Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tschuggen 2 stars

Dorfstrasse 134, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#17 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 646 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    In a few words, would love to be back here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Very accommodating team. Helped us with packed breakfast as we left early on both days. The room itself was beautiful with a great view. Top notch !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The Prettiest Place in the World
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was located in the perfect spot to explore the gorgeous Grindelwald area. Breath taking scenery every where you look. There is so much to see and do here. It’s a family run business and they provide a lovely breakfast every morning. Rooms were clean and neat and the hotel is in walking distance to the gondola and train or bus lines. Don’t hesitate to book this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Very good stay , I wish we have could staid more days.
    • Family with young children
    • Interconnecting Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good service and follow up of late check-in. In general excellent stay, very helpful at check-out. Breakfast very good. They really were taking care of us. Hotel and its personnel were excellent , congratulations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    prime location, nice and simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have warm eggs and/or Omelette for breakfast. The eggs are pre-cooked and cold.

    I love the room upstairs with mountain views. The hotel's location is prime. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great stay in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good room with plenty of space. Had a shared bathroom which was no hassle. Great breakfast and an easy walk from the train station along the main road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Amazing view from the Eiger mountain, from the rooms window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathroom are in need of a renovation. Heather doesn't really works. No soundproof. No elevator. Difficult parking.

    Amazing view from the Eiger mountain, from the rooms window and balcony (if you choose a room with view). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, 2 minutes to the train stations. Migros and Coop grocery stores a shot walk away. Our room had a magnificent view of the Eiger North face from the private balcony. The breakfast was typical for the region and was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent. Tres bien. 非常棒。素晴らしい。Bravo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little bit luggage unfriendly but should be okay in most cases.

    room is normal, not too big but just okay. very delicious continental breakfast, great room with great equipment. great balcony with excellent Eiger view. friendly staff. free bus ride voucher in the town was given when check-in, travel magazines in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fannel sheets that were scratchy.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. The heated ski boot holder was amazing. The views from our room were spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    The balcony rooms look out over the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony rooms look out over the mountains! You can even see them from bed; it’s breathtakingly beautiful. And surprisingly, the bed was very comfortable! Perfect room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Amazing View from the Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the property is amazing. Please ensure that you choose rooms with balcony. The bathroom is small though but very clean. The overall experience has been great. The reception desk can be more polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    I would come back and recommend it to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t sit on my balcony or open my door for fresh air because the man in next room was smoking on his balcony and the wind was in the wrong direction. (When I was in room1). Perhaps put smokers on top floor?

    I liked the variety of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location friendly family atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Thin walls between the rooms.

    Really nice and helpful staff, a classic Alp "pensionat". Perfect situated in the village. Great balcony facing the Eiger mountain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Simply clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply clean room. Some have they toilet and shower to share, but it is written when you choose your room, and that's fine. realy in the village center. Bus stop in front of the hotel. car park is tied, but had no problem to park. May when you have a huge car, your not conftable with tiny roads and you like to use it every day. Thereis a modern car pak in 5 min walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    We would stay in this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interconnecting Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family of 5 stayed on the top floor with adjoining rooms, and one had a balcony with fantastic view of the mountains. The hotel was warm and cosy and was right on the main street and had a Coop supermarket closeby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    This was my second time staying at Tschuggen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my second time staying at Tschuggen. It was just as great as I expected! It is just cozy, has a good taste, and I really appreciate their hearty (and traditional mountaineer's) breakfast at the start of my sporty day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    This time I stayed solo for my sporty weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time I stayed solo for my sporty weekend. The single room had the best of both a hut-like personality and a quality hotel facilities. I come to Grindelwald often, but probably this is one of my favorite places to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent advice from staff on hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No having a working stove or microwave was inconvenient.

    Excellent advice from staff on hiking. The breakfasts they provided with the room were very good. We stayed in their 2 bedroom apartment so that our adult son could join us. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. The fire from the balcony was unbelievable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Slept terribly the first night due to thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls were VERY thin. The first night there, the people in the next room were up late watching TV, and we could hear it blaring. They turned off the TV, but continued to have conversation in a normal volume level, but we could hear every word. Wish the hotel would provide a noise machine, and not have TV's in the rooms since the walls are so thin.

    Amazing breakfast and friendly staff. Have the hot chocolate!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay! Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift.

    Very good location, 5 mins walk from train station. There is groceries shop nearby, and bus stop is just 1 min walk. Excellent restaurant right opposite the hotel. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything- we booked a room with an Eiger view and it was lovely with a balcony. Room had a small hallway where the bathroom was so you could shut off any noise from other guests coming in and out. Room was large enough with everything you need. Parking is free, but only a few spaces. Hotel right in the town so everything is close and walking distance. Breakfast was good choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Good for stay and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Nice staffs who allow us to park the car before checkin time, at the same time, the staff gave the hotel card and grant the discount when buying the ticket to First!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful location at a very reasonable cost for outstanding hiking opportunities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    The hosts were exceptionally helpful, accommodating and knowledgeable. The hotel is excellently located, the views were outstanding from our room. The generous breakfast was delicious, especially the croissants, home made bread and cheeses offered. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, family run, centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interconnecting Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely, family run, centrally located hotel. Very clean and staff/owner very helpful with all the usual tourist questions. We would return here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great location next to cable car to First (upper station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to cable car to First (upper station with short walk downhill to Balchpese lake) very nice rooms more on modern side with large balcony and view of Eiger

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    We loved every minute of our stay in the charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say. We loved everything.

    We loved every minute of our stay in the charming hotel. Very comfortable, excellent location in the center of Grindelwald, 5 min walk from the train station. Extremely nice and friendly staff. To resume; we will be back to Hotel Tschuggen for sure :).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in Grindelwald! Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the Wifi doesn't work, may be because we aren't in the main building

    Perfect location in Grindelwald, close to everywhere, train station, First Bahn, Migros and Coop, restaurants and shops, and children playground. We stayed there for 3 nights in the neighboring building Spinell, feeling like living in a cottage. Awesome!! The view in the balcony facing Eiger was magnificent. The room is bright and clean and the beds are comfy. This is my 6th time in Interlaken/Grindelwald, but only my first stay in Grindelwald. Right choice to stay in Grindelwald and Hotel Tschuggen! I'll stay here again if I come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    location and view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel made pre-Authorization for the price then during check in again deduct the hotel money after check out they cancel the pre-authorization this process take almost more than 2 weeks for this cancelation amount to recover in your bank account .

    location and view .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Close to the gondola station to First.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    View from the balcony. There was a kettle in the room that was very very nice for us because we could make instant soup for our COOP dinner at the nice Balcony. Bathtub was also nice. Breakfast was fair.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a stand to put our suitcases on would have made the room more comfortable.

    This a small, older style hotel (but with appropriate modern comforts), and family run, which is exactly what we were looking for in this location. The room had a balcony and a magnificent view. The owners were friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay at this great hotel, run by great owners !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing.

    This hotel is wonderful and great value for money. All of the staff are so friendly and during our 10 night stay we got to know Monica and Robert very well. They are brilliant....always smiling and willing to talk and share a joke and willing to share information about Grindelwald to make your stay perfect. The B&B Hotel rooms are spacious, clean and the view from our balcony facing the Eiger Mountain was breathtaking....a wonderful holiday and perfect hotel. We will be back x

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location and good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator. We have to move our luggage up to the 3rd floor by ourselves. Need to pay 50 SFR to use kitchen facilities.

    Good view of Eiger and Grindelwald countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Probably the best hotel I've stayed in during my whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The host talked in a way that sounded a bit condescending.

    Probably the best hotel I've stayed in during my whole trip in Switzerland. Location was good, and facilities were great (except there was no elevator). Really nice breakfast to help you get through half of the day. Plenty of space in the room with nice view to Mt. Eiger.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Best kept secret in Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This stay was great. Id highly recommend this location.

    Owners were very nice and accommodating. Even brought coffee to the room 2x as we left for pre breakfast tours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Will choose the same hotel if I plan to stay in Grindelwald next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not workable sometimes. But I got my own one so it's okay for me.

    Everything is just perfect. Good location, friendly stuff, and the room and shared bathroom are both clean and well-equipped. The owner arranged me breakfast separately when knowing my Jungfrau plan.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is weak. Noise from the restaurant nearby and people chatting in their room.

    Very polite and nice staff. Breakfast was perfect. Located in the middle of train station and First cable car station. Just 5mins walk from both stations. Room is well-equipped and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interconnecting Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like. The property is older but well maintained.

    The location of this property was excellent, the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Convenient to travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi free but can not connect that! No elevator, and breakfast not to much,

    Convenient to travel, Close to Restaurants and very beautiful views, Staff is very Kinds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price! No outside space. Unfortunately a room with balcony was not available and the room we had offered little space.

    Good location for station. Clean and friendly with excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.3
    Location and breakfast good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not in the main building. It was was in serious need of repair. Bathroom was very disappointing. Noise and lights from the street made it difficult to sleep.

    Location and breakfast good; some decor like wood paneling seemed vintage in a great way

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice quiet Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Towels are in a bad condition, very old and need repair. No Lift No Fridge, better to have a small one in the room or one in each floor. There is a kettle but no Tea & Coffee, they need to mention this in the site No Shampoo and shower gel.

    Friendly staff, Nice quiet Room, Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was great, fresh local cheeses, plenty of bread ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, fresh local cheeses, plenty of bread , delivered at your table Beautiful view from balcony on Eiger Clean, spatious room Free parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location, lovely/friendly family run hotel - great base for a ski holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room (for one) had no bathroom of it's own. We knew that beforehand - but I still didn't like it...

    Monica and Robert are so friendly; you feel like part of their family...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Gridelwald Stay & Ski weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much I didn't like. Only thing was which I feel booking.com should highlight in large print & on lots of occasions is that when your booking is booked payment looks like it gone from your account but this is only a Pre auto payment. It's very confusing and takes few days go back your account. You actually have to pay which seems like again on check out..... as its already showing on your account. It's something that should probably be highlighted on arrival at hotel aswell as on booking.com site a bit more.

    Breakfast v fresh. Bread yummy. Lady running place v friendly & helpful. Rooms clean. Location was best. Right centre everything. Ate in Indian too street Golden India first night & bistro momento across road second night. Both were really good & ok value for money considering how expensive Switzerland is!! Avocado was busiest bar & nightclub next door under espresso bar also ok. People very nice & great village skiing. Skiing easy to get too & no hassle hiring etc. Shop next door.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location with easy access to public transport, restaurants. Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The colour of the curtains was strong and very unsoothing and didn't blend well with the decor and the surroundings.

    The breakfast was simple but excellent. Fresh breads and a nice wholesome muesli.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in great location. Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel did everything we wanted - no issues. It is better than it appears on the booking.com website

    Great location in centre of town, close to everything we wanted and needed and about 5 mins from the train station, also easy access to buses and cable cars. Lovely hotel, brilliant outlook on to the Eiger. Perfect place to stay in Grinlewald.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location in stunning Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lift would have been a bonus, but not many small central hotels have these in ski resorts from experience.

    Fantastic location. Had an upgrade to room 17 which had amazing views of the Eiger. Spotless clean. Breakfast was plentiful. Would recommend to anyone visiting Grindelwald in summer or winter. Parking spot a big bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    Great & Attentive service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only provide liquid soap & towel in bathroom, so better bring your own bathroom amenities witb you.

    We enjoyed the breakfast so much, though food varieties were not as much as the hotel’s restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Very nice stay and enjoyable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - you have to pay extra to use the stove - no plates or sliver wares which you need to ask for them - the lady in the reception was very nice, while the other guy was a bit stiff

    - Location is perfect - the view is uncomparable to anything else, felt like heaven - the rabbits below the hotel were so enjoyable to my kids - I was on the penthouse apartment and it felt like a cottage which was amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Eiger view Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not stable. The hotel not provide luggage storage service.

    The staff was nice and provided many information. The breakfast was good. The eiger view from the balcony is beautiful but unlucky my days stayed in Grindelwald was not so good. It is easy to go from the station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Best in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not much variety

    That is the best location in Grindelwald, also the view from the balcony is amazing. The room is clean and simple and the wifi is super fast And last but not least the best thing is the service provided by my new friends Monica and Robert they were taking good care of us and helping us and supporting in any thing. Finally next time I will stay in this hotel for sure

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.3
    great stay - lovely staff and amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 1 night

    there wasn't too much selection of foods in the breakfast

    amazing view from the room, staff was very nice and pleasent. great location! on the middle of the main street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay but bathroom disappointing (family room).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and particularly shower was cramped and difficult to shower standing up (standing in bath with slanting roof - and I'm only 5 foot 7 inch!) Towels old and worn out. Old carpet.

    Centrally located. Room had a patio with excellent view. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    A lift & a restaurant would make this 5star not 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A lift would be helpful but not in keeping with the style & atmosphere of the hotel

    Friendly helpful & an ideal base to visit the Jungfrau area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    I booked family room (2 room Apartment) for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not stable and the street near the room is noisy

    I booked family room (2 room Apartment) for 1 night. It's big, clean, excellent mountain view, wonderful balcony, only 5 mins from station, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Gracious, friendly hostess (appeared to be a local).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Interconnecting Double and Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Only wish we could have stayed longer in beautiful Grindelwald!

    Gracious, friendly hostess (appeared to be a local). The free breakfast was good although not elaborate. They gave us discount coupons to local attractions such as First Flyer and allowed us to park our car free on the property while we stayed. Triple room was large & clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect in every way.

    Spectacular mountain view from balcony where we enjoyed picnic dinners with food from the nearby supermarket. The friendly hosts were very helpful and accommodating to ensure a perfect stay. We were happy that our two rooms were conveniently next to one another. Delicious breakfast buffet. Quiet, comfortable, bright rooms. Convenient location in the center of town. Hosts graciously allowed an early check-in and stored our luggage for us after check-out. A great overall vacation experience in the beautiful Swiss Alps!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a pity that there is no lift. It is quite inconvenient for the elderly and the traveler with heavy luggage to take the stairs.

    The hotel is close to the station and the supermarket. The single room is quite spacious and I don't mind the shared toilet and shower. They are very clean and close to the room. I like the kettle in the room (making hot drinks makes me really happy.) The WiFi is strong and the breakfast is very delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Last minute's booking worked out nicely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the place for my son at the last minute due to his change plan. The rate was the best for the single room. He was pleased with the balcony view, and shared with me his photo out of window. And the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Loved our stay! Gorgeous view of Swiss Alps! Close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved everything about the hotel. It is a smaller property in terms of rooms, but location is unsurpassed.

    Location in center of Grindelwald and the Eiger alps views were incredible from the balcony. The management was very attentive. Breakfast was excellent. Absolutely recommend this hotel, as the value was exceptional!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Great alternative to large hotels in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked instant coffee and/or tea in room, they did provide a hot water maker

    Nice, comfortable, family run business. Great balcony with view to mountains. Quiet location, yet right downtown, close to restaurants, 4 min walking dist. from the train station. Next door to local and area bus station. Good breakfast, with personal attention by owners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Good centrally located hotel eith great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Comfortable rooms, but make sure you get one with an Eiger view because it's a bit special. Continental breakfast was great, fresh bread, gipfeli, fruit, cheese, muesli and yogurt. Proper English tea is available too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, great location and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not the hotels problem but there was road works going own which was a real nuisance

    mostly good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Central location and friendly staff. Basic but cheap for Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet smelt. Separate bathroom and bedding.

    Staff are lovely and place is very central. Accommodation is basic but also cheap for Grindelwald.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hosts, great breakfast and amazing views from ouf room. Very comfortable and clean. Very convenient location. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Close to both bus and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to both bus and train station. Right in the middle of town. Couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great central Grindelwald location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Close to everything. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were fantastic. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a good location for the train and downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    The view from the room is incredible!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room is incredible! Located just in the hearth of the town, easy access to the funicular and the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location friendly and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view from the balcony was breathtaking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Interesting electronic key board (if you stay you'll realise!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking down corridoor to get to shared facilities, not a big issue though.

    Breakfast good, views from all parts of town good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    nice view from the balcony, 5 mins walk to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eigerview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice view from the balcony, 5 mins walk to train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a perfect stay to celebrate a significant birthday and the hotel staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been wonderful to have stayed for longer.

    The location is great - what's not to like with the Eiger outside the door?

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: