have asked for more. Would rebook in a heart beat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lost it s classic grandeur, the ground floor is occupied by McDonalds and Starbucks. The hotel has very limited (but expensive) parking facilities and it is recommended to book this at time of booking your hotelroom.

    All Lucern highlights are on walking distance or in easy reach by public transport. (Busses and boats)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is right next to the train station. Our room was facing the railway so could hear the training in the night.

    1 min from Interlaken Ost train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking arrangements

    A fine hotel (if you are arriving by train). Had some headaches when I arrived by car because I did not also book a reservation for parking. This is the first I have heard of such a thing (outside of Japan). If you plan to arrive by car, call ahead or stay somewhere else. It was a real headache. Theodore Sumrall

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If the room had included coffee-making facilities and an iron, it would have been perfect! But there was a room along the corridor with a kettle, ice machine and microwave.

    Excellent location opposite the railway station (but no noise from trains) and the river and lake. Friendly staff with good English. Comfortable beds. Wide choice of English TV stations. Upgraded free from single to double, with a balcony. Large free-standing electric fan provided (as the old building is not allowed to install air conditioning) which did the business.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little warm overnight so could've used air conditioning. Workers outside began making noise before 0700 - a little annoying given that windows were open due to warm temperatures

    Friendly staff that spoke English. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not rectangular and the bed is placed on the diagonal which I am not used to. The mattress is too soft and pillows too flat for me. Although all windows are closed, I can still hear noises from outside.

    Next to the Luzern Railway station and ferry pier, very convenient for me who uses Luzern as a transit place. Although there is no air conditioning in the room, a fan is provided so that it is not too hot at night after closing all the windows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is located right next to the train station and a short walk to the lake and the bridges to old town. A clean comfortable room at reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airconditioning and even though it was only 26 degrees the room got so hot it was impossibel to sleep in it. I hate to stay there when it is hotter.

    the great location next to the railway station. Lovely Staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, no coffee and tea making facilities in room.

    The beds were comfortable. The location was superb with the train station just across the road and the hotel near the Old Town. The room and bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent, railway station is just opposite and it give freedom and comfort to travel with ease for those who want to travel to different destinations in Switzerland

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    arrived at the hotel at 215 and eas told check in is at 3. would like a bit of flexibility given check out was at 11am. not even a 20 hour staying window.

    breakfast selection is good. not superp. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very plain, would recommend purchasing room without breakfast and just going to a cafe

    Beautiful old building, rooms were spacious and I had a nice view of the lake. Location is very convenient Make sure you remember to wind down the block-out shutters at night to stop the light coming through the fairly thin curtains in the morning. I only discovered the shutters after the sun already woke me up

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms did not have a hot water pot to make coffee or tea. This would be my only complaint.

    The staff was exceptional in assisting any questions we had about Lucerne. The breakfast that was included in our room rate was delicious and again the people working in the dining room were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an exhaust fan in bathroom

    Bed was great comfortable and plenty big. Loved having 2 sinks. Shower bathtub was great plenty of hot water

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security! Anyone can come to the rooms from the street. Reception staffs couldn't see the lift to the rooms.

    Good location, a view from the room, very very close to train station and Coop, Huge rooms...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was dated and is in need of updating. The reception staff were not very welcoming and did not inform us of the facilities, nor offered any maps or said when breakfast was served. Additionally, when asked if our room had a view, we were told that it had an excellent view but upon entering the view was only of the Burger King and train station side street. Only hotel that we have ever stayed in that did not offer a coffeemaker.

    Lovely breakfast with a view. Liked that the hotel allows pets and is in very close proximity to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff!!! Back to our room at 9 pm and found our room's door left widely open, might be from room cleaner because the room was made up. Luckily nothing got stolen. We called the receptionist to let them know and check, but no one called back or find out what actually happened. We checked out next morning and asked the receptionist about this and they said they didnt know because the night shift receptionist didnt tell them anything !!! Unacceptable !!!

    Great location, right next to train station. Breakfast, Room space

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is conveniently located near the train station and key attractions in Lucerne are a short walk away. The hotel houses a Starbucks and a beautiful rooftop bar which was great for evening tapas and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was adequate, good size, clean and well looked after. They are in the middle of renovating the hotel so it should be extra nice when it's finished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lucerne was the next to last stop on our ten-day train excursion across Switzerland and Germany this hotel was the best we were greeted warmly when we arrived the room was big clean it it is right outside the train station I wanted to change my plans and actually stay one more night you cannot go wrong with this hotel the best.this would be a nice hotel in the city if you needed to take a day off and just kind of chill easy to walk around and nice comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was loud - located near elevator, I could hear it till late hours, wooden floor in a hallway was very loud and was unable to sleep. There should be an electric pot available in the rooms - there was only 1 electric pot on the 4th floor - pot was attached with a metal rope to the wall that was too short to pour tap water.

    Very good location of the hotel, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar that located on top floor, there is so much noisy sounds coming from it specially on weekends

    The location is wonderful and the View is very nice spicially in end of winter season

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC because it is a historic building Slow and quite small lifts

    Flexible staff always willing to help and adapt to their guests' preference Right next to the Train Station Very central to the city

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel in that location it was quiet and just very handy to the train station The staff were very helpful giving us tips of what to do in the short time we were there and the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Tiny broom cupboard size room provided for guests to make own consisted only of 1 old electric jug powered by 2 dangerous looking wires protruding from it. no coffee, sugar, milk spoons or cups! Guests expected to go to ground floor to support Starbucks coffee shop in foyer which closed at 10pm. We stayed 5 nights and were given 1 x 10% discount coupon for first cup of coffee. Wow! Some areas looking a little tired including breakfast room and foyer which was overwhelmed by tired looking Starbucks shop obscuring the reception area.

    Lovely, gracious belle epoch style hotel. Perfect position by rail station and old part of city. Close to chapel bridge. Huge comfortable room, (607). carpeted with lounge area, stacks of storage, view of city and glimpses of lake Lucerne. Very large, modernised bathroom with 2 new sinks, bath and shower. Comfortable beds. Good variety breakfast, although limited hot food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude woman front office manager, refuse even to talk to the client on the phone when asked on the afternoon of 29/11/16 (reception area). Construction projects and workers climbing up right outside my room. Zero facilities, no restaurant, very poor cleaning, bad smell in the room! Definitely not even a 3 star hotel level! Worth not even the 30% of the money I paid! Never go there for whatever reason!

    There is nothing to like about this "hotel"!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice looking property from the outside but rooms are very old and used. Floor carpets and mattresses were so wear that it's comparable if not worst than a 2 star hotel.

    Nice property conveniently located right next to the train main station. Lucerne main attractions are within reach by foot.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at the hotel en route from Geneva to Frankfurt and was badly in need of sleep. However, a rooftop bar close by was having a party and the bass from the music kept me up all night. Adrian who was at reception didn't have the authority to let me check out and release my funds but accomodated me at their more basic hotel next door. The basic hotel next door was only 10 euros cheaper but very very basic and not what I had signed up for. But, at least it was quieter and I could sleep. They offered me breakfast on the house but it didn't really make up for the emotional drain for the night before. The staff was really very kind but the area is noisy on weekends. I feel like going back because the staff was truly lovely, but I don't know if its worth my while.

    The staff, especially Adrian and Adrijana. They were really lovely.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the hotel may inproove is breakfast. It's fine, though very simple and it lacks some healthy choices a lot:(

    In Lucerne it's just the best location!!! I can't express my hapiness of choosing this hotel:) even though I was living in Lucerne so I knew what I was looking for☺️

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only 4 spots allocated for hotel parking, so I would consider that little to no hotel parking. There is a club on top of the hotel that was playing extremly loud base dance music both nights we stayed from 2230-0500. It was not easy to sleep, especially with 2 children. Also, we were charged close to 100 extra swiss franc at checkout for taxes and parking fees (street parking).

    The location is great. Friendly staff and clean room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was quite a bit of street noise late at night.

    The room was clean, bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Great location to train station and Old Town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put in a room right next to construction being carried out, during day you couldn't relax and as it was raining we spent more time in our room than normal

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise is AWFUL. I couldn't stay here again. Not for all the tea in China. Probably the nicest staff one could hope to encounter and they were very apologetic, but I didn't sleep a wink. There is a club that plays loud house music until 6AM. They had to move my room at 4AM and we could hear the music in all three rooms we tried out. They moved me to a very nice master suite but I could still hear the traces of the music and people outside partying. Had to sleep in until 1PM the next day bc I couldn't pass out until 9AM. Which ruined an entire day of activities for me. The hotel allowed me an extra late check out but it didn't rectify a lost vacation day unfortunately. Hotel is a bit outdated as well, but nothing too bad. Clean and cozy otherwise. Best staff as mentioned and beautiful views. If you're a heavy sleeper then this could be the best hotel to book!

    The location right next to the train station was ideal for my heavy bags. Staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very weak and spotty. The front desk man was unwilling to help remedy the situation. So we went into the hall to log into the wifi, then went back inside our room. Could definitely hear loud music and partying at night, but don't know where it came from. Shower had a half door, which means you always end up with water on the floor. However, that seems to be normal in European hotels.

    Location was great, right across the street from the train station. One block away from waterfront, Chapel Bridge and Old Town. Breakfast buffet was good. Bathroom was fairly spacious and looked like it had recently been renovated, with granite countertop. Front desk lady was extremely gracious and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: