Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Victoria 3 stars

Bahnhofstrasse 2, 3900 Brig, Switzerland

#10 of 16 hotels in Brig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is adjacent to the railway stations (SBB & MGB).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is adjacent to the railway stations (SBB & MGB). My room had a balcony, from where I could watch the trains arriving and departing the MGB station. Large clean room with a very comfortable bed and plenty of storage space for my weeks stay. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast with option of eating in the breakfast room or on the patio. Hotel has a large bar with a covered exterior veranda. Despite it's proximity to the station it's very quiet. Brig is a very good transport centre for bus and rail. I have stayed at the Victoria on many previous occasions, hope to return next year

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    We had a balcony that looked out over the street and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The captive portal on the wifi was hit or miss -- but we were on vacation so was it really that important?

    We had a balcony that looked out over the street and mountains. Location was awesome - right across from the train station and close to a multitude of restaurants and things to do. They were incredibly flexible - we arrived early and really only needed them to hold our bags but they found us a room that was ready instead.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great base from which to explore Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. No train noise despite being beside station. We had a large room with balcony overlooking the main street with great views. Large bathroom. Tea making facilities. Good range of food for breakfast. Pleasant and accommodating hosts. Enjoyed strolling in the very pretty town. Stayed here and took train to Zermatt and back for the day. It was a good decision.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and the location was perfect for the railway station. It was just outside the door of the hotel but there was no noise from the station in the bedroom to disturb you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice family run hotel directly opposite to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Nice family run hotel directly opposite to the train station. The staff was very nice and helpful. We spent here one night for a skiing WE in the region. It allows to reach easily either Riederalp (Aletch arena) and Belalp, and is so close to the train station that it is very convenient to leave your suitcase while out for skiing. This is also a few 100ds meters from the old city with plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problem with light from the street at night (thicker curtains would help). Swiss pillows are very soft so an extra one would be nice.

    Excellent location opposite station. Large comfortable room and good beds. Superb bread at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Great place to visit and would definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was stuck on and although it was winter, the room got a bit hot

    Very easy to find and Ester the owner was very very helpful. Beds were comfy and water hot. Food was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    prime location (right opposite to the train station), superb view from the balcony, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pillow was a bit thin

    the view from the balcony was breathtaking, the host was very nice and he allowed us to check-in earlier than the set time 2:00pm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is nice and cozy. 10 out of 10 points are given to the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds for the family. Breakfast was good but with very limited varities.

    Staff was very friendly and helped us to take our luggage to the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff are very pleasant & obliging and they don,t "hover" like some places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As usual no-one knows how to make tea. Coffee is the order of the day (ugh). The buffet breakfast provides tea bags & a thermal jug of "hot water".

    The bed was very comfy but the pillows squashed to nothing so we asked for some harder ones which were much better. You might think that being opposite the station it would be noisy but it isn't. You might hear a car horn or train whistle occasionally but that,s all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Location - just facing the train station, is very practical...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture is old but still functional, the room decoration is outdated and makes it look a bit gray - the only negative point.

    Location - just facing the train station, is very practical for visiting the rare around. Friendliness of the couple that runs the hotel and was at the reception. You can easily get into a conversation with them and feel welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently situated opposite Brig train station, very near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniently situated opposite Brig train station, very near to the platforms for boarding Glacier Express & train to Zermatt. Room is spacious, clean & simply furnished. Balcony overlooks railway tracks but no noticeable noise once balcony door is closed. Fast laundry service with similar pricing as other Swiss hotels I've stayed at on this trip. Electric kettle in room was great bonus for making that all-important cuppa tea!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.3
    ok-ish for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very very old, and needs renovation. Bed linen smells as very old linen. As it is close to train station it is a bit loud there from Trains and Cars. Breakfast is ok, but a bit too basic and not much to select especially for a kid.

    It is very close to train station, basically across the street. Room was big, nice balcony and view to mountains (and train station).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable room, pleasant friendly staff and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel decor is dated and could benefit from investment. However, it fulfilled our needs. The hotel was comfortable and staff were friendly and courteous.

    Close to the station and easy walking distance from Brig town center. Restaurant was OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    VICTORIA - BRIG
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location opposite the main rail and bus stations. Friendly staff. Very clean room with plenty of storage space. Although the bed was a standard single, I slept very well. Unusually for Switzerland a kettle is provided with coffee etc. The buffet breakfast was good, and the breakfast room light and airy with the opportunity to eat outside on a large balcony overlooking the stations. Only a short walk to the centre of Brig, passing many shops. I enjoyed a beer in the evenings in the covered veranda at the front of the hotel. I have stayed in The Victoria on several previous occasions. I have provisionally booked for next year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    Below Expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall feel of the hotel is very old and dated. The lights in the corridor were off so was difficult to get into the room. The elevator was very small, old and stuffy. The breakfast had very few options and few things were in the buffet were over and not refilled. The hotel overall actually felt scary a little bit. They need to have more lights and life.

    The location and the room size and view are amazing. The hotel is just across the road from the station and as we were travelling by train the location was super. The staff was helpful. The building although beautiful needs renovation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is perfectly located for anyone planning to travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no hot water in the morning. We were assured this was a temporary aberration.

    The hotel is perfectly located for anyone planning to travel on the Glacier Express. Room had a nice little verandah to sit out on.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited - only a few spaces in front. Close pay parking is available at the train station garage.

    Great location. Very nice room. Nice balcony and view of train platforms and station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent reception on arrival and thereafter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent reception on arrival and thereafter. Nothing was too much trouble. Location excellent. Had to rearrange my stay by one night and hotel did not wish to charge me. Excellent, very few hotels would make this concession.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    The biggest and best in town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    All was as expected; its a fine hotel in an excellent location. Very pleasant and friendly staff in all departments. Nice restaurant in hotel but was told by waitress it was not part of the hotel; a bit confusing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.3
    Quaint hotel with great location & service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil. I love everything about this place . Even when the Lift was down on the first day we were there, the staff were the one who helped us out with carrying our luggages to our room. So there was not really a problem for us.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. It is situated right opposite the train station. For me, this is important as it saved me the trouble of having to lug around my luggages for longer distances. This hotel is also very charming. It's outlook, it's deco are old but well kept. The service is very good. The staff at the front desk was very attentive and friendly and so was the staff who was manning the breakfast room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel close to railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all pretty comfortable though some of the decor is a little dated.

    We stayed one night as a stopover and wanted to be near the station. The hotel is an older one but the room was comfortable and served our purpose. The breakfast was varied and good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location by the train station and nice accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great beds! Very clean. Breakfast was good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, convenient for the railway station and the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was comfortable and the facilities good. I only had continental breakfast and there was plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    A great base for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great base for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    C
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Z

    C

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is OK for an one night stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room

    Location just cross street from the trains

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Everything was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Hem location is the best, nostalgic when I was in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hem location is the best, nostalgic when I was in Switzerland back to 1985.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    The bathroom was very small and quite old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small and quite old. There was an unpleasant stench in the hallway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    staff, breakfast on the terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some rooms need to be refurbished, interiors have come of age

    staff, breakfast on the terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maids did not knock

    very convienient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room location was very noisy from major railway station. Room was very warm, no a/c.

    Location was accessible to all venues.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really

    Perfect location close to train station. Very convinience to travel to anywhere

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    easy access to train station!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast or coffee before 7 or so.

    easy access to train station!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Great Location, just a few steps off the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, however very clean. had a great night of sleep before heading out to Zermatt

    Great Location, just a few steps off the train station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    A great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming staff, very knowledgeable about local area. Breakfast was relaxed atmosphere with good choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Passing thru on way to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I and the 9 other people with me didn't like.

    Convenient location, clean and has an elavator.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    8.3
    Just good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in front of railway station, with good restaurant. Clear. Free tea and coffee in every room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Really nice place to stay for a bit of exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff responded immediately to every need, sometimes without being asked. Location superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.9
    no a/c in Swiss hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Large uncomfortable pillows.

    Good location. Close to station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Room was clean and comfortable and quiet even tho across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels were a little thin.

    Room was clean and comfortable and quiet even tho across from the train station. You never knew it as there wasn't a sound when the windows were closed

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.2
    Elegant,perfectlocations to go Around siwserland and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elegant,perfectlocations to go Around siwserland and very friendly and help full service! Brackfast was vary satisfied and hot. we wear very happy!may Good bless thame! Thanks.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    9.6
    My room was just what I wanted overlooking the railway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was just what I wanted overlooking the railway. Good breakfast at suitable times.Daily weather updates and interesting places to visit from helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    The location is right beside the train station, when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    The location is right beside the train station, when we leave at 10:10 to catch the train "glacier express" of 10:18, we find that it takes just about 30 seconds. Breakfast is above average, but i suggest to add some eggs. The host is really nice, we can see from every details that they manage this hotel attentively.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.3
    The location is right opposite the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The location is right opposite the train station. Only a few minutes walk to the centre of town where there are good restaurants. The owner/manager spoke very good English and he and all the staff were very pleasant. Specific room requests were met.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    Location just opposite the train station, yet my room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was ok, not displeasing but doesn't seem to care. Wish the breakfast had more items, especially before a day hike. Anyway i guess this is what you can expect for the price in Switzerland (Chf 110 is in the low range)

    Location just opposite the train station, yet my room was really quiet.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    At the time it was the best priced hotel in Brig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really what I didn't like, but stayed in this hotel nearly 25 years ago and it seems nothing has changed with the inside. . . . but it is very clean the room .

    At the time it was the best priced hotel in Brig. If your by train its excellent as just outside the station.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    5.8
    City location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff had no ideas about Sightseeing possibilities around Brig at this time of the year. I asked for a quiet room and had a room facing the railway station

    City location

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.2
    Nice basic hotel with excellent situation, close to many ski...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Nice basic hotel with excellent situation, close to many ski resorts as Saas Fee, Zermatt etc. Train station was 50m from hotel entrance. It wasn't noisy, thanks for good windows. Very clean room, good bed and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice location opposite the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have been better (no hot food)

    Nice location opposite the station. Good value (for Switzerland)

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.8
    convenience to the rail station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the shower recess was extremely inadequate, too small

    convenience to the rail station

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was perfect ,room is suitably aquied and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi isn t strong in room

    Breakfast was perfect ,room is suitably aquied and the reception is helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    7.9
    Overall everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No possible to chose 1 big bed. Breakfast to be improved.

    Overall everything

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    Location and helpful receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to go outside room to get wifi

    Location and helpful receptionist

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    9.6
    good location near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location near train station

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    Central location opposite the station but the room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central location opposite the station but the room was quiet.Friendly staff.Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.5
    Good value for money and located within meters from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi reception was not good at all.

    Good value for money and located within meters from the train station. Continental breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.3
    Nice staffs and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi is quite slow. The comfort of bed is fine, but the pillow is not very comfortable.

    Nice staffs and perfect location

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: