Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Victoria 4 stars

Centralbahnplatz 3-4, 4002 Basel, Switzerland

#22 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1670 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    I’d stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d stay

    Helpful, friendly staff, immaculate room, great transportation location. Free Bus 50 to Basel airport, next to major train station and all the city trolly cars. Easy to get to Beyeler.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.0
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in the room would be perfect :(

    Everything was perfect!! Location, room, service, air conditioner( which is important summer time)!! Definitely will stay there next time!! Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    We were only there overnight to catch a flight, so the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only there overnight to catch a flight, so the location - with the airport bus across the street - was fantastic. Our room was very quiet, large and well-equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Hotel location across from both Train station and central...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel location across from both Train station and central point for light rail system was ideal. Accommodating staff and good food and drink at attached restaurant with sidewalk seating. Easy walk to old town through park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location, lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought breakfast in hotel was a little expensive and we ate out in the station complex.

    Rooms were comfortable, clean and well serviced. Location was first class with easy access to all public transport including trams and trains. Basel Card supplied on arrival gave free transport throughout the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel next to SBB station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Superior Double Room was smaller than expected

    Very comfortable room. The breakfast had very good quality, diverse and included champagne! The transport card for public transport in Basel was very practical

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location by the main train station and near to the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-condition is a bit noisy (if you use it, but it can be turned off) Fitness room could be better equipped, but it's o.k. for a short stay.

    Excellent location by the main train station and near to the city center. Clean facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated, a bit noisy with the trams outside the hotel. Restaurant staff not very helpful or friendly.

    Location good with decent size rooms. A bit dated but good accommodation. Restaurant quite expensive for the type of food but tasty nonetheless

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic and ideal central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise- Noisy neighbours!

    Ideal location - Right outside the SBB Gare - on the right and its right ahead! Was expecting a shabby hotel but was pleasantly surprised ! Excellent staff- Fabrice - what a marvellous gentleman- helped me with my phone charger - then rang me in my room to check whether the charger I had borrowed from him worked- very efficient ! The lady at check in- F Khanwar was lovely too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Tolerable because of location but far too hot,no proper air conditoioning
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning is provided by a very noisy machine. Impossible to sleep or hear the TV with this machine on. To get to my room 148 in La Residence I had to use 2 lifts and walk through a boiling hot glass corridor and walk along way to reach my roomTom

    Bed was comfy but only 1 metre 40 wide so cannot be classed as a double roomImpossible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, just in front of the Basel train Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very narrow for a couple. In reality it is only an oversized single bed, or a widow bed, as is known this off size bedding style.

    Location and staff friendliness. Chose this hotel for the ease for airport shuttle as well as train arrival and connection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a result of being near tram lines there’s some noise during the say. But it is infrequent after 11 PM, so no big deal.

    Location was perfect Central train station, main tram & bus lines, airport transportation and supermarkets, cafes are within 50 meters. Staff were helpful and friendly Room was clean and useful They also upgraded our room to a larger one Gave us Basel Cards valid thru our visit time (as most hotels do)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance to room from lobby was a little long

    Very convenient location just across from the railway station and with easy access to public transportation. Walking distance to historic center. Very nice and helpful people at the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Not the best value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel located right in front of main train station, so a lot of noise from the trains is heard all time. The rooms are big, but quiet old

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable hotel in nice central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    although location was good, it was a bit noisy through the night with the train station across the street

    very nice classic hotel in good central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, nothing more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are not comfortable at all and the triple room was very small. The Wifi wasn´t working.

    The location next to the Central Station is fantastic. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    A great hotel in a convenient location with amazing baked beans for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feathers stuck out of the pillows and scratched my face. There was no lock on the bathroom door.

    The bedsheets were very soft and comfy. The baked beans at breakfast were amazing. The showers were very nice, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Close to railway station. Comfortable room and bed.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to change room after arrival because of a strange smell in the first room. The second room was perfect.

    Close to railway station. Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    We have stayed here a few times after a late flight into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a quite expensive.

    We have stayed here a few times after a late flight into Basel and have never been disappointed. Coffee and tea in the room and a bar downstairs for a late night drink is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Bed very comfortable. Despite being so close to the train station and a major road/tram junction the sound proofing was very good so room quiet. This was third visit to this hotel, each time only staying the 1 night and this time our room was upgraded.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Fine large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the architecture of the building unusual and a bit cold, even though the staff were both helpful and kind. A most unusual omision: there was no mirror in the room, not on the walls or the back of the door or in the wardrobe. Of course there was one in the bathroom, but it was usually fogged up after a shower when I wanted to comb my hair.

    Fine large room. Well but sparsely furnished, with functional pieces. Good desk and chair, excellent room lighting which is not easy to find. Excellent comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were comfortable ,but now is the time for a revamp om the mattresses and bedding.Having stayed at a top chalet in Interlaken ,where everything was outstanding we noticed the difference between the two areas mentioned .

    The room was extremely well laid out and we liked it a great deal.The staff as always are a real credit to the hotel, nothing is ever too much trouble for them.Outstanding and lovely people.Thank you .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Worth going to Basel just to stay here
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    Everything it was just perfect so peaceful and relaxing and luxurious. Loved the towels. Did not have yhe breakfast or room service but went to the hotel owned bistro next door. Recommend this gem of a place tje food and service were top quality - try the cheeseboard and their sele tion of fine wines!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Its relatively cheap, clean and convenient...happy me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated right across the road to the train station. And its 10 minutes away from the shopping area by bus. The bus stops and trams are 20 meters from the hotel. Location wise it is very convenient for those that is looking to stay in Basel for a few days before taking the train to other destination. There are shops, supermarkets, convenient stores and eateries around the hotel and inside the train station. Therefore, for those looking for a quick bite to start your day or after a long tiring day you dont have to go far in search for food. i definitely recommend this hotel..especially for those going on holidays touring Switzerland without children like myself. Its relatively cheap, clean and convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very nice and friendly staff, easy early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, very nice and friendly staff, easy early check in. Very nice and clean room 100 meters from the train station. I can only recommend tis Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    I got a marvellous west-facing room on a high floor as I...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but I know I got a very good deal.A friend who stayed for one night had a much smaller room with no view(she requested a quiet room), but the facilities were of the same good standard.Rooms on the front lower floors might be noisy as that is opposite the train and tram station

    I got a marvellous west-facing room on a high floor as I requested.Every item such as soap,cottonwool-Qtips and even a little piece of nail file, showercap, tissues etc is fully replaced according to use and there are always two large loo rolls.There are enough free-hanging hangers,plenty of towels including very large bath ones and the staff is efficient and discreet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    A pit-stop opposite the station that's also convenient for the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very disappointing. Obviously the hotel was quite full the night that we stayed, and the breakfast arrangements could not cope - surely management knew their numbers and could have made appropriate adjustments. Long queues for the coffee machine and supplies not being replaced for a long time after running out were two annoyances.

    The room was very good - spacious and comfortable. The location was excellent - right opposite the station for arrival and departure and for meeting friends. Equally, the walk to the city centre and the river was very pleasant. Reception staff were welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is expensive.

    The location is excellent, really close to the train station, the buses, trams ans the supermarkets. The beds were very comfortable and the room was warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    The proximity with the train station/bus to the airport...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity with the train station/bus to the airport makes it a good place to stay if you need to take a plane early in the morning on the next day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Swiss hospitality at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient to reach. Super nice staff. Great central location. Clean and cosy! Parking? No problem in the hotel's own garage. Early check-in? "Yes Sir, no problem!"

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    A very stylish hotel in a superb location for train travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service in restaurant could have been better. My husband got the wrong meal. However this was rectified promptly.

    The young lady at reception on 25/12/2017 was charming and very helpful. Our room was lovely. The complimentary tram ticket was very useful for sight seeing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    Short stay, convenient location. Not cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed would have been a torture device for adults, thankfully my son didn't notice as he is so small, but sofa bed definitely not fit for adult use - new mattress needed.

    Close proximity to station. Car parking, once I found out where it was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and will recommend the hotel to all our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the price of the breakfast was a bit expensive at 27 sf each considering you could buy a good breakfast in the hotel bar for about 12sf each which we did.

    The location of the hotel was great.it was right beside the tram stop and the train station and the airport bus. The room size was great with a sitting area and the room was warm and very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.4
    Location is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise is terrific! Garbage cans are just under the window. Every morning at 4 am they are collecting the garbage, the trucks are delivering from that side as well! Horror!

    Location is great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Excellent service in a great hotel on a top location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff promised to collect me from the restaurant when my room was ready for check-in and they forgot me.

    The staff was extremely polite and helpful and the room was very big in relation to what I had to pay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service breakfast was not warm - didnt really enjoy food cold

    Amazing place for a short visit to Basel. Conveniently close to main train station and trams/buses..comfortable bed and decent size room and amazing shower - complimentary free travel passes for trams/buses for Basel transport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed and duvet on bed was just too small for two people. If I book there again I would ask for different room with other bed option.

    Great location, friendly staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location. Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit soft and a stool at the desk not ideal. Needed a decent chair with back support. Quite limited and basic room service menu - though food did arrive really quickly. In the middle of painting the front of the hotel so couldn't see out the front of the window.

    Lovely staff, really friendly. Hotel decor quite dated, but all clean and functional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Great place in a great location, convenient if you arrive by rail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I have to complain about is that my room was a little walk from the reception. Had to take 2 different elevators to my room. It seems to be a big place. Overall, it's an awesome place.

    Very close to the central train station. I received a pass to use public transportation in the city during my stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Third time in a year, I went to this hotel. The more I stay the less I feel its worth it's price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Wifi in room 403 as in the rest of the hotel, poor breakfast, hardly any power outlets in the room, no bathrobes, 68 CHF for an unimpressive menu on a table without tablecloth.

    Very central spot, quiet hotel, clean room, good parking lot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A bit of luxury with a local flair in a perfect location for getting into and around Basel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting above the bathroom mirror could have been brighter for putting on makeup. Also, the light in the entryway to the room was not over the full-length mirror-making the full-length mirror virtually useless.

    The room was very cheerful and comfortable; the bathroom was well sized- and the magnifying mirror especially convenient. The location opposite the train station is fantastic, and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location. Professional and sincerely attentive staff. A special tip of the hat to Sylvana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and we needed to move from superior room we originally booked to a comfort room. The room was still lovely, though. It was just a freak heat wave. They were undergoing construction, but that is just by chance that we were here for that. Otherwise it was a lovely experience.

    This hotel is in a perfect location for seeing the city and also for traveling by car or train to and from the city. The staff at the desk are so friendly and accomodating. Sylvana is an angel. The rooms were rather hot because of an unexpected heat wave and Sylvana took such good care of us by finding a room that was cooler. Every staff member at the reception was kind and genuinely friendly and helpful. We had been traveling for 20 days and this was our second stay at the hotel Victoria and they were so gracious each time. This was not always the case in other hotels. The staff made up for the inconvenience of construction and any issues with the airconditioning. I would stay here every time I am traveling in or through Basel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in a good location if travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot and the air conditioning struggled.

    We came from Koblenz on a bus which stopped outside the rear of the railway station. We were travelling on by train with 2 bikes + panniers so this hotel was an obvious choice as it is immediately outside the main station. We ate in the restaurant for 2 dinners and they were fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenience in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of the breakfast was high. The rustic and the continental breakfasts were more reasonable. There was scaffolding around the hotel due to cleaning and/or repairs. The hotel had left a letter about it in the room. However, it was not until we got there that we were aware of it.

    The location was ideal for visiting the city. It was convenient to the train station. The free transportation card was a plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a room with a double bed and a sofa bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the new part "La Residence" and the first morning I was awakened by trucks driving up the street behind our room to make their predawn deliveries to the grocery store around the corner. I spoke with the manager who gave me earplugs and the next two mornings I slept through the deliveries. If you are a light sleeper, you do need to consider this when booking this hotel. Part of our problem was that we needed a room with a sofa bed and those just happened to be in that part of the hotel. If you don't stay in the rooms backing up to the alleyway, this will be a non-issue for you.

    We had a room with a double bed and a sofa bed. The room was spacious and well-appointed, elegant. The location is right across from the train station and trolleys so getting in and out and around was easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    our second stay in the hotel, very good and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too noisy at night , re trams

    large room, big space for the suitcases, large tv screen, big en-suite bathroom, just a stone throw from the main train station, very helpful staff at the reception desk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Convenient for tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping in room was poor - minibar dirty and contained food left by previous occupant.

    Well located for the excellent public transport system, and airport bus stops across the road. Free tram ticket very useful - and includes bus to airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    the bed and bed sheet were comfortable and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise on the street can be heard throughout the night from our 4th floor room. The hotel staff were not particularly friendly compared to those of other hotels i had stayed in switzerland.

    the bed and bed sheet were comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay. Will be staying again in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tram stop right outside as well as bus and train. Local shops and McDonald's Burger King Starbucks and also subway are within walking distance. Staff at the hotel are all lovely spoken good English and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    If coming back to Basel would definitely stay there for travelling convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy until late with tram station outside. Bedding could be better with only one feather pillow . 2 would be better

    Excellent location close to all transport in Basel. Bedding could be better but if using trains to travel it is perfect right outside SBB train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Great spot, good value for my money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is a bit older and rooms while comfortable are older looking.

    Location was the best! Close to airport, train station and walking distance to all amenities and major tourist sites including Marketplatz and shopping. Bathtub!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    We have come to this hotel for many years, and we will return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service was pleasant, helpful, and efficient. Rooms were clean, well appointed, and spacious. Location is convenient to transportation, entertainment, restaurants, and historic areas. Basel is a charming town, and this is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure travelers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Best stay within walking distance of public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Queue for coffee at coffee machine too long.

    Breakfast was very good and included in price. Public transportation included in price. This was most convenient. :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location in a special town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Location near central station, easy to get to and from airport by bus 50. The hotel gave us mobility tickets for public transportation. Big room, comfy beds, rich breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Okay but i dont like the aircond, not enough plugs and the staff didnt make us feel happy probs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-cond wasnt cooling at all. We called the reception & she said it follows the temperature outside. So whats the use of having an aircond then????? So they gave us a fan. So little plugs to charge our phones, ones they have are really far from bed.

    Location fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, quiet even if in a busy area but really well communicated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes we can overhear the tram...

    The quietness of the room and the bathroom. Bath tube was big and nice. Everything worked perfectly and we have an amazing and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was a bit annoying. It was off suddenly and you need to keep to turn it on. In the winter time probably you won't care. But in the summer time, the room is going to be boiling.

    Perfect hotel. I wish I had booked this hotel on my way back to Basel from wengen!! The location is just couple of steps from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    A lovely little hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking was very convenient, under the hotel, however it was expensive at CHF25 per day. There was no nearby alternative.

    The room was very cosy, and the location was good for walking around the town, catching public transport, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    I would stay here again , Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location opposite train station , Big room , very comfortable bed , tea & coffee , kettle , stocked mini bar , free travel pass for local trams

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! I didn't try the breakfast or the restaurant.

    I really liked this hotel! For its location which is perfect - straight out of the Basel main train station. There are ample trams just outside and the lively lane of restuarants and bars is just walking distance. They also provide free transport pass for local commute within the city (though its pretty walkable). I also liked the room and bathroom - both were done up well, clean and the bed was really comfortable. I stayed in a single room and it was just apt!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent accommodations and helpful, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was merely adequate though the wait staff was very good.

    The suite was ample, well appointed and attractive. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were spacious. We would highly recommend this hotel: the staff is friendly and helpful, the room extremely comfortable and the location is central to the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with high quality and good welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just missed a cup for the coffee (we booked the suite for 3 persons) And the tax was maybe a bit high for the animal.

    We did like the quality of the beds and the balcony. Very good welcome especially during the evening and morning. We did appreciate the size of the suite and the coffee machine in the suite!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Brilliantly convenient, 100m from the Airport bus stop and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon in my room was fitted secondarily, taking up floorspace and noisy Although included in my room rate, anyone having to pay for breakfast at CH27 is likely to be surprised at the cost

    Brilliantly convenient, 100m from the Airport bus stop and main rail station, and just 50m from the central tram station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A good hotel with a friendly and accommodating approach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located across the street from the train station. That, together with the mobility pass, made travelling to and in the city very easy. The room was spacious with very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Review of stay 11/7/17
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ordered a room with two single bed and got there it was one double, rang reception they told us nothing could be done. We then went to complain face to face (bearing in mind I was with my business partner and not really appropriate to share a bed) and they gave us another room. Had to go to the room and separate two single beds ourselves, the bed was covered with one big double sheet to make the bed a double so one of us slept effectively on a mattress protector. Air con didn't work also, not a great stay!

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic suite of the size which I didn't expect to see.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft (but clearly having a harder mattress is a personal choice). If you open the windows of rooms which are facing the railway square, it may be noizy (daytime - trams, night - drunk bastards). But if windows are closed it is all fine, as sound insulation is great.

    Fantastic suite of the size which I didn't expect to see. Definitely worth the money paid! Good breakfast, unlike many other Swiss hotels. Location is extremely convenient, just 100 meters away from the railway station. Tram station is just 50 meters away from the hotel which gives the possibility to get to any part of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay in Basel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not habit in Swiss to have air conditioner as it cost high tax for every building. So I was fresh showered at breakfast and startet to sweat because of heat.

    Close to the zoo and tram station. With parking garage, good & clean rooms, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    2.9
    Extremely hot and unbearable smell in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the so called "Residence" area are awful. Aircondition not working. Makes a lot of noise and smell but no cooling at all. Extremely hot in the afternoon, when all sun is in the room. I felt like tomatoes in the sera. Extremely bad unbearable smell in the room. Definitely it is not a 4 star hotel. Finally we changed the room and took one in the "hotel" area, which was reasonable. Don't risk your holliday, don't stay in this hotel. Or at least, make sure that you will not stay in "Residence" building.

    The only reason to stay is the location, which is very close to central station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Although very near the Main Station, it was very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee and tea making facilities.

    Although very near the Main Station, it was very quiet. room was a generous size. Meals in the restaurant were vey expensive, but good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Basel Business Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon unit was noisy.

    Location is ideal for Basell SBB train station and a business overnight in Basel. Selection of restaurants near by as well as Le Train Bleu brasserie in the hotel which is provides tasty food with good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    In front of Central Station, good connection with the public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room on fourth floor relatively small, twins very small, not enough wall sockets, breakfast buffet relatively poor.

    In front of Central Station, good connection with the public transport, friendly staff, quiet hotel, good parking opportunities (garage)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    I had travelled through the night by car, checked in early...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing not to like

    I had travelled through the night by car, checked in early morning, staff very attentive and understanding, excellent and secure parking underneath hotel with direct access, very convenient, staff couldn't do enough for you. A clean, bright and modern hotel. Would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location just in front of Central railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast buffet, hardly any wall sockets in room, non smoking room 306 had definitely smell of tobacco, no dressing gowns, not enough towels.

    Excellent location just in front of Central railway station. Even fully booked, very quiet hotel. Free Pass to public transport for the length of your stay, supermarket next doors.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Just in front of the train station where buses from Basel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just in front of the train station where buses from Basel airport stop. There is a supermarket opening till next to the hotel. City centre is 10 to 15 min walking. Nice room with all amenities. Coffee/tea making facilities, small fridge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Great stay excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1-2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows couldn't find a comfortable one to suit Room very bright in the mornings darker curtains required

    Overall a good stay location excellent to trains and all local transport Very large room

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Victoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: