Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Union 3 stars

Ch. des Croisettes 2, 1066 Lausanne, Switzerland

#48 of 50 hotels in Lausanne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 503 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    3.3
    will never go back there!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old fashion hotel. room cleaning not done at all :( very noisy as the hotel is close to the main street value for price is not there breakfast buffet is very basic restaurant close down the hotel tried to invoice me with some beverage i did not get!

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Directly at the subway station that brings you straight into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is near a busy road. However, sound isolation is near to perfect. So even the busy road is not a downside.

    Directly at the subway station that brings you straight into Lausanne center. Friendly and helpful staff. Safe parking in the garage. Nice bar. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Hotels in Switzerland are expensive and this was no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotels in Switzerland are expensive and this was no exception. Its a hike from the city but very close to the convenient and fast metro down to Centre and Lac Leman

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    4.2
    Tiny room and no cooling system
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room they gave us was very hot only small window toward Highway (noisy). The room was tiny! and the fan could not change the temperature of the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.3
    Convenience but limited comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor quality of breakfast, room Equipment rather old-fashioned and all in all in quite in a poor state, e.g. leaking toilets - would have expected more value for money paid.

    Location close to public transportation and shops, very convenient, though a bit noisy, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    lucky this time to get a room to back - front is too noisy...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is very basic, as is the atmosphere in the breakfast room.

    lucky this time to get a room to back - front is too noisy for me. pet friendly, with reasonable surcharge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    We got what we expected
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are a bit old. It's a "road hotel" with the bonus of good transportation (subway right in front of the hotel straight to the city center).

    Breakfast is included. Go for the warm croissants! The room was comfortable and everything was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.9
    Overall Positive experience in the Hotel Union
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were issues with the WIFI as I had intermittent problems when trying to connect

    The hotel staff are friendly, great location, comfortable rooms and right beside a Metro Stop for rapid access to the city and Lausanne central train station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    4.2
    Read the comments
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found an ant crawling on my pillow, and one more on the wall in the bathroom. The garage's connection to the building is locked due to rennovations (so I have been told), and this forces guests to walk up a ramp. Considering the slippery ice and snow this period of the year, plus doing this hard slope with luggage, it is a real problem needing solution (we risked breaking bones). Breakfast was very poor, and when I asked (at 9 am if I could have eggs, I was told the chef hadn't arrived yet, though breakfast starts at 7) He didn't arrive also by the time we finished.

    Not much honestly. Room was alright.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    I keep coming back ....
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is quite basic - a little more choice, and certainly some fresh fruit would be good.

    Location is superb. Staff are always friendly and extremely helpful. Good value for money (for Lausanne area!)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was small. The wifi was horrible, didn't work at all in some rooms. However, the staff helped move us to another room where it worked, but we lost the first room which was nicer.

    The location was convenient, right next to the metro, easy to travel to downtown Lausanne, thought the cost was very high - but was there anything cheap there? The staff was very helpful, nice, ready to answer all questions asked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean

    smaller pillows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and cost effective stay quite close by car or metro to the main Lausanne attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of blown light globes.

    Comfortable beds, sizeable room, the buffet breakfast, location right next to M2 Metro end station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Weekend breakfast is a little late when you ga neef to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weekend breakfast is a little late when you ga neef to go back early to airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent home-made burgers in the restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent home-made burgers in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.4
    Kind of expensive. Maybe it is the same everywhere in Swizterland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind of expensive. I doubted it was worth the money paid.

    We needed a room for the night. We had it anyway. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    good stay for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    the breakfast, the room and the overall comfort in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Very good location and pleasant stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been better if a kettle is provided in the room.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.2
    Try to find another place for stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We killed two big bad buggs in the room. The wi-fi was unavailable in the room, only in the lobby.

    Not so expensive for Laussane. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Loud on the street side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud on the street side. No AC. Expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money(for Switzerland). Cute place, very close to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stuff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    4.6
    Cant recommend as its noisy and uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed.Room was not clean and right next to a motorway.Veey noisy .

    Shower was fine. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.8
    Room was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, and the receptionist, i mean if she cant be polite and kind then she should change a job

    Room was ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    Cheap is cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    overall atmosphere

    price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.9
    Fair hotel, very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture a bit dated

    Very convenient location for Biochemistry section of university. Staff very friendly and helpful when I made requests

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    Orange Jus by breakfast and fruit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar close earlier

    Orange Jus by breakfast and fruit

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    3.3
    Out-dated premises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The structure is out-dated.

    Convenient Car Park

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.7
    Top floor room - internet connection very poor and slow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top floor room - internet connection very poor and slow.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Good breakfast,Metro and bus station nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel located outside center of Lausanne,therefore no tourist card for free public transportation.

    Good breakfast,Metro and bus station nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel in Lausanne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good decoration and clean room, breakfast was ok, very kindly and helpful staff, good location close to tram

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    4.6
    Free private parking is included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely horrible, jail-like breakfast with the cheapest salami and cheese on offer at the local supermarkets. Eggs are available only upon request (and equally as horrible). No ham, no vegetables, no good bread, nothing. WiFi is dreadful, it simply cannot be used. It is also very far from the center of Lausanne (4 km), however a metro station is nearby the hotel.

    Free private parking is included. Staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    The personnel is very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast could be a little better.

    The personnel is very polite and helpful. Big smiles on their face make the stay comfortable. I will use it again during my next visit to Lausanne.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.5
    nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i am sorry but the machine coffee at the breakfast was rather bad, although i am quite picky about it and the only good coffee I'd tasted in the hotel was in Milan. the room 139 we've been initially put in even though facing the court side was kind of noisy due to the ventilation in the bathroom. the room was actually vibrating. so we had to move out 5 minutes after to the room facing the crossroad on the route nationale 1 where the roadworks were going on and traffic didn't stop even at night. although being exhausted we hadn't trouble falling asleep. also, no air conditioning and it can get very hot in this area in summer.

    nice and helpful staff. the twin room 110 on the 1st floor was big enough for 2. very good breakfast, although not the biggest choice. the restaurant chef prepared and served eggs/omelette himself. the metro stop is just next to the hotel (beware of the price - 3.60CHF single ride to Lausanne old town or lake side). it is wise choice if you travel by car the hotel being actually on the route nationale 1 and parking spaces were abound. but if you travel by train, it is probably wiser to pay extra for the room and stay in town, instead of spending 14.40 CHF for return trip for 2 and 20-25 minutes each way.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.5
    The croissants were extra tasty!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The croissants were extra tasty! And the location, at a transporation junction between the city center and busses to EHL, was extraordinary. Very nice pub downstairs, good food, friendly staff. Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. A perfect hotel for a simple stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    5.8
    Near supermarket, bakery and also the highway.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    On the last two days the heating system was not working and nobody did anything to repair it. It was snowing outside and the whole hotel was freezing cold. The staff is very kind but when a problem happens nobody appears. The breakfast was also scarce, just one type of bread.

    Near supermarket, bakery and also the highway. With free underground parking. Very calm área. The rooms are big and very confortable (with heating working)

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Price was good compared to others and locations is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel decoration starts to be quite old fashioned, but everything worked as expected.

    Price was good compared to others and locations is superb. Pizza in restaurant was really really good.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    The hotel was fine and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast could have been better, and the beds were not the most comfortable in the world. In general CH is expensive, but this hotel was very expensive for what we received.

    The hotel was fine and clean. They let us check in late, which was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.4
    The price/position ratio is rather advantageous wrt...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The whole structure is quite old, the receptionists are, except for one very kind girl, rather non collaborative, as an example at our arrival the girl in charge for the check in told us that the kitchen was closed, while it wasn't, in fact we have been able to eat some salads and steaks. The breakfast is poor, nevertheless you can enjoy (very few) types of excellent brioche. The WiFi connection is present, but with very low signal power, just in some places of the hotel, you can't count on it if you have the intention to work seriously surfing the Web. Finally, there is not a place to relax, or work, except that your room, and it is useless that you try to find a gym or some other type of fitness facilities, since they simply do not exist.

    The price/position ratio is rather advantageous wrt Lousanne standard hotel prices

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.9
    F&B staff were very friendly but a tad slow, probably...
    • Solo traveller

    F&B staff were very friendly but a tad slow, probably because they were understaffed and preferred serving their friends first before serving strangers. I understand that it is a restaurant/bar that many locals go to. Pizzas were good though! Housekeeping staff were very friendly! always said hello even though my french isn't the best! always smiling which is great! Front office staff were friendly too and could speak english! Breakfast was simple but good :) Waiter working the breakfast shift made sure everything went well! well done!

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.3
    Clean, confortable (except for the lack of air conditioning)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of air conditioning (expecially considering the recent heat wave, which raises the temperature in our room at an unaceptable level)

    Clean, confortable (except for the lack of air conditioning) and with a subway station just around the corner

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    5.8
    The receptionist was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Last time we visited the hotel, the room we had was nice, this time it was very small and not cleaned properly. The fridge did not work. The breakfeast was nice but nothing special.

    The receptionist was very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    2.9
    Metro station 20 metres far from hotel to reach city centre...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy room facing a busy road junction. If room window is open, it is impossible to talk in the room because of loud noise. When I asked for a quite room, receptionist explained that those (noisy) rooms are intentionality assigned to booking.com customers paying competitive rates. not recommended to anybody. Moreover, air conditioning was missing in the very hot room.

    Metro station 20 metres far from hotel to reach city centre and lake shore

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    New building, normal breakfast, attentive personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Don't provide travel cards on city transport of Lausanne. Considering that the hotel is in the country, it was necessary to use city transport much

    New building, normal breakfast, attentive personnel. Purity. It is located on crossing of roads to Bern. In the neighboring. building the COOP supermarket. Silently, if windows of room view to the yard

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    5.0
    Staff at reception was friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy room due to busy traffic outside, and bar beneath. Even with windows closed it was noisy. Corner roam is at crossroads. Very hot inside, no airconditioning available. No metro transport card included for traveling in greater lausanne area.

    Staff at reception was friendly. Cleaning lady was very kind and helpful. Clean room that provides the basics.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    2.5
    Being human we tend to make mistakes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Being human we tend to make mistakes. I made the mistake of pressing the wrong date in the booking so when I arrived I was told 2 nights instead on 1. I tried to rectify but Raffael was not having any of it. Yo management the way Raffael handles your customers is shocking to say the least. He has an aggressive opionionated nature and should not deal with customers. The fact that NOTHING could be negotiated even to help me is DIGUSTING

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.9
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff leaves from 8pm until 8am, so if you need something in between those hours, you are on your own. The restaurant closes early, so if you want something to eat or coffee, you must go to the pub on site. Also, there were no European outlets in the rooms. We later realized that you can get an adapter from the front desk.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    7.5
    nice and very helpful staff, which provided a very good...
    • Solo traveller

    Needs a makeover...

    nice and very helpful staff, which provided a very good service

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.2
    Just 15 mins to central of city
    • Couple

    Noise of car

    Just 15 mins to central of city The room is quite big for three persons There're facilities for traveler.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    5.4
    Staff was friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was dirty.

    Staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.8
    For Swiss quite cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For Swiss quite cheap! Have to take this hotel, as it was the first one on my 37 km walk from Romont. Main important: Room was warm.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.8
    Room little, but comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Room little, but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    8.8
    We asked for a quiet room and that what we received
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a quiet room and that what we received

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    6.3
    Style was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast have very little choose,nothing hot ,just tee and coffe.was to little...

    Style was nice

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.2
    Basic, but very very comfortable, expecially bathroom and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Basic, but very very comfortable, expecially bathroom and bed. We were very satisfied with the standard and price.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.1
    Right next door to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free transport travel card

    Right next door to metro

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.3
    location outside of Lausanne but reachable by M2 metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location outside of Lausanne but reachable by M2 metro.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    Location is good - very close to the metro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad, but the whole hotel feels like it needs to be renovated.

    Location is good - very close to the metro

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    6.3
    Location to the Ecole Hoteliere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was poor

    Location to the Ecole Hoteliere

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    6.3
    Next to Ecole Hotelliere de Lausanne, cheap, comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old fashioned

    Next to Ecole Hotelliere de Lausanne, cheap, comfortable, big room.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    Location and ease of parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast quality was poor

    Location and ease of parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    5.8
    Decent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a 3-star hotel Missing bulb in the night lamp Small room

    Decent Breakfast Very close to train station

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.1
    Very far from the city center, metro stop is in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very far from the city center, metro stop is in front of the door, but expensive

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.3
    It has not aircon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It has not aircon.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Poor breakfast.

    Nice location.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    The metro station is so near!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A noisy trafic crossing nearby

    The metro station is so near! Parking place for car is ok, the bed is excelent

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Very good, Very happy with Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good, Very happy with Service. Free Parking and location was very good too. Friendly staff. Fresh breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.9
    Staff were proactive when I was late for arrival
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were proactive when I was late for arrival

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    6.3
    Close to town and easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are not very well informed about local places and late for work

    Close to town and easy parking

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    5.4
    The internet was very bad!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet was very bad! I could not do any work because of this at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    3.3
    pizza in the pub
    • Solo traveller

    Very, very poor breakfast unfriendly personnel in the pub

    pizza in the pub nice and friendly people at reception

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    8.3
    location is perfect for a business traveller, close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is perfect for a business traveller, close to public transportation for Lausanne, close to Highway and very quiet

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: