Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waldstätterhof Swiss Quality Hotel 3 stars

Zentralstrasse 4, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#20 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1044 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is simply great, so many eating joints nearby. One can find anything of his choice to eat.very clean hotel

    Location is excellent , staff were very co operative, you ask for anything , they instantly give you the solution with smile. I have never seen such co operative staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location directly across from the train station. The room is quite attractive. The bed very comfortable. Thanks for sharing the basket of apples, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real issue We had was that we would have liked a top sheet on the bed rather than just a quilt. It was really warm in the room and way too warm to use a quilt.

    Almost everything was great only a couple of the smallest things could be improved. Overall, a brilliant place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and there was no air conditioning. The warm and sunny weather did not make it any easier inside. We deposited our bags on checkout in the morning. I came back to collect them in the evening and said "Hello! I checked out in the morning and I deposited my bags in the morning" and was very rudely replied with "You need to talk, what do you want to do with them, you dont know how to talk" I was set aback by this extremely offensive response. I forgot to read her name tag. On the way to the luggage room she continued to lecture me on how I dont know how to talk. This was extremely frustrating for me. If self respect is something dear to you, avoid this place because of their extremely rude staff.

    The location was right next to the rail station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is opposite the train station (so near). Also near the heart of Luzern can walk to every place in this town. Mcdonald , Supermarket and Starbuck just around the corner. Room size is good for 3 bed still have plenty of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electrical outlets were few and far between. It seems not to have occurred to anyone that someone sitting at the desk in the room might want to plug in their computer. The only plug was beside the door, so the computer had to be placed under the bed to charge!

    of course it was clean, being Swiss, with good supply of hot water, and towels. It was a single room with a single bed. It has been some time since I encountered this in a hotel. The proximity to the station was a really great advantage. Only 5 minutes from hotel door to being seated on the train, walking briskly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit of noise from the above room but probably expected in an older style building,

    The staff are professional and speak English, the location is fantastic and the breakfast buffet is awesome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The facilities in the room are a bit old 2.The sound insulation is not very good.

    1.The staff of front desk is very kind. 2.It is very near with train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nearly everything about this hotel is commendable except its lack of insulation between rooms and floors. I could hear the conversations of my next door neighbours and the movements of the upstairs neighbours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all are good especially near to subway location, very convenience while guests put their luggage on storeroom after check out, kindly not to ask them pay for CHF8.00 , practically it is not good the guests

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Please replace Calanda as your bottled water supplier. I just don't like the taste, hence not opening the complimentary bottles in the room. The kettles in the room are still difficult to pour from without spilling some of the liquid (as bought up in last review). These minor gripes should NOT take away the many positives written in the 'what did you like' section.

    Location for me is everything. Just a few yards from Luzern Bahnhof makes all the difference. Staff are excellent and can deal with those who mangle (muck up)the German language. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice (including one morning watching a guest videoing the breakfast choices - stop recording and eat!!). Ate in the Restaurant on two occasions. There are expensive options, but there are better value ones later in the Menu brochure (so keep reading to the end). Its open to 2200, but won't want to go in at 2145 and demand a big meal (no last orders time is specified). Room 201 (again), but quiet despite being next to the Lift. No disturbances throughout the seven nights I was there. The rooms were adequately heated and mine was never turned on. As previously, the Hotel met my one request - thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are just two small beds pushed together. If you’re a couple, it can be a bit uncomfortable, as the beds keep separating and rolling apart.

    This place is in a great location right next to the train station. It’s a very nice and clean hotel with modern facilities. They had a really great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and slightly larger than in a cruise ship. The room was located over a back alley and dumpster and the rooms were so overheated I had to open my window when it was 20 degrees F outside. It was a noisy location which I was expecting given the earplugs provided in the room.

    Staff is very friendly and room is comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing.

    Best location to stay for trips in Luzern and elsewhere. Clean good size rooms, Good breakfast, Polite & Helpful Staff. Great Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being near the road by the train station, it was a bit noisy at night. We stayed there for 5 nights and I was awakened by shouts from the people in the streets.

    The front office staff was great! We arrived in the morning and was checked in by ms Celine who cheerfully assigned us a room before official check in time. Really appreciate the flexibility and understanding that we are tired after a 12- 14 hr flight n train journey. The room is big for our family of 3. Well lit and equipped with fridge and electric kettle. The radiators work well and it was toasty warm and comfortable in the room. The safe was a bit tricky to operate. Fortunately, ms Valentina from the reception was very helpful and patiently explained to me how to utilize it. She epitomizes efficiency and hospitality. Breakfast was plentiful! Must try the muesli ! Love the great selection of tea! The service staff were prompt and helpful. The young chef acceded to our request for fried potatoes strip and it was yummy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old-fashioned keys with chunky and heavy keyring.

    My favourite hotel in Luzern. Friendly staff at reception and in breakfast room. English spoken. Good size rooms. Excellent location across the road from station (but no noise from trains) and two minutes from Chapel Bridge and lake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap dispenser. We are glad we brought our own.

    The location is very near the train station, on the left side once you exited the train. If you’re into fast foods, Mc Donald’s, Burger King, Starbucks are just few walks. There’s also Coops grocery on the lower ground of the train station if you want a better priced juices or sodas or water. The staff are likewise very helpful. They assisted us coordinate with our local tour when they failed to meet us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. Very noisy when windows open. Very good breakfast included in price.

    Great location within a half a block from train station. Near everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suggestion - The toilet and bathroom may require refurbishment.

    Short walking distance from Luzern Banhoff. Friendly staff members. Warm welcome. Provided the necessary information and guide regarding this beautiful city. Lots to choose from the breakfast buffet. Coffee and bakery items - something not to miss.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the Kettle! Its good the Hotel provides these facilities, but the Kettle has a near flat spout, so you can end up pouring hot water on the floor or wherever. I did mention this to the Hotel staff on departure as a health and safety matter.

    For me this is all about location, just 1 to 2 minutes walk from the Bahnhof. Despite its central position, the Hotel was very quiet, even with a noisy pub and McDonalds nearby. There was the odd shout on the Friday and Saturday night outside the Hotel, but then what do you expect on these nights. Thought there may be noise having a room next to the Lift (Room 201), but again I never heard it. Room was a good size for a single room and the shower worked almost instantaneously. Excellent breakfast from 0630, both hot and cold items. No stupid deposit scheme for extras too. Staff speak reasonable to good english, so they know what you want. The one request made to the Hotel pre-arrival was met.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That with the amount you pay, you have to also pay for toothpaste which is supposedly basic as complimentary.

    The room is comfortable, bigger than usual hotels in Europe. The breakfast was also nice, it was decent to start up the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location near the station was very convenient, but meant a lot of traffic noise.

    The breakfasts and especially the coffee were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely artwork going up the stairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is soft. Bath room is small but comfortable. Breakfast is great. Location is perfect, just beside the rail station. Wonderful stay. Will surely recommand to my friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows need to improve cause it is very flat, discomfort to sleep on. When we reached in the evening around 5.00pm, room was not ready.

    Breakfast was good and location excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, it is noisy, as it is beside the main street right the train station. However, closing the windows helps, and it is normally the drawbaack of the hotel which is close to the train station.

    Very friendly staff greeting us with smile. Have to point that the breakfast is gorgous and delicious. There are many kind of the breakfast you can have. Everything is perfect. I cannot find anything annoying me during stay. This is the under rated hotel. It should be rated higher stars!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The modern bathroom was kind of odd, though not really a problem (see photo). it was about 11 or 12 feet long, and that entire distance was covered by two floor to ceiling (high ceilings) frosted glass panels. One fixed, the other sliding to act as the door. You can see your travel partner's outline through the glass, which is kind of sexy if they are showering, but less so when sitting on the toilet. The key to the room was on a large, heavy keychain which you turned in at the desk each time you left. Then they handed it back to you without question when you returned and asked for it, even if you had never seen that desk person before. Maybe that's a European thing, I don't know. The funky modern love seat was cool looking, but not particularly comfortable to sit in.

    Large room with modern style furnishings. But we were in a room that had a 4 digit room number, while most of the rooms on the floor had a 3 digit room number. I suspect the 4 digit portion was a newer addition, so some things I say may not (or may for all I know) apply to every room. Bed was split mattresses and split bedding together in the same box frame, but that did't cause us any problems. It was arguably an advantage, since I didn't end up losing all the blankets to her as I sometimes do. We had to leave very early to catch a flight, so I can't comment on the breakfast. But the convenient location directly across from the train station allowed us to spend the night in beautiful Lucerne and still have time to make a morning flight out of Zurich via the fast and efficient Swiss train system. During our stay we caught a bus, a train, and got off a boat, all within a short walk of the hotel, so it's very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing major. We booked the triple room and a single room the single room has a bathtub but the triple only have the shower. This is just me being picky but the hair dryer was very weak so if you have very long hair take your own hairdryer.

    The room was nice and clean the location was fantastic very close to the chapel bridge and bus stop. They have a private parking space (you have to pay for it) so it's convenient for guests who are driving to the hotel. The hotel will provide you with visitor card which let you use the public transportation for free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive. Not a good value for hard earned dollar. And what's with the glass walled Bathrooms - lack of privacy.

    Right across from the Train Station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was strange. It felt overpriced. The nightclub across the street was loud and open until 5 AM. Although since we didn't understand German it didn't keep us awake.

    The location is great. It was close to the train station, museum, chapel bridge and old town. The bed and pillow were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud noise all night from the street below, poor wifi, small room compared to other Comfort double rooms, challenging bathroom.

    I had booked two, more expensive Comfort double rooms for my family. I had one request: adjacent rooms. Initially the staff said they would honor our request; then they refused. NEVER take room 216. Its awful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    elevator is very small. a bigger one would be nice.

    literally just steps from Luzern Main train station, this property holds true to its review on Booking.com The check in process was efficient, staff very courteous and room was spacious (considering Swiss hotel standards). lots of eating option near the hotel. McDonald is 1 min walk. area is lively on weekend nights. Breakfast was nice. good variety and they serve the Eggs (as per your liking) and coffee/tea on your table. checkout was fast as well. I would really recommend this place for stay!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning which is not cool for being there in the Summer. Even with two fans going, we were still soaked in sweats.

    The location and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit more expensive that I really wanted to pay but then I guess you get what you pay for and the location was excellent

    Fabulous location and nicely presented room with very convenient parking given the central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The security at the hotel - a couple walked into the restaurant and walked away with my wife's purse while we all eating breakfast. The purse along with its contents (brand new phone and sunglasses) were valued at over CHF $1800. This put a damper on our entire stay in Switzerland. The hotel staff did help us a lot with the security footage of the incident (that we gave to the police) and a lot of apologies, but there was no other form of compensation considering it happened in their restaurant under their watch - this is a place where most tourists would let their guard down, since the hotels are supposed to be safe. Just beware of this when travelling to hotels in Lucerne around this area.

    Great location in Lucerne and the staff is super friendly and helpful - especially since my wife's purse was stolen from the restaurants at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift is for sardines only. One person and bags is a squeeze. The Key is a great big weight and you leave it with reception meaning a possible wait for your key when you return. Doors do not automatically lock so you can easily walk away leaving you room unsecured.

    Very close to the station. Interesting building. Not too expensive. Dinner in the restaurant was really excellent (Sirloin for two). Room had no aircon and it was hot. There was a fan but aircon is needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot when I was there I would have enjoyed a sheet rather than a duvet as it would have been cooler. A little fridge would have been nice to keep the water bottle cooler.

    I enjoyed the variety of teas in my room. The staff in the restaurant in the evening were very helpful and the meals provide good variety so I didn't try local restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in an extremely busy part of Lucerne, right across the street from the train station. There was extremely loud street maintenance that went on all night despite the staff telling us that the street work would be done by 10 PM. Not their fault but we probably would not have stayed at this hotel had we known how bad the noise would be.

    This is a great old hotel located right across the street from the train station. The room is large and very comfortable. The bathroom is above average in size for European bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water temperature in shower could not be controlled, becoming hot suddenly. Also, the complimentary water was provided only on the check in day.

    The location is perfect, especially if arriving by train as it is just opposite the station. The staff were all very pleasent and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have air conditioning! It's on a busy street with too much noise if you have to keep the windows open. I would not go back there in the summer.

    Very nice place and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit hot, glad we were there on cooler days. Renovating lift which they did tell us about but meant single lift left a bit slow

    Large room, central to shops and station. Wide variety at buffet breakfast, great shower and bathroom size. Beds comfortable, block out electric shutters.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me, the hotel is a bit soulless. Just not my style. The room was okay but kind of stark. The bathroom was tucked into the corner of the building so was on an angle and pretty small, however, they had some nice amenities. We faced the back of the hotel so our view was rather unappealing. It all felt a bit cold and characterless, however, for those who like minimalist hotels, it would be perfectly fine.

    The staff were nice. The location is good, right next to the train station. We had a train the next day so leaving our luggage at the hotel was very helpful and convenient. Hotel is a few blocks away, about a five minute walk, from the Kapellbrucke and the waterfront. Very easy for walking to dinner and getting to the Altstadt. The room was clean. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot, hot, hot. Air con should really be standard in a room this modern (and expensive) - I knew there was no A/C when booking, but it was hotter than we expected. Tower fans in the room were barely able to cope, and one didn't work at all. The staff excelled however - and brought me another late at night (thank you :). It's expensive - but it's an amazing location (2 minutes walk from station, 3 minutes walk to boat trips, also close to chapel bridge).

    Lovely, helpful staff. A very modern room, and great layout for the family with the option to close off a room. Small (microscopic) balcony was a welcome escape if you wanted a glass of wine as the kids slept. Lovely and clean, nice big bathroom and great quality 1st class fittings. Plenty of storage and a good sized fridge. Good buffet breakfast in the morning with bacon and eggs included.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything !.. Temperatures were high and no aircondition... Every guest was troubled. Kept awake all nights we were staying here. Staff had no solution and were indifferent. Very noisy outside on the street all night.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner in the room. There is only a broken fan. In addition they only provided the heavy feather comforters - great for winters but horrible for a hot summer day. I wished they offered light blankets.

    Location location location. It's next to the train station. We arrived around 1pm via train and the frond desk stuff helped us with directions to Mount Pilatus. We were able to check in, drop off our luggage and catch the bus, had enough time and enjoyed the trip to Mount Pilatus. We won't be able to do this if the hotel is in a different location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing wrong. All perfect. Thanks!

    Both hotel and restaurant staff are very efficient and polite. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. Big, full of amenities, very pleasant. Hotel in excellent location. Very very pleasant!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during a very hot period making keeping the room cool difficult.

    This is an older hotel which has major renovations and upgrades, making it very comfortable. The location is perfect being next to the station and a very short walk to the lake ferries. We noticed no noise from Luzern's busy station. Breakfast was very good and we also had dinner which was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receiption called us at the room just before we checked out by 1 hour to tell us if we can move our car from out spot, because other customer need that spot, well if you can't manage your parking properly this is your problem not my problem, but for me I didn't like it but still not a big issue

    Friendly staff, always smiling , perfect location and close to the train stataion which has a lot of shops in case you need snack, it is like a small mall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Air conditioning. Hence, cool climate is crucial to choose the hotel. Summers may be tough

    Good Hotel with good location. Spacious Room with Partitions for the family. Nice Hotel to Stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room on the top floor and it was hot, and there was no A/C. They did have a fan, but it was on a 90 minute timer and so would shut off in the middle of the night.

    Hotel is right next to train (and bus, and ferry) station -- so it is very convenient if you are arriving by, or leaving by, train, bus, or ferry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the room was quite warm and stuffy. Also the pillows were terribly uncomfortable.

    The position was excellent. Easy walk to main town, train and ferry terminals. Room was really quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel didn't have air conditioning. The evenings outside weren't too hot; however, the rooms never seemed to cool down. Opening the windows wasn't an option, as the activity on the street below was too loud.

    We booked two rooms for a family of five - both were good size and clean. The beds were quite comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room cost and food was pretty good. Location was perfect, as it was a very short walk from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy area, traffic, construction nearby, take your pick. No air conditioning, really uncomfortable when temps go over 75F, with difficult to open windows.

    Good breakfast, clean property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested a double room for my wife and myself was given two single beds in a Handicap room, no air conditioning, the fan and additional fan neither oscillated it was noisy because the window had to remain open for some cooler air. It was a very poor experience and has left a bad taste for Lucerne. My wife is Swiss but we will probably never return to Lucern. It was also more expensive than both Zermatt and Lugano, it should be noted that those hotels were far superior to the Waldstatter hotel in Lucern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room without air-conditioned was not comfortable to sleep for summer time even the fan machine was provided by hotel.

    The hotel is close to the train station, the location is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the back side with no view of the city and paid the same price as our friends that were on the street side. Also, our room was very hot with no ventilation except for fan that did not produce much air.

    The staff was great and and spaces were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The additional bed is just beside the door. It's not convenient to get in the room. There is no mini bar and air conditioner, only a fan. Hotel doesn't provide any official receipts when we pay the room rate.

    It is located in a great location, just opposite the train station. We can walk to the main sight spots. It looks historical from outside, but modern inside. The room with 3 beds is not small, very clean. The staffs are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, as the weather was quite hot and there is no air conditioning, the room was warmer than I would have preferred.

    It is a great location. Breakfast was good. The room is very nice. Employees were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room price is firly high considerong its room condition. Interier is old and bad for noise. What was disappointing was that I asked for a rice boiled in microwave for 3 min, but denied due to hygine issue in the room.

    Hotel is right next to luzern railway station. Staffs showed welcoming attitude on our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are way too big and firm to be comfortable. The next morning we discovered a note on the table saying we could have asked for other types of pillows. That was unfortunately too late as we only stayed for one night.

    Location, good size of room, delicious breakfast. Very helpful staff, when it turned out I had forgotten my charger.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I had (506) had no bedside table or any other possibility to store a phone, a book or a watch, which is very annoying. I had to place the chair beside the bed. Also the bathroom is way too small, and it has no possibility to store any toiletries. I have no problems with a small bathroom for a couple of days, but here they crossed the border considerably. I would at least suggest to not assign the room to a woman. I know they have much better rooms as well, I have been there two times before.

    That everything is so clean!! And the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the partion of wet and dry section of bathroom can not completely separate, When I shower the floor wet.

    Good location very near train station, Supermaket

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am not a fan of a sliding bathroom door, which is there to save space in the room. Be your own judge, but it seems a little unusual.

    Parking was convenient, and in comparison to other local hotels, was 'good value' :D The location is fine, very central and for me not being surrounded by the masses in the old city, was fine.. you're 10 minutes away if that, so is great to walk to and from.. Breakfast was perfectly fine, lots of choice and refreshed often by the team. If I was to return to Lucerne, I would not have any issues in using the hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location, wonderful staff and very nice breakfast. Loved the place overall esp. the ambiance and the decorations esp. the life size figurines . They had a convenience store bang opposite and also places like Macs and Burger King next doors, my kid loved it My wife loved the proximity to old town and the Water Station Just a small suggestion.. As people travelling from Asia / Middle East, we are accustomed to having a bidet Spray / Shower attached to the toilet commode. This helps the elderly and the kids

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being really picky, the sheets on the bed were quite rough and did give my legs a bit of a rubbing.

    The staff are excellent. They made sure the requests I made were acted upon, not something that always happens at places I have stayed. Very good breakfast - hot and cold options and a good start time of 0630. For me location is everything and being less than one minute from the Bahnhof is the greatest advantage. You now got a free Luzern public transport ticket for your stay which is very useful. Tea & coffee making in room, important after being out all day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the noise from the street

    Staff - polish speaking lady at reception desk was very professional, helpful and friendly. Breakfast - very tasty bread and nice selection of cheese. Location - perfect location near train station and old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very small step down into the bathroom with a lip on the bedroom side. I didn't see it and almost had a nasty fall. Nowadays it should be possible to make this level, thereby avoiding accidents. It was also a little noises but this was due to groups of guys outside the hotel.

    Room was really nice and staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was excellent. The location across the street from the train station was exactly what we needed for using our rail passes to travel around in Switzerland. The view of the mountains was breathtaking. The hotel desk kept our room key for us so we didn't have to keep up with it while traveling and sightseeing. The closeness to the old part of Lucerne was ideal for walking. The chocolate shops near by were the best!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, overall very good

    Good breakfast with a lot of variety Very large room, clean and well appointed Friendly and helpful staff Reasonable price Very easy to find right next to the station and easy to walk to the main attractions

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a baby crib. The mattress had no protector on it and looked well used. The TV in the room given the location could be a bit bigger.

    The size of the family room is great. The staff at the front desk and the restaurant and the housekeepers were super friendly. Great location close to the train but in a great area - quick walk to everything and not noisy. Love that you can close the shutters to keep the light, noise, cold out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room is size should be bigger

    The location is just amazing, just next to the central station easy to go around.Good breakfast but should be add more stuffs or change every day !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very conveniently located, it is a short walk from the station and near to old city. Macs and other eateries just along the street. The staff at the reception were very accommodating when we wanted to switch rooms to be nearer our family in another room and in fact gave us a bigger upgraded room. In general they had good size rooms that were clean at a reasonable price. I would recommend this hotel and will return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Even the noise coming from the street didn't bother us.

    We travelled by train and it was really close to the train station. With trains behind you, exit through the left side, cross the street and you can see the hotel to your left. We were traveling with a little boy. I emailed them about that prior to our arrival. When we arrived they have already set up an extra bed for him for free. They also provided him with kid's body wash and shampoo. Very nice gesture indeed. All the staff we met were really really warm and nice. When traveling with big bags by train, this hotel might be the best choice than those in the old town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive but the location, decor and size of room made up for the price.

    Great location, opposite Train station and next to Macs and Starbucks. Halal turkish cafe is nearby. Hotel is walking distance to major attraction and shopping. Room on 5th floor is large with brand new & modern decor & furniture. Hotel has lifts that can fit a couple with few luggages comfortably. Friendly hotel staff at reception. No noise from trains or traffic. Very safe environment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was very good - Cooked and continental and available from 0630 (important to me). My requests were handled with professionalism, given that my german is pretty bad. The Hotel remembered requests from my previous visits and put them into effect on this visit. Location (right next to the Bahnhof).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy if you had the windows open, infact, they gave you ear plugs. Now we were there late October.

    The location was great. BIg rooms, nice shower. very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: