Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt 1896 3 stars

Bahnhofstrasse, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#41 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 930 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Zermatt has been our happy home during the past 60 years, and the Walliserhof has always been import
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have no complaints, and we hope to come back in the future, if our ages allow.

    We were very happy to be back in the hotel in which we first met in 1958. Although the building has been changed the atmosphere is still the same

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place but disappointed that fridge didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the reasons we booked this room was the fridge, but the fridge didn't work. Can it be fixed? Answer was "no", replaced ? "no". Offered a limited space in restaurant fridge. Inconvenient - distance from room, dependent on restaurant hours.

    Nice spacious room with skylight, good breakfast, location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the pillows a little too soft.

    Fabulous hotel in a wonderful location. Attention to detail was impressive (e.g. including child size bathrobes for our daughters). Staff were lovely and helpful and breakfast was great. Excellent wifi as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice deco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far walk from train station. But not a big deal at all.

    Very nice deco. Clean and cozy room w/ a small balcony. Dinner was great Staff are super nice, we arrived early, but they managed to give us the cleaned room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Room was really good with view of Matterhorn. Excellent breakfast. Ate first night. Quite good but as usual wherever we go we eat different place each night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Helped me organise packed lunch for my hike and showed me where I could store away my stuff after check out. Room was spacious and clean with a balcony. Had a very comfortable stay overall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some male waiter who does not speak great English is kind of rude and ignoring. Another English-speaking gentleman is great.

    large rooms compared to most other hotels in Europe. Excellent location. Very clean and comfortable. Very helpful front desk clerk. Breakfast is a plus and very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    A very nice and comfortable place to stay in an outstanding environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad quality sofa beds for kids,

    Amazing location, well maintained small hotel, nice breakfast, very good deal for Zermatt , Suite with Matterhorn view at 4th floor is outstanding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is big with balcony and you can see matthorn just from the balcony! Hotel is just on the central shopping street. Breakfast is awesome and the staff are very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel that still breaths it’s old history from late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it is an historic building the height of the rooms and the shower is also lower. So for a tall man showering is a bit less convenient. Just something to take into account.

    Great hotel that still breaths it’s old history from late 1800. Nice room and bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    All perfect! Will return from San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the room key in public area in hook when leaving hotel. Should be Kept behind desk.

    Everything perfect. Especially breakfast! Location perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant staff, perfect location. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that the gym was a mile away at another facility in a remote industrial area that I did not feel comfortable walking to alone

    Staff was very nice. Location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Village Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    The location was perfect. Very close to the train station. We are at the restaurant twice and enjoyed the meals. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    I really liked this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant. They all are in Zermatt.

    I really liked this hotel. So convenient to the station. Plenty of space and beautiful breakfast . I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay for a 30th Birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities (this was literally the only thing I would change about the room itself)

    We had a lovely room with a view of the mountain, which was great! There was a fridge where we kept some drinks but no tea/coffee facilities but that wasn't a major problem. The bathroom was nice, plenty room to put all of our toiletries out, with a large mirror and small cosmetic mirror too! We ate at the restaurant twice, lunchtime was best for us. We had corden bleu and flammkuchen and side salad which was all amazing! And I think Boris (I'm sure that was his name) was an amazing server, attentive and so kind! Top marks for him!! Breakfast was nice, fresh scrambled eggs which were delicious and there was ovaltine and hot milk which I loved!! There was all the usual suspects too, meats and cheeses, pastries, fruit, cereal! Lots on offer! The front of house staff were amazing also, we did have a small problem on the last night which was sorted out super quickly so it wasn't really that much of a problem! Over all great time and we will be visiting again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Awesome, great old fashioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked how close the Hotel is from everything in town, including the train station. Also, the staff was incredibly helpful towards the activities one can do in Zermatt. The room was nice, and comfortable. We had a good relaxing time there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Everything is great except the hotel do not have front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not have air condition and fan in the room so the weather is hot inside the room and can not open the windows for wind

    Everything is great except the hotel do not have front desk for 24 hours

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    A good choice at Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing don’t like

    The bed is very comfy. The cleanliness of the room is spectacular. I also like the balcony which overlooking the Mt Matterhorn. My daughter loves the bathtub in the second floor with an sky window which can open. The breakfast is very good. Especially like their special drink which is a tasty smoothie. The bacons are extra crispy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful suite with a fantastic view and an incredible loft, complete with soaking tub with a view of the Matterhorn. Delicious buffet breakfast. We only stayed over night, but I wish we could have stayed longer! Sofa bed was pre-made for our kiddos, which was wonderful. Really appreciated that all of the windows and sliding doors had black out curtains. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    You will not be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything: room (number 25!), bathroom was very modern, helpful staff, great restaurant if you get hungry, 3min from station and Coop. You cannot be more central. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfy, location a very easy walk from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night. Room was hot and no a/c, so needed to open balcony door and then it was noisy. Laundry was excessively priced.

    The bed was comfy, location a very easy walk from the train station, nice breakfast and clean spacious bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    We were very satisfied and hotel is highly recommended !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is literally a 3 minute walk from the station. It is in the middle of shops and restaurants. The room was big for Zermatt and was very comfortable. It has a big size, very clean bathroom with luxurious amenities. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay with traditional swiss inner deco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at breakfast was smiley and very friendly. Breakfast was amazingly delicious and full of variety. Location was convenient as it was near the main train station. The room and inner deco along the corners were the highlights. Wonderfully spacious room as we were lucky enough to get a corner room with luxurious bathroom deco. The view from our room was great with views of the neighbouring houses and mountains.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Location of the hotel is very good, couple of minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception were unfriendly. Didn’t really feel welcome - seemed like they were selectively greeting the guests, we traveled from Asia. There were no airconditioners in the room, neither were any fans provided. It was hot in early June, especially at night if we closed all the windows, when asked about airconditioners, the reception staff told us to keep the windows open - that didn’t help with the sleep because there were loud partying going on downstairs at the roadside pubs/restaurants, couldn’t sleep as a result. Not a happy experience if you cant sleep properly after a long day of tours and we were travelling with 2 young children

    Location of the hotel is very good, couple of minutes walk from Zermatt station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Clear disappointment!!!! Never this place again. Rude and unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Village Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travel a lot and we visited already several hotels. I have never had the experience that when you arrive and you say that you have a room reservation, the answer from the receptionist is: I hope so!!!! We were not managed in a respectful way. The bathroom was dirty (long black hair on the floor and in the toilet, probably form the previous guest). The bathroom assessories are no-name cheap liquid soap where the content is not written, so no opportunity to figure out any allergen content. The room is loud, we have heard the whole evening and night the guests walking/running above us. At the check out we were billed for 4 person although we were only 3 and our reservation was also for only 3.

    the Location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    A really delightful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed during my stay. It is clearly popular so I would have liked to dine there.

    Beautiful hotel with an interesting history. Very quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet included local cheeses, cured meat and delicious bread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    I will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the front desk was extremely rude when we asked for information of parking and the train... and was continually rude throughout our stay.

    Breakfast was good, it had a nice selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Best Hotel in the Best Location on Swiss Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent crew, I've been well treated during my 3 nights stay. The hotel has a very special furniture that reminds guests about skiing and escalading purpose of the city. Excellent room, excellent bed and excellent WC, it was a pleasent surprise to be there. Excellent breakfast (the best of my 2 week trip hotels), excellent location, it was the best part of my entire trip. I would return to city to stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only area I could fault is the breakfast which could be significantly improved. Meat and cheese looked like it had been used for a few days and the general cleanliness, presentation and actual offering could be improved.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. We stayed in a beautiful room on the top level overlooking the town and it was really special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place to stay with wonderful and patient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Village Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite has just one bathroom. Breakfast could have more options though they will make eggs and pancakes on order at no surcharge. The jacuzzi water was lukewarm, not hot. Minor issues.

    Location excellent, 3 minute walk from main station right on the Main Street. We got the suite which is perfect for family of 4-6. Very clean. Staff always helpful. I will definitely stay here again in the future. Helpful hints: Drop ur staff at a Täsch rail station where you can find trolleys/carts for 5 Fr. Park near station- I parked at Rocky (8-12/day). You can take cart into train with you & all the way to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    A nice hotel and well located. Rates are little high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Romm could have a small sofer / armchair for better comfort. Room decor has no characters, no warm. Expensive!

    Large clean room. Near to the train station and right at the heart of the village. Substantial breakfast spread.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay and will love to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cheese smell is a let down as you enter the hotel and i guess its just not here almost all restaurants have that molten cheese smell which if you don't like can be very irritating.

    The hotel staff was very friendly and the location was outstanding right in between the market and close to the station. Liked the breakfast as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location to ski Bahn and centrally located in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa area not very private. Did not see anyone using it. Breakfast nice but exactly the same every day and if staying more than 2 days boring. Suggest rotate selection to include waffles or crepes.

    Great location to ski Bahn and centrally located in town. Locker room for ski equipment convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Best staff in Switzerland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location cannot be beat- right on the main street just steps away from bars, restaurants, and shops. Our trip to Zermatt was extended by 3 nights due to a severe snowstorm which forced the rails to close. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They secured us a room at a reduced rate and helped us plan our travel back to Zurich. It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Walliserhof! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful and friendly staff!! We enjoyed very much our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be more varied especially in hot dishes.

    The room was very spacious and nicely distributed! The staff was extremely helpful, Valentina was great at the front desk😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable, relaxing, fantastic service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Village Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that with the bedroom windows open to the balcony facing Bahnhofstrasse, cigarette smoke from the deck at the front of the restaurant beside the hotel entrance could rise and enter the room which was mildly unpleasant.

    We were disrupted by avalanche risk & rail lines were closed. Our original accommodation was booked out so we booked at Hotel Walliserhof. This wouldn’t normally be in our budget or spec, we would normally book an apartment as a family. But the staff were outstanding, understanding, supportive and cheerful, they turned our negative into a positive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    I would specially like to mention the time we were snowed up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would specially like to mention the time we were snowed up in Zermatt. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We always felt in very good hands - despite the exeptional situation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with clear views of the Matterhorn when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location with clear views of the Matterhorn when there's good weather. Super comfortable beds and friendly hotel staffs. Not too far of a walk from the train station either. Will stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Location of the hotel is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel is perfect! It was just around 100 metres away from the train station and very near to all the shops and restaurants. Room was very comfortable, clan and had very good heating. Staffs were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.0
    Manager kind enough to give us full refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zermatt was snowed in and inaccessible by any method other than helicopter ( or so we were told by the general Manager). As we couldn’t make it to zermatt the hotel kindly have us our $ back. Most kind and most generous. Will stay here next time we come to zermatt for a holiday and not just one night awaiting the glacier express( which also could not make it to zermatt that day (apparently the glacier Express also is not a helicopter)

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Good palace to stay for your ski holiday, easy to access and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cheese fondue smell if you don't like.

    Simple but cozy. Nice stay in Walliserhof. Definitely will back to stay again. Also, their steak is a must try.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    The staff was beyond excellent and helped in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was beyond excellent and helped in every way. The room was large and had a nice view. Breakfast was great with a nice selection of eggs, meats, breads, fruits etc. I would give it a higher rating if I could!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Location, cleanliness and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick on anything, I’d have to say that the Pillows are too soft and there could have been a few more options at breakfast. That’s being picky though. Apart from this, everything was perfect

    Location, cleanliness and view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Ok value for money, clean but need to work better on keeping a good and polite service overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breakfast ended at 10.30, service was eager to clean everything as of 10.15 making us feel uncomfortable. In addition room cleaning service kept knocking the door instead of coming back when we were gone.

    Location is excellent, next to train station and in the middle of the village next to all interesting places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Amazing, incredible best hotel in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing needs changing

    Upon arrival first impressions were wow 😮 then we were taken up to our room which again was wow 😮💛 our room was spacious we had a large room with balcony, the view from the balcony overlooked the street below which was wonderful then a side window which opened to views of the matterhorn. The hotel felt like you had walked in to a family home such a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. ALL the staff made our stay totally unforgettable. The restaurant served very high standard food which was tasty and well presented. Cannot fault the hotel 1st class service in every aspect. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real Gem. Center of town, 3 min walk from train, ski rental 15 Yrs away across the street w hotel discount. Lift/train to slopes 3 min walk. Staff so nice and friendly. Property rustic but well maintained. Spa has 2 tubs, steam/sauna room and showers. Don't expect luxury resort style, but it has what you need after a long day skiing. Highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Great stay, great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they can arrange for some facilities in room like water kettle etc it can just become awesome.

    The property is located right in the heart of Zermat market. The hotel has very warm environment specially because of people in this hotel. Though the facilities in the room are limited, like no water kettle, but the staff make everything available whenever asked for. Really loved the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely vintage hotel with a welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff and large and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a little trouble getting the room temperature just right, but we could open the windows and that solved the problem.

    The room was delightful. It was large and airy with plenty of light. There was a small balcony with a table and chairs where we ate most of our lunches. The bathroom was huge with a fantastic bathtub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic toiletries like toothbrush and toothpaste. In room slippers would be a bonus.

    Location: Strategic. Room: bright, dainty, well kept, restful ambiance with air control facility and veranda for al-fresco lounging. Food: complete, balanced, in keeping with Swiss superb quality. Activities in the area: Perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location for a short stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Has a restaurant famous for fondue on the ground floor and the smell of cheese was prominent. Luckily we were on 3rd floor and it was ok in our room.

    Beautiful breakfast, nice big clean rooms, modern bathroom with bath and shower. Excellent location close to the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful warm and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful warm and helpful staff. Nice sized room with a large balcony and view of the Matterhorn. A giant bathtub & shower. Great bang for the buck. It exceeded all expectations. Didn't want to get out of the bed it was so comfortable. Breakfast with the tastiest breads and fruits.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    A very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything.

    As the apartment was not booked before and after our stay, we could move in at 10am, and depart at 1pm. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    The bathroom hand wash and shower gel had a lovely fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would like to have tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

    The bathroom hand wash and shower gel had a lovely fresh fragrance. The view was wonderful from our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Splendid stay at the Walliserhof!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no coffee making facility in the room.

    It was a remarkable stay at the Walliserhof. The hotel Is nicely situated. It is 3 mins from the train station, 5 mins from the church and 10 mins from the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise Gondola station. There are so many restaurants and stores around. The room and bathroom is immaculately clean. The breakfast has a wide selection. I especially like the crispy croissant, the tasty bacon, the fresh juices and the homemade smoothie. The lady at the reception, Martina is always smiling and very accommodating. I was not able to try though the mini-spa. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Zermatt!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Amazing - location brilliant, facilities great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a really good size and the bed was huge. All staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Had we had the time we would have stayed longer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable, stylish and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is extremely centrally located, just 250m from the railway station. The place is described as rustic, but while the building is traditional chalet style, inside it is modern, stylish and comfortable. Modern design touches combine with traditional ones stylishly. Our room was spacious, had a great bathroom and a lovely terrace that got sun from early in the morning. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and on the ground floor the hotel has an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    A nice and relaxing stay. It could have been better if we the pillows and bed are comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony of room 34 was facing the back of a restaurant and we kept going food smell coming into our room.

    The pillows were too soft and the bed was not comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    The Walliserhof was a fantastic place to unwind and relax after our walk from Chamonix to Zermatt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hesitate to mention some noise (workers chatting) from the kitchen in the restaurant across the alley, because I really have nothing but high praise for the Walliserhof. And some dishes clattering or people talking is the trade off for the super convenient location. It was certainly nothing that kept us up. The hotel itself was very quiet and the double paned doors on the terrace blocked sound when closed.

    Was not expecting how wonderful the Walliserhof was. Location was in the middle of everything - shops, train station, restaurants, tourist information. Room was large, clean, we had a terrace with a view of the top of the matterhorn. Bed was comfy, staff very helpful, breakfast fresh with great variety of meat, cheese, hot and cold food, home made smoothies, couldn't ask for more. Hotel has a traditional/historical ambiance, lots of character, but not old or tatty. Seemed like it has been redone relatively recently, or else they just have great maintenance of the property. It had a feeling of easy, informal luxury. Very, very happy with our two days staying there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    You must stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Amazing location. Wonderful staff, who welcomed us with excitement and who were always happy to answer questions we had about the hotel or the area. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a view of the Matterhorn, which was extremely spacious with a huge bed, bathroom and a small terrace. The hotel restaurant was fantastic we had the most beautiful fondue and raclette there and the staff were so friendly and attentive, happy to answer any questions we had about the menu. We noticed lots of people coming to the restaurant from outside, for good reason! They had a spa area down stairs which we enjoyed and a sauna and steam room. Beautifully presented breakfast with a huge variety of options, we loved the fresh smoothies in served in small jars! We could not recommend this place more highly it was one of our highlights on our European trip!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is located at the central street, 5 minutes walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit overcrowded, but it was not the failt if the hotel

    Hotel is located at the central street, 5 minutes walk from the station. Nice, cosy and with a good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Everything is good about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good about this hotel. It's on the main street but not noisy at all. The ladies at the front desk are very nice. Our room is cosy, clean and unexpectedly spacious. The breakfast is good too. We're definitely coming back if we visit Zermatt again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Amazing and wonderful hotel!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been good but everything else was perfect.

    Wonderfully comfy bed in a light and airy clean room. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Loved the mini spa after a long day hiking! All in all a wonderful hotel that I would love to come back to one day!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value of money, clean and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean hotel with good location, close to station and in a main street of the town. Family room was great and good value of money. Breakfast is good and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good choice for staying in zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Village Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can refill faster

    Very good location and friendly staff . The elevator is modern and the room is huge. The toilet is modern and good size . The restaurant is good too. The Chinese hotspot meat is exceptionally

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    I loved staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved staying at this hotel. The location is very good, close to the train station. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and, actually, it was my favourite part about staying at this hotel, to be honest. I highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location at reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window with shade between bathroom and bedroom means when someone turns on bathroom light in the night, the entire bedroom lights up. Bathroom door tended to slide open.

    Convenient location for train. Quiet on back side of hotel. Outdoor seating. Only heard upstairs neighbors occasionally. Comfortable bed. Clean. Lots of bathroom counter space. Nice towels. Friendly staff. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good location, nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini spa it's only open from 3 to 8, so I didn't had the chance to visit. It would be nice that was open all day. The breakfast was OK, but I was expecting a little more choise.

    Very good location, nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful making the stay warm like home. Quality of breakfast is good. I love the home-made smoothie and they were very kind to make fried eggs for us as they served only boiled eggs and scramble eggs. Location is perfect, a short walk from the train station. Facilities are also very modern. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    The room was so nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Maisonette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so nice and comfortable. I love the restaurant. The breakfast has variety of choices. Moreover, the mini spa was he one get the spotlight. Everything went good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Amazing stay in center of Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toiletries were limited to shower gel and hand soap only. Could have provided a water heater in the room with tea/coffee making options.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious with a small balcony. Breakfast was superb with lots of homemade delicacies and juices. The staffs were very polite and warm. The location was very central. 5 min walk to Zermatt train station and 8 min walk to Matterhorn glacier paradise cable car station. The ambiance is very classic as it is a hotel with a quite old heritage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great complimentary breakfast and the room was beautiful with a view of the Matterhorn, really good value for the money. Also the staff was super friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    it is very convenient as the hotel is located just 5 mins by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is very costly but price is in the same range compared to other hotels in the same location.

    it is very convenient as the hotel is located just 5 mins by walk from zermatt station. Breakfast at hotel was very nice and they served various of foods.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is In the heart of Zermatt city just 3 mins from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key room is very old fashioned. You can't lock the door from inside without the key and that's very inconvenient for us.

    The hotel is In the heart of Zermatt city just 3 mins from Zermatt station. The room is very comfortable and cozy made me feel like home. At the first floor we had nice bar and also a spa for relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Excellent everything, expectially their dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their restaurant is very delicious. Breakfast is also very great. More than my expectation like yummy homemade yogurt and homemade strawberry smoothie, waffle by yourself, delicious crossaint,etc. We had dinner at their restaurant. We can tell that it was the best dinner for our 13 days in Swizerland and Italy. Yummy mixed salad with their Italian sauce. Beef steaks made by chef serve with hot stone for grill more by yourself. Room and Bathroom is wide and clean. Perfect!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    In the heart of all the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door wouldn't stay closed Old hotel on a slant. Pocket door kept sliding open! It became funny but it really wasn't.

    Having a small balcony Really nice Breakfast Room with lots of charm and good food and service.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: