Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Uto Kulm 4 stars

Top of Zürich, Uetliberg, 8143 Zürich, Switzerland

#47 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 772 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    It’s definitely the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s definitely the view! Although you will need to climb up the hill for 10minutes in order to reach the hotel, but it’s really worth while you see the view. Btw I would like to thank the staffs for their help even it’s midnight... thanks!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location on top of Uetliberg.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What I found really disappointing was the dinner experience the first evening - the weather was very good, but for some reason the staff found outside too far to walk. So I had to get the menu myself, then go back to order, then go back to fetch my food on a tray. Now this was not a cheapish sandwich with a coke - no it was a CHF 38 Wiener Schnitzel, plus CHF 9 for a glass of red wine. The Schitzel was half cold, the food was served with zero fantasy (Schnitzel, fries, ketchup or mayo, that was it), the wine was from the bottom of the bottle and had a fair amount of sediment. I know that the Uetliberg attracts lots of tourists. I know that "service" in Switzerland is generally not very good. But you can please improve this? It would make your very nice hotel really good.

    Wonderful location on top of Uetliberg. Nice rooms, great view (will depend on room). Staff in general friendly. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Awesome Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Going uphill with luggage (plus stroller and kid) from parking to station and then from station to hotel was not easy especially in hot afternoon. Being a 4 star hotel I was expecting some more comfort.

    Location was too good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Good experience overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem in the room was that I had to keep the curtains closed because people from the street were able to watch inside. The only downside with the staff was that they were serving a brunch, I've arrived 1 hour before ending, and was declined entry saying that it was to late. Besides from that, the experience was good overall.

    The room was comfortable and spacious, and the bathroom shower big enough. The staff was friendly enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with great views, but careful if it's hot outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot, and my room was on the bottom floor so it was a bit strange to sleep right next to the open window where everyone was walking past. Also, I came back to my room from a day out and my window was open/accessible with all my valuables inside... not ideal.

    The rooms are very modern and nice, and the best feature of this place is definitely the great view of zurich and the nice hiking trails all around the area. I recommend staying here, but when it's not hot outside, or in an upstairs room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Breath taking view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in non suite rooms,not much sleep due to unseasonably hot weather. Confusion with my prepaid breakfast vouchers,little demeaning. Stayed four days,shampoo,toilet tissue and mini bar not stocked daily.

    Nice staff mostly,and you know who I'm referring to. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was super comfy, the room spacious and had windows facing the lake which allowed fresh cool air to cool down the room during the hot summer. The surrounding was very peaceful, with beautiful views of the lake and lit city and stars at night. Various trails are available for a hike or cycling amongst the lush forested area. Overall a great experience!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    Very Inconvenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very difficult to reach. From parking lot to hotel needs to take train. Firstly, you have to walk almost 20 min (!) with luggages from parking lot to the train station! Then take train for 2 stops, which costs each person almost 9 CHF for a return trip. Yourself has to pay this cost. After getting off the train, you have to climb mountain (literary!!) for another 10 min!!! Yes, hotel offers service to pick up “your large luggages” from train station, but only the luggages, not person, you still has to climb mountain for 10 min to reach hotel. - I got a room just next to the entrance of the side building on the first floor, and in front my only window is the smoking zone! Really speechless! I have to close the window the whole night for the noise besides the entrance and smoking at smoking zone. It is hot at summer and there is no fan in the room.

    - clean room - comfortable bedroom + good facilities in bathroom - a viewing tower can oversee Zurich

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Location on the hill was amazing with the views of lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar was included but with only one water bottle for a family of three. Additional bottle at a cost of 15 CHF for room service. I personally did not find it ok. Other hotels during my visit provided the water free of charge.

    Location on the hill was amazing with the views of lake lucern and entire city. It was Child friendly area and a lot of good spots for them to play. Good breakfast and room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    A great getaway, convenient but peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was awesome. The views at all times of the day Andrew night were amazing and it was lovely to be able to walk the trails just next to the hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff at the fromt desk-magnifique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    needs a swimming pool..

    quiet-i can never understand why the number 1 question out of these booking web sites is not on the quietness of each facility..If there is so much noise that you can sleep i don't care if it is free it is not worth it..the hotel was 100% quiet. The beds were the best. The bathroom shower enclosed and modern. The rooms bright and airy with large windows opening to forest. WOW.,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Totally recommend for your last night in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Access to the hotel is tricky if you have a big suitcase as you have to walk up the hill (call the hotel beforehand if that’s the case so that they can pick you and/or your suitcase) - Cleaning could have been better.

    - The location is not good if you want to go back and forth to the city center, but if you’re done with sightseeing and looking for a quiet evening close to nature, location is ideal. - Loved to walk in the forest and took the Planetenweg Walking Trail (be aware that it is a looong walk if you want to reach Pluto!) - The tower costs 2 CHF and is a must to watch the sunset (take coins as the card reader not always works) - Woke up early to watch the sunrise from my window while taking a coffee from the Nespresso machine that was in the room and listening to the birds. Amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and location. Wish we were closer so that we could have group stays with family and.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    information about location and late arrivals needed to be more prominent in advertising. Last train to Hotel is at 11:00 pm and no other way to hotel. We enjoyed the walk from the train to the hotel but elderly and less healthy persons might not.

    Perfect stay at a very lovely location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great accomodation and service for a relaxing stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It would be even better if late check-in at night is made possible as well - It is not possible to return to the hotel after the departure of the last train around 12.30 am which is the only way to reach the hotel - Only one employee was not so helpful with answering questions, but that was not a big deal at all

    - Very comfortable kingsize bed - Bathroom / shower - Fully equiped well decorated room - Great location on top of a hill in the woods - Personel in general, incl the luggage / transportation people of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful hotel with good quality rooms and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no AC in the room and it was very hot day

    Amazing location, views are breathtaking and close to Zurich. Walk up from the train makes you really appreciate the hotel and views. Love that there was no cars around. Room was comfy and spacious. Baby bed was nice for our little one too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    labourious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smugness of one particular staff member who thought he could convince us that we couldnt buy food cheaper then what you woild pay at the hotel. We paid for a dinner approximately 150 chf. Which for what we got was so over priced its not funny. So we went to a grocery store in town and bought enough food for lunch dinner and next days breakfast for half of what we paid for dinner. Theyre instructions are vague so make sure you fully understand whats being said.

    It was a clean hotel and would be really well suited to short stay guest without much luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    The room is super amazing and the view is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in room is not clean.

    The room is super amazing and the view is awesome. Maybe the best view you can find in Zurich. Staffs are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is very little choice but very high quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.5
    Bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location walk from highway to middle of the mountain they Train to Thired Station they waking to the mountain Too Hard and difficult to reach to the hotel Do waste your time and energy for nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is poor and staff appeared rude when I requested them to pick me up at the train station. Facilities are average and cleanliness is poor. Also, Zürich doesn’t have much of view so it’s not worth it to stay in this hotel just for the view.

    Surroundings are lovely with beautiful birdsong in the morning. You can overlook the city from your balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.8
    Was a very bad experience for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a very bad experience for us.They didnt prepare the room in advance and there was no third bed even when we specifically paid for one. There was just one guy running the entire place from driving to running the reception to putting the bed in our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no curtain for the bathroom glass. As a result, I feel a little bit uncomfortable while lying on the bed. And becaus the room is on the first floor, it is a liitle bit noisy while other passengers passing away.

    The view is super great. It is real the top of Zuerich that you can see the main city through your room windows. All the staffs are nice and very helpful. They will help to pick up your luggage and bring it down to the Uetliberg Sbahn station. The traib timetable will be sent by email before your trip. I really enjoy the day in Zuerich.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel overlooking Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the best hotel I've stayed in, even if it was just overnight. The view is incredible, the air is fresh, the bed is very comfortable, free basic mini-bar, coffee machine, buffet breakfast, great shower, clean, modern, TV shows in many languages, car-free so I didn't even mind the walk there 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    I would have loved it if you could Have a decent meal at a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant cost is excessively high, but you are on top of mountain and have no choices. $250 US dollars for supper with nothing fancy.

    The veiw is magnificent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    The best view of Zurich in a beautiful and comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a fantastic place to stay! The location is outstanding on its own but the hotel gives an all around comfortable experience. The restaurant is lovely, the staff extremely helpful. I would love to stay here again for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    It was the worse experience of communication with staff I ever had. Very rude and unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Unable to get to the holet by car. You have by train with all your baggeges on hand 2. No clear instruction how to get to hotel as train station was closed for repairment 3. Impolite and even rude staff 4. Staff on reception tried to double charge me. I got zero appologize for this 5. The door on bathroom was broken, so we couldn't close it It was the worse experience of communication with staff I ever had. Very rude and unpleasant

    Unusual location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    The room was great and really felt nicer than expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My regret was... underestimating the uphill climb up and the fact that I keep missing the bus connections to the only train in the city.

    The room was great and really felt nicer than expected! The view of the city was indeed spectacular like no other point near Zurich, and that was without climbing the tower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in Zurich on Uetliberg, away from noise and stress.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to go early away from hotel, because reception start workin after 07h00. Overnight no service or Reception available.

    Good Place to stay over nigth in Zurich, avay from noise and dust.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, scenery is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took long as they had difficulty finding me a room with 2 separate beds. Be aware that in order to reach hotel, you must be able to walk a 20/25 minutes uphill slope and it can be demanding for kids or if you’re tired. No complaints everything was perfect.

    Beautiful location, scenery is amazing. staff were very friendly,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The mountain top
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to climb mountain on foot.cable car should be an option. And the tower should be fenced before people go there for suicide or mistakenly slips from top.

    The mountain top

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Perched high on the mountain with some exceptional view of the city, good food and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the train stop to the hotel is challenging especially when it's raining or snowing, quite from the city (but with the car this was no problem)

    Beautiful location, clean decent rooms, great restaurant (What else can you expect from a Michellin star)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent customer service and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit diificult to walk from the train station to hotel . Hotel can help with bringing the luggage but can provide passenger drop or pick up

    Excellent customer service and facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views high above Zürich....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to pack light! You are going to have to haul everything you bring up a significant hill from the parking area to a train, up another significant hill to the property. Make sure you get the free parking address from them because it is 45 CHF per day to park at the parking garages downtown. Also, plan to spend double on everything...things are very expensive in Switzerland!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A picturesque destination hotel, easy access to the city, amazing beds, 5-star experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the restaurant and food options were lower $$$$ but I can't complain because of the quality that you really get with it.

    The food at the restaurant is amazing although $$$$ (still pretty well in line with the rest of Zurich). The walk to the hotel from the tram is more than expected and uphill so prepare for some exercise. Overall though, the view of the city and alps up here is breath-taking and worth staying here if you have never been. The property is clean, modern, and beds are extremely comfortable (best so far on our trip). The tram is 10 minutes from the hotel and goes directly to the heart of the city. Nice touch on the complimentary mini-bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Great view - but not all perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They served me alcohol free beer without saying - only noticed it on the bill afterwards. Also waited 15 minutes for coffee during breakfast in the morning

    The view was fantastic. Both from the room (make sure to book room with view) and from the outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Snow plows early.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting the view that is so advertised. No great views. Room safe did not work and was inconvenient to have important stuff out of commission for some time.

    Snow plows early. Instead of view we got a lot of snow, which encouraged a lovely dinner and sauna experience. Easy to access by train, much easier than the airport to town jaunt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    A stay of two halves; one good, one bad
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, pokey, supposedly with a view. V spartan and few accessories. Way overpriced and made worse by fact the breakfast is not included

    Efficient, curteous staff. Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen bed had a double frame but two single mattresses next to another. The room ventilation was affected (noise) by the outdoor wind.

    Amazing location. Friendly and competent staff. Sparkly clean. Modern facilities. Cozy spa. And the 10-15min walk from the train station helps washing out a day of work. What more?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    BAD, Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from everything. Definitely not worth in winter as you cant see anything more than a meter. NO transport to the hotel. Uphill hike for at least 15 minutes in rain/cold/snow.

    Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Sleeping in a cloud - super comfy huge bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our friends had a ground floor room in the annex building which was set about a metre below outside floor level. No views and made room dark.

    Lovely room on the first floor with high ceilings which made the room appear very spacious. The best hotel bed and bedding we've ever experienced!!! Huge bed with super comfy mattress. Linen crisp, fresh and super clean. The mattress topper, duvet and pillows made it feel like sleeping on a cloud! Perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Loved the sauna, restaurant not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There didn't seem to be temperature controls in my room (number 4), and I woke in the night as I was so hot, in the end I had to leave the windows open. Also, the restaurant lacks atmosphere and my food was incredibly salty. I'd recommend eating in Zurich, it isn't too hard to get down the mountain on a train and back.

    The views from the hotel are incredible. The sauna and steam room facilities are top notch! Most of the staff were extremely friendly and competent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Great view and yet still so close to Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessibility is a bit rough. A regular (even just hourly) shuttle service would be good around check-in/out times. No-one was available to take me back to the train station, and I learnt that wheeling suitcases over a few hundred meters on unpaved gravel road is not pleasant. It also needs bit more attention to detail for it to really be a 4.5 star hotel (just little things like tea-spoons for the coffee, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, stronger wifi signal).

    Great view and yet still so close to Zurich. Rooms are nicely furnished and you will have the best sleep of your life in that bed. Hotel was great, restaurant was nice for dinner and also breakfast. Hotel staff are friendly and speak great english. Pick-up from the train station was great as I had a lot of bags. Complimentary minibar was a nice touch, albeit a bit basic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    wow, the winter wonderland !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the reception staff frequently get calls and sometimes you have to wait standing there for some time to attended. it would be better if they have a separate back office person to answer the calls.

    don't miss this hotel, it is one of the best hotels I've ever been in my life ... we visited during the winter and found it like living in a fairy tale with all the snow and Christmas feelings and decors. I'm sure it will look equally good during summer days but it was truly a wonderful place during the winter... you can have an amazing view of Zurich and beyond from the hotel. the staff is friendly and speak English... breakfast is also nice :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they need a bit more staff in the restaurant as they were all looking very stressed and obviously it does affect the quality of the service.

    I loved the view from my room,the fresh air. Receptionists are really nice and helpful. We enjoyed the spa it was amazing,all facilities are available in the spa. We ate a meat fondue at the uto kulm restaurant it was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was even better than my one at home so thats saying something! Also didnt realise when booking the sauna you get the whole place to yourselves. cant forget to mention the breathtaking views in the morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    Far away, no early am train, better to stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was challenging to get to the hotel into the city. We missed an expensive tour because the train doesn’t before 7am on weekends. We also barely made it to the airport because the train schedule. There is NO other way than to take the train. The blow dryer in the room did not work, they had no replacement until the next evening- wet hair in Switzerland- not ideal. We would not stay there again, too removed and made us loose $550 for a tour we couldn’t get to.

    The view is beautiful. If you are going to hike and relax and don’t want to travel often to the city this is for you. The restaurant is very over priced. $35 for a burger but the food is very tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna and steam room were at an extra cost. The mini bar was complimentary so can't really moan but it only had 1 of each item so we couldn't have a beer each for example.

    The bed and pillows were really comfortable. The room and furniture was nice. The view was incredible! We could see the whole of Zurich and then the mountains. Beautiful.we had a 5 course meal for our anniversary and it was stunning food!! Amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the TV is awkward and the hotel should provide shuttle service to guests with children from the hotel to the train station

    Location is brilliant and the view from the hotel is extraordinary. We had a big corner room and breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    The location and the view are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the view are fantastic. However hotel only picked up suitcases not the guests at the station. There is no iron and ironing board available. The TV’s location is awkward. It should be placed on the wall facing the sofa rather than in the corner facing the bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Spectacular view, seriously breathtaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late afternoon and it was rainy, it was bit of hassle with young kid to commute from parking to hotel.

    Spectacular view, seriously breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    A truly incredible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found no fault with the hotel, was only a one night stay.

    The room and bed were extremely comfortable. I drove to the area and despite the directions from the hotel (which were useful). I found it a little hard to locate the car park. I found it though and the trip up on the train was fine. The view is incredible, they have their own lookout tower as well. It really was a unique place to stay due to it's location and well worth the journey in and out of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    The location is beautiful and I loved my view over zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms aren't soundproof. I paid extra for a room with a view, but ended up over a party room or bar where the radio was playing super loud until 2am. Not awesome.

    The location is beautiful and I loved my view over zurich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The staff, location, food , room - everything was 100%. My second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We required transport from the train station to the hotel for our luggage as we are travelling for six weeks - this is provided by Uto Kulm as a standard service. However, if one needs to leave on the first train down to Zurich at 0656 this is "not possible" as there are no staff to drive the car before 0700. This would have been a major problem for us as the road to the station is not all sealed (Gravel is no good for suitcase wheels) and it is a 10 minute walk in the dark (so we could not have looked out for smoother patches). However - between ourselves and two proactive staff members we came up with a very satisfactory solution for which we were very grateful. The staff we had spoken to initially about our concerns did not care at all - the simple answer repeated to us was "it is not possible". Our flight left at 0940 so this was not exceptionally early. A trap for international travellers and should be noted in the hotel information (which does offer transport to and from the station). Diana

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    great and good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no air conditioner and you have to keep your window opened at night. Weather was windy during the night and made some noise all the night.

    Dinner was amazing. We had a traditional dish "veal in mushroom souse and mash backed potato"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    All staff are friendly and nice and spoke Hôch deutsch that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is nothing special and the dinner we had at the hotel restaurant did not satisfy us at all. The taste is very plain and ordinary.

    All staff are friendly and nice and spoke Hôch deutsch that was helpful for us. The bed is extremely comfortable and the room was always kept clean and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    You get lots of mosquitoes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You get lots of mosquitoes. The room has no A/C or fresh air flow. You have to open the windows. Reception doesn't help against mosquitoes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stunning panoramic views, being able to climb the viewing platform for even further views, Toblerone in the mini bar and the friendliest staff I have encountered in a long time. Lovely welcome drink too as well as prompt and informative check in. No fuss.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is located on the mountain and the nearest train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located on the mountain and the nearest train stop is uetliberg, and you do need to walk to the hotel afterwards, which take ~10minutes. The room is specious and you got to enjoy the view of Zürich from the top day to night. It is surrounded by the mountain, if you are a outdoor person this is absolutely your pick, but if not you can enjoy the view and breeze while having a beer on hand. By the way they do provide free tokens for the guest for the tower, whenever you ask. Sidebar, no ac nor elevator, but the room itself is cool down inside and is only 2-3 floors, so not that hard to climb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay despite some incomfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room (25-28 degrees during all the night). The ventilation has been wrongly build. Opening windows doesn't solve the issue.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Well converted and perfectly clean room. Wonderful location with amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    The best view and location for any hotel I've ever stayed. Absolutely stunning views of Zurich and b
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't very effective, but the views more than compensated. It also encouraged me to get outdoors!

    The best view and location for any hotel I've ever stayed. Absolutely stunning views of Zurich and beyond and great for exploring the beautiful Swiss countryside. As an Australian, it'll be the first place I return to should I go back to Europe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.5
    Most difficult hotel to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get to it as no trains available! Further more could contact the hotel to get directions there. Phones were not answered we was stranded late at night with a little baby in the rain at a train station in the middle of nowhere. Rigid and unsatisfactory reply when contacting the hotel. Quite a poor performance all round!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Interesting experience for world travelled person
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not able to find information, during booking, that the area is car free & access is only by train then last part walking up the hill.

    The whole setup.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Great views and good food, but expect Swiss prices with a premium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better information could have been provide on parking options. I was lucky as i know Zurich.

    Fantastic views and eating on the terrace. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! The staff were lovely, breakfast is a must try and the view from my room was breathtaking. Hope to stay here again the next time I am in Zurich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to declare

    Scenic views of mountain and Zurich city from your room. Picturesque atmosphere around the hotel, premiere facilities in your room e.x.Breathtaking views from top of nearby tower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Best place in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say, we would have stayed longer if possible.

    Awesome location with views of Zurich and surroundings. Friendly staff and very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill up is not the greatest amount of fun however expected since your staying on top of a mountain :p

    Amazing location. Would highly recommend. Would definitely stay here is coming back to Zurich again. Gorgeous view. Trains frequent and reliant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    The staffs are very kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs are very kind and nice. When we checked out, they drove us to the uetliberg station directly and also the room was very comfortable especially the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    One of the best views you will ever enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air-condition or fan in the room. Temperature outside was 38 Degrees.

    Location amazing. View is just magical! The mountains and the lake make you fall in love in this place. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Miracles do not have ratings - and Uto Kulm is a miracle!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricing :-) Miracles are expensive :-)

    Miracles do not have ratings - and Uto Kulm is a miracle! You can drink fresh air, sense the smell of every single flower&tree. And as a personal experience - i really felt there at home surrounded by old friends. I know it sounds a bit exaggerated - but in the morning I met another visitor who told me exactly same story. He also booked a room at Uto Kulm once by accident some 7 years ago - and now he is coming with a family every year.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    We loved the hotel's location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great but when we needed to leave early in the morning there was no assistance available from the hotel to get our luggage down the hill to train station. The hotel does advertise luggage assistance due to hotel's location at the top of the hill so to not have that available to us was a disappointment.

    We loved the hotel's location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.8
    Even if filtered by parkin-free, the car-free hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if filtered by parkin-free, the car-free hotel is recommended by booking.com. I didn't recocognised that because most cases don't mean car-free. Furthermore, I tried to find the parking place far from the hotel with my little babies, but failed. So, I didn't get there and wasted time and money. I won't use booking.com afterwards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful view, nice rooms, not easy to get to!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you cannot access it by car which is not written anywhere. Great for a weekend trip when you have time, I was there for work though. You have to park, walk to the train station a few minutes, catch a train and then walk up to the hotel.

    It's a beautiful property with amazing view! The rooms are nice and clean and very nice beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    One of the best hotel we've ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the second night we got stucked on the station before the Hotel station because no one ever told us the trains stops before midnight. I think it's a basic thing the hotel staff should say first thing when you come to the hotel.

    This hotel is amazing! We couldn't believe we would love it that much. The beds were so comfortable and the Sauna's facilities is relaxing and great. The staff were great and really friendly and always wanted to help us with any question we had

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Magic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we did not like. Would go back but stay longer.

    Incredible location, awesome breakfast, unbelievable views, efficient and friendly staff. Access to beautiful walks and easy regular transportation to Zurich.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath kit not provided properly as hotel is far away from city and no market nearby, so they must provide bath accessories

    Excellent breakfast with friendly service

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Uto Kulm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: