Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Victoria Glion 4 stars

Route de Caux 16, 1823 Montreux, Switzerland

#2 of 40 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful location, but the service in the restaurant is not up to expectations and food ok but ove
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is vastly overpriced. Service disappointing. We bought wine by the glass and a waiter refilled our half full glasses, charging us another glass (he should have brought a pitcher instead. Then we ordered one dessert to share, the waiter split it on two dishes and then another waiter wanted to charge us twice..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place. Try it you’ll like it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant. Great views! We like taking the funicular down to the lake. Beautiful boat trip around the lake for 2 hours. Really nice experience at Hotel Victoria.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Authentic place away from the hustle
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view, authentic rooms, nice people! Hospitality: fruits and chocolates in the room :) restaurant is expensive but food and view are gorgeous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    This was our favorite hotel during our Switzerland vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is full of charm. Our room was large with french doors to a beautiful balcony overlooking the lake with an outstanding view. The staff was very helpful and answered our many questions cheerfully. The hotel is a bit out of town, but easily reached by train or taxi from the train station. It is well worth being out of town for the magnificent views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    The view out of our window as absolutely amazing and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view out of our window as absolutely amazing and the hotel was so lovely! Once we figured out the local transportation using the funicular the location was great. Our only complaint was the lack of clear information on how to get to the hotel ahead of time. We did call and check the website on-line ahead of time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Unless you are royalty or the super rich this is probably the best hotel you'll ever stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving

    This is a gem of a hotel, its a thousand feet above Lake Geneva and has wonderful 180 degree views across the lake to the mountains on the other side. The hotel itself is a reminder of the past when excellent service and comfort were rated above global branding and efficiency. We spent three nights at the hotel, the first night in room 18 and then, because I thought the views would be better on the top floors and asked for a room change, the next two in room 63. The room numbers are important because the rooms are different in size (18 was bigger than 63) and the views get better on the top floors. The food was good, particularly the breakfasts (many courses, included in the package) and late afternoon tea (on the terrace). We had one dinner there in the evening, this was expensive but opulent, a one-off experience. Its worth noting that the hotel is 3 mins walk from Glion's station that is served by the Territet funicular railway (4 times / hour, takes ~ 6 mins), and the Montreux–Glion–Rochers-de-Naye cog Railway (online timestable is at https://www.sbb.ch/en/timetable.html). We had a car but didn't use it whilst we stayed, instead the hotel supplied tokens for bus and rail travel so we either walked down to the lake shore or used the funicular railway down to the lake shore. The same tokens also halved the cost of the pleasure boat ride on the MS Italie, we chose first class (affordable at 1/2 price) so we could go upstairs, and caught the boat two mins walk from the Territet end of the funicular railway. The lake front from Montreux to Chateau de Chillon is essentially a linear botanical garden, backlit by the spring sun with the mountains as a backdrop. It really doesn't get any better ... so lots of walking, 15k steps on the Saturday and another 7k on the Sunday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Location, view, garden were all wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff could be more friendly. They are very strict and questioned if we were hotel guests.

    Location, view, garden were all wonderful. Reception staff was very helpful. Breakfast was also really good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    A real treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A truly wonderful experience! Staying at the Hôtel Victoria was like stepping into a bygone era. Its location is unbeatable, its staff attentive and its food fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    An enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely calm relaxing environment. Staff were friendly and very informative about the area. Dinner was very good and the restaurant staff were attentive but unobtrusive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Simply wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we weren’t able to stay longer.

    The Victoria is always just wonderful. It is not a chain with all the unwanted modern gimmicks. It is simply a great old hotel in the grand manner. I dread the day that the current owners if ever decide to retire. The Swiss know how to run hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub/shower did not have any curtain which was not convenient for showers.

    The staff of the hotel was really friendly and did their best to accommodate all my requests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfully charming with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing nearby, you are offered some sort of travel pass though if you wish to venture the few km into Montreux. Some may find the decor a bit tired, for me though it was part of the charm of this beautiful place - they have kept the character of this beautiful building.

    This is a beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake - i was lucky enough to catch a really spectacular sunset. The service here is wonderful, not in a modern efficient way, but in an old fashioned elegant way. The dinner was superb, and the terrace was a great place to relax. The room was a decent size with great WiFi and a balcony. Car parking was on site, and under cover. Excellent breakfast with good coffee. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet except for the church bells - which affect the whole of Montreux!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    The perfect place to wind down and indulge yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's difficult to critcise - I just wish I could afford to come here annually... but Switzerland is expensive!

    I love this hotel - it's quirky in the best possible way. Lots of interesting "objets trouves" and art work and luxurious without being flashy or vulgar....my daughter said she felt she was in the "Grand Hotel Budapest" . We had a delicious Sunday lunch and a lovely evening swim in the pool as the sun was setting. The views are outstanding and the gardens lovely to wander around. Attentive and lovely staff - nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to ask for fresh flowers, mine were wilted and had spots on the leaves. I would have eaten breakfast at the hotel, didn't realize they served It.Food a little expensive.

    Staff very friendly. Room was cute, loved the chandelier. The bed was comfy and the balcony view was amazing. Dinner selection were very good, esp beef tenderloin! I loved seeing dogs in the restaurant, very cool!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Fine Art of Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine Art of Hotel! Enjoyed every minute saying here. Definitely recommend for exceptional vacation experience. Russian emperor Nicolas 2 was staying here for his honey moon trip. ))

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Elegant old school charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need coffee makers in the room. Staff wasn't very helpful but may have been a language barrier.

    The view. The quiet. The bathroom. The comforter. All were delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    The whole experience was magical .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the bedrooms would be useful .

    Fantastic location and a great hotel . The atmosphere is special and the terrace for dinner spectacular .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Spectacular views over the Lake of Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was covered over during the daytime.

    The views over the Lake of Geneva toward Chateau de Chillon and Dents-du-Midi were fabulous. Hotel is close to a funicular train to Montreux. The hikes in the Rochers de Naye can be reached easily by train near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Traditional Swiss Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We walked from Montreux Railway Station as we were traveling light. However, it is a tough but beautiful uphill walk....perhaps not for the faint hearted! The lovely gentleman on Reception said we were the first people he had met to arrive by foot from the station and immediately upgraded us to an exceptionally comfortable, spacious lake view suite. The view from our terrace was stunning, the suite immaculately clean and the bed was supremely comfortable. We had a light lunch of the best Gnocchi I have ever tasted. We would have eaten dinner there but sadly couldn't as we had a festival booking. Breakfast excellent. Swimming pool very nice. Hotel is very old, traditional and idiosyncratic....wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Not our best Relais and Chateaux experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a Relais and Chateaux Hotel, the poor quality of the breakfast was truly shocking. Mediocre food and not much variety. We were expecting a memorable morning experience. We were so disappointed that we did not book either lunch or dinner at the Hotel. However, while the food was very disappointing, the staff were very nice. Also, while the Hotel has character (faded elegance from a different time), we would have expected (again for a Relais and Chateaux experience) a more-up-to-date shower.

    The grounds and view are spectacular. The Hotel clearly hires expert gardeners who have created beautiful and serene floral experiences. The trade-off problem with the location is you need to rely on the funicular and a bus to get down to the waterfront (we were there for the jazz festival). Fun the first time you do it but takes a bit of time, especially if you miss the connection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Superb old-world hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular was objectionable. Long windy road up the mountain was a bit of a nuisance but the quiet anc calm of Glion was definitely worth the ride.

    Great hiking nearby at Rochers de Naye. Funicular between Glion and Montreux. Extraordinary mountain views towards Les Dents du Midi and overlooking Chateau de Chillon. Excellent al fresco dining, b'fast on the terrace, old-world service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    We already knew the restaurant but that was our first stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We already knew the restaurant but that was our first stay at the hotel. Very quiet, great views from the lovely garden and terrace, and a bit "out of time" atmosphere in the middle of antiques & art deco with old cars clubs staying there overnight, you can't really tell whether you are in the 1860s, the 1920s or the 1970s. Cup of season fruits welcoming us in our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Need to come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bathrooms outdated, but kept in good condition. Bed a little firm for my taste. Truly not too much to complain about.

    Beautiful property with picturesque views in every direction. Fresh fruit, fresh flowers, and artwork throughout hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel owner often around to greet guests and make sure everything is running smoothly. Can tell he takes pride in his hotel. Dinner was amazing but a bit pricey. The included buffet breakfast had a great variety and was delicious. Included city transport card useful. Lovely to take the cable car down (5min walk from hotel and 5min ride) and walk along the lake. No problem to keep our car there after check out so we could go on the lake walk. Great stay overall!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Thank you for the wonderful time and everlasting memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My family and I liked just about everything about this hotel. The rooms, furniture, courteous and friendly staff, the restaurant, the paintings on walls, the chandeliers, the view to the lake and manicured surroundings, the outdoors swimming pool, and most of all the owner and his wife, who came around during dinner time and greeted everyone as if we were guests at his home; and that is how he made us feel. thank you for the wonderful time and everlasting memories.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely old style hotel with a wonderful view of lake Geneva. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast in our room. Suited us perfectly as a stopover from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.9
    Interesting, impressive location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was good, not excellent. Price very high considering the quality. Breakfast; plates almost empty (Fruit salad, meet, cheese,..)

    Staff were very friendly. Location / view outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    wonderful stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    up the mountain, taking trains or funiculaires to the nearest stations glion or glion (funi), you should check up on the schedule to avoid from wasting time to wait.

    *friendly staff always ready to help *breakfast buffet is quite nice *large and Geneva Lake view room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Tempi Passati: True Swiss hospitality in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning view on Lake Geneva and the Alps. Wonderful room with small balcony, very sweet. The bathrooms are not brand new but extremely clean and cared for, everything works perfectly, and the bathroom is big! Again with a great view. Great breakfast, international and Swiss specialities. Wonderful outside sitting area under a pergola. Like in a movie! I´ll be coming back again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.2
    Spectacular vista from charming Belle Epoque grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Really need to fit air-conditioning to rooms now. Not even a fan provided in the room. Extremely hot and humid in July. Breakfast buffet not at same quality or range of choice as lunch and dinner. No toaster. No covers over meat and cheese. Selection was poor, and not replenished much after 9am. 1970s 3-star hotel cereal selection. Really needed some 21st century choices - e.g. granola, fruits of the forest, nuts, seeds, bircher muesli. Smoked salmon, avocado, rye bread, omelettes. Better quality bacon, eggs and sausages. Artisanal breads. Goats milk, semi-skimmed milk, almond milk, Goats yogurt, Greek yoghurt etc.

    Excellent location, 1000ft up the mountains above Montreux, with peerless south-facing views. Nice large, bright, lake-facing deluxe rooms and suites. Superb transport links (cog railway and funicular sub 5mins walk - both free with complimentary "Riveria Travel Card" from hotel). Friendly helpful multi-lingual staff. Excellent lunch and dinner menus and quality of food. Lovely pool and gardens. Breakfast served till 10am. Would score 10 out of 10 if not for lack of air-con, plus mediocre breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The size of the room,the old furniture, the lake view, the lobby I feel like I am at home I am sure I’ll come back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent location, excellent service. A real 5star hotel with 5 Star services.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great view if you choose the room facing the lake , very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great view if you choose the room facing the lake , very friendly staff , provide free bus & tram ticket . Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Stunning property with stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant is inflexible

    Fabulous decor, beautiful garden and stunning view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Old hotel with a lot of charme at a top location with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel with a lot of charme at a top location with a premium view to Lake Geneva

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything at The Victoria Hotel Glion was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything at The Victoria Hotel Glion was wonderful. Spotless and fantastic location and beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Old-style glamour with amazing views of Swiss scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing views of the lake from our room - the decor is very grand, like stepping back into a different era of opulence!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Best view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Art of hoteliers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    My favourite hotel in Switzerland. Will always come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was too short. (one night)

    Old world charm and tranquillity in a superb setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of restaurant is exorbitant

    Location ambiance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    This hotel was my home for two days. It was charming and boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym equipment should be improved . It was a bit old and outdated.

    The staff are very attentive and friendly. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view and the gardens are a plus

    everything very good, hotel, food and staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old place with old furniture and the flour was moving and the sound of the steps annoying us..

    The staff The view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Easy to get to and from the property via funicular or train. Incredible views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Location, friendly staff, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly staff, breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed. Clean soft sheets. Amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra friendly and attentive staff, in a very charming hotel with amazing views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Great place and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot on top of the hill overlooking the lake! Take the funicular, awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view fr.o.m. our room was excellent. The Staff at the reception, fenomenal. The owner, very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast still has room to improve

    very impressive living room and the view from the hotel;

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    One amazing stay in Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms with lake view were amazing. Beautiful classical rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    Amazing view, and charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities need renovation

    Amazing view, and charm

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    a bit outdated but magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old style public spaces and fitness

    staff kindness, comfort of bed, views and food quality

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful view from the room, staff and hotel first class
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful view from the room, staff and hotel first class

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    The most wonderful place to relax...just look at the view from my room!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding was like a cloud. luxurious white sheets and duvet cover. Excellent cuisine, with plenty of variety for dinner. Great service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    A spendid stay in a marvelous hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing!

    Lovely old-fashioned hotel with stunning views over Lake Geneva. Extremely comfortable with nice service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    A beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was OK, I expected a little more.

    A beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Glion Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went out of their way to make me comfortable and content.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the history, the sense of an age of elegance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.9
    nice location with incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit expensive

    nice location with incredible view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    Victoria is situated in Glion, just above Montreux centre.
    • Family with older children

    Would have liked tea and coffee-making facilities in the room. When we arrived in late afternoon we were hungry and would have liked to be able to order something more substantial (e.g. a sandwich) than the tiny cakes we got. It is a long wait for dinner.

    Victoria is situated in Glion, just above Montreux centre. It is, however, quick and convenient to take the cableway down the hill. The hotel, its lovely park and surroundings is very quiet and relaxing. The hotel itself is a bit strangely decorated, full of old objects giving it the look of an oldfashioned palace or country house. The room was large and beautiful, with a small balcony with a view of the lake. The food was good and the service is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.6
    The attentive personal service we received as a group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The attentive personal service we received as a group. The location and the excellent food we are on the night. The group had a great time and have requested we return next year!

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.6
    The chrysanthemums were an unexpected pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The chrysanthemums were an unexpected pleasure. The Swiss white wine we could buy at the bar by the bottle was delicious. So lovely to be given Swiss chocolates on our departure. It was also good to see the owner (?) who always took the trouble to greet us.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    A truly unique property with old world, Grand Tour charm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A truly unique property with old world, Grand Tour charm and spectacular views of Lake Geneva and the Alps. The food and dining at the property is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    We had an upgrade so we had a beautiful room w/an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was okay, but could have been just a little better. Part of the hotel's charm is its antique appearance, but still would have liked a newer bathtub and bathroom fixtures. Clean but very old.

    We had an upgrade so we had a beautiful room w/an extraordinary view. The staff was the best ever. They helped us so much w/questions about the area, and their own facilities. They were soooo welcoming. The location was a little far from Montreaux, but an easy bus ride. We liked location because we explored up the mountain from Glion. Taking the funicular down the mountain to go to montreux or castle was fun and easy. We went up the mountain on a train to Caoux for dinner one night atvThe Hostellier where we had fondue. Awesome! Then next day when all the way up Otto the top of the mountain on the train. Wonderful views and hiking opportunities. Most travel tours would not have taken us to these sights. Also, the pool was so nice. Relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Great hotel, everyone is so welcoming from receptionests to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Great hotel, everyone is so welcoming from receptionests to the owner who came to say goodbye to us, Namely Milos from the reception did a great job! The hotel is vintage, you feel you go back in time to those good old classy days, swimming pool is great! I would recommend a lake view room as the view from Victoria Glion is the best in the Montreaux area! Breakfast is included in the rate & it contains everything you would want from a breakfast menu, great hotel! 5 star service!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Breathtaking view over the lake and mountains, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi - Fi was out of order at least temporarily, food and drink were over-priced as per quality.

    Breathtaking view over the lake and mountains, comfortable room and bed, room was very clean, towels were changed regularly. Public rooms beautifully decorated in period style, wonderful garden, nice pool area.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Superior room with lake view, double bathroom and double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found that breakfast was rathe average in choice and quality,

    Superior room with lake view, double bathroom and double balcony. Extremely nice receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous location and view overlooking Lake Geneva, gorgeous...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fan in the room, much less air conditioning. To be fair, my visit was during a heatwave.

    Fabulous location and view overlooking Lake Geneva, gorgeous grounds and impeccable outdoor pool. Five-minute walk to easy funicular ride down to Montreux and annual jazz festival. Very nice breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service. Eg: about to miss breakfast and got a call asking if we'd like them to bring it up to the room instead. Had full breaksfast set up on the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    The room with a balcony overlooking the Lake of Geneva, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The service in the Restaurant was slow and as a single person I felt somewhat ignored. The quality of the food does not match the wonderful setting of the restaurant terrace and the breakfast on weekdays was very poor (rubbery scrambled eggs)

    The room with a balcony overlooking the Lake of Geneva, the Victorian style decor which is absolutely authentic with the date of the hotel and the restaurant terrace which is one of the best positions you will find anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    The location, service and food are second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The location, service and food are second to none. Top class hospitality that is dying out.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    It is the fifth time that I have stayed here, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is the fifth time that I have stayed here, fantastic quality of service and so peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    9.2
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing, everything was amazing

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    An excellent, charming hotel and I look forward to a repeat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An excellent, charming hotel and I look forward to a repeat visit!

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: