Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Tourist City & River Hotel Luzern 3 stars

St. Karliquai 12, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#30 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2353 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giving us a dark,dingy triple room at the back for one night when we had paid the same for 2 good river facing rooms. They did shift us for the next night but we had to pay extra. The attitude of Christian, one of the reception staff who ticked me off when I was upset about the room he gave us...saying that just because I was “Indian “I was being rude!! I am an avid traveller and have never ever felt so humiliated nor faced such a racist remark.

    The view of the river from the river facing balcony. The breakfast . The availability of complimentary tea/coffee laid out in the dining room at most times. The location along the river

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic motel compared to the 29 others stayed at during this trip ...and one of most expensive in comparison ... no air con.. very hot fan supplied ... balcony room ..no windows ... towels and other linen needs renewing as has overstayed its use ...very poor wifi connection ...

    Good cont breakfast ...view from balcony good ...glad we had that... close to attractions in town .. best water pressure in shower than ALL other motels we have stayed at across europe and the uk in the last 2 months ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attracted spiders during the summer and the location is quite far off, you need to be able to walk to main attractions

    Comfortable stay and staff were pleasant and v helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing that surprised us the Toilette didn't have lock from inside, a bit precarious thing for people from East. But there are many hotels in West not having a lock in Toilette . its more of a cultural difference.

    Almost everything. Location bang on the river and close to the Chappel Bridge and 7-8 minutes walk from the station. Breakfast was superb. 5th floor quadruple room was quite spacious and amazing views. this tidy place is a gem of a hotel. This was my 3rd visit to Lucerne and I would recommend it as a much better and value for money place than many other famous hotels in the vicinity where I stayed earlier. Just loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This was our favorite hotel on our recent European trip. Jim at the front desk was so helpful and funny. The room was perfect and we had a view of Lake Lucerne and the city. It is a perfect location and has parking on site. The breakfast was great as well. Absolutely no complaints! Book it now!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning was an issue, even in early June. The fan provided was helpful but really they need A/Cs installed. Tight quarters for a 3 person family.

    Decent location, close proximity to old town. Beautiful view out the front balcony. Freezing cold water out of the pipes felt great in the heat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that it did not have AC, but I was aware of this issue.

    The hotel set directly on the Reuss River. The views are amazing, short walk to old town, clean, comfortable beds. We travel with our 2 teens, and they both got their own room. Staff was friendly, and breakfast was great. The only downside, we did not have AC, but we open the windows and we were fine. I did lots of research and could not find anything else on our budget. Lots of families.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant see a bad thing.

    Christoph, Christian & Jim they all was friendly and very helpful. They gave ask a card for free bus transport in Lucerne. Breakfast was reasonable good. The room upgrated was ok. Location was almost perfect close for everything. They have laundry facilities in reasonable price. We like to recommend to stay there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room , with a view overlooking the river , the mountain and a castle. All the reception staff were friendly and very helpful ,they gave us a city pass for all the transport we needed during our stay. Elizabeth was a chatty lady who told us lots of good places to visit ,both in the city and outside the city, so we could do a very scenic rail journey through the Emmantal valley using a rail pass.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is superb and the breakfast was good. The rooms were not good. It was hot the week we were there and there was no air circulation...a measly fan in each room. We woke up every night in a pool of sweat. They have an ant problem as well. For the price I expected more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondioner but was ok as you got breeze when you opened the balcony door

    Location was very good, close to Old Town with alot of alfresco dinning and shops. The staff were very informative and very helpful in every way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Good location, very nice room, very helpful staff. Take bus 9 from train and get off right after you cross the river. Very short walk from there, on the river

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no fridge in the room

    Great hotel. We arrived very early before checking time and our bags were allowed to be left safe & locked in a room whilst we went onto explore the beautiful Lucern. It was close to the city center & to catch a ferry. Taxi needed from train station to get to it and also needed to get to airport. Great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We had a balcony with a fantastic view of the bridge and river russ. Room was very clean, super comfy big bed, safe and nice bathroom, breakfast was served from 6.30 am and was very very good choice of foods & coffees. All in all a top hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap for the shower came in little packets you tear open....hard to open and not enough soap....

    Great location, super clean, washing machine, comfortable beds. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Let us eat our take out in the breakfast room. (One of us couldn't walk very far so we brought dinner back). Also, wonderful views of the river. I would recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot day, air conditioning would have been nice in the room. A coffee maker of some sort would be a nice touch.

    Very nice view from the balcony. Breakfast was excellent, lots of cheese and meat. Cappuccino was tastie. Water pressure was good in the shower. Small room but adiqute, a person is there only to sleep and have breakfast. Needed a fan in the room. The parking garage's light was on all night across the river. The hotel was in old town, close to sights and the wall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t care for how there isn’t any parking for the hotel guest. The room is really small for 2 adults and a child. Asked if we could get riverside view in advance. 😔 was put on gardenview side and it was very noisy with people talking & singing loud at night and early morning.

    The hotel is close to the attractions. Love how big the shower is. The hotel staff was very friendly ❤️ That. Our child loved the toilet (lol)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer a firm and supportive mattress, this was far too soft with no support.

    The croissants at breakfast were lovely. The reception staff were very helpful in making suggestions for activities. The room with separate sleeping quarters for us and the kids was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little isolated it was an apartment that was used as a room.

    Liked the hotel, good place, good breakfast. Really loved the lady at the front desk who helped me plan my days for all the places. She was super helpful and really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Nothing really, everything was excellent

    - Excellent location, right next to the river, we had 2 rooms with balcony next to the river. The view from the balcony was excellent. - The hotel had tickets for titlis/jungfrau and were excellent hosts. - Breakfast started at 6.30am and was sumptuous - Rooms was comfortable - The triple room was small, but compared to switzerland's standards it was ok. - It was walking distance from the main train station 7-8 mins walking - Bus stand was 5 mins walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smaller than expected, but traveling with my two adult daughters, it was nice to find a hotel that offered a room that all three of us could stay in. The bathroom was a decent size and the room was clean.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast that was provided in the morning was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect. Easy to walk to all that we wanted to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room!

    Breakfast,! Very good breakfast and they have coffee and tea all day long. They have pastries for snacks in the afternoon! Location is by the river!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected to have room with balcony as if the picture in the website during reservation but we didn't

    Location was within walking distance to Luzern main station, room was clean and comfy, breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will be better if more number of family rooms of the hotel are facing on the river side.

    Very healthy and nutritious breakfast keeps you energetic for the day and very suitable for family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfy and the pillows were amazing. The best sleep and most comfortable sleep we’ve had on our travels. The breakfast was pretty fabulous too, and being able to help yourself to tea and coffee and a slice of cake at anytime was an added bonus. Very thoughtful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and nice staffs. Wonderful breakfast with many options. They have a laundry room which was convenient to us. It took us 15 mins by walk to get here from the train station, and it wasn't easy if you go with luggage, so it's better to know there's a bus no.2 you can take. Hotel provided a traffic card so we could take city buses fro free. Museggmauer is right behind the hotel. It was really nice to take a walk, and come back to have some free hot tea or coffee at the dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the lingering strong smell of garam marsala in the bathroom. Our bed were not so comfortable either and our donna were a little bit too heavy. As a suggestion, it would be great if they have an International plug-in; most travellers are travelling from other countries.

    We enjoyed the view from our windows, overlooking the river, castles, palaces and the rest of interesting places. We like the hearty breakfast with the best espresso, forever marble cake for tea and friendly chatty helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, very friendly staff, convenient parking, well located near the city centre. Would have been even more perfect if there was also all rooms had a balcony (because the view on the mountains is great)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug in the wash basin did not work so could not fill a basin to shave. When we reported it we were told it was deliberately set like this to prevent guests doing their washing.

    Tea and refreshments available free all day and complimentary cake. Comfy bed and all very clean. Great choice of breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was unreliable.

    Great location. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Rooms were basic but very clean. They give free snacks, coffee & tea at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are used to five star buffet and decorum- this is not for you. The reception and restaurant are humble settings.

    Its very functional, clean and real value for money hotel with immensely helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satisfying with good location and free drinks (coffee & tea) provided till 10pm . The staff Mr Christian is very friendly and caring. Giving a lot of information .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Manual key locking so have to be very mindful when leaving hotel room. As there are no curtains, to have privacy you'll need to manually lower the louvers by turning the external shutter down. Quite tedious as you cannot enjoy the view readily.

    Staff was friendly and helpful, as we drove from Lugano it was good that the hotel is able to offer daily parking at a reduced charge (subject to availability). Room was facing the river so there's a good view to the mountains on a clear day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located along the river with beautiful view. Staff was very kind. Breakfast room is always open and tea&coffee are available. It was around 15 minutes away from the central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit of a walk with luggages.

    Best Crossants! Big terrace outside our room (altho supposedly shared space but nobody comes by :)) Coffee/tea/cake in the afternoon served at the lounge area is a nice touch. Quadruple room is spacious enough for our 3 luggages.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so helpful! They gave us lots of suggestions and we enjoyed all of them! The breakfast was very good! They were very helpful to accommodate my nephew who decided to join us at the last minute!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding was very bad for couple. The beds are very bad and they could provide more cosy beds and instead of giving 2 separate beds it’s good to provide one queen size one. Also lights are very poorly arranged. Another downside is floor which makes lot of noise when you walk and which is very annoying to me.

    The location was perfect to stay, I booked a family room and got suite which was good. You can enjoy the river views and the hills.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel price is towards the expensive end. Internet is not good - not at all reliable. Not very close to train station however public transport is at 8min walk. TV is in local language. No hand wash/shower gel (only shampoo provided). Coffee machine not working. Milk not enough cups.

    Room is awesome, they have given me 2 bed room superior room. Break fast is included and it is very good (serves to elders and children). River view is very good. River side walk is also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. Great place to stay to explore Lucern.

    We have stayed there twice in the last week. Both times staff were super friendly and warm and they really make you feel welcomed. The location and view from the hotel are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    At one stage the reception was unmanned but the receptionist was very helpful once she had returned.

    Excellent location near the centre and good public parking very nearby if you can get a space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location could not be more perfect. You are right at the entrance to the city which makes parking very convenient to the hotel. We parked at the parking garage Alstadt which is secure and just across the bridge which is about a 3 minute walk. The city very walkable from the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the view is worth the price alone. The breakfast is delicious. The beds are very comfortable which is a lot for me because I usually am not comfortable on any bed but my own. This hotel is worth every penny and is the perfect way to see Lucerne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are being renovated and the painters/builders started to work early morning.

    The reception was really welcoming, receptionist were really kind and helpful. I really liked the idea of luggage storage after checking out. We got a ticket we could use in town on all buses and trams, it was included in the price. The room was spacious and the view was fantastic. Breakfast was plenty and we could have coffee and drinks all day long as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel was really good and the view from our room balcony was million dollars ! The hotel staff were very friendly and caring providing tips for travelling and putting extra effort to make us at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All day coffee ,tea ,cake, water,juice etc....in the breakfast hall.We have some after we came back from outside.Will go back again .

    Both morning and evening staffs are so nice,kind ,helpful and friendly .Give us full information a bout Lucerne City.Hotel is very clean and nice room by the river .love it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep

    Location👍 5-10min to most view spot and supermarket Staff👍👍support u useful advice always with smile Facility👍 lift,wash room, heating radiator Transportation card, WiFi PW for public or room, free cake drinks are available

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite was a bit empty of furniture.

    With our son in plaster following a skiing accident the hotel upgraded us to a suite so we would have more room. The hotel is very well situated, and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The suite was enormous and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internal noise,from guests down the corridor on the same floor in the middle of the night.Corridor could do with soft furnishings to dampen sound, and earplugs provided in rooms would help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a balcony with the double room was great - worth paying the extra. Short walk to the old town and convenient bus (9) to the station with luggage (only found out about it on the return journey though)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is terrible.

    We had an upstairs corner room overlooking the river. It was larger than other rooms and had a lovely bathroom with a window. The bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. Breakfast was included and it was one of the best we had on our holiday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband found the vinyl hallway floors noisy and made the hotel look a bit like a hostel.

    The hotel was easy walking distance to all the attractions. There wasn't parking available on site but reception had 24hr onstreet parking tickets and we found a park easily only 300m away. The beds were comfortable and the room clean and modern. The breakfast was plentiful and in a pleasant room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a lot of parking available and it was a bit confusing to get to.

    The hotel was in a perfect location, with great views of the canal. The beds were comfortable, the staff was very helpful and everything was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to not like. I would have loved a mini-bar, but at this price, I am not complaining.

    The hotel is neat and tidy, the rooms are very clean and warm, and ours had a view of the river and the mountains in the distance. The staff is very, very friendly and kind, and they speak fluent English. Finally, the location is excellent, a few minutes away from the city center, and maybe 15-20 minutes of walking distance from the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no 24 hours reception, and to make it worse they dont have other telephone number other than their office/lobby telephone. thus makes it very difficult to communicate to get the keys. they didnt give code or instruction via email or whatsapp or message either, only by call and its really prone to miscommunication and misunderstandings.

    location is very lovely, nice view from the balcony as well especially during the nice sunny weather. breakfast is delicious and awesome, staffs are super friendly, helpful and talkative. room is enough considering we are in lucerne and and its worth every penny. they offer us parking coupon but we didnt take it since we park someplace else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the duvees was scratchy resulting in a slight rash.

    Nice continental breakfast. Close enough to train station to walk there instead of taking cab. Very close to one of the famous covered pedestrian covered bridges and very close to wall surrounding city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room at night was too hot and the air too dry, but we solved leaving the window open and it worked.

    The hotel granted us free transport on bus and trains within the town and a 20% discount on the entrance at the Verkehrshaus. Wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel has Laundry service and quite a lot of choices at breakfast. The ladies at the reception desk (both daytime and night time) are very nice and helpful. The location of hotel is within walking distance from the main train station and major attractions. Close to bus stop no.9 if carrying luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were far too small...maybe we had hand towels only, but they were small! Would have liked a variety of bread or roll not just a single choice. We did let them know it was our 25th anniversary, but they chose not to say congrats or anything. They were helpful when you needed anything The room was too small to get photos really...especislly bathroom but it was amazingly clean

    Good location and clean room and fair price. Family owned hotel, like to support a family but could be e had a warmer more welcoming reception. Staff a little unwelcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The front office staff named Elizabeth was very helpful and friendly. Excellent hospitality and I sincerely look forward to meet her again. She provided me with valuable info on attractions in Lucerne and other destination, mount Titlis, Pilatus and Rigi. She made our holidays very memorable. Please give this person a bonus and increment for her excellent hospitality extended. Location of hotel was perfect, short walking distance to the attractions. - Pizza Family

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is the best - Elizabeth at the front desk is adorable!!! So helpful and will go the extra mile to make sure you are enjoying your time in Lucern. Love her!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an issue, but, additional hangers would be good.

    Our room overlooks the river and this makes our room very relaxing. The place is close to the train station and sights. I am very particular to cleanliness and hygiene and I like that our room is very clean. Lastly, but, most important of all is that the hotel staff are very jovial and friendly. Special thanks to Elizabeth and Jim.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small elevator, but it's okay

    The staff is very very nice, and the breakfast is quite good. The location is very nice, just right in front of the river. Recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GREAT LOCATION, VIEW, AND STAFF. STAFF WERE EXTREMELY FRIENDLY HELPED IN ARRANGING TOURS AND IDENTIFYING ATTRACTIONS IN LUZERN. THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND THE BREAKFAST WAS GOOD.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find one.

    Very clean and comfortable. The staffs are really polite and gave us useful information about the city. Good breakfast is included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are lots of fly or insects around the river, which we can't open the windows for fresh air. It is not easy to walk from train station to hotel with luggage.

    The breakfast is good. There is coffee and tea offered until 11pm. The room and bathroom is spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    River made a noise all night but hey what do you expect just across road from river! I’ll catch up sleep another night.

    Delightful staff, very clean, everyone helpful, great bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Would loved to have stayed longer.

    This is an EXCELLENT hotel, beautifully upgraded, very modern and in a perfect location right on the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed the breakfast in this hotel. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff and provided us discounted tickets for some attractions. Overall, enjoyed our stay in this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee machine in the breakfast room could be a bit better.

    The location is great. It is just the right distance away from the main strip, but yet only a 10-15 minute walk from everything that one may need. The service is good and spot on. We booked the Mt. Rigi tickets through the hotel and this was available at a slightly cheaper rate than the tourist office. Breakfast was sufficient. The room had basic furniture and the bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was there was no phone in room, but it wasn't a big deal.

    This is a very basic hotel with not a lot of amenities, but it is very clean and the room was a nice size. The woman receptionist, whose name was Magrite (I think), was very accommodating and, even though we checked in on early side, managed to find us a room so we could go out and start exploring Lucerne rather than have to come back at 3 to check in. As we were only staying one day, this was incredibly helpful. There are more luxurious hotels, I'm sure, but as I waited until the last minute to book, this was fine! Breakfast was included and was very plentiful & good. M

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More basic than expected but very clean and ideal for overnight stopover.

    Right by the river ,very short walk to main old town,shops restaurants etc.excelkent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floors were very squeaky. Reception area smelly and in need of an upgrade.

    Was upgraded to a suite which was huge. View of the lake from balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably nothing, just I had to wait the receptionist to check-in about 10 minutes, but it is ok, not a big deal :)

    The hotel location is perfect! And the view from my room with a balcony was one of the best ever, even I could not expect this amazing view to the mountains in advance. The breakfast was so tasty, keep this service!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC.

    The staff was lovely. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The location was excellent. The hotel was clean. It was hot in room with no air conditioning. A little noisy on the street, but the river drowned out some of the noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the entrance of the hotel and the bad smell when we first went into the room.

    I liked the room's facility - clean, new and nice I liked the location of the hotel - great location to the old city. I liked the coffe and soft drinks available 24 hours. Good and sufficiant breakfast. Good coffe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with River View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no real place for clothes to be stored. Small closet, and no drawers. Lived out of our suitcases. That was the only negative aspect of our rooms.

    The location was good for touring. Close to the City Centre and the old city. Had great views of the river and the mountains. Breakfast was filling and fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful , Overall a great place. Shower was excellent. Great water pressure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was good for travelers because they gave city map, recommendations for tour, restaurants and museums. The quad room was so cozy, efficient and neat. There is a elevator and it is nice to carry big luggages. Lastly, the breakfast was so nice they prepared various salads, hams, breads, juices etc. Thank you for giving us nice time in lucerne

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: